Histoire

Published on novembre 13th, 2014 | by Maureen Youngblood

0

Chantilly, plus qu’une crème, un magnifique château

Lorsqu’un Américain entend le mot chantilly, il pense à la dentelle et à la crème. Peu d’Américains réalisent que c’est en fait une ville avec une histoire intéressante.

Chantilly se situe à 38 miles au nord est de Paris dans la région de Picardie et se trouve être la ville du château de chantilly. Tout comme d’autres châteaux français, le château de chantilly est grandiose, fleuri et magnifique. C’est au 14ème siècle que le chancelier d’Orgemont décida de construire le château en plein milieu de la vallée de la Nonette, qui n’était alors qu’une prairie marécageuse dans une région reculée. La propriété resta dans la même famille de 1386 à 1897 sans jamais avoir été vendue, une très longue période pour une seule et même famille.

En 1560, le domaine fut rénové par l’architecte Jean Bullant, qui avait conçu le château d’Ecouen. Ce fut en 1632 que Louis XII confisqua Chantilly à Henry II de Montmorency, alors occupant des lieux. En 1643, le domaine retourne à la Famille Condé. Louis II de Bourbon-Condé engage alors le célèbre jardinier, André Le Nôtre, pour qu’il crée le magnifique parc et le Grand canal. Le Grand Condé transforma le domaine de Chantilly en un endroit de célébration qui accueillit de nombreux invités littéraires tels que La Fontaine, La Bruyère, Bossuet et Madame de Sévigné. En plus des nombreux feux d’artifices élaborés et des bals extravagants fréquentés par nombre d’invités, Molière y joue même le Tartuffe pour le Grand Condé.

The Great Stables

Les Grandes Écuries. Photo par driehausmuseum.org.

Durant les années 1700, de grands changements furent apportés à la propriété, y compris une nouvelle construction. Les grandes étables, immense lieu de vie pour les chevaux, est considéré comme un chef d’œuvre structurel et architectural du 18ème siècle. Peu de temps après, ce fut une période de « mort » temporaire pour le château. Durant la révolution, les collections d’art du château de Chantilly furent confisquées et transférées au Louvre, et le château fut transformé en prison ; plusieurs de ses bâtiments furent démolis.

La période de la Restauration vit le château de Chantilly subir sa propre version de la restauration. En 1815, le prince Louis-Joseph décide de restaurer les appartements et réussit à récupérer certains objets retenus au Louvre. Louis Henry Joseph, Duc de Bourbon, sans aucun héritier direct, lègue ses biens, à savoir le château de Chantilly, à son petit neveu de 8 ans, également son filleul, Henri d’Orléans, duc d’Aumale, qui est le 5ème fils du roi Louis-Philippe. Le duc d’Aumale, arrivé à l’âge légal, fit son service militaire et partit en Algérie. Ce fut durant la Monarchie de juillet que ses appartements privés furent remodelés ; son projet était de reconstruire le château ; il fut toutefois forcé de quitter la France après la révolution de 1848.

Le duc d’Aumale fut exilé non loin de Londres ; lors de son exil, il réussit à collectionner plusieurs œuvres d’art, des meubles, des peintures et des sculptures. Sa période d’exil s’étendait de 1848 à 1871, date à laquelle il pu rentrer et ajouter ses objets soigneusement choisis à la collection déjà présente à Chantilly. Il engage alors l’architecte Honora Daumet afin de reconstruire le château dans le but d’exposer son importante collection d’objets « combinés ».

Le duc d’Aumale devint membre de l’Institution française en 1871, après son retour de Londres. À sa mort en 1894, le domaine tout entier fut légué à l’institution. Le 17 avril 1898, le musée Condé ouvrit ses portes au public, avec comme instructions de la part du duc de préserver la présentation et de ne prêter les collections à personne. C’est cette même collection que l’on peut voir aujourd’hui.

Chose plutôt inhabituelle pour un château français, le château de chantilly possède un champs de courses hippiques. Les étables, appelées les Grandes Étables, furent construites durant les années 1700, et permirent de laisser libre cours à la passion de l’élevage de chevaux, que ce soit dans un but lucratif ou pour le plaisir. Les Grandes Étables peuvent accueillir 240 chevaux et 500 chiens, animaux qui faisaient partie intégrante de la « typique » chasse hippique quotidienne.

La région accueillait une communauté anglaise qui entretenait des liens étroits avec les courses hippiques, celles-ci commencèrent en 1834. Ce sport attirait toutes les classes sociales, qui pouvaient parier sur leur cheval favori. Fin 1859, l’ouverture d’une gare ferroviaire proche de chantilly permit d’accueillir des foules de plus en plus importantes, les registres font état de plus de 20000 personnes. Les années suivantes la fréquentation doubla, ainsi plus de 40000 personnes étaient présentes au prix du jockey club en 1912.

france-galop.com

Course hippique à Chantilly. Photo par france-galop.com.

Grâce au champs hippique de Chantilly, la région entière évolua vers une économie de courses hippiques, incluant des étables, des entraînements hippiques et tout ce qui tourne autour de ce sport. Etant un sport britannique, la majorité des jockeys venaient de Grande Bretagne, à tel point que vers 1870, une chapelle anglicane fut construite pour tous les britanniques qui résidaient ou travaillaient dans la région.

Il est intéressant de noter que durant la 1ère guerre mondiale, les Grandes Étables du château de chantilly furent utilisées comme hôpital vétérinaire par l’occupation allemande. ; les registres indiquent que près de 400 chevaux allemands furent soignés aux étables.

Aujourd’hui, les Grandes Étables abritent le musée vivant du cheval. Des spectacles hippiques sont régulièrement organisés, et les étables de chantilly sont un des sites de courses hippiques parmi les plus visités au monde. Chantilly est l’endroit le plus vaste en ce qui concerne la course et l’entraînement hippique, avec plus de 2600 chevaux, dont une grande majorité sont des purs sang.

Chantilly Lace

Chantilly Lace. Photo par Teaattrianon Blog.

Passons maintenant à l’histoire de la dentelle de Chantilly. La dentelle de Chantilly est réputée pour son extrême souci du détail et ses motifs aux contours raffinés. Cette tradition date du 17ème siècle lorsque la Duchesse de Longueville dirigeait l’usine de dentelle de Chantilly. Prisé par Mme du Barry, Marie-Antoinette et bien d’autres à la cour royale, il y avait une importante demande pour cet article de mode délicat. Durant la révolution française, après les exécutions royales, les fabricants de dentelle de Chantilly furent considérés comme des loyalistes et beaucoup d’entre eux furent tués du fait de leur lien avec la couronne.

Napoléon tenta de raviver l’art de la fabrication de la dentelle ; toutefois la production fut relocalisée en Normandie. Bien qu’elle n’était plus effectuée à Chantilly, les mêmes motifs et techniques y furent implantés. La dentelle la plus somptueuse fut réalisée au 18ème siècle avec de la soie. En 1844 une machine à tisser fut brevetée, et produisait la dentelle de Valenciennes ainsi que de la dentelle de soie noire. La production de masse égalait la délicate dentelle faite à la main. Avec l’ère industrielle, une majorité de dentellières disparurent ; les machines les avaient remplacées.

Et maintenant la crème chantilly ! En fait, c’est de la crème fouettée, qu’elle soit sucrée ou non. C’est à François Vatel, maître d’hôtel au château de chantilly vers la moitié du 17eme siècle que revient le mérite d’avoir donné ce nom « crème Chantilly » mais il n’y a aucune preuve qui permettait de le vérifier. Le nom chantilly a également un lien avec la crème fouettée du milieu du 18ème siècle, qui était servie au Hameau de chantilly. On peut supposer que la crème fouettée est appelée chantilly du fait que le château et la région étaient devenus un symbole de la cuisine française raffinée. Je suis totalement d’accord ; ajouter de la crème chantilly à n’importe quel plat le rend tout de suite plus élégant et plus doux. Ca vaut le détour !

Désormais, lorsque vous entendrez le mot « chantilly, » vous saurez que c’est bien plus qu’un lieu, c’est aussi un magnifique château doté d’une histoire regroupant aristocratie et art, membres royaux et champs de courses, et bien sûr, de la dentelle et de la crème fouettée !

How to find remedies online? So it’s no wonder that online pharmacies is becoming more pops over the last years. Few remedies are used to treat impotency. Topics such as “buy sildenafil citrate online” and “sildenafil 50 mg price” are very pops now. This article focuses on the evaluation of erectile dysfunction and “sildenafil citrate side effects“. Of all the matters in the field of healthcare that pique our attention most, it’s sexual health problem, notably “undefined”. Low self-esteem, venous leak, some diseases, and certain medicines can reduce your sex drive. Stress affects all sides of existence including sex drive. People must always ask doctor for occupational advice about Viagra. Keep in mind online drugstore which is prepared to sell such medicaments like Viagra without a valid formula is fraudulent. When you get from an unknown company, you run the risk of getting counterfeit drugs.


About the Author

was born and raised in the United States and is currently living in California. She discovered her love of the French language and culture in high school and continued her education of all things French in college where she earned a Bachelor’s degree in International Business from the University of Nevada Las Vegas. She enjoys living near the ocean, traveling and French pastries.



Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Back to Top ↑

History

Published on November 13th, 2014 | by Maureen Youngblood

0

Chantilly, more than a cream, a beautiful castle

When an American hears the word Chantilly, we think of lace and cream. Few Americans realize it is an actual place with an interesting history.

Chantilly is 38 miles northeast of Paris in the Picardy region and is home to the Chateau de Chantilly. Similar to other French chateaux, the Chateau de Chantilly is grand, ornate and beautiful. In the 14th century, the Chancellor of Orgemont decided to build the chateau in the middle of the valley of la Nonette, then a swampy meadowland in a remote area. The property remained within the same family during the years 1386 to 1897 without ever being sold – a very long time to stay in one family.

The year 1560 saw the renovation of the estate by the architect Jean Bullant, who created Chateau Ecouen. It was in 1632 that Louis XII confiscated Chantilly from Henri II of Montmorency, the then current inhabitant. In 1643, the estate was given back to the Conde family. Louis II of Bourbon-Conde hired the famous gardener, Andre Le Notre, to create the magnificent park and Grand Canal. The Grand Conde turned the Chantilly estate into a place of celebration, welcoming many literary guests such as La Fontiane, La Bruyere, Boussuet and Madame de Sevigne. Along with elaborate fireworks and extravagant balls attended by many guests, Moliere performed Tartuffe for the Grand Conde at Chateau de Chantilly.

The Great Stables

The Great Stables. Photo by driehausmuseum.org.

During the 1700s, the property underwent extensive changes, including a complete rebuild of the Chateau. The Great Stables, a massive housing for horses is considered an architectural and structural masterpiece of the 18th century. Shortly after, the chateau went into temporary decline. During the Revolution, the art collections at Chateau de Chantilly were confiscated and taken to the Louvre. The Chateau was transformed into a prison; many of its buildings were demolished.

The Restoration saw Chateau de Chantilly undergo its own version of restoration. In 1815, Prince Louis-Joseph decided to restore the apartments and he was also able to regain some of the artifacts held at the Louvre. Louis-Henri-Joseph, Duke of Bourbon, with no direct heir, left the entire Chateau de Chantilly estate to his eight year old great-nephew and godchild, Henri of Orleans, Duke of Aumale. Louis-Henri-Joseph was the 5th son of King Louis-Philippe. The Duke of Aumale, once of age, entered the military and served in Algeria. It was during the July Monarchy that he had his private apartments remodeled. His plans were to rebuild the Chateau; however, he was forced to leave France after the 1848 Revolution.

The Duke of Aumale was exiled near London. While in exile, he was able to collect many pieces of art, furniture, paintings, and sculptures. His exile lasted from 1848 until 1871 when he was able to return and combine his carefully chosen pieces with the collection that was already held at Chantilly. He enlisted the architect Honora Daumet to rebuild the Chateau in order to display his large, combined collection.

The Duke of Aumale became a French Institute member in 1871, after his return from London. Upon his death in 1894, the entire estate was given to the institute. On April 17, 1898, the Conde Museum opened to the public with the instructions from the Duke that the presentation be protected and that the collections not be lent to anyone. This is the same collection that can be seen today.

Unusual for a typical French chateau, Chateau de Chantilly has a racetrack for horses. The horse stables, called the Great Stables, were constructed in the 1700s and encouraged further advancing the hobby of raising horses for profit and amusement. The Great Stables could accommodate the 240 horses and 500 dogs that were typically used for the daily hunting rides.

The area was home to an English community that had strong ties to horse racing. The first horse races were held in Chantilly in 1834. The attraction of the sport saw all levels of social classes betting for their favorite horse to win. In late 1859, the opening of the nearby train station in Chantilly allowed even bigger crowds to attend the races. Records indicate that upwards of 20,000 people attended the events. In later years, attendance doubled and upwards of 40,000 people attended the Prix du Jockey Club in 1912.

france-galop.com

Racetrack at Chantilly. Photo by france-galop.com.

With the racetrack at Chantilly, the entire area developed as a horse racing economy that included stables, horse-training and everything that accompanies the sport. As a British sport, a majority of the jockeys were from Britain – so many so that around 1870 an Anglican chapel was built for all the British that resided and worked in the area.

Interestingly, during WWII the Great Stables at Chateau de Chantilly were used as a veterinary hospital by the occupying Germans; records indicate that as many as 400 German horses were housed at the stables.

Today, the Great Stables house the Living Museum of the Horse. Horse shows are regularly held and the stables at Chantilly are one of the most visited horse racing sites in the world. Chantilly is the largest area for horse racing and training in France with over 2,600 horses, a majority of which are thoroughbreds.

Chantilly Lace

Chantilly Lace. Photo by Teaattrianon Blog.

Now for a bit of history of the Chantilly lace. Chantilly lace is known for its extreme detail and fine outlined pattern. The tradition of Chantilly lace dates from the 17th century when the Duchesse de Longueville controlled the manufacture of lace at Chantilly. Favored by Mme du Barry, Marie Antoinette and many at the royal court, there was high demand for this intricate and delicate fashion item. During the French Revolution, after the executions of the royalty, the lace makers of Chantilly were seen as loyalists and many were killed due to their connection with the crown.

Napoleon attempted to revive the art of lace making; however, production was moved to Normandy. Though no longer made in Chantilly, the same designs and techniques were implemented. The grandest of lace was created in the 18th century and was made from silk. In 1844, a lace making machine was patented that produced Valenciennes lace and black silk lace. The mass-produced lace was indistinguishable from the delicate, hand-made lace. With the industrial age, a majority of the lace-makers were no longer required; machines had replaced them.

Now for Chantilly cream! In reality, it is whipped cream, whether sweetened or not. Though there is no evidence to prove it, the credit for naming Chantilly cream had been given to Francois Vatel, the maitre d’hotel at the Chateau de Chantilly in the mid-17th century. The name Chantilly was also connected to whipped cream in the mid-18th century, as it was served at lunch at the Hameau de Chantilly. It is assumed that whipped cream is called Chantilly cream because the Chateau and the region became a symbol of refined French food. With this I completely agree; adding Chantilly cream to anything makes it more elegant, indulgent and worth every bite!

Now when you hear the word “Chantilly” you know that it is far more than just a place, it is a beautiful Chateau with a history of aristocracy and art, royalty and racetracks, and of course, lace and whipped cream!

 


About the Author

was born and raised in the United States and is currently living in California. She discovered her love of the French language and culture in high school and continued her education of all things French in college where she earned a Bachelor’s degree in International Business from the University of Nevada Las Vegas. She enjoys living near the ocean, traveling and French pastries.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


CAPTCHA Image
Reload Image
Back to Top ↑