Gastronomie

Published on juillet 10th, 2018 | by Isabelle Karamooz, Founder of FQM

2

A Taste of Paris: Entretien avec l’auteur américain David Downie

L’auteur David Downie. Photo d’Alison Harris.

Je suis ravie de vous présenter l’auteur américain David Downie, originaire de San Francisco, qui a déménagé à Paris au milieu des années 1980. Ses articles de cuisine ont paru dans de nombreux magazines et journaux du monde entier et Downie tient à partager Paris avec ses lecteurs. Il a écrit plusieurs livres de non-fiction sur Paris, parmi eux « Paris, Paris: Journey into the City of Light » ; « Paris to the Pyrenees; and A Passion for Paris: Romance and Romanticism in the City of Light » et son dernier livre: « A Taste of Paris: A History of the Parisian Love Affair with Food, » une histoire culinaire délectable de la capitale gastronomique du monde.

 

French Quarter Magazine : Pourquoi être venu à Paris ?

David Downie : Trop de raisons pour les énumérer toutes ! Parmi elles, un désir de vivre dans une belle ville historique où la qualité de la vie est excellente. Où j’ai des amis qui sont intéressés par autre chose que gagner de l’argent et grimper l’échelle sociale, un endroit où je pouvais commencer une nouvelle vie en écrivant sans que ça me coute trop cher. Je n’avais pas besoin de voiture, je pouvais avoir une assurance maladie et une retraite et j’avais le sentiment que la démocratie sociale fonctionnait bien. La folie de l’ère réactionnaire de Reagan était loin. J’ai aussitôt intégré le système français – sécurité sociale, impôts, retraite, santé –et c’est une des meilleures décisions de ma vie. Bien sûr, j’aimais aussi le vin et la nourriture !

French Quarter Magazine : Qu’est-ce que vous aimez le plus à Paris, maintenant c’est que c’est votre résidence ?

David Downie : A peu près les mêmes choses que j’aimais il y a 30 ou 40 ans. On peut y être marginal, se consacrer à l’art ou la littérature et ne pas gagner beaucoup d’argent, être soi, être ouvert avec un esprit critique et ne pas avoir à prétendre tout le temps que tout est beau et grand et merveilleux et positif – l’optimisme institutionnalisé et l’incapacité des américains à accepter leurs émotions est extraordinairement factice et ennuyeux.

French Quarter Magazine : Quand vous êtes arrivé à Paris, qu’est-ce qui vous a impressionné le plus ?

David Downie : Le sens de l’histoire, le respect pour la culture et la bonne vie. Aussi, avoir la liberté de ne pas avoir de religion. En Amérique, nous avons la « liberté de religion ». Alors qu’en France, on est libre de ne pas en avoir. Quel soulagement ! Et « intellectuel » n’est pas une insulte, alors que dans l’Amérique de Reagan, le mantra était « la cupidité est positive ». C’est revenu à l’ordre du jour avec l’ère lamentable du président actuel. Je m’abstiendrai d’autres commentaires.

French Quarter Magazine : Qu’est-ce que vous a décidé à écrire « A Taste of Paris » ?

Le nouveau livre de David Downie : A Taste of Paris.

David Downie : Je suis un écrivain professionnel, c’est comme ça que je gagne ma vie. C’est mon 14eme livre publié. Ce qu’il contient et son inspiration viennent du passé, de mes premières promenades dans Paris dans les années 70 et 80. Depuis longtemps, j’ai vu cette ville en termes de « topographie gastronomique », ce qui coïncide pour la plus grande part avec l’histoire de la ville et son expansion vers l’extérieur, comme une spirale ou une coquille d’escargot. L’histoire est très riche et pour moi infiniment fascinante. Alors après plusieurs décades d’écritures sur Paris, son histoire, sa nourriture, j’ai décidé de prendre toutes ces fils et de les tricoter ensemble en quelque sorte, pour parler de l’histoire d’amour plusieurs fois centenaires des parisiens avec la nourriture et le vin. C’est une célebration, une autobiographie, une aventure urbaine.

French Quarter Magazine : Quelle est l’une des choses les plus intéressantes que vous ayez appris lors de vos recherches pour votre livre « A Taste of Paris » ?

David Downie : Juste à quel point la gastronomie française depuis le début est venue ou a été fortement inspirée par l’Italie. C’est incroyable. Même les plats préférés et les plus connus d’aujourd’hui sont en fait d’origine romaine ou Italienne. J’ai l’impression que mes lecteurs français ne sont pas ravis de cette révélation !

French Quarter Magazine : Quel est le rôle du critique gastronomique aujourd’hui quand chacun peut être un critique (Trip advisor, Yelp, etc…) ?

David Downie : Je suppose que l’on peut se demander d’une façon générale quel est le rôle du journalisme, ou de la science politique, ou de la photographie quand chacun peut être un expert de salon en science politique, photographie ou journalisme. Le monde a désespérément besoin de vrais experts. Si vous étiez malade, iriez-vous voir un gourou bien noté par Trip advisor ou Yelp, ou iriez-vous voir un médecin ou un chirurgien avec des diplômes et du savoir-faire ? Le désastre politique en Amérique aujourd’hui est le résultat de l’amateurisme : les électeurs ont préféré un « outsider » à un politicien professionnel. Et regardez le résultat ! Comme la plupart des journalistes et critiques sérieux, j’ai passé des années à être vieux jeu et à vérifier tout ce que j’écrivais avant de publier un article ou un livre. Maintenant, chacun fait comme il veut, et il en résulte une prolifération de verbiage inutile bon à mettre à la poubelle. Ramenez les professionnels, s’il vous plait ! Les critiques ont besoin de savoir comment écrire mais aussi comment manger, comment interviewer, comment vérifier vos sources, poser des questions difficiles, aller dans les coulisses, etc. Je ne peux même pas vous dire combien de critiques improvisés complimentent de la nourriture absolument immangeable. C’est choquant.

French Quarter Magazine : Si vous parliez à quelqu’un qui n’a aucune idée de ce qu’est la cuisine française, comment la définiriez-vous ?

David Downie : C’est une question à la fois fascinante et impossible à répondre. J’aurais besoin d’un livre entier pour le faire ! Je pourrais dire que la cuisine française est le résultat de siècles, de millénaires d’influences réciproques, d’essais et d’échecs, de la fusion de traditions culinaires paysannes, bourgeoises et aristocratiques. C’est un mélange très complexe de cuisines plurielles qui s’ajustent les unes avec les autres, qui reflètent l’état des régions et des conditions socio-culturelles du pays au bout d’un certain temps. Il se trouve aussi que c’est une des premières cuisines du monde, pas la première, une des premières. Mais elle offre des douzaines de merveilleux classiques et aussi une tendance à expérimenter (parfois de façon excentrique) qui passionne et met l’eau à la bouche des gourmets et des « foodies ».

French Quarter Magazine : Les restaurants de Paris sont-ils meilleurs ou pires si vous comparez avec votre arrivée ?

David Downie : Ni pire ni meilleure, certains sont merveilleux et l’ont toujours été, et il y en a d’autres – destinés aux touristes ou aux prétentieux de la jet-set – qui sont remarquablement horribles. Je dirais que le point le plus bas a probablement été atteint il y a 25 ans ; la qualité des ingrédients s’est beaucoup améliorée ces dernières années. Aussi, on trouve beaucoup de jeunes chefs inspirés, qui en ont assez des filières industrielles de provenance des ingrédients et des préparations. Alors, l’un dans l’autre, je pense que l’on mange aussi bien et peut-être même mieux qu’il y a 40 ans. Il faut aussi penser au-delà du secteur des restaurants habituels – le secteur comprend aussi le pain, les pâtisseries, les légumes, les marchés etc. Ce secteur est très vivant.

French Quarter Magazine : Quel est votre quartier préféré à Paris ? Votre restaurant du coin préféré ?

Le Marais. Photo de Nexity Conseil et Transaction.

David Downie : Je ne suis pas sûr que j’aie un quartier préféré. Je pense que j’ai des coins préférés dans certains quartiers. La plupart d’entre eux sont dans le centre historique de la ville, je dois dire, et j’ai un penchant pour le Marais où je vis depuis 30 ans.

En ce qui concerne mon restaurant préféré, si je vous le dis, je ne pourrai plus y avoir une table ! Mon conseil : lisez mon livre – vous y découvrirez les endroits que j’aime et aussi ceux que j’évite. En toute franchise, je vous dirai que je préfère les endroits traditionnels, les bistros, les brasseries, et les cafés. J’ai diné dans beaucoup, beaucoup d’établissements étoilés et hauts de gamme et j’ai bien peur que ce style ne m’impressionne plus beaucoup, bien que je respecte le talent et le savoir-faire de ceux qui y travaillent et je n’ai aucune hostilité a leur égard.

 

Cet article a été traduit en français par Anne-Cécile Baer Porter.

 

 

 


About the Author

was born in the royal city of Versailles, France and have lived in the United States since 1996. After earning a Bachelor's degree in History from the University of California Berkeley and studying for a Master program in education at the University of Southern California, she went on to teach French to aspiring UNLV and CSN students in Nevada. When she is not teaching, she is writing, interviewing people in a wide range of circumstances, pitching story ideas to writers and editors, taking pictures, traveling, painting or trying delicious foods.



2 Responses to A Taste of Paris: Entretien avec l’auteur américain David Downie

  1. Tu-Oanh says:

    Nice interview Isabelle! Have you read The New Paris by Lindsey Tramuta? I’d also recommend Pancakes in Paris by USC alum Craig 🙂

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *


CAPTCHA Image
Reload Image
Back to Top ↑

Gastronomy

Published on February 15th, 2018 | by Isabelle Karamooz, Founder of FQM

2

A Taste of Paris: Interview with American Author David Downie

Author David Downie. Photo courtesy: Alison Harris.

I am delighted to introduce you to American author David Downie, a native San Franciscan who moved to Paris in the mid-1980s. His feature articles have appeared in numerous magazines and newspapers worldwide and Downie is keen to share Paris with his readers. He has written several non-fiction books about Paris, among them « Paris, Paris: Journey into the City of Light »; « Paris to the Pyrenees; and A Passion for Paris: Romance and Romanticism in the City of Light » and his latest book being: « A Taste of Paris: A History of the Parisian Love Affair with Food, » a delectable culinary history of the gastronomic capital of the world.

 

French Quarter Magazine: Why did you come to Paris?

David Downie: For too many reasons to list. Among them, a desire to live in a handsome, historic city where the quality of life was high, where I had friends who were interested in things other than making money and social climbing, a place where I could reinvent myself and live cheaply while writing. I did not need a car, I could sign up for health insurance and retirement, and I had a sense that social democracy was alive and well. The madness of the reactionary Reagan era was far away. I joined the French system—social security, taxes, retirement, health—immediately and it was one of the best things I have ever done. Of course I also loved the food and wine !

French Quarter Magazine: What do you love most about Paris now that it’s your home?

David Downie: Mostly, the same things I loved 30 or 40 years ago. It’s all right to live in the margins, to dedicate yourself to art or literature and not earn a lot of money, to be yourself, to be open and critical and not to have to pretend all the time that everything is great and beautiful and wonderful and positive—the institutionalized optimism and inability to deal with moods of so many Americans is extraordinarily phony and tedious.

French Quarter Magazine: When you first arrived in Paris, what impressed you most?

David Downie: The sense of history, the respect for culture, and the good living. Also, the freedom from religion. In America we have « freedom of religion » whereas in France we have freedom FROM religion. What a relief ! Also « intellectual » was not a dirty word, whereas in the America of the Reagan era the mantra was « greed is good. » That has returned with the lamentable era of the current US president. I will refrain from further comment.

French Quarter Magazine: What made you decide to write « A Taste of Paris? »

David Downie’s new book: A Taste of Paris.

David Downie: I am a professional writer, that’s what I do for a living. This is my 14th published book. The material and the inspiration come from way back, from my early wanderings in Paris in the 1970s and ‘80s. I have long thought of the city in terms of a « gastronomic topography » that coincides to a large extent with the history of the city and its outward expansion in a spiraling or snail-shell shape. The history is very rich and to me infinitely fascinating. So after many decades of writing about Paris, history and food I decided to bring the threads together and spin a yarn, so to speak, about the centuries-old Parisian love affair with food and wine. It’s a celebration, a memoir, an urban adventure.

French Quarter Magazine: What is one of the most interesting things you learned in doing research for your book « A Taste of Paris? »

David Downie: Just how much of French gastronomy from the very beginning came from or was heavily inspired by Italy. It is amazing. Even some of the favorite iconic foods and dishes eaten today by the French are actually ancient Roman or Italian in origin. I have a feeling my French readers will not be pleased by this revelation !

French Quarter Magazine: What’s the role of a food critic today when everyone’s a critic (ie Trip Advisor, Yelp)?

David Downie: Well, I suppose you could ask what’s the role of journalism in general, or political science, or photography, when everyone is an armchair expert on politics, a photographer and journalist. The world desperately needs real bona fide expertise. Would you go to a Trip Advisor or Yelp self-styled guru if you were sick, or would you go to a doctor or surgeon with a degree and expertise ? The political mess in America today is the result of amateurism : voters preferred an « outsider » to a professional politician. And look at the results ! Like most serious journalists and reviewers I spent years training and going through the old-paradigm system of vetting before I could publish articles or books. Now anyone can do anything they want, immediately, and the result is a proliferation of useless verbiage and garbage. Bring back the professionals, please ! Critics need to know how to write and also how to eat, how to interview, how to check sources, ask difficult questions, go behind the scenes, and so forth. I can’t tell you how many improvised critics praise absolutely uneatable food. It is shocking.

French Quarter Magazine: To someone who has no idea what French cuisine is, how would you define it?

David Downie: That is a fascinating but impossible question to answer, I would need an entire book to do that. Put it this way, French cuisine is the result of centuries, of millennia of cross-pollination, of trial and error, of the melding of peasant, bourgeois and aristocratic cooking traditions. It is a very complex set of interlocking cuisines, plural, that reflect the regions and socio-economic strata of the country over time. It also happens to be one of the great cuisines of the world—one of them, not THE great cuisine. But it does offer dozens of wonderful classics, and it has a lively (if sometimes outlandish) experimental side that keeps foodistas and fashionistas watering or foaming at the mouth.

French Quarter Magazine: Are Paris restaurants better or worse than when you arrived?

David Downie: Neither better nor worse, there are some that are wonderful, and there always were wonderful places, and there are many – for tourists or the pretentious fashion-set – that are remarkably awful. I would say that the low point was probably 25 years ago and that the quality of ingredients has improved a lot in recent years. Also, there are a lot of dedicated younger cooks who are tired of the usual industrial run-of-the-mill style of sourcing food and cooking. So, all in all, I think one eats just as well and possibly better now than 40 years ago. It’s important to think beyond the standard restaurant scene. The food scene is also about bread and pastries and produce and markets and so forth. That scene is very vibrant.

French Quarter Magazine: What Is your favorite neighborhood In Paris? Your favorite local restaurant?

The Marais district. Photo courtesy: Nexity Conseil et Transaction.

David Downie: I’m not sure I have a favorite neighborhood, I think I have favorite areas within certain neighborhoods. Most of them are in the historic center of town, admittedly, and I do have a soft spot for the Marais, where I have lived for over 30 years.

As to my favorite local restaurant, if I tell you then I won’t be able to get a table there anymore ! My advice is to read my book—you’ll discover the places I like and also the ones I avoid. To be honest with you, I will say that I prefer traditional places, bistros and brasseries and cafes. I have eaten in many, many upscale starred properties and I am afraid that style of dining really no longer thrills me, though I recognize the talent and skill of its practitioners and wish them well !

 

This article was translated in French by Anne-Cécile Baer Porter.

 


About the Author

was born in the royal city of Versailles, France and have lived in the United States since 1996. After earning a Bachelor's degree in History from the University of California Berkeley and studying for a Master program in education at the University of Southern California, she went on to teach French to aspiring UNLV and CSN students in Nevada. When she is not teaching, she is writing, interviewing people in a wide range of circumstances, pitching story ideas to writers and editors, taking pictures, traveling, painting or trying delicious foods.



2 Responses to A Taste of Paris: Interview with American Author David Downie

  1. Tu-Oanh says:

    Nice interview Isabelle! Have you read The New Paris by Lindsey Tramuta? I’d also recommend Pancakes in Paris by USC alum Craig 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to Top ↑