Art & Culture

Published on mai 6th, 2018 | by Laurence de Valmy

0

Carole Jury capture couleurs et lumière dans ses toiles abstraites intenses

Artiste abstraite française, la signature de Carole Jury réside dans ses larges traits texturés, sa capacité à capturer les ombres et les lumières et son œil pour la couleur avec des toiles allant des rouges vibrants aux bleus apaisants, des nuances subtiles de blancs aux noirs puissants. Après plusieurs années passées aux Etats-Unis, le travail de Carole a été montré dans de nombreuses expositions, elle est devenue également partenaires de designers d’intérieur comme Bo Concept Princeton ou Bertrand & Claude (NYC). Elle est représentée par Azart gallery (NYC) Alessandro Berni Gallery (NYC), Art Gallery of Music & Art (Las Vegas) and The Artists Gallery (New Hope, PA).

Une artiste passionnante et une personne charmante… Merci Carole pour cet échange.

Parlez-nous de vous : où êtes-vous installée ? quel est votre parcours ?

Je suis arrivée à Princeton, dans le New Jersey, avec ma famille il y a maintenant quatre ans. Quand nous avons décidé de déménager, j’étais en charge de la communication d’une entreprise de l’industrie chimique. J’ai vu alors l’opportunité d’une nouvelle carrière professionnelle centrée sur ma passion pour l’art et le design d’intérieur. Je n’avais jamais osé ce rêve avant. C’était un projet incroyable et de nouveaux challenges !

Pouvez-vous nous en dire plus sur votre art, comment vous inspirez-vous pour vos nouvelles créations ?

J’aime jouer avec les traits de textures, les nuances de couleur et la luminosité. La photographie est une autre de mes passions. Aussi, la majorité de mes peintures est inspirée par mes photos, qui me donnent un guide pour les couleurs, les textures et les reliefs de ma peinture abstraite. La peinture à l’huile se prête naturellement à la plasticité et à la superposition. C’est pour cette raison principale que j’aime travailler avec ce medium.

Pouvez-vous décrire votre procédé artistique ?

Je combine les deux moyens d’expression-photographie et peinture- dans mon processus, en commençant par la photographie. C’est la  transposition de la photo vers la peinture qui me permet de créer mes séries, telles que Dark sea ou La Vie en Rose. J’utilise toutes sortes d’outils comme des couteaux, des cuillères, des brosses et tout ce que j’ai dans mon studio. J’aime intégrer de nouveaux matériaux comme le tissus, le métal…C’est une sorte de jeux de construction !

Quels sont vos artistes favoris ou ceux qui vous influencent ?

Même si je suis intéressée par plusieurs mouvements artistiques, mon artiste préféré reste Pierre Soulages. Force et raffinement émanent de ses peintures. J’adore …Je suis extrêmement passionnée par le design d’intérieur et j’ai souvent besoin d’imaginer mes propres peintures dans un environnement intérieur designé. Je considère que le design d’intérieur est un art et donc mes peintures font partie du processus.

Quelle est la question que vous vous posez le plus souvent?

Beaucoup de questions arrivent lorsque vous être entrain de créer. L’objectif est justement de ne pas s’en poser car cela nuit à la liberté d’expression et le naturel de la gestuelle.

Vous avez un œil pour le design et vous travaillez souvent pour des commissions. Quel est le procédé pour ces projets?

Une commission est plus qu’une commande ou un acte de vente ! Au début, c’est un échange et un partage sur le style de vie avec le collectionneur. J’ai besoin d’accéder au premier cercle de son intimité pour savoir ce qu’il aime ou pas, comment il va vivre avec mon ou mes œuvres et ce qu’il attend d’elle(s)… Ensuite, je garde ma liberté d’artiste pour suggérer ce que j’ai imaginé tout en lui expliquant les correspondances artistiques avec sa propre personnalité en terme de design d’intérieur. Cette étape définit le reste du travail … Il peut aimer le projet ou non.

Quels sont vos projets pour les mois qui viennent?

2017 a été une belle année avec de nombreuses expositions aux Etats-Unis (NYC, Houston, Raleigh, Washington, Miami), des rencontres artistiques avec des galeries comme Azart Gallery à New York, la Gallery des artistes à New Hope et Gallery of Music & Art à Las Vegas ou des artistes comme Capucine Safir, Valérie Carmet …

2018 a commencé avec une exposition solo à l’Université de Princeton où j’ai été invitée pendant deux mois, puis à SCOPE NYC avec Azart Gallery. En mai, je suis ravie d’exposer “La vie en Rose” à la Gallery des artistes à New Hope, en Pennsylvanie.

Le 16 mai, je serai à la Gallery of Music & Art de Las Vegas pour une journée de performance artistique. La chanteuse et guitariste Tiphanie Doucet donnera le swing de cette art-action. Plusieurs autres projets sont en cours de discussion et je dois être patiente …

Website: www.carolejury.com

Facebook:    @art.paintings.carole.jury

Tweeter: @carolejury2

Instagram: carole.jury


About the Author

is a French born artist, who lives and works in New York area. She is a painter working with acrylics for the wide possibility of this medium. She has followed art classes both in France and the USA and was awarded an Artist Residency by the Eileen Kaminsky Foundation (ESKFF) at Mana Contemporary,NJ in 2017. She created the blog "The Curious Frenchy" and is a now contributor to French Quarter Magazine. https://www.instagram.com/laurencedevalmy/



Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Back to Top ↑

Art & Culture

Published on May 6th, 2018 | by Laurence de Valmy

0

Carole Jury plays with color and brightness in her powerful abstract paintings

French abstract painter, Carole Jury‘s signature resides in her broad textured strokes, her ability to capture shadows and lights and her eye for color with canvases from vibrant reds to calming blues, subtle nuances of whites to powerful blacks.  After only a few years in the US, Carole’s work has been shown in many exhibitions in the US, she’s also a partner of interior designers like Bo Concept Princeton or Bertrand & Claude (NYC) and her work is represented by Azart gallery (NYC) Alessandro Berni Gallery (NYC), Art Gallery of Music & Art (Las Vegas) and The Artists Gallery (New Hope, PA).

A passionate artist and a charming person. Thanks Carole for sharing your story!

Tell us about yourself: Where do you live? What is your background?

I arrived in Princeton – New Jersey, four years ago with my family. When we decided to move, I was in charge of the Communications department in a French Chemical Company. I saw this move as a life opportunity to transform my passion for art and interior design into a new career. I had never dared to dream about it before. It was an amazing project! New life and New Challenges!

Tell us about your art and how do you get inspired for your new creations?

I like playing with textured strokes, nuances of color and brightness. Photography is another of my passion. The majority of my paintings are inspired by my photos, which give me a guide for colors, textures, and reliefs of my abstract painting. Oil paint naturally lends itself plasticity and superimposition. It’s for this principal reason that I love working with this medium.

Can you describe your artistic process?

I combine the two medium of expression -photography and painting in my process, starting from photography and then transposing it to painting to create my series such as Dark sea or La Vie en Rose. I use all kind of tools like knives, spoons, brushes and whatever I have in my studio. I like integrating new materials like fabrics; metal…It’s a toy building set!

Who are your favorite artists or influencers?

Even if I’m interested in many art movements, my favorite artist remains Pierre Soulages. Strength and refinement emerge from his paintings. I love it…Furthermore, I’m extremely passionate about interior design and I need to imagine my own paintings in an interior design. I consider that interior design is an art and therefore my paintings are part of the process.

What is the question you ask yourself the most?

Many questions happen when you’re creating. The goal is precisely not to ask because it affects the freedom of expression and the naturalness of the gesture.

You have an eye for design and often work on specific commissions for your collectors. What is the process of these projects?

A specific commission is more than an order or an act of sale! At first, it’s a meeting and a kind of sharing on lifestyle. At first, I need to access the first circle of intimacy to know what the collector likes or dislikes, how he will live with my works and what he expects of art… Next, I keep my artist freedom to suggest what I’ve imagined for him and which art correspondence is for his own interior design personality. This step defines the rest of the work…He can like the project or not.

What are your projects for the coming months?

2017 has been a great year with many exhibitions in the United States (NYC, Houston, Raleigh, Washington, Miami), artistic encounters with galleries like Azart Gallery in New York, Artists Gallery in New Hope and Gallery of Music & Art in Las Vegas or artists like Capucine Safir and Valérie Carmet …
2018 began with a solo exhibition at Princeton University where I was invited for two months and SCOPE NYC with Azart Gallery. In May, I’m thrilled to exhibit “La vie en Rose series” at the Artists Gallery in New Hope, PA. On May 16th, I’ll be at Gallery of Art & Music in Las Vegas for an Art Performance Day. The singer and guitarist Tiphanie Doucet will give me the swing of this art-action. Several other projects are discussed and I have to be patient…

Website: www.carolejury.com

Facebook:    @art.paintings.carole.jury

Tweeter: @carolejury2

Instagram: carole.jury

 

 

 

 

 


About the Author

is a French born artist, who lives and works in New York Great area. She is a painter creator of the POST series, painted Instagram of the past revisiting art history. She was awarded an Artist Residency by the Eileen Kaminsky Foundation (ESKFF) at Mana Contemporary,NJ in 2017. She created the blog "The Curious Frenchy" and is a now contributor to French Quarter Magazine. https://www.instagram.com/laurencedevalmy/



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


CAPTCHA Image
Reload Image
Back to Top ↑