Interviews

Published on octobre 18th, 2017 | by Laurence de Valmy

0

Devenez French and Parfait grâce à Cécile Delarue

Envie de devenir French and Parfait? Rien de plus simple grâce aux livres de Cécile Delarue, The Everything Easy French Cookbook et Voilà!: The Effortless French Cookbook ainsi qu’à son blog French and Parfait.

 

Pourtant, Cécile Delarue a démarré sa carrière loin de l’univers gourmand en couvrant les faits de société et les affaires criminelles pour la télévision française pour entre autres TF1, France 2, M6 et BFM TV. Depuis elle a ajouté de nombreuses cordes à son arc, cumulant les casquettes de journaliste, foodie, bloggeuse, écrivain et même doubleuse voix pour le cinéma.

C’est suite à son installation à Los Angeles en 2010, ou elle est correspondante locale pour les chaines françaises, que Cécile Delarue fonde son blog French and Parfait qui propose des recettes françaises et des vidéos en anglais concoctées avec charme et beaucoup d’humour.

La jeune femme a envie de transmettre son gout des bonnes choses et de rendre plus accessible la cuisine française souvent perçue comme complexe. Elle ne s’arrête pas là et publie un livre de cuisine puis un deuxième et le succès est au rendez vous car elle démontre « que la cuisine française de tous les jours est simple, rapide à faire… et toujours délicieuse! ».

Ses livres s’adressent aux américains ayant envie de découvrir notre gastronomie ou aux français installés aux USA qui souhaitent faire leurs recettes préférées avec les ingrédients locaux. Merci Cécile d’avoir partagé un moment avec nous pour répondre à nos questions !

 

Vous avez démarré votre parcours par du journalisme TV et d’investigation. Comment vous est venue l’envie de vous lancer dans l’univers gourmand en plus du journalisme ?

J’avais envie de m’adresser directement au public américain. Ca faisait déjà longtemps que je parlais des États Unis aux français dans mes reportages, et je voulais trouver un moyen de parler aussi à ceux qui m’entouraient, mes voisins, les américains. Et comme j’adore faire la cuisine et bien manger, j’ai tout de suite trouvé que c’était un super moyen pour partager la culture française, notre culture culinaire, qui est aussi un art de vivre, souvent loin de l’American Lifestyle!

Quand vous avez créé votre blog, quel était votre objectif ? Est il toujours le même ou a t il évolué ?  

Je voulais surtout faire des vidéos parce que c’était mon moyen d’expression le plus naturel, celui que j’utilisais dans mon métier depuis des années. Et puis je me suis rendue compte que cela prenait un temps énorme, un peu trop dans mon emploi du temps de working mom! Aujourd’hui je fais plus de vidéos live, qui correspondent plus aussi à une envie du public, c’est super convivial! Et j’écris des livres de recettes.

A qui s’adresse votre livre en priorité ? 

Aux anglophones qui ont envie de découvrir la cuisine française, mais aussi aux expats français aux US qui ont envie de refaire leurs recettes comme à la maison, mais me savent pas comment adapter avec ce qui se trouve ici, les parties de l’animal à choisir pour la viande par exemple, la crème fraîche, etc…

Il y a déjà de nombreux livres de cuisine française. Comment expliquez vous le succès du votre ?

La simplicité et la modestie. L’idée n’est pas d’impressionner le lecteur ou de le faire saliver avec des recettes impossibles à réaliser à la maison, mais de montrer au contraire que la cuisine française de tous les jours est simple, rapide à faire… et toujours délicieuse!

Quels sont vos livres de cuisine cultes ou favoris ?

L’éternel Ginette Mathiot, mon premier livre de recettes, où j’ai tout appris, un vieux livre de pâtisserie en BD que j’ai traîné depuis mon enfance, les petits livres « 10 recettes » des éditions de l’Epure, et tous les livres de cuisine d’Anne Sophie Pic

Et vos projets pour les mois à venir ?

J’écris un livre de narrative non fiction sur le dernier serial killer de Los Angeles, et je travaille sur un projet de livre de cuisine pour les enfants. 

Et pour finir, une (ou des) bonnes adresses gourmandes à recommander sur Los Angeles?

Pitchoun Bakery downtown LA, l’assiette steak frites sur Beverly, et mes burgers préférés: Golden State burgers sur Fairfax.

Les livres de Cécile Delarue sont disponibles sur Amazon

Everything Easy French Cookbook

Voilà!: The Effortless French Cookbook


About the Author

is a French born artist, who lives and works in New York area. She is a painter working with acrylics for the wide possibility of this medium. She has followed art classes both in France and the USA and was awarded an Artist Residency by the Eileen Kaminsky Foundation (ESKFF) at Mana Contemporary,NJ in 2017. She created the blog "The Curious Frenchy" and is a now contributor to French Quarter Magazine. https://www.instagram.com/laurencedevalmy/



Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Back to Top ↑

Interviews

Published on October 18th, 2017 | by Laurence de Valmy

0

Become French and Parfait thanks to Cécile Delarue

Want to become French and Parfait? Nothing could be easier thanks to Cécile Delarue’s cookbooks, The Everything Easy French Cookbook and Voilà!: The Effortless French Cookbook and her blog French and Parfait.

Yet, Cécile Delarue started her career far from the gourmand universe, covering news, social trends and criminal cases for the French television for among others TF1, France 2, M6 and BFM TV. Since then she has added many strings to her bow, combining the caps of journalist, foodie, blogger, writer and even voice over for the cinema.

After her installation in Los Angeles in 2010, where she is a local correspondent for French TV, Cécile Delarue creates her blog blog French and Parfait, which offers French recipes and videos in English concocted with charm and humor.

The young woman wants to share her taste of good things and make French cuisine often perceived as complex, more accessible. She does not stop there and publishes a first cookbook, then a second one and the success is there because she demonstrates “that everyday French cooking is simple, quick to make … and always delicious! “. 

Her books are perfect for Americans who want to discover our gastronomy or for French installed in the USA who wish to make their favorite recipes with the local ingredients. Thank you Cécile for sharing a moment with us! 

 

You started your career as a TV and investigation journalist. How did you come to the universe of foodies in addition to journalism?

I wanted to talk directly to the American public. It had been often covering the United States in my reports for the French media, and I wanted to find a way to also talk to those around me, my neighbors, the Americans. And as I love cooking and eating well, I immediately thought it was a great way to share French culture, our culinary culture, which is also an art of living, often far away from the American Lifestyle!

When you created your blog, what was your goal? Is it still the same or has it evolved?

I mostly wanted to make videos because it was my most natural means of expression, the one I used in my job for years. And then I realized that it took a huge time, a little too much in my working mom’s schedule! Today, I make live videos, which are more in line with the desire of the public, it is super friendly! And I write cookbooks.

Who is your book for?

For Anglophones who want to discover French cuisine, but also to French expats in the US who want to make their recipes like at home, but do not know how to adapt with what the ingredients available here, the parts of the animal to choose for example meat, cream, etc …

There are already many French cookbooks. How do you explain your success?

Simplicity and modesty. The idea is not to impress the reader or make him salivate with recipes impossible to realize at home, but to show instead that the every day French cuisine is simple, fast to make … and always delicious!

What are your favorite cookbooks?

The eternal Ginette Mathiot, my first recipe book, where I learned everything, an old comic book that I have been dragging since my childhood, the little books “10 recipes” from Éditions de l’Epure, and all the cookbooks of Anne Sophie Pic.

Your plans for the coming months?

I’m writing a non-fiction narrative book about the latest serial killer in Los Angeles, and I’m working on a cookbook project for kids.

And finally, one (or some) good places to recommend Los Angeles?

Pitchoun Bakery downtown LA, l’assiette steak frites in Beverly, and my favorite burgers: Golden State burgers in Fairfax.

The books of Cécile Delarue are available on Amazon

Everything Easy French Cookbook

Voilà!: The Effortless French Cookbook


About the Author

is a French born artist, who lives and works in New York area. She is a painter working with acrylics for the wide possibility of this medium. She has followed art classes both in France and the USA and was awarded an Artist Residency by the Eileen Kaminsky Foundation (ESKFF) at Mana Contemporary,NJ in 2017. She created the blog "The Curious Frenchy" and is a now contributor to French Quarter Magazine. https://www.instagram.com/laurencedevalmy/



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to Top ↑