Art & Culture

Published on octobre 19th, 2018 | by Christopher Cipollini

0

Alain Delon : le séduisant mauvais garçon de la Nouvelle Vague française

Alain Delon. Photo de Wikipedia.

Alain Delon, la star du cinéma français, est incomparable. Aucun acteur n’a réussi à parfaitement imiter son style et son iconographie. Avec ses simples costumes noirs impeccables, il fut, avec Brigitte Bardot, l’incarnation de la Nouvelle vague française.

Les acteurs créent les contrastes entre obscurité et lumière des personnalités qu’ils incarnent. Cela peut être masculin ou féminin, emphatique ou ludique ou quelque part entre les deux. Le 8 novembre 1935, naissait Alain Fabian Maurice Marcel Delon à Sceaux, département de la Seine (maintenant Hauts de Seine) en France, d’ascendants français, italiens et allemands.

Il avait quatre ans quand ses parents ont divorcé et se sont remariés chacun de leur côté. La future star du cinéma était un adolescent rebelle. En dépit de son côté fauteur de troubles, ses professeurs remarquèrent qu’il excellait dans les matières religieuses et le poussèrent vers la prêtrise. Son comportement à problème lui valut des expulsions de plusieurs écoles. A l’âge de 14 ans, il travaillait dans la boucherie de son beau-père. C’en était fini de sa scolarité.

Delon avait une relation tendue avec ses parents. Ils le confièrent à une famille d’accueil mais à la mort des parents, il dut retourner auprès de sa famille d’origine. A l’âge de 17 ans, ses parents l’enrôlèrent dans la Marine qui l’envoya faire la guerre d’Indochine. Pendant sa brève carrière militaire, il fut emprisonné pour mauvaise conduite.  “Tout ce que j’ai, c’est mon visage” dit-il à sa sortie de prison, selon Le New Straits Times.

Apres l’armée et une série de petits boulots, le découvreur de talent américain David O. Selznick le prit sous contrat. Cependant, au même moment, le metteur en scène français Yves Allégret convainquit Delon de faire ses débuts au cinéma dans un film qu’il dirigeait, “Quand la femme s’en mêle” (1957). Selznick libéra Delon de son contrat pour qu’il puisse faire le film. Delon fut une sensation dès sa première apparition à l’écran.

Il incarnait la joie de vivre et l’entrain de la jeunesse parisienne. Son style de séduction pouvait être apparenté aux « latin lovers » des années 20 agrémenté d’un esprit gavroche chic. Il excellait dans le rôle du antihéros, élégant mais discret, dur et prêt à tout – une personnalité glanée au long de  son enfance difficile. Son style vestimentaire, ses regards profonds et ses yeux perçants évoquaient l’acteur Italien Rudolph Valentino. Au cinéma, il était le soldat non-conformiste, l’assassin, le rebelle, l’ange déchu ou le délinquant idéalisé, dans des films tels quel “La Motocyclette” (1968) et“Le Samourai” (1967), un film noir combinant violence et séduction. En privé, Delon quittait rarement son style de vêtements de style coupés sur mesure qui devenait de plus en plus populaire.

L’esthétique de Delon à l’écran a deux facettes. D’un côté, il est le jeune amoureux, prisonnier d’une série de relations romantiques compliquées avec des partenaires telles que Marie Laforêt, Jane Fonda et Brigitte Bardot. Avec cette dernière, il a cultivé une complicité qui ne s’est jamais interrompue. De l’autre, il était le prince ténébreux de la nouvelle vague, chic et dangereux.

Il était expert à construire son image de façon poétique et visuelle, et il n’utilisa jamais mieux cette habileté que dans ce qui fut sans doute son meilleur film “Plein soleil” (1960). On y voit le portrait psychologique d’un jeune cynique meurtrier qui tente de s’emparer de l’identité de sa victime, d’après le roman et plus tard le film “The Talented Mr. Ripley”.Avec son visage angélique, il cache farouchement une âme maléfique pour laquelle les spectateurs se pâment de façon éhontée en prenant fait et cause pour le criminel. Il poursuit cette trajectoire dans d’autres rôles iconiques tels que le drame policier “Borsalino” (1970) situé dans le Marseille des années 30, et “Histoires Extraordinaires” (1968) une anthologie avec de nombreuses stars dans laquelle Delon joue un pensionnaire cruel et sadique.

Delon n’a jamais eu aux USA un succès comparable à celui de la France, en dépit d’années d’efforts et bien qu’il ait été considéré pour plusieurs rôles en anglais, notamment “La nuit de l’iguane”ou le rôle titre dans “Lawrence d’Arabie”. Son succès en Europe, cependant, ne s’est jamais démenti. Il s’est finalement résigné à en rester aux metteurs en scène européens.

Il a créé deux sociétés de production dans les années 60 : Delbeau Productions et Adel Film. Avec ces deux sociétés, il a pu ajouter les titres de producteur et metteur en scène à son CV. Il a dirigé son premier film “Pour la peau d’un flic” en 1981.

En 1968, pendant la production de “la Piscine” (1969), Delon fit l’objet d’une enquête policière. Son ancien garde du corps, Stevan Markovic, avait été trouvé mort dans une décharge publique dans les environs de Paris. Markovic avait écrit une lettre à son frère déclarant que si quelque chose de tragique lui arrivait, Delon et ses amis seraient impliqués. Markovic organisait des parties fines, invitait des célébrités et des personnalités chez lui. Il avait installé des cameras dans toute la maison, y compris dans les chambres. Des rumeurs circulaient selon lesquelles il posséderait des photos compromettantes de ses invités, y compris Delon. Les photos les plus scandaleuses étaient celles de la femme du Président Georges Pompidou. Aucune preuve liant Delon au meurtre de Markovic ne fut jamais trouvée. Ce que la presse française appela ‘l’affaire Markovic” laisse une ombre dans la renommée publique de Delon. L’affaire reste non élucidée à ce jour.

L’acteur a maintenu une carrière stable et est devenu le père de quatre enfants. Une liaison avec Nico (née Christa Paffgen) fut a l’origine de la naissance de son fils ainé, Christian Aaron Paffgen alors qu’il était fiancé a l’actrice Romy Schneider. Delon nia sa paternité ; cependant sa propre mère adopta Christian, faisant d’eux des frères par alliance. Son deuxième fils, Anthony, avait pour mère l’actrice Nathalie Barthelemy qu’il épousa en 1964 et divorça en 1969. Anthony suivit les traces de son père et devint un acteur. Il eut plus tard deux autres enfants avec Rosalie van Breemen : Anouchka et Alain-Fabien.

Après une série de films internationaux, differents projets commerciaux retinrent de plus en plus l’attention de l’acteur. En 1970, il devint organisateur de matchs de boxe. Il investit avec sagacité dans des compagnies de vêtements sur mesure et bijouterie. L’acteur au visage parfait se mit lui-même sur le marché. En 1978, il créa sa marque, Alain Delon Diffusion SA, vendant des vêtements, des montres, des parfums d’hommes et de femmes, cognac et champagne.

Delon continua à travailler constamment dans les années 80, jouant dans “Le Passage”, (1986) “Ne réveillez pas un flic qui dort” (1988) ainsi que dans “la Nouvelle Vague”de Jean-Luc Godart (1990). Apres quelques déceptions de box office, Delon s’éloigna des caméras jusqu’au milieu des  années 2000 où il fit son retour dans la série télévisée “Fabio Montale”. En 2017, à 81 ans, Delon annonça qu’il allait prendre sa retraite mais qu’il s’était engagé à tourner auparavant un dernier film, “la Maison vide”avec Juliette Binoche et une pièce de théâtre, “Le Crépuscule d’un Fauve”.

Après 60 ans de métier au cinéma et à la télévision, l’acteur continue d’émouvoir des cœurs plus jeunes de plusieurs décades. Les fans de Delon savent regarder au-delà de l’image du jeune premier impeccablement habillé jouant les monstres au visage d’ange. Ils voient l’image d’une légende de cinéma indélébile.

 

Movies

  • New Wave (Nouvelle Vague) (1990)
  • Let Sleeping Cops Lie (1988) (Ne réveillez pas un flic qui dort )
  • The Passage (1986) (Le Passage )
  • Fabio Montale (mini-series)
  • The Empty House (La Maison Vide )
  • Send a Woman When the Devil Fails (Quand la femme s’en mêle)(1957)
  • The Swimming Pool (La Piscine)(1969)
  • Purple Moon (Plein soleil)(1960)
  • Le Samouraï (1967) (Le Samouraï)
  • Borsalino (1970)
  • Spirits of the Dead (1968) (Histoires Extraordinaires)
  • Pour la Peau d’un Flic (1981)

Cet article a été traduit en français pas Anne-Cécile Baer Porter.


About the Author

was born in the United States but his heart belongs in the culture of Paris. His passion was born through self taught study of artists from Degas to Lautrec and writers as Genet and Rimbaud. His great love of French culture are symbolism poetry and, French cinema and history. He is a two time author and has written for several American publication as "The Desert Observer," Downtown Zen" and published two prose books: "The Musings" and "A Secret Kingdom". He lives in Las Vegas.



Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *


CAPTCHA Image
Reload Image
Back to Top ↑

Art & Culture

Published on October 19th, 2018 | by Christopher Cipollini

0

Alain Delon: French New Wave’s Heartthrob Villain

Alain Delon. Photo by Wikipedia.

No man in cinema has perfectly mirrored or emulated the style and iconography of French film star Alain Delon. With his simple, yet immaculately stylized black suits, he along with Brigitte Bardot, were the embodiments of the French New Wave.

Actors create the aspects of dark and light when it comes to human personalities. It could be masculine or feminine, flowery or frolicsome, or something in between.   Delon was born Alain Fabian Maurice Marcel Delon on November 8, 1935 in Sceaux, Seine (now Hauts-de-Seine) France, of French, Italian, and German ancestraldescent.

His parents divorced when he was four. They both remarried other partners. As an adolescent, the future film star was a rebellious student. In spite of his mischievous behavior, his teachers noticed he excelled in religious studies and encouraged him to pursue a life in the priesthood.  His poor behavior caused his expulsion from several schools. At the age of 14, he worked in his stepfather’s butcher shop never to return to another school to complete his education.

Delon had an emotionally strained relationship with his parents. They gave him away to foster parents, but when they died, he was returned to his parents. At age 17, his parents enlisted him in the French Navy, which thrust him into the arms of the Indochina War. During his brief military service, he was imprisoned for his unruly behavior.  He was quoted in the New Straits Times of saying, “all I had was my face,”after he was released from prison.

After his stint in the military and a string of odd jobs, he signed a contract with American talent scout David O. Selznick. However, during that time French director Yves Allégret convinced Delon to make his film debut in a French feature he was directing, Senda Woman When the Devil Fails (1957). Selznick released Delon from the contract to make the movie. Delon was a sensation from his first screen role.

He embodied the joie de vivre and zest of the Parisian youth. His seductive quality was akin to Latin lovers of the twenties, tinged with an urban and street-smart chic. He excelled in the role of anti-hero, elegant yet understated, rough and ready- a persona he gleaned from a tense childhood. His sartorial stylings, soul catching glances, and piercing eyes mirrored Italian actor Rudolph Valentino. In  film, he was the deviant solider, the assassin, the rebel, the fallen angel, or the ideal delinquent, as seen in such films as The Girl on a Motorcycle (1968) and Le Samouraï (1967), a sun-tinged crime drama, all pistols, and roses. Off-screen, Delon seldom stepped out of what was becoming a fashionable characteristic style of tailored clothes.

Delon’s screen aesthetic is one of two poles.  On one side, he is the amorous youth, lost in a series of romantic entanglements with the likes of Marie Laforêt, Jane Fonda, and Brigitte Bardot, from which he and Bardot would cultivate a lifelong kinship. On the other side, he was the new wave dark prince, chic and dangerous.

He shrewdly knew how to construct visual poetry with his image, and he used this ability to its fullest in what may be seen in his greatest feature, Purple Noon (1960).Itpresented a psychological portrait of a murderous young cynic who attempts to take on the identity of his victim, based on the novel, and later the film, The Talented Mr. Ripley. With an angelic face, he zealously masks an evil soul for whom moviegoers swoon as they shamelessly root for the antagonist. He follows this formula in other iconic roles, such as the crime drama, Borsalino (1970), set in 1930s Marseille, and Spirits of the Dead (1968), an all-star anthology directed by Roger Vadim in which Delon plays a cruel sadistic boarding student.

Delon’s career in America never had quite the same allure as it did in France, in spite of years of efforts and being considered for several English speaking roles, including Night of the Iguanaand T.E. Lawrence in Lawrence of Arabia. His success in Europe, however, continued unabated. In the end, he resigned himself to European directors.

He formed two production companies in the 60s: Delbeau Productions and Adel Film. With these two companies, he was able to add producer and director to his credit list. He directed his first feature, Pour la Peau d’un Flic in 1981.

In 1968, during the production of The Swimming Pool (1969), Delon became the subject of an investigation. His former bodyguard, Stevan Marković,was found dead in a public dumpster on the outskirts of Paris. Marković wrote a letter to his bother stating that if anything tragic happened to him that Delon and his friends had a hand in it. Marković held decadentsex parties, invited celebrities, and other public figures to his home. He installed cameras throughout the house, including the bedrooms. It’s rumored that he possessed compromising photos of his attendees, which included Delon. The most scandalous photos were of President Georges Pompidou’s wife. The prosecution found no evidence linking Delon to Marković’smurder. The French press called it the “Marković affair” and the probe lefta small blight on Delon’s public appeal. The case remains unsolved.

The actor maintained a steady career and became a father to four children. An affair with Nico (born Christa Päffgen), lead to his first son Christian Aaron Päffgenwhile he was engaged to actress Romy Schneider.  Delon denied that Christian was his; however, Delon’s mother adopted Christian making him Delon’s stepbrother.  His second child, Anthony, mothered by actress Nathalie Barthélemy who he married in 1964, and divorced in 1969. Anthony followed in his father’s footsteps and became an actor. He later fathered two more children with Rosalie van Breemen:  Anouchka Delon and Alain-Fabien Delon.

After a series of international films, the actor began to focus more on business ventures. In 1970, he became a boxing match organizer. He also invested wisely in tailored attire and jewelry. The handsome actor became a marketable commodity. In 1978, he created his brand, Alain Delon Diffusion SA, selling clothes, watches, perfumes, colognes, cognac andchampagne.

Delon maintained steady work in the eighties, starring in The Passage (1986), Let Sleeping Cops Lie (1988) as well as Jean-Luc Godard’s New Wave (1990). After a few box office disappointments, Delon stepped away from films until the mid-2000s when he returned in the mini-series Fabio Montale. In 2017, when Delon turned 81, he announced his retirement from acting, but before doing so he had committed to performing in one last film with co-star Juliette Binoche in The Empty Houseand once last play, The Twilight of a Holy Monster.

After six decades of starring in film and television, the actor continues to make hearts decades younger flutter.  Delon’s fans have looked beyond this sharp dressed heartthrob playing baby-faced villains.  They see an image of an indelible era in filmmaking.

 

Movies

  • New Wave (Nouvelle Vague)(1990)
  • Let Sleeping Cops Lie (1988) (Ne réveillez pas un flic qui dort )
  • The Passage (1986) (Le Passage )
  • Fabio Montale (mini-series)
  • The Empty House (La Maison Vide )
  • Send a Woman When the Devil Fails (Quand la femme s’en mêle) (1957)
  • The Swimming Pool (La Piscine) (1969)
  • Purple Moon (Plein soleil) (1960)
  • Le Samouraï (1967) (Le Samouraï)
  • Borsalino (1970)
  • Spirits of the Dead (1968) (Histoires Extraordinaires)
  • Pour la Peau d’un Flic (1981)

This article was translated in French by Anne-Cécile Baer Porter.

 


About the Author

was born in the United States but his heart belongs in the culture of Paris. His passion was born through self taught study of artists from Degas to Lautrec and writers as Genet and Rimbaud. His great love of French culture are symbolism poetry and, French cinema and history. He is a two time author and has written for several American publication as "The Desert Observer," Downtown Zen" and published two prose books: "The Musings" and "A Secret Kingdom". He lives in Las Vegas.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


CAPTCHA Image
Reload Image
Back to Top ↑