Art & Culture

Published on novembre 13th, 2014 | by Amy Lynne Hayes

0

Un nouveau moment important pour Paris : la fondation Louis Vuitton

Vous en avez entendu parler ? À peine pensait-on que la scène artistique parisienne ne pouvait faire mieux, qu’un nouveau musée ouvre ses portes. Et cette fois-ci, aucun maître de la renaissance ou de peintre impressionniste en vue.

le_b__timent_audacieux_de_frank_gehry_pour_la_fondation_louis_vuitton_6126_north_382x

Frank Gehry, architecte de la Fondation. Photo par Vogue.fr.

L’ancien centre « avant-gardiste » Pompidou devra s’écarter devant l’ultra contemporaine Fondation Louis Vuitton. Conçue par le célèbre architecte Frank Gehry, l’édifice ressemble à une collection de voiles chancelant de manière précaire sur des poutres de métal et de bois. Elle se situe à l’ouest de l’autre musée d’art contemporain de Paris, dans le bois de Boulogne, non loin du jardin d’acclimatation, et accueille en son sein la collection de Bernard Arnault, Président Directeur Général de LVMH. Le milliardaire a utilisé ses fonds propres pour concevoir le bâtiment. Alors qu’il n’est actuellement qu’un musée privé, Arnault et LVMH ont prévu de l’offrir à la ville dans 55 ans.

Ayant ouvert ses portes au public le 27 octobre le musée projette de réaliser son inauguration en trois étapes distinctes. Chaque étape, se déroulant entre octobre 2014 et septembre 2015, sera marquée par une exposition différente ainsi que d’autres événements. Le programme d’ouverture, ou première étape, s’est focalisé sur le bâtiment, qui est une œuvre d’art en elle-même, mais également sur le travail des collections de six autres artistes différents. Ajouté à cela, des œuvres venant de huit autres artistes furent commandées, et une série « d’événements artistiques » fut accueillie, y compris des performances musicales et des sculptures soniques. C’est une expérience sensorielle totale conçue pour se délecter dès le premier coup d’œil jeté vers la façade.

le_b__timent_audacieux_de_frank_gehry_pour_la_fondation_louis_vuitton_921_north_382x

Fondation Louis Vuitton. Photo par Vogue.fr.

Le musée lui-même est divisé en 11 galeries, que l’architecte décrit comme étant des « icebergs.» Le mélange des tuiles de béton renforcées en fibre blanche, de métal et de verre, donne au bâtiment une sorte d’impression « iceberg », sans pour autant perdre en légèreté et en mouvement. Gehry est célèbre pour son style non conventionnel, donc il ne devrait pas être surprenant que ce grand esprit, qui se cache derrière le Bilbao Guggenheim, ne se soit posé aucune limite pour sa dernière création.

L’entrée elle-même se prête aux fonctions sociales, conçue sans aucun doute pour favoriser les rassemblements de personnes. Il y a une grande salle, à utilités multiples, qui peut recevoir jusqu’à 350 personnes, une toile de fonds parfaite pour la prochaine fête de l’année. Le restaurant, « le Frank », est dirigé par le chef étoilé Jean-louis Nomicos. Les clients peuvent apprécier la cuisine d’inspiration française dans un cadre élégant après avoir laissé libre cours à leur sensibilité artistique durant la journée. Ou alors, ils peuvent passer par la librairie, autre attraction s’il en est une. Bien sûr il y a les livres, mais le magasin propose une gamme de produits qui fait écho à l’architecture et aux matériaux. Il se murmure même qu’ils auraient une boîte LV de Frank Gerhy vendue à un prix que vous n’oublierez pas, 3000 euros.

image_e900.flvcrop.980.5000

Restaurant « Le Frank » mené par le chef Jean-louis Nomicos. Photo par Luc Castel de fondationlouisvuitton.fr.

Comme ce fut le cas pour d’autres édifices non traditionnels de Paris, la fondation Louis Vuitton reçu un accueil plutôt mitigé. La désormais bien aimée tour Eiffel, ou la plus récente pyramide du Louvre, ou encore le centre Pompidou ont tous connu ces obstacles. Mais chacun d’eux a réussi à surmonter la réticence initiale. LVMH garde confiance, et pense qu’avec le temps leur nouveau musée rejoindra les rangs des édifices symboliques de la Ville Lumière. Une chose est certaine, c’est qu’il a déjà fait beaucoup de bruit dans le monde des musées.

 


About the Author

is a writer and designer by trade and an avid traveler by heart. She first discovered her love for all things French while studying interiors in Paris, and has never quite gotten over the initial infatuation. When not planning her next escape to *La Belle France*, she can be found globe-trotting around other parts of the world and writing for her travel-inspired blog, Créatrice Mondial. Links to Published Works: The Parisian - Creatrice Mondial Paris, You're Always on My Mind



Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *


CAPTCHA Image
Reload Image
Back to Top ↑

Art & Culture

Published on November 13th, 2014 | by Amy Lynne Hayes

0

A New Paris Landmark: the Fondation Louis Vuitton

Have you heard? Just when you thought the Paris art scene couldn’t get any better, a new museum comes to town. And this time there won’t be a Renaissance master or Impressionist painter in sight.

le_b__timent_audacieux_de_frank_gehry_pour_la_fondation_louis_vuitton_6126_north_382x

Frank Gehry, architect of the Foundation. Photo by Vogue.fr.

The formerly avant-garde Pompidou Centre will have to step aside for the ultra-contemporary Fondation Louis Vuitton. Designed by famous architect Frank Gehry, the building resembles a collection of fragmented sails teetering precariously on supports of metal and wood. It sits to the west of Paris’s other contemporary art museum, in the Bois de Boulogne near the Jardin d’Acclimatation, and will house the collection of LVMH (Louis Vuitton Moët Hennesy) chairman and C.E.O. Bernard Arnault. The billionaire used his own funds to commission the building. While currently a private museum, Arnault and LVMH plan to turn it over as a gift to the city in 55 years.

Having opened its doors to the public on Oct. 27 of this year, the museum plans to ease into the inauguration with three separate stages. Each stage, occurring between Oct. 2014 and Sept. 2015, will be marked with a different exhibition and other events. The opening program, or first stage, focuses on the building – a work of art in itself – along with works from the collections of six different artists. In addition, pieces by eight other artists were commissioned and a series of “artistic events” were held, including musical performances and sonic sculpture. It’s a complete sensory experience designed to delight from the first glimpse of the façade.

le_b__timent_audacieux_de_frank_gehry_pour_la_fondation_louis_vuitton_921_north_382x

Louis Vuitton Foundation. Photo by Vogue.fr.

The museum itself is divided into 11 galleries, which the architect describes as “icebergs.” The mix of white fibre-reinforced concrete tiles, metal and glass does give the space a sort of iceberg feel, yet maintains a quality of lightness and movement. Gehry is famous for his unconventional style, so it should be no surprise that the mastermind behind the Guggenheim Bilbao pulled out all the stops for his latest creation.

The entrance lends itself to social functions, no doubt designed with the intention to foster community gatherings. There is a large auditorium space that can hold up to 350 people for various purposes, a perfect backdrop for the next party event of the year. The restaurant – ‘Le Frank’ – is run by Michelin-starred chef Jean-Louis Nomicos. Patrons can dine on French-inspired cuisine in an elegant setting after indulging their artistic sensibilities by day. Or stop by the bookstore, another attraction in its own right. Besides the obvious books, the shop offers a range of products that give a nod to the architecture and materials. Rumor has it they even have a Frank Gehry LV box, on sale for an eye-catching price tag of 3,000 euros.

image_e900.flvcrop.980.5000

« Le Frank » restaurant led by chef Jean-louis Nomicos. Photo by Luc Castel from fondationlouisvuitton.fr.

As is true with any non-traditional building in Paris, the Fondation Louis Vuitton was met with a certain amount of resistance. The same obstacle existed for the now well-loved Eiffel Tower and the more recent Louvre Pyramid and Pompidou Centre. But each was able to overcome the initial back-lash, and LVMH is confident that in time their new museum will join the ranks as one of the iconic buildings of the City of Lights. It has certainly made a splash in the museum circuit already.

How to find remedies online? So it’s no wonder that online pharmacies is becoming more pop over the last years. Few remedies are used to treat impotence. Topics such as “buy sildenafil citrate online” and “sildenafil 50 mg price” are highly pops now. This article focuses on the evaluation of erectile malfunction and “sildenafil citrate side effects“. Of all the matters in the field of healthcare that pique our care most, it’s sexual health problem, notably “undefined”. Low self-esteem, venous leak, some diseases, and certain medicines can reduce your sex drive. Stress affects all sides of existence including sex drive. People must always ask doctor for vocational advice about Viagra. Keep in mind online drugstore which is prepared to sell such medicaments like Viagra without a valid prescription is fraudulent. When you get from an unknown company, you run the risk of getting counterfeit drugs.


About the Author

is a writer and designer by trade and an avid traveler by heart. She first discovered her love for all things French while studying interiors in Paris, and has never quite gotten over the initial infatuation. When not planning her next escape to *La Belle France*, she can be found globe-trotting around other parts of the world and writing for her travel-inspired blog, Créatrice Mondial. Links to Published Works: The Parisian - Creatrice Mondial Paris, You're Always on My Mind



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


CAPTCHA Image
Reload Image
Back to Top ↑