Événements

Published on février 15th, 2018 | by Isabelle Karamooz, Founder of FQM

0

Un événement avec l’American Institute for Levinassian Studies à Las Vegas à ne pas manquer !

 

French Quarter Magazine a interviewé Christian Grusq, Président et fondateur de l’American Institute for Levinassian Studies afin de faire un point complet sur le développement de son réseau aux Etats-Unis, sur l’origine et le rôle de l’Institut et discuter d’une conférence à Las Vegas en mars 2018 avec la participation de French Quarter Magazine qui aura pour thème générique “Alterity in question.”

French Quarter Magazine : Bonjour M. Grusq. Faut-il selon vous être féru de philosophie pour ouvrir un centre American Institute for Levinassian Studies aux Etats-Unis ?

Christian Grusq : Bonjour Isabelle Karamoz. Pour ouvrir un institut de philosophie, il faut bien évidemment d’abord aimer cette discipline, et surtout avoir l’envie forte de partager cette passion d’« amour de la sagesse », comme la traduction grecque le propose.

Et même, si je ne pense pas qu’il faille nécessairement être féru de philosophie, au sens académique du terme, je crois certainement que la philosophie est un formidable outil.

S’arrêter de gesticuler un instant en posant un simple regard sur le monde qui nous entoure avec une attention particulière, penser ce que nous y faisons et à la place que nous y occupons, voilà ce à quoi la philosophie peut inspirer des réponses, ou tout au moins des pistes de réflexion.

En fait, l’une des préoccupations essentielle de la philosophie est de prendre le temps de questionner certaines de nos idées quotidiennes tout à fait courantes, communes à chacun d’entre nous et surtout utilisées sans vraiment y réfléchir.

Comme l’historien se pose des questions sur ce qui a eu lieu dans le passé, le philosophe se demande « qu’est-ce que le temps ? ».

De la même manière, à la question de savoir si c’est mal de doubler tout le monde dans une file d’attente, le philosophe demandera «  qu’est-ce qui rend une action bonne ou mauvaise ? »

French Quarter Magazine : Quelles ont été les retombées de l’ouverture de ce centre aux Etats-Unis, lancé il y a plus d’un an ?

Christian Grusq : Nous avons effectivement lancé à Los Angeles cet institut le 1er Mars 2016 à l’Alliance Française de Los Angeles avec l’aide de sa Présidente Isabelle Leroux, et depuis nous n’avons cessé de croître, en organisant aussi des conférences à UCLA, où le Prof Jean-Claude Carron, Directeur Scientifique de l’AILS, y enseigne dans le Département de French and Francophone Studies.

A Los Angeles, nous avons même organisé une conférence dans une galerie d’art sur Melrose Ave et une autre à l’American Jewish University

Notre première série de séminaires en 2016 était sur la Violence, la seconde en 2016/2017 le sujet a été l’Ethique, et nous avons abordé cette 3ème année sur l’Altérité.

Nous avons même eu l’heureuse surprise d’être suivi dans nos travaux par un public d’Amérique du Sud, et notamment du Costa-Rica, du Brésil et d’Argentine, d’où un vrai sens au nom même d’American Institut, donc non limité au seuls publics et universitaires des USA.

French Quarter Magazine : Quels sont les participants et les membres de American Institute for Levinassian Studies?

Christian Grusq : Tout d’abord il est important de préciser que toutes nos conférences sont exclusivement en anglais, et celles et ceux qui y participent sont majoritairement américains.

Notre public est, dans sa grande majorité, quotidiennement très éloigné des questions philosophiques, au sens où ils ne sont ni étudiants, ni universitaires, ni même ayant dans leur activité professionnelle un rapport immédiat à la philosophie. Cela peut évidemment paraître un peu surprenant, cependant l’enseignement de la philosophie n’étant pas aux USA, un passage obligé, comme c’est le cas par exemple en Europe, il y a peut-être un mélange heureux de curiosité et d’intérêt plus profonds.

Je pense qu’ils aiment l’idée de la pensée, que nous acceptons tout le monde, qu’il n’existe pas pour nous de question inutile, et que nos conférences sont aussi très conviviales.

Il n’y a pas pour le moment de membres, je travaille avec une formidable et talentueuse petite équipe et notre intention est d’accroître notre présence dans le champ philosophique américain. Nous voulons d’abord partager et ouvrir le champ de la réflexion ensemble.

French Quarter Magazine : Cela fait plus de 10 ans aujourd’hui que Benny Lévy (1945-2003), fondateur de l’Institut d’études lévinassiennes, nous a quitté. Pouvez-vous nous en dire plus sur lui et sur Emmanuel Levinas (1906-1995) qui est le point de départ de l’Institut ?

Christian Grusq : Emmanuel Levinas n’est pas le point de départ, il est le point de croisement.

L’Institut d’études lévinassiennes, depuis sa création et dans sa forme actuelle, est avant tout une totale création de Benny Lévy – et de lui d’abord – accompagné par deux autres intellectuels français, Bernard-Henri Levy et Alain Finkielkraut.

Né au Caire en 1945, Benny Lévy et sa famille quittent l’Egypte et s’installent à Bruxelles en 1956 où il y est élève au Lycée Français, puis il arrive à Paris en 1963 pour entrer en Hypokhâgne au Lycée Louis Le Grand, et intègre Normale Supérieure, véritable creuset des philosophes français.

Il devient proche et travaille avec le philosophe français Jean-Paul Sartre, jusqu’á sa mort en 1980, lit Levinas, et soutiendra sa thèse de philosophie en novembre 1985 intitulée « Philon d’Alexandrie en regard des Pharisiens » qui sera publié en 1988 sous le titre Le logos et la lettre, portant sur la pensée allégorique de Philon d’Alexandrie, un juif hellénisé, vivant à Alexandrie au début de notre ère, n’ayant accès à la Bible qu’au travers de sa traduction en grec – qui était sa langue maternelle.

Mais le grec est aussi la langue de la philosophie dont elle véhicule, qu’on le veuille ou non, les concepts et les représentations.

Qu’arrive-t-il donc pour la Bible dans cette traduction des versets (la lettre) en propositions philosophiques (le logos) ?

C’est pour Benny, rapporté par lui-même, son choc: «  Le monde a été créé avec des lettres ! »

Parti à Jérusalem en 1995, il y crée en 1996 une Ecole Doctorale dépendant de l’Université de Paris VII (Jussieu), avec des cours et des séminaires de philosophie et de littérature qui ont lieu dans les locaux de l’Alliance Française, et la 1ère année porte sur Levinas, décédé en 1995. Cependant une nouvelle direction de Paris VII décide de fermer son Ecole doctorale, et même l’Alliance Française fermera ses portes en Décembre 1999.

C’est ainsi, que Benny Levy crée l’Institut d’études lévinassiennes au printemps 2000 à Jérusalem avec Bernard-Henri Levy et Alain Finkielkraut, Levinas étant le point de croisement de ces trois philosophes.

Après presque 3 années de succès et d’engouement, Benny décède le 15 octobre 2003.

Début 2004, les activités reprennent rapidement à Paris, sous la direction de son fils René Lévy, philosophe et talmudiste, de Gilles Hanus, professeur de philosophie et l’un des élèves le plus proche de Benny, qui prends la direction des Cahiers d’études lévinassiennes, et d’un petit groupe d’amis et d’élèves de Benny, et pour ma part j’en prendrai la présidence du Comité.

La figure qui a permis à l’Institut d’exister est Emmanuel Levinas, celle dont il porte presque le nom, et le « presque » a une assez grande importance ici : nous ne sommes pas un Institut Levinas.

Levinas reste le point de départ philosophique des trois fondateurs.

Pourquoi Levinas ? Parce qu’il se distingue par une certaine singularité, qui associe trois ingrédients rarement réunis :

– En premier lieu, une présence importante dans le champ de la philosophie en tant que discipline du savoir, et lui-même comme introducteur de la phénoménologie.

– Deuxièmement, une certaine étrangeté dans la monde philosophique français et même européen, constitué essentiellement d’universitaires. Levinas n’était pas un produit de l’Université française, bien qu’il en ait été l’élève et qu’il y ait, finalement, que très tardivement enseigné, alors qu’il était déjà mondialement reconnu.

Emmanuel Levinas venait de Lituanie, a été élevé en russe et n’a appris le français qu’à l’âge de dix-huit ans, pour ses études.

Malgré ce « retard », il s’est imposé comme l’un des philosophes français les plus originaux, aussi pour des questions de style et d’écriture.

– Troisièmement, Levinas était juif et entretenait un rapport particulier aux textes de la tradition juive – tant la Bible que le Talmud – qu’il interrogeait comme penseur et non comme objets de dévotion, réduisant le gouffre séparant dans la langue et dans la pensée, le savoir de la croyance.

Cette triple conjonction particulière a produit un renouvellement dans le champ de la pensée, et c’est ce à quoi nous nous attachons.

French Quarter Magazine : En tant que président et fondateur de American Institute for Levinassian Studies, vous aidez à étendre les activités de l’Institut d’études lévinassiennes (www.levinas.fr) à travers le pays. Les conférences sont uniquement en anglais: tous ceux qui y assistent sont encouragés à participer activement et à exprimer leurs connaissances et leurs opinions. Quels sont vos principaux objectifs liés aux communautés pour l’AILS?

Christian Grusq : Comme vous l’aurez compris, il est d’emblée exclu que l’AILS soit un institut universitaire voué à l’étude savante des thèses de Levinas ou de son œuvre. La volonté première de Benny Levy, que nous nous efforçons de poursuivre, reste celle d’une pensée vivante, d’une pensée se déployant, se faisant.

Cette production d’une pensée ne peut exister que par la confrontation voulue et organisée de plusieurs penseurs de styles et d’horizons très différents sur un même thème annuel. Il s’agit de sortir des conférences académiques convenues, sans pour autant rien sacrifier à la rigueur.

Nous travaillons donc « autour » de Lévinas et non « sur » lui – et la latitude offerte par cet « autour » est immense.

Les thèmes de travail sont traités avec la plus grande liberté, y compris par rapport aux thématiques des textes de Levinas dont elles sont issues.

C’est le sens que nous donnons à l’adjectif « levinassian » qui qualifie les études menées au sein de l’AILS. Tous les thèmes travaillés ont donc un caractère quelque peu décalé par rapport à ce que l’on pourrait s’attendre à trouver même dans un colloque consacré à un penseur. Nous tenons à ce décalage.

French Quarter Magazine : Quelle programmation l’AILS offre-t-elle aux membres ou aux non-membres qui souhaitent rejoindre vos séries de séminaires, conférences, événements et réunions?

Christian Grusq : Nous proposons un séminaire annuel autour d’un thème générique issu de la pensée de Levinas, que nous déclinons, avec environ une conférence par mois, par des intervenants très divers et issus de milieux extrêmement différents.

Nos conférenciers peuvent être écrivains, avocat, physiciens, sociologues, galeriste, universitaires, artistes, médecins, directeur de musée, politiciens, entrepreneurs, etc…et même philosophes… !

Notre seul critère, comme pour ce qui concerne la revue philosophique annuelle que nous publions, n’est pas nécessairement la possession de diplômes mais une parole intéressante, puissante, nouvelle, et surtout sans tourner en rond !

French Quarter Magazine : Pensez-vous que nous devrions tous lire la série d’essais d’Emmanuel Lévinas?

Christian Grusq : Ce n’est pas moi qui vous dirais le contraire, bien évidemment !

Emmanuel Levinas est un philosophe essentiel dans la pensée du XX° siècle, et même aux USA où un bon nombre d’universitaires et de philosophes américains travaillent sur sa pensée.

Levinas a irrigué la pensée de la plupart des philosophes en étant l’introducteur, par la France, du moins l’un des introducteurs principaux, de la phénoménologie, cette nouvelle méthode de réflexion qui constitue le cœur vivant de la philosophie du XX° siècle.

Pour lui, ce qui importe est ce qui apparaît à la conscience. La phénoménologie est « la science de ce qui apparaît à la conscience ».

Alors oui, lisez Levinas, et lisez aussi nos Cahiers d’études lévinassiennes, notre revue, publiée à un rythme annuel, depuis 2002, et qui constitue une chambre de résonance de ce qui se pense chez nous.

French Quarter Magazine : Parlons maintenant de la conférence prévue à Las Vegas en mars 2018 avec la participation de French Quarter Magazine qui aura pour thème générique “Alterity in question.” Pourquoi est-il si important pour les participants de tous genres d’assister à cette conférence?

Christian Grusq : D’abord j’espère que tout ce dont nous avons parlé jusqu’à maintenant sera suffisamment attractif et même éveillera la curiosité.

Las Vegas est un lieu particulier dont le nom est porteur d’une activité particulière qui est le jeu, et tout ce qui s’y décline autour.

Las Vegas est connue comme la capitale mondiale du jeu.

Le thème annuel de l’AILS est l’Altérité, ce qui est autre, tout ce qui n’est pas moi, et pourquoi pas « de moi ».

Qu’en est-il du jeu et de l’action de jouer, le gambling ?

Gagner ou perdre au gambling procèdent de la même manière : une chose extérieure à moi que je prends comme point de jonction et auquel je me donne volontairement: le hasard.

C’est un comportement assez paradoxal, basé sur des pratiques qui pourraient apparaître absurdes, et pourtant accepté et partagé à travers le monde et dans l’histoire humaine.

Cependant, pour le philosophe, il faut aller au-delà du visible, du gambling.

Ce « hasard » est-il une contingence, la possibilité qu’une chose arrive ou n’arrive pas, ou une coïncidence, l’intersection de deux séries causales prenant au dépourvu celui ou celle qui, pour le meilleur ou le pire, se trouvait à leur centre ?

Telle est l’une des raisons pour laquelle aller parler de cela à Las Vegas, confirme ce qu’écrivait le poète français du XXème siècle Paul Eluard « Il n’y a pas de hasard, il n’y a que des rendez-vous. »

French Quarter Magazine : Les participants rencontreront-ils certains types d’experts et pourront-ils travailler avec eux en réseau ?

Christian Grusq : Il y aura, je le souhaite, des experts dans des domaines autour du jeu et de la philosophie du jeu, et ce qui devrait être encore plus intéressant, je l’espère, sera d’avoir parmi nous, dans le public, des experts du jeu ayant l’expérience et le vécu de cette recherche du hasard, productrice de cette adrénaline particulière, et que nous pourrons frotter à la lumière de la philosophie, depuis les grecs, et même avant.

Donner et renouveler le sens à tout cela, tel en est l’enjeu.

French Quarter Magazine : Qu’espérez-vous de cette conférence AILS ? (Les présentations, le dialogue entre les participants et les questions posées).

Christian Grusq : Afin de ne pas me répéter abusivement, tout cela à la fois, et aussi faire connaître l’American Institute for Levinassian Studies au public de Las Vegas, et pourquoi pas prendre date pour 2019 !

 

 

 

 


About the Author

was born in the royal city of Versailles, France and have lived in the United States since 1996. After earning a Bachelor's degree in History from the University of California Berkeley and studying for a Master program in education at the University of Southern California, she went on to teach French to aspiring UNLV and CSN students in Nevada. When she is not teaching, she is writing, interviewing people in a wide range of circumstances, pitching story ideas to writers and editors, taking pictures, traveling, painting or trying delicious foods.



Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Back to Top ↑

Events

Published on February 15th, 2018 | by Isabelle Karamooz, Founder of FQM

0

A not to be missed event with the American Institute for Levinassian Studies in Las Vegas!

 

French Quarter Magazine interviewed Christian Grusq, the President and Founder of the American Institute for Levinassian Studies to provide us with a comprehensive update on the development of their Institute here in the United States, as well as the role it plays, and its origins. We will also be discussing the upcoming conference that they will be holding in Las Vegas in March 2018. In association with French Quarter Magazine, we will title this conference “Alterity in question.”  

French Quarter Magazine: Hello Mr. Grusq. Do you think you need to be philosophical in order to open an American Institute for Levinassian Studies center in the United States?

Christian Grusq: Hello Isabelle Karamoz. To open a philosophical institute, it’s better, of course, to love this field of study, and have a strong desire to share this passion for the « love of wisdom », as the greek translation proposes it.

And even if I don’t think it’s necessary to be philosophical, in the academic sense of the word, I certainly believe that philosophy is a great tool.

If we stop gesticulating for just a moment and simply look at the world around us with careful consideration, think about what we are doing here, and where we are in this life, than philosophy can inspire us answers, or at least give us some ways for further reflection.

In fact, one of the main beliefs behind philosophy is to take the time to think about some of our average daily thoughts, the ones that are common to all of us and mostly used without really thinking about them, and to question them.

As the historian asks himself questions about what happened in the past, the philosopher asks himself « what is time? »

Take for example, the thought of skipping someone in a line, the philosopher will ask « what makes an action good or bad? »

French Quarter Magazine: What are some of the impacts that opening this center in the United States has had since its inception more than a year ago?

Christian Grusq: We actually opened this institute in Los Angeles on March 1st, 2016 at the Alliance Française de Los Angeles with the help of its President Isabelle Leroux, and since then we have not stopped growing, we’re also organizing conferences at UCLA, where Prof. Jean-Claude Carron, AILS Scientific Director, teaches literature in the Department of French and Francophone Studies.

In Los Angeles, we had even organize a conference in an art gallery on Melrose Ave and another at the American Jewish University.

Our first series of seminars in 2016 was on Violence, the second series that we did in 2016 and 2017 was based on the topic of Ethics, and this year we’ve been tackling the concept known as « Alterity » 

We’ve had an immense amount of admiration from the general public in South America. We were pleasantly surprised to  have support from Brazil and Argentina, and particularly from Costa-Rica.

Where the very name of an American Institute has real meaning, we are thus more far reaching than just university audiences in the U.S.A.

French Quarter Magazine: Who are the attendees and members of the American Institute for Levinassian Studies?

Christian Grusq: First of all, it’s important to mention that all our conferences are conducted exclusively in English, and those who participate are mostly American. This may seem a little surprising but the vast majority of our audience don’t have philosophy backgrounds. In the sense that most of them are neither students nor academics, nor do they have an immediate relation to philosophy in their professional lives. As the teaching of philosophy is not required in the U.S. as it is in Europe, maybe there’s a good mix of people with a deeper interest in the subject.

I think our audiences likes the idea of ​​the thought, there is not any question that is useless, we accept everyone, and they like that our conferences are so user-friendly.

We currently have no members, I work with a wonderful and talented small team and our intention is to increase our presence in the American philosophical field. We want to open up and share the process of reflection together.

French Quarter Magazine: For more than 10 years now, Benny Lévy, founder of the Institute for Levinassian Studies, has left us. Can you tell us about him and Emmanuel Levinas (1906-1995) who is the starting point of the Institute?

Christian Grusq: Emmanuel Levinas is not the point of departure, he is the crossroads inspiration. 

Since it’s creation, The Institute of Levinassian Studies, has always been, from its humble beginnings to the present day, the mastermind of Benny Lévy – himself first – accompanied by two other French intellectuals, Bernard-Henri Levy and Alain Finkielkraut.

Born in Cairo in 1945, Benny Lévy and his family left Egypt and settled in Brussels in 1956, where he went to school at the Lycée Français, then he moved to Paris in 1963 to enroll in Hypokhâgne at the Lycée Louis Le Grand, and then he was admitted into Normal Superior, real crucible of most French philosophers.

He becomes close with the French philosopher Jean-Paul Sartre, and works with him until his death in 1980. He reads Levinas work, and supports his thesis on philosophy in November 1985 titled « Philon d’Alexandrie en regard des Pharisiens » (Philon of Alexandria next to the Pharisees) to be published in 1988 under the title Le logos et la lettre ( The Logos and the Letter), concerning the allegorical thought of Philon of Alexandria, a hellenized Jew, living in Alexandria at the beginning of our era, having access to the Bible only through his translations into greek – which was his mother language.

But greek is also the language of philosophy, and what it conveys, whether we like it or not, is concepts and representations.

So what happened to the Bible through these translations of the verses (letters), into the philosophical propositions (logos)?

It was for Benny, as stated by himself, a shock: « The world was created with letters! »

He moved to Jerusalem in 1995, where he set up a doctoral school in 1996 dependant of the University of Paris VII (Jussieu), with courses and seminars in philosophy and literature at the Alliance Française, and the first year is about Levinas, died in 1995. However, a new management at Paris VII decides to close the Doctoral School, and even the Alliance Française will end up closing its doors in December 1999.

Thus, Benny Levy creates the Institute of Levinassian Studies in spring 2000 in Jerusalem with Bernard-Henri Levy and Alain Finkielkraut, Levinas being the source of inspiration for these three philosophers.

After almost 3 years of success and enthusiasm, Benny dies on October 15, 2003.

At the beginning of 2004, the activities quickly resume in Paris, under the direction of his son René Lévy,  philosopher and Talmudist. Gilles Hanus, professor of philosophy and one of Benny’s closest pupils, will take on a leading role at the Cahiers d’études levinassiennes, along with a small group of Benny’s friends and students, and I took the presidence of the Committee.

The figure which has enabled the Institute to exist is Emmanuel Levinas, the one whose name it almost bears, and the « almost » is a key here: we are not a Levinas Institute.
 Levinas just remains the starting and common point of the three founders.

Why Levinas? Because it is distinguished by a certain singularity, which combines three ingredients that are rarely mixed together:

– First of all, there is an important presence in the field of philosophy as a discipline of knowledge, and as an introducer of phenomenology.

– Secondly, there’s a certain strangeness to the French and European philosophical world, consisting essentially of academics. Levinas was not a product of the French University, although he was a pupil of it, though this wasn’t until much later on, when he was already internationally recognized.
Emmanuel Levinas came from Lituania, was raised in russian and didn’t learn French until he was eighteen, for his studies.
Despite this « delay », he has established himself as one of the most original French philosophers, also for questions of style and writing.

– Thirdly, Levinas was a Jew and maintained a special relationship to the texts of the Jewish tradition – both the Bible and the Talmud – which he interrogates as a thinker and not as objects of devotion, reducing the chasm in the language and the thought, the knowledge from the belief.

This particular triple conjunction has produced a renewal in the field of the philosophical thought, and this is what we are striving for.

French Quarter Magazine: As President and Founder of the American Institute for Levinassian Studies, you help promote the activities of the Institute of Levinassian Studies (www.levinas.fr) across the country. The lectures are only in English: everyone who attends is encouraged to actively participate and express their knowledge and opinions. What are your main community-related goals for AILS?

Christian Grusq: As you will have understood, it is immediately excluded that the AILS could be an academic institute devoted to the scholarly study of Levinas’s theses or his work. The will of Benny Lévy, which we strive to pursue, remains that of a living thought, of a thought unfolding itself, making itself.

This production of a thought can only exist through the desired and organized confrontation of several thinkers of very different styles and horizons on the same annual theme. It is about going out of academic conferences, without sacrificing rigor at all.

We work « around » Levinas and not « on him » – and the latitude offered by this « around » is huge.

The themes of work are treated with the greatest freedom, including the relation to the themes of the texts of Levinas from which they are derived.

This is the meaning we give to the adjective « levinassian » which qualifies the studies conducted within the AILS. All the themes we work on have a somewhat off-kilter character compared to what one would expect to find in a symposium dedicated to a thinker. « We care about this gap ».

French Quarter Magazine: What type of programming does the AILS offer to members or non-members who wish to join your series of seminars, conferences, events and meetings?

Christian Grusq: We propose an annual seminar around a general theme from the thought of Levinas, and we do roughly one conference a month, with diverse collaborators from very different backgrounds.

Our speakers vary from writers to lawyers, physicists, to sociologists, we have gallerists, academics, artists, doctors, museum curators and directors, politicians, entrepreneurs, etc… and even philosophers…!

In regards to the annual philosophical review that we publish, our criterion isn’t based on one’s academic accolades but rather on one’s ability to possess an interesting voice, a voice that is powerful, fresh, and above all, we are looking for someone that doesn’t think and talk in circles!

French Quarter Magazine: Do you think we should all read Emmanuel Lévinas’ series of essays?

Christian Grusq: Of course! I couldn’t argue against that 
Emmanuel Levinas was an essential philosopher for the twentieth century thought, he is even well known in the USA, where a good number of American academics and philosophers study his work.

Levinas has inundated the thinking of most philosophers by being one of France’s forerunners of phenomenology, or at least one of the main originators of it, it was this new method of reflection which helped establish the spirit of twentieth century philosophy.

For him, what mattered was what appeared to the consciousness. Phenomenology is « the science of what appears to consciousness ».

So yes, read Levinas, and also read our magazine, Cahiers d’études lévinassiennes, published annually since 2002, wich is the chamber of resonance of what is thought in our institute.

French Quarter Magazine: Let’s talk about the conference planned in Las Vegas in March 2018 in association with French Quarter Magazine which will be generally themed, “Alterity in question.” Why is it so important for participants of all kinds to attend this conference?

Christian Grusq: First of all, I hope that everything we have talked about so far was sufficient and will arouse some curiosity.

Las Vegas is a special place whose name carries with it the thought of a particular activity known as the game, and all that revolves around that game.

Las Vegas is known as the gambling capital of the world.

This years theme of AILS is « Alterity in question », what is the other, everything that is not me, and why not « from me » ?

What about the game and the action of playing, of gambling?

To win or lose in gambling proceeds in the same way: an external thing to me that I take as a point of connection and to which I give myself voluntarily: the chance or hazard.

It’s a pretty paradoxical behavior, based on practices that might appear absurd, and yet are accepted and shared around the world and in human history.

However, for the philosopher, we must go beyond the visible, beyond the gambling.

This chance, is it a contengency, a possibility that something could happen or not, or a coincidence, an intersection where a casual series takes place, taking the one who’s deprived, for better or worse, from their core ?

This is one of the reasons why we want to talk about this in Las Vegas, it confirms that which was written by the French poet of the 20th century, Paul Eluard. « There is no chance, there are only appointments. »

French Quarter Magazine: Will attendees be meeting certain types of experts and will they be able to network with them?

Christian Grusq: There will be experts from different domains of the gaming industry discussing the philosophy of the game. And what should be even more interesting, I hope, will be to have among us, in the audience, gaming experts who have experienced this quest for luck, which produces this particular adrenaline rush, and that we can discuss that in the light of philosophy, from the Greeks, and even before.

Giving and renewing meaning to all of this that is the stake.

French Quarter Magazine: What do you hope for at this AILS conference, (Presentations, dialogue between participants and questions asked)?

Christian Grusq: In order not to repeat myself abusively, all of these things, and also to make the American Institute for Levinassian Studies known to the people of Las Vegas, and why not start, planning for 2019!

 

 

 

 


About the Author

was born in the royal city of Versailles, France and have lived in the United States since 1996. After earning a Bachelor's degree in History from the University of California Berkeley and studying for a Master program in education at the University of Southern California, she went on to teach French to aspiring UNLV and CSN students in Nevada. When she is not teaching, she is writing, interviewing people in a wide range of circumstances, pitching story ideas to writers and editors, taking pictures, traveling, painting or trying delicious foods.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to Top ↑