Art & Culture

Published on août 19th, 2016 | by Molly Montgomery

1

Conduite: Les différences de culture entre la France et les États-Unis

En septembre 2014, je descendais d’un avion en France pour un séjour d’un an dans la région alsacienne, ou j’allais enseigner l’anglais dans un lycée. Je récupérais mes bagages lorsque je fus accueillie par un enseignant de l’école ou j’allais travailler. Après m’avoir aidée à empiler mes énormes valises dans le coffre de sa petite voiture, nous voilà partis, filant sur les autoroutes rurales pittoresques. C’est à ce moment-là qu’il m’apparut évident que j’étais arrivée dans un pays différent du mien. Voyant les panneaux bleus défiler et remarquant que les limites de vitesse étaient affichées en kilomètres, je réalisais que j’étais bien en France.

A65-Autoroute de Gascogne

Autoroute en France. Photo par Google.

Les routes françaises ont quelque chose de différent au-delà du décor incroyable des paysages environnants. Cela provient de la culture automobile française, qui est très différente de la culture automobile américaine. Bien que les Français et les Américains roulent du même côté de la route, conduire est une expérience extrêmement différente dans les deux pays.

0991330627397

L’essence est vendue en litres, pas en gallons. Photo par Google.

Tout d’abord, il y a les différences qui sautent aux yeux. La France utilise le système métrique, alors que les Etats Unis utilisent encore les unités impériales. La distance est comptée en kilomètres en France, pas en miles, et l’essence est vendue en litres, pas en gallons.

Quand les Américains conduisent en France, l’une des premières choses qu’ils remarquent est le grand nombre de ronds-points. Les Américains voient rarement des ronds-points aux Etats-Unis, tandis que la France en compte 30000 plus que dans n’importe quel autre pays au monde.

Les voitures ont tendance à être plus petites en France à cause des prix plus élevés pour les voitures elles-mêmes mais aussi pour l’essence. Il y a beaucoup plus de véhicules à boîte de vitesse manuelle en France qu’aux Etats-Unis, où il est désormais rare de voir un levier de vitesse. Les voitures à boîte de vitesse automatique sont rares en France parce que plus chères, et tout le monde a encore l’habitude de conduire avec le levier de vitesse.

14717749

Les Français sont fiers de leurs marques de voitures, parmi Peugeot, Citroen, and Renault… Photo par Google.

On voit beaucoup plus de voitures européennes en France qu’aux Etats-Unis, ce qui n’est pas étonnant. Les Français sont fiers de leurs marques automobiles, comme Peugeot, Citroën, et Renault, qui sont rarement vues aux Etats-Unis. On voit également plus de voitures allemandes et italiennes en France. On y trouve aussi des voitures asiatiques et américaines, mais en bien plus petite proportion qu’aux Etats-Unis.

Ford EDGE China 2010 Ford_Edge_02

C’est très compliqué de remarquer un gros SUV en France tel que ce Ford Edge. Photo par Google.

Repérer un large véhicule 4×4 est très difficile en France. Les Français admirent les voitures de sport autant que les Américains, mais ils n’ont que peu d’intérêt pour les véhicules tout-terrain. En France, il n’y a pas beaucoup de terrain rugueux à conquérir. Même les petites routes rurales sont généralement bien goudronnées. La culture automobile américaine inclut toujours la notion de la frontière sauvage, un thème qui revient souvent dans les publicités automobiles américaines (habituellement cela se passe ainsi : une famille part camper et quitte la route pour rouler à travers la boue et la poussière vers une forêt, communiant avec la nature a bord de leur véhicule tout-terrain). La France ne partage pas cet attachement culturel à la conquête de la nature sauvage.

Cependant, tous les stéréotypes sur les conducteurs français ou américains ne sont pas nécessairement vrais. Les Français pensent que tous les Américains possèdent une voiture. Bien qu’il soit vrai que la possession d’une voiture est beaucoup plus importante aux Etats-Unis qu’en France. Il y a 809 voitures pour 1000 personnes aux Etats-Unis contre 578 pour 1000 personnes en France. Beaucoup d’Américains, surtout ceux résidant dans des grandes villes, se débrouillent sans voiture, préférant utiliser les transports en commun. La même différence entre résidents de zones rurales et citadins existe en France.

Alors que les Parisiens préfèrent les transports en commun à la voiture, les Français qui vivent en dehors des grandes villes n’ont pas d’autre choix que de conduire une voiture. Le système ferroviaire est également disponible, mais dans les zones rurales, chaque ville possède une seule gare, et le train peut coûter cher pour des trajets plus longs.

Les Français comme les Américains aiment les voyages en voiture. La différence principale est la distance à parcourir. Le temps de traverser en voiture l’Hexagone tout entier, beaucoup d’Américains, surtout ceux résidant dans l’ouest des Etats-Unis, peuvent rouler sans même quitter leur propre état. Par exemple, un voyage de Paris à Marseille (774 km ou 480 miles), est environ égal à la distance entre San Francisco et San Diego, toutes deux en Californie (806 km ou 510 miles). En France, toutes les autoroutes rayonnent au départ du centre de la culture française-Paris. Aux Etats-Unis, les autoroutes relient des points distants d’un coin à l’autre du pays, mais il n’y a pas de pivot central.

FullSizeRender-175

Voitures avec transmission automatique sont rares en France car elles sont plus chères, et tout le monde est toujours habitué à utiliser une transmission manuelle.

Bien que les voyages automobiles français soient réputés pour la beauté des paysages et les vues de vieux villages et de leurs clochers, si vous restez sur les autoroutes principales vous risquez de vous ennuyer à regarder l’asphalte tout autant que si vous étiez aux Etats-Unis. Pour voir la vraie France, vous devrez quitter l’autoroute et emprunter les voies secondaires. C’est ainsi que j’ai exploré la région rurale où j’ai vécu pendant un an. J’avais la chance d’avoir des amis qui conduisaient et m’emmenaient pour que je puisse absorber la beauté des paysages. J’aurais volontiers conduit moi-même mais je ne sais pas conduire avec un levier de vitesse, typique stéréotype américain que je suis.

Cet article a été traduit en français par Sandrine Sweeney et corrigé en anglais par Aubrey Wadman Goetsch.


About the Author

is an English teaching assistant at a high school in France and a recent graduate of UCLA, where she studied English and French. Her writing has been published in *TravelAge West Magazine* and in various literary journals including *Westwind* and the *Blue Lake Review*.



One Response to Conduite: Les différences de culture entre la France et les États-Unis

  1. Chris says:

    That’s pretty accurate but some of the differences spotted can be found in all Europe, maybe even the rest of the world, not only France. The imperial system is only used in the US, even the UK is using it less and less. The size of the cars is smaller but that’s like that in Europe and to a certain extent, to the rest of the world also. The French do not buy car with automatic gear box because it’s more expensive, it’s more of a cultural thing. European in general value the pleasure of driving, and that goes with a manual gear box because you have full control on the car.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *


CAPTCHA Image
Reload Image
Back to Top ↑

Art & Culture

Published on August 19th, 2016 | by Molly Montgomery

1

Driving: Culture Differences in France and in the United States

In September 2014, had just stepped off the airplane in France for a year-long stay in the Alsace region, where I would be teaching English at a high school. I recuperated my luggage when I was greeted by a teacher from the school where I would be working. He helped me pile by enormous suitcases into the back of his tiny sedan and off we went, zipping away through the scenic highways of rural France. That ride was my wake-up call that I had indeed entered a different country from my own. Seeing the blue autoroute signs pass by and noticing the speed limits were displayed in kilometers, I knew I had entered France.

A65-Autoroute de Gascogne

Freeway in France. Photo by Google.

There’s just something about French roads – aside from the incredible views of the French countryside – that sets them apart. It stems from France’s unique car culture, which differs from the car culture in the United States. French and Americans may drive on the same side of the road, but driving in either country is a distinct experience.

0991330627397

Gas sold in liters, not gallons. Photo by Google.

First of all, there are some obvious differences. France uses the metric system, while the United States still uses Imperial units. Distance is counted in kilometers in France, not miles, and gas is sold in liters, not gallons.

When Americans are driving in France, one of the first things they notice is the frequency of roundabouts or traffic circles. Americans rarely encounter roundabouts in the U.S., whereas France has 30,000 of them – more roundabouts than any other country in world.

The cars tend to be smaller in France than in the U.S. due to higher car prices and gas prices. There are far more cars with manual transmission in France than there are in the United States, where it is rare to see a “stick shift” in a car these days. Cars with automatic transmission are rare in France because they are more expensive, and everyone is still accustomed to driving stick shift.

14717749

The French are proud of their car brands, including Peugeot, Citroen, and Renault… Photo by Google.

You will see far more European cars in France than in the U.S., which is no surprise. The French are proud of their car brands, including Peugeot, Citroen, and Renault, which are rarely found in the U.S. France has a larger share of German and Italian cars too. There are some Asian and American cars too in France too, but they are nowhere near as popular as they are in the United States.

Ford EDGE China 2010 Ford_Edge_02

It is extremely difficult to spot a large SUV in France such as this Ford Edge. Photo by Google.

It is extremely difficult to spot a large SUV in France. The French admire sports cars just as much as Americans do, but they have no interest in off-roading vehicles. In France, there is not as much rugged terrain to conquer. Even the remote rural roads are usually well-paved. Americans still embrace the notion of the frontier as part of their car culture, a motif which occurs often in American car commercials (usually it’s something like this: a family goes camping and drives their car right off the road through the mud and dirt and into the forest, becoming one with nature in their SUV). France does not have the same cultural attachment to exploring the wilderness.

However, some of the stereotypes about American and French drivers are not necessarily true. French tend to assume all Americans own cars. While it is true that car ownership is much more common in the United States than in France— there are 809 cars per 1000 people in the USA versus only 578 per 1000 people in France— many Americans, especially those who live in big cities get by with no car at all, prefer to take public transportation. The same split between rural residents and city dwellers holds true in France.

While many Parisians opt to use public transportation instead of driving, the French who live outside big cities have no other option but to drive. The rail system in France is also available, but in rural areas, each town might have just one train station, and rail can be an expensive option for long trips.

Both Americans and French are fond of road trips. The main difference is the distance involved. In the time it takes to traverse the entire Hexagone by car, many Americans, especially those living in the western United States, could drive without even leaving their home state. For example, a trip from Paris to Marseille (774 km or 480 mi), is roughly equal to a trip between San Francisco, California and San Diego, California (806 km or 510 mi). In France, all highways spiral out from the center of French culture — Paris. In the U.S., there are interstate highways that connect far-flung corners of the nation, but there is no central hub.

FullSizeRender-175

Cars with automatic transmission are rare in France because they are more expensive, and everyone is still accustomed to driving stick shift.

While French road trips are known for their beautiful scenery and pleasant views of antiquated villages and ancient churches, if you stick to the main highways you’re just as likely to grow bored of watching the asphalt as you are in the United States. To see the true France, you have to leave the autoroute and take the backroads. That’s how I explored the rural region of France where I lived for a year. I was lucky to have friends willing to drive me around just so I could drink in the beauty of the countryside. I would have driven myself – except for I can’t drive a manual, like the stereotypical American that I am.

This article was translated in French by Sandrine Sweeney and proofread in English by Aubrey Wadman Goetsch.


About the Author

is an English teaching assistant at a high school in France and a recent graduate of UCLA, where she studied English and French. Her writing has been published in *TravelAge West Magazine* and in various literary journals including *Westwind* and the *Blue Lake Review*.



One Response to Driving: Culture Differences in France and in the United States

  1. Chris says:

    That’s pretty accurate but some of the differences spotted can be found in all Europe, maybe even the rest of the world, not only France. The imperial system is only used in the US, even the UK is using it less and less. The size of the cars is smaller but that’s like that in Europe and to a certain extent, to the rest of the world also. The French do not buy car with automatic gear box because it’s more expensive, it’s more of a cultural thing. European in general value the pleasure of driving, and that goes with a manual gear box because you have full control on the car.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to Top ↑