Art & Culture

Published on novembre 30th, 2018 | by Isabelle Karamooz, Founder of FQM

0

Une soirée mémorable au Moulin Rouge

Photo : French Quarter Magazine.

Nous avons été invitées, ma sœur et moi, à passer une excellente soirée l’été dernier à Montmartre au Moulin Rouge où j’ai rencontré le président, Jean-Jacques Clerico, pour discuter de cette institution historique et familiale de trois générations. Ce fut un plaisir de partager avec vous l’interview de Mr Clerico dans notre numéro imprimé 2018 et vous avez été nombreux à nous féliciter et à nous poser des questions sur les soirées spectacles du Moulin Rouge.

Fondé en 1889, le Moulin Rouge est célèbre dans le monde entier pour son légendaire spectacle de cabaret et de cancan français. Il a été immortalisé par le peintre Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec et certaines des plus grandes stars du monde s’y sont produites, notamment Ella Fitzgerald, Liza Minelli et Frank Sinatra.

Facade Moulin Rouge ©Moulin Rouge-D.Duguet

Le Moulin Rouge est immédiatement reconnaissable à sa façade rouge et à son moulin à vent géant devant lequel nous nous sommes arrêtées pour prendre une photo de l’extérieur. C’est magique quand tout s’illumine la nuit, alors même si vous n’avez pas prévu de voir le spectacle, je vous recommande de vous faire prendre en photo après la tombée de la nuit ! Nous étions impatientes et curieuses de voir de plus près la salle de spectacle, alors nous avons franchi les portes du bâtiment. Il y avait une petite salle où se tenait la boutique du Moulin Rouge à l’intérieur du hall, et à part cela, quelques affiches des danseurs.

Photo : French Quarter Magazine.

Je n’ai jamais rien vu de semblable au Moulin Rouge. L’atmosphère était électrique et il y avait déjà un air de fête avant même que le spectacle commence. La salle se remplissait petit à petit et nous étions conviées à suivre une personne de l’équipe pour nous rendre à notre table. La salle de 900 personnes est incroyable. Les affiches suspendues aux colonnes de Moriss sont les affiches originales des artistes qui s’y sont produits. Je m’imaginais déjà les claquements de verres et les gens bavardant à leur table. Le Moulin Rouge et son chef David Le Quellec ont été les premiers cabarets à figurer dans le célèbre guide des restaurants Gault & Millau. Le dîner est alors accompagné de musique orchestrale et les invités peuvent danser s’ils le souhaitent. Le Moulin Rouge est bien plus qu’un spectacle. C’est une expérience à faire au moins une fois dans sa vie !

French Cancan Danseuse ©Moulin Rouge® – S.Bertrand

Comme nous n’avions pas réservé le dîner, nous sommes arrivés environ 40 minutes avant le spectacle. Nous étions assises à une table avec d’autres spectateurs et un serveur nous a apporté une bouteille de champagne à partager. Alors… showtime !

Pour être honnête, je n’avais pas vraiment imaginé ce que le spectacle impliquerait, à part le Cancan, des costumes fabuleux et des danseuses aux seins nus.

Eh bien, cela a complètement dépassé toutes mes attentes ! Ce fut une expérience vraiment mémorable et que je n’oublierai jamais.

Le spectacle Féerie consiste en une troupe de 80 artistes, dont 60 Doriss Girls et 20 Doriss Dancers qui viennent de 14 pays différents, et de 1000 costumes confectionnés avec des plumes, des strass et des paillettes ! Ils dansent devant des décors chatoyants créés par des designers italiens, sur une musique originale enregistrée par 80 musiciens et 60 choristes.

Final Cirque ©Moulin Rouge 2017

Il ne s’agit pas seulement de danse ; le spectacle est divisé en numéros de toutes sortes, y compris le jongleur le plus rapide du monde, un duo acrobatique exécutant des acrobaties envoûtantes au corps à corps et un célèbre ventriloque appelé Marc Metral. Il y a même une femme qui plonge dans un aquarium géant d’une contenance de plus de 1 200 gallons d’eau.

Malheureusement, il est strictement interdit de prendre des photos ou des vidéos. Si vous contrevenez à leurs règles, votre appareil peut être confisqué jusqu’à la fin du spectacle, vous risquez d’être expulsé du spectacle ou, pire, être poursuivi en justice. J’espère que les photos fournies par le Moulin Rouge pourront vous faire ressentir l’atmosphère qui règne autour du spectacle Féerie mais en même temps, l’effet de surprises est toujours bienvenue.

Après le spectacle, nous nous sommes rendus à la boutique de cadeaux pour faire un peu de shopping. J’ai acheté un livre avec des informations sur le Moulin Rouge, des verres à liqueur et un CD musique Moulin Rouge Féerie.

 

Billets et informations sur le Moulin Rouge

Il y a deux représentations à 21h et 23h, et il y a 3 types de billets différents avec des prix variables:

  • Dîner et spectacle à 19h (le spectacle commence à 21h)
  • Spectacle à 21h ou 23h avec 1/2 champagne ou boissons
  • Spectacle à 21h ou 23h sans boissons

Achat des billets disponibles ici: http://www.moulinrouge.fr

Le code vestimentaire conseille une tenue élégante, bien qu’une cravate et une veste ne soient pas nécessaires pour les hommes. Il est préférable de ne pas porter de short ou de pantalon court, et pas de chaussures de sport ou de vêtements de sport.

Pour toutes les représentations, vous devez arriver au moins 40 minutes avant. La station de métro la plus proche est Blanche, sur la ligne 2 du métro ou bien si vous préférez, prenez la voiture, un Uber ou un taxi qui vous y emmènera.

 

Cet article a été traduit en anglais par John Wilmot.


About the Author

was born in the royal city of Versailles, France and have lived in the United States since 1996. After earning a Bachelor's degree in History from the University of California Berkeley and studying for a Master program in education at the University of Southern California, she went on to teach French to aspiring UNLV and CSN students in Nevada. When she is not teaching, she is writing, interviewing people in a wide range of circumstances, pitching story ideas to writers and editors, taking pictures, traveling, painting or trying delicious foods.



Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *


CAPTCHA Image
Reload Image
Back to Top ↑

Art & Culture

Published on November 30th, 2018 | by Isabelle Karamooz, Founder of FQM

0

A memorable evening at the Moulin Rouge

Photo: French Quarter Magazine.

Last Summer my sister and I were invited to spend a wonderful evening at the Moulin Rouge in Montmartre, where I met with President Jean-Jacques Clerico to discuss this historic and family-oriented institution of three generations. It was a pleasure to share our interview with Mr. Clerico in our 2018 printed issue and many of you congratulated us and asked us questions about the shows at the Moulin Rouge.

Founded in 1889, the Moulin Rouge is famous all over the world for its legendary French cabaret and cancan show. It was immortalized by the painter Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec and some of the greatest stars in the world have performed there, including Ella Fitzgerald, Liza Minnelli and Frank Sinatra.

acade Moulin Rouge ©Moulin Rouge-D.Duguet

The Moulin Rouge is immediately recognizable by its red facade and its giant windmill in front of which we stopped to take a picture of the exterior. It’s magic when everything lights up at night, so even if you don’t plan to see the show, I recommend you take a picture after the sun sets! We were impatient and curious to see the theater more closely, so we walked through the doors of the building. There was a small room where the Moulin Rouge shop was located inside the hall, and apart from that, some posters of the dancers.

Photo: French Quarter Magazine.

I’ve never seen anything like the Moulin Rouge. The atmosphere was electric and there was already an air of festivity circulating throughout the hall before the show even started.  The room filled up little by little and we were invited to follow a member of the team to go to our table. The 900 seat room is amazing. The posters hanging on the Morris columns are the original posters of the artists who performed there. I could already imagine the clinking of glasses and people chatting at their tables. The Moulin Rouge and its chef David Le Quellec were the first cabarets to appear in the famous Gault & Millau restaurant guide. Dinner is accompanied by orchestral music and guests can dance if they wish. The Moulin Rouge is more than just a show. It’s an experience to do at least once in a lifetime!

French Cancan Danseuse ©Moulin Rouge® – S.Bertrand

As we had not booked dinner reservations, we arrived about 40 minutes before the show. We were sitting at a table with other spectators and a waiter brought us a bottle of champagne to share. So… showtime!

To be honest, I hadn’t really imagined what the show would entail, aside from the Cancan, the fabulous costumes and bare-breasted dancers.

Well, it completely exceeded all my expectations! It was a truly memorable experience that I will never forget.

The Féerie show consists of a troupe of 80 artists, including 60 Doriss Girls and 20 Doriss Dancers from 14 different countries, and 1000’s of costumes made with feathers, rhinestones and sequins! They dance in front of shimmering sets created by Italian designers, while original music is being performed by 80 musicians and 60 singers.

Final Cirque ©Moulin Rouge 2017

It’s not just about dancing; the show is divided into numbers of all kinds, including the world’s fastest juggler, an acrobatic duo performing captivating hand-to-hand acrobatics and a famous ventriloquist named Marc Metral. There is even a woman who dives into a giant aquarium with a capacity of more than 1,200 gallons of water.

Unfortunately, it is strictly forbidden to take pictures or videos. If you break their rules, your device may be confiscated until the end of the show, you may be expelled from the show or, worse, be sued. I hope that the photos provided by the Moulin Rouge will give you a feeling of the atmosphere that surrounds the spectacle Féerie (Fairy show), but at the same time, the element of surprise is always welcome.

After the show, we went to the gift shop to do some shopping. I bought a book with information about the Moulin Rouge, shot glasses and a Moulin Rouge Féerie C.D.

Tickets and information on the Moulin Rouge

There are two performances at 9 pm and 11 pm, and there are 3 different types of tickets with varying prices:

• Dinner and show at 7 pm (the show starts at 9 pm)
• Show at 9pm or 11pm with 1/2 champagne or drinks
• Show at 9pm or 11pm without drinks

Tickets available here: http://www.moulinrouge.fr

The dress code suggests an elegant outfit, although a tie and jacket are not necessary for men. It is best not to wear shorts or jeans, and no sneakers or sportswear.

For all performances, you must arrive at least 40 minutes before. The nearest metro station is the Blanche station, on line 2, or if you prefer, you can take a car, an Uber or a taxi to get you there.

 

This article was translated in English by John Wilmot.


About the Author

was born in the royal city of Versailles, France and have lived in the United States since 1996. After earning a Bachelor's degree in History from the University of California Berkeley and studying for a Master program in education at the University of Southern California, she went on to teach French to aspiring UNLV and CSN students in Nevada. When she is not teaching, she is writing, interviewing people in a wide range of circumstances, pitching story ideas to writers and editors, taking pictures, traveling, painting or trying delicious foods.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


CAPTCHA Image
Reload Image
Back to Top ↑