Voyage

Published on août 15th, 2014 | by Amy Lynne Hayes

0

Un long weekend à la Côte d’Azur

Nice-2

Plage de Nice – Photo par Mike Shettel (Flickr)

La Côte d’Azur. L’expression évoque des images des eaux bleues cristallines et le soleil d’or. De belles personnes qui se baladent sur la promenade, les dames paraissent chic sans effort. Il y a sûrement quelqu’un de célèbre caché derrière ces grands chapeaux à la mode et ces lunettes de soleil.

“Nice la Belle,” se trouve sur la falaise surplombant la mer Méditerranée. Le climat doux du sud-est de la France en fait une destination populaire toute l’année pour les autochtones et aussi bien que pour les touristes français. Fini le ciel gris d’hiver du nord, remplacé par les rayons de bienvenue du soleil.

Alors que la mer est la principale attraction indéniable, Nice a la chance d’être une destination de choix. La plage est à quelques pas, les montagnes sont à moins d’une heure de route, et elle est bordée par Antibes et Cannes, à l’ouest et à l’est de Monaco. Chacun y trouve son compte.

La Ville
Nice est la deuxième plus grande ville française sur la côte méditerranéenne et la cinquième plus grande en France. Cependant, il n’y a rien mais une grande sensation urbaine. Tout comme Toulouse, la majorité du centre-ville est entièrement accessible à pied.

Naturellement, toute visite à Nice, doit absolument commencer par une balade le long de la Promenade des Anglais, l’une des avenues les plus célèbres de toute l’Europe. L’architecture d’inspiration italienne d’un côté, une vue sur la Méditerranée de l’autre. Laissez-vous du temps pour un plongeon dans l’eau magnifique, dans l’une des nombreuses plages privées le long de la portion de littoral de 7 kms. Notez que les plages ne sont pas de sable, mais plutôt une multitude de petits galets de couleur claire.

Après que les visiteurs se soient suffisamment exposés aux rayons du soleil, il leur reste encore une autre partie de Nice à découvrir. Rendez-vous sur la Place Masséna, emplacement réservé aux piétons, qui est très populaire lors des événements publics. S’arrêter en ville pour déjeuner ou dîner au Attimi, où l’on sert de la cuisine italienne fraîche. Vous arriverez sur deux autres places piétonnes populaires: la Place Garibaldi et la Place Rossetti. Pour ceux qui recherchent un panorama, allez jusqu’à L’Observatoire de Nice, perché sur le Mont Gros surplombant la ville vers l’ouest.

Une fois que le soleil méditerranéen glisse plus bas dans le ciel, le “cours Saleya” commence à s’animer .Cette place accueille un marché aux fleurs dans la journée ainsi que d’autres marchés, restaurants et Pubs… Il est situé au coeur de la Vieille Ville. Essayez la cuisine niçoise traditionnelle chez “Nissa Socca”, puis allez dans l’un des bars pour un petit digestif.

Saint-Martin-Vésubie-2

Saint-Martin-Vésubie – Photo par Mathieu Péborde (Flickr)

Saint-Martin-Vésubie

Pour ceux qui cherchent à échapper aux grands espaces, il n’y a pas plus pittoresque que Saint-Martin-Vésubie. Niché au pied des montagnes du Mercantour à environ une heure de Nice, ce petit village médiéval est un excellent point de départ pour presque n’importe quel type d’activité en plein air. Choisissez parmi la randonnée, le deltaplane, le parapente, l’escalade, la pêche, ainsi que le ski alpin et le ski de fond pendant les mois d’hiver. Explorez le Parc National du Mercantour, ou visitez la magnifique région du Boréon, avec ses lacs alpins et ses 30 pics de montagne parfait pour l’aventure. Allez vous restaurer chez “La Treille,” un restaurant français traditionnel, avec vue fabuleuse sur la terrasse.

Pour ceux qui sont vraiment impatients de communier avec la nature, profitez de Alpha, Le Temps du Loup, ou Alpha Loup, vous aurez la chance de voir trois meutes de loups gris dans leur milieu naturel. Ces créatures sont rares en raison d’une chasse intense qui a depuis été contrôlée, alors n’oubliez pas d’apporter votre appareil photo.

Cannes
Un peu plus loin de Nice se trouve la ville de Cannes. Ce n’est pas un petit village balnéaire endormi, mais plutôt glamour grâce à la renommée internationale de son Festival qui a lieu chaque année au mois de mai. Les célébrités et leurs “fans” affluent ici pour voir et être vu et pour se divertir. Cet évènement fait de Cannes l’épicentre de l’excès pour les personnes riches et célèbres, mais, cela ne signifie pas qu’il ne peut pas être apprécié par celles qui ne peuvent pas avoir leurs noms affichés sur le grand écran.

Les visiteurs qui veulent s’imprégner de l’ambiance d’Hollywood ne manqueront pas le Palais des Festivals. C’est ici que les stars se réunissent pour visionner les films qui ont été choisis pendant le festival. Il sert de toile de fond pour des photos parfaites. Bien sûr, il y a les plages, c’est un endroit idéal pour regarder en soirée les feux d’artifice prévus sur la baie. Il y a, comme d’habitude, une vieille ville pittoresque, et un marché couvert populaire appelé le Marché Forville pour les gourmets à la recherche d’une expérience gastronomique. Rappelez-vous tout ce qui brille est or, et Cannes n’est en aucun cas une exception. Cette ville peut être chère, donc planifier en conséquence votre budget. Vous pourrez également faire des folies pour un repas dans la salle à manger Art Déco de La Palme d’Or, situé à l’Hôtel Martinez.

Sites:
L’Observatoire de Nice
Boulevard de l “Observatoire, 06300 Nice
+33 4 92 00 30 11
Mer, sam – dim 14h45-16h45
Fermé le lundi – mardi, jeu-ven
https://www.oca.eu

Cours Saleya
Cours Saleya, 06300 Nice
+33 4 92 00 30 11
Différents marchés ouverts tous les jours
Mar., jeu. ven. 6h – 17:30
Mer, sam 6 heures 30-18h30
Dim 6 heures 30-13h30
Fermeture hebdomadaire lundi, dim midi

Parc National du Mercantour
Siège administratif, 23 rue d’Italie, 06000 Nice
+33 4 93 16 78 88
www.mercantour.eu

Alpha, Le Temps du Loup
Chalet d’accueil du Boréon, Route
Départementale 89, 06450
Saint-Martin-Vésubie
+33 4 93 02 33 69
Ouvrez 10h tous les jours – 17h
www.alpha-loup.com

Palais des Festivals
Boulevard de la Croisette, 06400 Cannes
+33 4 92 99 84 00
Ouvrez 7h tous les jours – 00h
http://en.palaisdesfestivals.com

Marché Forville
Place du Marché Forville, 06400
Cannes
Mar – dim 7:30-12:30
Fermé le lundi

Restaurants:
Attimi
10 Place Masséna, 06000 Nice
+33 4 93 62 00 22
Ouvrez 12h tous les jours – 00h
www.attimi.fr

Nissa Socca
7 rue Sainte-Réparate, 06000 Nice
+33 4 93 80 18 35
Mar – Mer, sam – dim 12h – 14h,
7h – 10h30
Jeudi 7h – 10h30
Fermé le lundi

La Treille
68 rue du Dr Cagnoli, 06450 Saint-Martin-Vésubie
+33 4 93 03 30 85
Horaires d’ouverture varient selon la saison
Appellez pour la disponibilité

La Palme D’Or
73 La Croisette, 06406 Cannes
+33 4 92 98 74 14
Mar – sam 12h30 – 14h, 20h – 22h
Téléphonez pour les réservations
Une tenue correcte exigée
Pas de shorts, pas de chaussures ouvertes
www.hotel-martinez.com

 


About the Author

is a writer and designer by trade and an avid traveler by heart. She first discovered her love for all things French while studying interiors in Paris, and has never quite gotten over the initial infatuation. When not planning her next escape to *La Belle France*, she can be found globe-trotting around other parts of the world and writing for her travel-inspired blog, Créatrice Mondial. Links to Published Works: The Parisian - Creatrice Mondial Paris, You're Always on My Mind



Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *


CAPTCHA Image
Reload Image
Back to Top ↑

Travel

Published on August 15th, 2014 | by Amy Lynne Hayes

0

A long weekend in the French Riviera

Nice-2

Beach of Nice – Photo by Mike Shettel (Flickr)

The French Riviera. The phrase conjures up images of crystal blue waters and golden sunshine. Beautiful people are strolling down the promenade, and the ladies are looking effortlessly chic. Surely there is someone famous hiding behind those fashionably large hats and designer sunglasses.  

“Nice la Belle,” or Nice the Beautiful, lies on the cliffside overlooking the Mediterranean Sea. The mild climate of southeastern France makes this a popular destination year-round for both French natives and tourists alike. Gone are the gray winter skies of the north, replaced by the welcoming rays of the sun.

While the sea is the undeniable main attraction, Nice holds the good fortune of having a prime location. The beach is a few steps away, and the mountains are less than an hour away, bordered by Antibes and Cannes to the west and Monaco to the east. There’s something to satisfy every whim.

The City
Nice is the second-largest French city on the Mediterranean coast and the fifth-largest in France. However, it has anything but a large city feel. Much like Toulouse, the majority of the city center is entirely accessible by foot.

Naturally, any visit to Nice absolutely must begin with a stroll down the Promenade des Anglais, one of the most famous avenues in all of Europe. There is an Italian-inspired architecture to one side, and a view of the Mediterranean to the other. Make sure to allow time for a dip into that gorgeous water at one of the many private beaches along the 7km stretch of coastline. Do note that the beaches are not sandy, but rather a collection of small, lightly colored stones.

After visitors have soaked up sufficient rays, the rest of Nice lies waiting to be explored. Head over to the Place Masséna, a pedestrian-only Mediterranean square that’s hugely popular for public events. Stop for lunch or dinner there at Attimi, that serves the freshest Italian cuisine in town. Other popular pedestrian squares include the Place Garibaldi and Place Rossetti. For those looking for a panoramic view, go up to L’Observatoire de Nice, perched up on Mont Gros overlooking the city towards the west.

Once that Mediterranean sun starts slipping lower into the sky, Cours Saleya starts to come alive. Home of a flower market during the day, this lively square also hosts other markets as well as scores of restaurants and pubs. It’s located in the heart of the Vielle Ville, or Old Town. Try the traditional Niçoise cuisine at Nissa Socca, then pop into one of the bars for a digestif, or two.

Saint-Martin-Vésubie-2

Saint-Martin-Vésubie – Photo by Mathieu Péborde (Flickr)

  Saint-Martin-Vésubie
For those looking to escape to the great outdoors for a day, it doesn’t get more picturesque than Saint-Martin-Vésubie. Nestled at the foot of the Mercantour mountains about an hour outside of Nice, this small medieval village serves as an excellent starting point for almost any sort of outdoor activity imaginable. Choose from hiking, hang gliding, paragliding, rock climbing, fishing, as well as downhill skiing and cross-country skiing during the winter months. Explore the Parc National du Mercantour, or tour the gorgeous Boréon region, with its alpine lakes and 30 mountain peaks which are perfect for adventure. Fuel up beforehand at La Treille, a traditional French restaurant with fabulous terrace views.

For those truly itching to commune with nature, take advantage of Alpha, Le Temps du Loup, or Alpha Wolf Park. Get the chance to see three packs of gray wolves in their natural environments. These creatures are rare due to heavy hunting that has since been controlled, so make sure to bring a camera.

Cannes
A short distance away from Nice lies the town of Cannes. This is a sleepy little seaside village, made more glamorous each year with the internationally renowned Cannes Film Festival held in the month of May. Fans and celebrities alike flock here to see and be seen and to be entertained. This social scene makes Cannes the epicenter of excess for the rich and famous. But, that doesn’t mean it can’t be enjoyed by those who may not have their names flashed across the big screen.

Visitors looking to soak up the Hollywood vibe won’t want to miss the Palais des Festivals. It’s here where the stars gather to screen the films shown during the festival, and serves as a perfect photo backdrop. Of course there are the beaches, which also serve as the perfect place to watch scheduled fireworks displays over the bay in the evenings. There is, as usual, a quaint Old Town, and a popular covered market called the Marché Forville for foodies in search of a gourmet experience. Remember all that glitters is gold, and Cannes in no exception. This city can be pricey, so plan accordingly with your budget. Or splurge for a meal in the Art Deco dining room of La Palme D’Or, located at Hotel Martinez.

Sites:
L’Observatoire de Nice
Boulevard de l”Observatoire, 06300 Nice
+33 4 92 00 30 11
Wed, Sat – Sun 2:45 – 4:45 pm
Closed Mon – Tues, Thurs-Fri
https://www.oca.eu

Cours Saleya
Cours Saleya, 06300 Nice
+33 4 92 00 30 11
Various markets open daily
Tues, Thurs Fri 6 am – 5:30 pm
Wed, Sat 6:30 am – 6:30 pm
Sun 6:30 am – 1:30 pm
Weekly closing Mon, Sun midday

Parc National du Mercantour
Siège Administratif, 23 rue d’Italie, 06000 Nice
+33 4 93 16 78 88
www.mercantour.eu

Alpha, Le Temps du Loup
Chalet d’accueil du Boréon, Route
Départementale 89, 06450
Saint-Martin-Vésubie
+33 4 93 02 33 69
Open daily 10 am – 5 pm
www.alpha-loup.com

Palais des Festivals
Boulevard de la Croisette, 06400 Cannes
+33 4 92 99 84 00
Open daily 7 am – 12 am
http://en.palaisdesfestivals.com

Marché Forville
Place du Marché Forville, 06400
Cannes
Tues – Sun 7:30 am – 12:30 pm
Closed Mondays

Restaurants:
Attimi
10 Place Masséna, 06000 Nice
+33 4 93 62 00 22
Open daily 12 pm – 00 am
www.attimi.fr

Nissa Socca
7 rue Sainte-Reparate, 06000 Nice
+33 4 93 80 18 35
Tue – Wed, Sat – Sun 12 pm – 2 pm,
7 am – 10:30 pm
Thurs 7 am – 10:30 pm
Closed Mondays

La Treille
68 rue du Dr Cagnoli, 06450 Saint-Martin-Vésubie
+33 4 93 03 30 85
Opening times vary by season
Call for availability

La Palme D’Or
73 La Croisette, 06406 Cannes
+33 4 92 98 74 14
Tues – Sat 12:30 pm – 2 pm, 8 – 10 pm
Telephone for reservations
Appropriate dress required
No shorts, no open shoes
www.hotel-martinez.com

 


About the Author

is a writer and designer by trade and an avid traveler by heart. She first discovered her love for all things French while studying interiors in Paris, and has never quite gotten over the initial infatuation. When not planning her next escape to *La Belle France*, she can be found globe-trotting around other parts of the world and writing for her travel-inspired blog, Créatrice Mondial. Links to Published Works: The Parisian - Creatrice Mondial Paris, You're Always on My Mind



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


CAPTCHA Image
Reload Image
Back to Top ↑