Événements

Published on janvier 10th, 2018 | by Isabelle Karamooz, Founder of FQM

0

CES 2018 : Les start-ups de Luxembourg dans les starting-blocks

Le Consumer Electronics Show (CES), grand salon de l’électronique de Las Vegas, a ouvert ses portes le 9 janvier.

Plusieurs entreprises du Luxembourg sont présentes pour la PREMIERE FOIS cette année au Consumer Electronics Show, le grand salon de l’électronique qui se tient du 9 au 12 janvier à Las Vegas. Au total, ce sont huit start-ups qui ont été sélectionnées et qui ont reçu un certificat de participation pour le CES de Las Vegas.

Luxinnovation a coordonné le voyage mis en place en partenariat avec l’European American Enterprise Council (EAEC) qui gère le pavillon du Luxembourg à Las Vegas, accélérateur transatlantique de jeunes pousses basé au Grand-Duché et à San Francisco. French Quarter Magazine est ravi de vous présenter les heureux élus et en particulier certaines start-ups que l’éditrice en chef, Isabelle Karamooz, a pu rencontrer lors de son séjour au Luxembourg la semaine dernière.

Ces huit start-ups proposent beaucoup de nouvelles innovations ou des innovations déjà existantes mais améliorées pour les touristes, les sociétés de gestion et les banques, les sociétés d’assurances et les automobilistes, mais aussi de l’intelligence artificielle développée par une start-up qui compose des morceaux de musique ou même des expériences de réalité virtuelle.

Photo de CarPay Diem.

« Plusieurs de nos actionnaires nous ont dit que ça valait la peine d’y aller, » se réjouit, Frédéric Stiernon, le fondateur et directeur de CarPay-Diem. CarPay-Diem est une entreprise qui permet de connecter le conducteur avec une station-service c’est-à-dire qu’elle a développé une plateforme qui permet à n’importe quelle application mobile ou à n’importe quel véhicule connecté d’activer une pompe à essence connue de l’application et de permettre la gestion du paiement à l’intérieur du véhicule. Le conducteur choisit une pompe, il fait le plein et le ticket est envoyé sur son smartphone et des points sont ensuite ajoutés sur sa carte de fidélité. Le déploiement de la solution est en cours dans plusieurs réseaux en Belgique, en France et en Angleterre. Le Luxembourg et l’Allemagne verront leurs premières pompes équipées dans les prochaines semaines. D’autres pays seront annoncés en cours d’année. « Depuis que nous sommes inscrits au CES, nous avons déjà plusieurs rendez-vous. Plusieurs sociétés veulent en savoir plus sur nos activités » nous dit Frédéric Stiernon. « Pour nous, générer déjà un intérêt aussi grand avant d’aller au salon, cela montre qu’il fallait y aller. »

Photo de Motion-S.

L’European American Enterprise Council (EAEC) accompagne directement huit start-ups luxembourgeoises. Elle a préparé les responsables avant le grand voyage vers le Nevada. Les autres entreprises aussi nombreuses soient elles, y vont accompagnées par de grands groupes, ou bien seules.

Le stand de Motion-S au CES Las Vegas. Photo de Motion-S.

Le CES est devenu très médiatisé, c’est un salon avec des produits plutôt grand public, suivi par la presse du monde entier. « Notre sélection au concours nous a déjà apporté beaucoup de visibilité à Luxembourg grâce à la presse. » « C’est un booster pour nous » note Stephan Stoffels, senior manager du Marketing. C’est aussi « attirer de potentiels investisseurs internationaux au Luxembourg » nous dit German Castignani, le co-fondateur de Motion-S. Cette jeune start-up ne donne pas seulement un feedback aux conducteurs mais aussi la possibilité d’adapter le tarif d’assurance par rapport au profil en fournissant des éléments d’information et des données aux compagnies d’assurances, aux compagnies de leasing ou aux compagnies de car sharing mais aussi aux utilisateurs sur la manière de conduire leur véhicule. Avec ces données, on fait de l’analyse de risques et on crée un profil du conducteur, nous a confié German Castignani. « Cette plateforme donnera de la valeur ajoutée aux clients et aux jeunes conducteurs par exemple, et permettra de détecter un incident et d’envoyer immédiatement un dépanneur ainsi que la possibilité d’offrir des rabais d’assurance plus important ou recevoir des points de bonne conduite. » Le CES permettra de mettre en valeur ce système et d’entrer en contact avec des clients américains qui sont dans la télématique et permettra de rester en contact avec les dernières technologies.

Photo de Fundsquare.

« Aller au CES, » résume Paolo Brignardello, Chef de produit gestion et marketing de Fundsquare, « c’est important aussi pour dialoguer sur place avec des acteurs internationaux dans l’industrie des fonds d’investissements. » Fundsquare est dédié au fond d’investissement et c’est une plateforme de distribution de fonds digitale basée sur la chaîne des blocs (blockchain).

Le stand de Fundsquare au CES Las Vegas. Photo de Fundsquare.

Ce nouveau projet technologique entend faciliter la connexion entre les investisseurs, les sociétés de gestion ainsi que les intervenants dans la distribution. Il permet aussi de partager une base de données et d’éliminer les problèmes relatifs à la chaîne. Fundsquare, c’est une société indépendante constituée à l’initiative de la bourse de Luxembourg en juin 2013.

Le Postmiibike à Paris. Photo de Postmii.

 

« Le CES nous donne une certaine visibilité et va nous ouvrir à d’autres pays pour permettre à Postmii de se développer plus rapidement » confirme Kevin Colinet, le porte-parole des 4 cofondateurs de la start-up française qui fait partie de la délégation luxembourgeoise. Né en 2015, Postmii se positionne sur les meilleurs sites touristiques pour proposer aux touristes sur place de transformer leurs photos directement en cartes postales.

Photo de Postmii.

Ils ont alors deux solutions, soit ils transfèrent une photo de leur smart phone sur la tablette de Postmii, soit ils se prennent en photo grâce à la tablette et la personnalise grâce au Postmiibike, un tricycle autonome et écologique, rechargeable grâce à des batteries solaires. La carte est ensuite imprimée sur place en quelques secondes et postée le soir même par la start-up. « Nous voulons trouver nos premiers gros licenciés qui vont acheter nos Postmibike et devenir franchisés pour leur permettre d’être leur propre patron » annonce Kevin Colinet. « On va se lancer sur le marché américain ! »

Photo d’Aiva Technologies.

Même tremplin espéré vers les Etats-Unis pour Aiva Techonologies, une start-up qui a lancé la commercialisation de son projet il y a presque deux ans et dont le plus gros marché se trouve aux Etats-Unis. La jeune start-up a développé une intelligence artificielle qui crée de la musique personnalisée pour les jeux vidéos, des publicités, des documentaires et des bandes originales de film.

Pierre Barreau, le co-fondateur d’Aiva. Photo d’Aiva Technologies.

Pierre Barreau, le co-fondateur d’Aiva, nous a confié qu’il souhaitait se rendre au CES pour « rencontrer des entreprises et de potentiels clients afin de développer le business à l’international. »

Le stand d’Aiva Technologies au salon CES Las Vegas. Photo d’Aiva Technologies.

Quant aux autres jeunes pousses luxembourgeoises CoinPlus, Virtelio et VR Timetravel, qui sont également présents au salon CES de Las Vegas, nous n’avons malheureusement pas eu le plaisir de les rencontrer.

L’événement CES, c’est 4000 entreprises, 600 start-ups, près de 200.000 visiteurs et une large couverture médiatique. La France, elle, conserve sa place de dauphin derrière les Etats-Unis (280 start-ups) en tant que délégation exposante, loin devant les Pays-Bas (60) et la Chine (55). Elle est très bien représentée avec 365 entreprises, collectivités et organisations, selon un recensement du secrétariat d’Etat au Numérique. Parmi elles, 274 jeunes pousses – plus du tiers du total – exposent dans l’Eureka Park, la Mecque des start-ups.

 

Cet article a été traduit en anglais par John Wilmot.


About the Author

was born in the royal city of Versailles, France and have lived in the United States since 1996. After earning a Bachelor's degree in History from the University of California Berkeley and studying for a Master program in education at the University of Southern California, she went on to teach French to aspiring UNLV and CSN students in Nevada. When she is not teaching, she is writing, interviewing people in a wide range of circumstances, pitching story ideas to writers and editors, taking pictures, traveling, painting or trying delicious foods.



Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *


CAPTCHA Image
Reload Image
Back to Top ↑

Events

Published on January 10th, 2018 | by Isabelle Karamooz, Founder of FQM

0

CES 2018: Luxembourg startups are on the starting blocks

The largest electronics show in Las Vegas, known as the Consumer Electronics Show (CES) opened up on January 9th.

Several companies from Luxembourg are present for the FIRST TIME this year at the Consumer Electronics Show, the major electronics show held from January 9th through the 12th in Las Vegas. In total, eight startups were selected and received a certificate of participation for the CES Las Vegas.

Luxinnovation coordinated the trip with the European American Enterprise Council (EAEC) which manages the Luxembourg Pavilion in Las Vegas, a transatlantic startup accelerator based in the Grand Duchy and San Francisco. French Quarter Magazine is delighted to introduce you to the lucky recipients and in particular to some of the startups that Editor-in-Chief Isabelle Karamooz was able to meet during her stay in Luxembourg last week.

These eight startups offer several new innovations or improving on pre-existing innovations for tourists, management companies, banks, insurance companies and motorists, they also develop artificial intelligence that compose music tracks and virtual reality experiences.

Photo by CarPay Diem.

“Many of our shareholders told us that (CES) was worth going to,” says Frédéric Stiernon, founder and director of CarPay-Diem. CarPay-Diem is a company that allows motorists to connect with gas stations by simply using a mobile app. Allowing drivers to manage the payment of their gas without ever having to get out of the car. The driver chooses a pump, refuels his car and the bill is sent to his smartphone where points are then added to his loyalty card. This concept is underway in several networks in Belgium, France and England. Luxembourg and Germany will see their first equipped pumps in the coming weeks. Other countries will be announced during the year. “As soon as we registered with CES we quickly began to get requests for business meetings. Several companies want to know more about our enterprise “Frédéric Stiernon tells us. “We felt that since they had already generated so much interest in us before even going to the show, that we had to go.”

Photo by Motion-S.

The European American Enterprise Council (EAEC) directly supports eight Luxembourg startups. They prepared their team leaders before the big trip to Nevada. Other companies, as numerous as they are, go there accompanied by large groups, or on their own.

Motion-S booth at the CES Las Vegas. Photo by Motion-S.

The CES has become highly publicized, garnering worldwide media attention. The show features rather mainstream products. “Our selection within this convention has already given us a lot of visibility in Luxembourg thanks to the press. “It’s a big promotional booster for us,” says Stephan Stoffels, Senior Marketing Manager. It also “attracts potential international investors to Luxembourg,” said German Castignani, the co-founder of Motion-S. This new startup company not only gives feedback to its drivers but also the possibility of adapting the insurance rate to the profile by providing information and data to insurance companies, leasing companies and car sharing companies while also informing its users on how to drive their vehicles. With this data, we do risk analysis and create driver profiles. According to German Castignani, “this platform will give an added value to our customers and our young drivers. For example, in the event of a breakdown we can detect this and immediately send a mechanic out to the location. We can also offer larger insurance discounts and there’s opportunities to receive bonus points for good driving behavior.” The CES will highlight this system and network with US customers who work in the telematics field as well as keeping up to date with the latest technology.

Photo by Fundsquare.

“Going to CES,” says Paolo Brignardello, Fundsquare’s Head Product Management and Marketing, “it’s  important to engage with international players in the investment fund industry on the spot. Fundsquare is dedicated to investment funds and is a digital fund distribution platform based on blockchain technology.

Fundsquare booth at the CES Las Vegas. Photo by Fundsquare.

This new project aims to facilitate connections between investors, management companies and distribution stakeholders. It also makes it possible to share a database and eliminate problems related to the chain. Fundsquare is an independent company that was set up on the initiative of the Luxembourg Stock Exchange in June 2013.

Postmiibike in Paris. Photo by Postmii.

“The CES will give us a certain visibility and will open us up to other countries which will allow Postmii to develop much faster,” confirms Kevin Colinet. Kevin’s The spokesman for the 4 co-founders of the French startup company which will join the Luxembourg delegation. Created in 2015, Postmii gives tourists the opportunity to transform their photos directly into postcards on the spot, and thanks to the Postmibike they’re able to be found at a number of the best tourist spots.

Photo by Postmii.

Postmibike is a self-sufficient electric tricycle that is ecologically friendly, thanks to solar batteries. Clients have two options, they can either transfer a picture from their smartphone directly to the Postmii tablet or take a picture of themselves using the Postmibikes tablet. The photo is then personalized and the postcard is printed right there, all within a few seconds. The postcard is then sent out by the startup later that day. “We want to find our first big licensees who will buy our Postmibike and become franchise owners, allowing them to be their own boss’” announces Kevin Colinet. “We will launch ourselves on the American market! “

Photo by Aiva Technologies.

Even the much hoped-for venture by the Luxembourg company, Aiva Technologies, a startup that launched their project almost two years ago and whose largest market is in the United States, has seen success. This new startup has developed an artificial intelligence that creates personalized music for video games, commercials, documentaries and movie soundtracks.

Pierre Barreau, the co-founder of Aiva. Photo by Aiva Technologies.

Pierre Barreau, the co-founder of Aiva, told us that he wanted to go to CES to “meet companies and potential customers to develop business internationally. “

Aiva Technologies booth at the CES Las Vegas. Photo by Aiva Technologies.

Unfortunately we didn’t have time to meet up with some of the other Luxembourg startups who are also present at the CES show in Las Vegas but want to take this time to mention their names anyways. Newer companies such as CoinPlus, Virtelio and VR Timetravel, are also at this event.

The CES event is comprised of over 4000 companies, 600 startups, nearly 200,000 visitors as well as those doing media coverage. France, for its part, holds its position as the runner-up. Second only to the United States with (280 startups) as an exhibiting delegation, far ahead of the Netherlands (60) and China (55). France is well represented this year, having 365 companies, communities and organizations, according to a census of the State Secretariat for Digital. Of these, 274 startups – more than a third of the total – exhibits in Eureka Park, the mecca of startups.

 

 

 

 


About the Author

was born in the royal city of Versailles, France and have lived in the United States since 1996. After earning a Bachelor's degree in History from the University of California Berkeley and studying for a Master program in education at the University of Southern California, she went on to teach French to aspiring UNLV and CSN students in Nevada. When she is not teaching, she is writing, interviewing people in a wide range of circumstances, pitching story ideas to writers and editors, taking pictures, traveling, painting or trying delicious foods.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


CAPTCHA Image
Reload Image
Back to Top ↑