Fashion

Published on mars 21st, 2018 | by Laurence de Valmy

0

Agathe Bousquet mixe l’héritage Cacharel à son amour pour l’artisanat

Agathe Bousquet est tombée dans la mode dès le berceau, sa famille ayant crée la célèbre marque Cacharel. Elle a acquis son expérience en France, puis aux USA pour Cacharel et est devenue fondatrice elle même de sa boutique online baptisée The Undertropic qu’elle gère entre New York et Miami. The Undertropic est née suite à un séjour au Pérou, où Agathe a rencontré des artisans qui l’ont inspirée à mettre leurs talents et valeurs en avant. Elle mixe ainsi des pièces de designer avec des pièces artisanales pour créer un univers bohème chic et coloré pour des femmes souhaitant allier mode et commerce équitable.

Parlez-nous de vos racines et de votre parcours dans la mode :

Je suis originaire de Nîmes. Grâce à ma mère qui a toujours passionnément travaillé dans la mode, j’ai été baignée avec ma sœur, très tôt dans cet univers. Je partage ma vie aujourd’hui entre la France et Miami. J’ai été attiré très jeune par les USA. J’ai pris des cours de théâtre au Lee Strasberg Institut à NYC. De retour en France, ma passion pour la mode a pris le dessus et j’ai ouvert deux boutiques dans le sud de la France. Le succès a été au rendez vous et j’ai intégré par la suite pendant plusieurs années le showroom Cacharel France dont mon oncle Jean Bousquet est le fondateur. Je suis retournée à NYC prendre la direction USA Cacharel pendant 4 ans et mise en place récemment fin 2017 la création du site The Undertropic.

Parlez-nous de votre entreprise : comment cela a-t-il commencé?

J’ai été invité à un Trade show de mode au Pérou, à Lima. C’était la première fois que j’allais là bas, j’ai souhaité prolonger mon séjour et je suis partie avec un guide à Cusco. J’ai fait une des plus belles rencontres de ma vie en y découvrant les femmes artisanales péruviennes. J’ai passé quelques jours à leur coté et leur respect hors norme pour leur culture et leurs traditions m’a profondément touchée. Avec très peu de moyen et une créativité illimitée, elles amènent une authenticité dans leur art qui se fait de plus en plus rare aujourd’hui dans notre industrie. Suite à cette aventure, j’ai crée The Undertropic afin de pouvoir les aider et mélanger leur savoir aux designers d’aujourd’hui dont j’ai un respect inconditionnel.

Quel est votre objectif avec The Undertropic?

Je souhaite que les femmes puissent se retrouver dans ce mix d’influences, qu’elles s’amusent. The Undertropic est ouvert à toutes les femmes de tous les horizons, de tous types. The Undertropic est une invitation vers un univers coloré pop dont je suis une grande fan. Chaque produit est étudié pour permettre de créer une silhouette moderne et décomplexée. En parallèle mon soutien pour l’artisanat est une de mes priorités, il est important de continuer à faire connaitre leur travail à travers le monde.

Qu’est-ce que vous aimez le plus dans l’univers de la mode?

Beaucoup de choses ! Ce qui me passionne dans la mode en général est la créativité qui s’en dégage. J’adore les créateurs de mode qui à travers leur vision et leur talent mettent les femmes en valeur, transforment leur quotidien. La mode est un moyen extraordinaire de pouvoir s’exprimer, de montrer sa personnalité et se découvrir soi même. Le plus important est de ne pas trop la prendre au sérieux !

Avez-vous une anecdote que vous aimeriez partager ?

Je suis toujours émerveillée de voir la passion qu‘ont les couturières à réaliser une pièce pour une collection. Ayant assisté à un défilé Cacharel au Louvre, à quelques minutes du commencement elles continuaient imperturbables la mise en place d’une robe au milieu des journalistes, photographes, mannequins. Je les appelle ‘les petites fées.

Quelle est la question que l’on vous pose le plus ?

Quel est mon style ? Ce à quoi je réponds ‘osez et soyez vous même’.

Et la question que vous aimeriez avoir ?

Qu’est ce qui te passionne toujours autant dans la mode ? L’éternelle inspiration qu’elle représente pour nous toutes.

Quels sont vos projets à venir ?

Nous avons pour projets en 2018 plusieurs ouvertures de pops up à Miami et en France et la création d’une ligne de plage The Undertropic accessible et chic. Egalement voyager cette année à Cuba au Mexique et d’autres pays pour de nouvelles découvertes avec les artisans locaux.

The Undertropic

instagram.com/theundertropic


About the Author

is a French born artist, who lives and works in New York area. She is a painter working with acrylics for the wide possibility of this medium. She has followed art classes both in France and the USA and was awarded an Artist Residency by the Eileen Kaminsky Foundation (ESKFF) at Mana Contemporary,NJ in 2017. She created the blog "The Curious Frenchy" and is a now contributor to French Quarter Magazine. https://www.instagram.com/laurencedevalmy/



Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Back to Top ↑

Fashion

Published on March 21st, 2018 | by Laurence de Valmy

0

Agathe Bousquet merges the Cacharel heritage with her love for craftsmanship

Agathe Bousquet was born in the fashion universe, her family having created the famous brand Cacharel. She gained experience in France, then in the USA for Cacharel and became the founder of her online store called The Undertropic, which she manages between New York and Miami. The Undertropic was born following a stay in Peru, where Agathe met artisans who inspired her to put their talents and values forward. She mixes designer pieces with craft pieces to create a bohemian chic and colorful universe for women wishing to combine fashion and fair trade.

Tell us about yourself, your roots and your path towards your business in fashion

I am originally from Nîmes, a Southern city of France. Thanks to my mother who has been working in Fashion with passion, my sister and I were born into it. I share my life today between France and the US and specially Miami. I have been attracted by the US at a pretty early stage in my life. I moved by myself to NYC where I started taking acting classes at the Lee Strasberg Institut. I came back to France and my passion for Fashion took the advantage over acting. I opened two clothing stores in the South of France. With the quick success of my own “boutiques”, I integrated the brand Cacharel Paris showroom for many years, founded by my uncle Jean Bousquet. I went back to NYC to take the position of Director USA for Cacharel and enjoyed this experience for four years. It’s recently in 2017, that I decided to create The Undertropic.

Tell us about your company: how did it start?

I have been invited to a Fashion tradeshow in Lima, Peru. It was the first time for me in Peru and I could not leave without seeing a bit more of this extraordinary country. I hence decided to spend some time in Cusco where I had one of the most amazing meeting in my life: Peruvian craftswomen and men. I spent few days with them and have been moved all along with their respect for their culture and traditions. With not much means and an unlimited creativity, these women bring authenticity to their art – which is each day a bit more rare in our industry. It’s after this amazing adventure that I wanted to help these women and decided to create my fashion e-commerce; The Undertropic. My goal here is to mix their knowledge with nowadays’ designers creations which I have an unconditional respect for.

What is your goal with The Undertropic?

My wish is for women to recognize themselves in this mix of influence, and to have fun! The Undertropic is open to all women, from all horizons. It is an invitation to a pop and colorful universe – I am myself a big fan of Andy Warhol and Lichtenstein. Each product on the website is selected to allow a modern and easygoing silhouette. At the same time, the support of artisans is one of my priorities. It is necessary for me to keep making their work discovered and shared around the world.

What do you like the most about the fashion industry?

A lot of things! What I am passionate about in fashion is the creativity that comes out of it. I love designers who, with their vision and talent, embrace women and are able to transform their daily life. Fashion is an incredible ‘way of expression, an amazing opportunity to show your personality and discover who you really are.’ The most important is not to take it too seriously!

Do you have an anecdote that you’d like to share?

I am always amazed by the passion that the dressmakers have to build a piece for a collection. For a Cacharel show at the Louvre in Paris, just a few minutes before the beginning, they kept sewing a dress in the middle of journalists, photographs and models; unshakeable… I call them the “little fairies”…

What is the question you’re asked you the most?

What is my style? 
To what I always answer ‘dare and be yourself.’

What is the question you’d like to be asked?

“What keeps your passion for Fashion alive”
The eternal inspiration that it represents for all of us.

What are your projects for the coming months / year?

My plans for 2018 are to open several pop-up stores in Miami and in France and the creation of an accessible beachwear collection by The Undertropic. We are going to travel to Mexico, Cuba and more countries to new incredible discoveries with local artisans.

The Undertropic

instagram.com/theundertropic

 

 


About the Author

is a French born artist, who lives and works in New York area. She is a painter working with acrylics for the wide possibility of this medium. She has followed art classes both in France and the USA and was awarded an Artist Residency by the Eileen Kaminsky Foundation (ESKFF) at Mana Contemporary,NJ in 2017. She created the blog "The Curious Frenchy" and is a now contributor to French Quarter Magazine. https://www.instagram.com/laurencedevalmy/



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to Top ↑