Interviews

Published on juillet 8th, 2018 | by Isabelle Karamooz, Founder of FQM

0

“Cousu de fil noir” : Entretien avec l’auteur français Fausta Philippoussis

Ça signifie quoi être écrivain?

En voilà une vaste et épineuse question…Quand on prononce le mot « écrivain » on a automatiquement une image de ce qu’un écrivain est. Souvent, cette image est plus visuelle que verbale. Certains “voient” l’écrivain comme une personne studieuse et professorale tapotant un clavier dans une pièce remplie de livres ; d’autres le “voient” comme l’auteur très soigné et sûr de lui pontifiant lors d’un important débat télévisé. Quoi que l’on “voit” quand on pense à un “vrai” écrivain, le problème est que bien trop souvent, on ne se voit pas soi-même.
C’est ici que réside le piège, car si votre “portrait d’écrivain” intérieur ne correspond pas à ce que vous voyez dans le miroir, vous doutez de votre capacité à “devenir” ce que vous imaginez être un écrivain…

Ce dont nous avons besoin en priorité, c’est de sainement faire éclater ces mythes autour de cette profession.
Car en vérité personne ne peut répondre à cette question et tout le monde peut y répondre.
Un écrivain écrit, voire publie, mais n’est pas nécessairement édité. Un écrivain a un style, une forme., sa propre musique. Un écrivain a quelque chose à raconter, à dire, à transmettre, à faire passer…
Un écrivain habite son époque, soit pour la rejeter, soit pour l’épouser. C’est ainsi qu’il construit son style et son fond. Un œuvre ne peut s’écrire qu’à l’époque où elle a été écrite. L’écrivain est conscient de ce qui se joue de son temps.

Mais pour être tout à fait honnête. Cette liste qui ne saurait être exhaustive n’est qu’un vague début de réponse… Il y aurait tant à dire…

Certains de nos lecteurs découvriront bientôt votre nouveau livre et ne connaissent pas “Cousu de fil noir.” Pouvez-vous nous en parler un peu ?

C’est au détour de l’une de mes rencontres que je suis tombée sur Monsieur Charles Glenn, 80 ans, le regard franc, le verbe haut. Charles me confie assez rapidement que le rêve de sa vie est l’écriture de sa biographie, que cela fait 10 ans qu’il tente de la faire, en vain. D’abord surprise, puis moqueuse et enfin quelque peu sceptique je découvre au détour de son récit que je suis en fait face a Mr Charles Glenn, couturier de stars et accessoirement ex meilleur ami de Christophe Rocancourt.
De l’holocauste en passant par la guerre d’Algérie, les années yéyés, mai 68, le rêve américain, et la belle époque je me suis laissée embarquer par l’histoire de vie de Charles.

Entre expériences de vie, anecdotes croustillantes sur les stars d’hier, rencontre avec Brigitte Bardot, Johnny Hallyday, Claude François, France Galle, Charles Aznavour, Sammy Davis Junior et Christophe Rocancourt ( qui m’a fait l’honneur d’écrire ma préface) et j’en passe, révélations en tout genre, passions amoureuses, photographies exclusives, mise au point et parcours chaotiques mais exemplaires, cette atypique biographie nous livre un récit riche en enseignement.

..Et donc que signifie le titre “Cousu de fil noir” en fait ?

Au-delà du simple clin d’œil à sa profession de couturier, c’est surtout que c’est loin d’être une histoire cousu de fil blanc.
Dans ce livre, au fil des chapitres, force est de constater que la vie de Charles Glenn fut une succession de rebondissements, de up, de down et de multiples péripéties…
De fait son histoire existe, et elle est si belle, tellement inattendue, improbable, extraordinaire, qu’elle semble avoir été ourdie par un destin facétieux.

Parlez-nous un peu de votre routine pour écrire. Écrivez-vous tôt le matin, ou toute la nuit ? Stylo ou ordinateur ?

Ecrire est un artisanat. Il faut avoir le goût à ça, puis l’entretenir régulièrement. Pas de bon écrivain sans rythme de travail régulier. Même si c’est une fois par semaine. Ensuite on est tout le temps à l’école. Chaque livre va nous enseigner un petit truc nouveau dans la manière de faire les dialogues, le découpage, de poser vite un personnage, de créer un effet de suspense.
Car oui contrairement à l’idée romantique que l’on s’en fait, l’écriture n’est pas le fruit d’une inspiration quasi-divine que l’écrivain bohème muni d’une plume n’a plus qu’à retranscrire tranquillement sur une belle feuille de parchemin. Le travail d’écrivain est ardu, il demande de la concentration et surtout de la rigueur.
Personnellement je n’ai pas de routine à proprement parler, mais j’écris tous les jours.
Par contre si je dans une impasse, je changer quelque chose dans ma façon de procéder du moment : j’écris dans un endroit différent, j’écris à la main plutôt qu’avec mon ordinateur, je dicte mon texte à un dictaphone, je change le point de vue de mon narrateur, il peut même m’arriver de mettre le texte que suis en train d’écrire de côté et j’en commence en un autre.

L’auteur Fausta Philippoussis. Photo de Pierre-Arnaud Lagache.

Qu’est-ce qui vous pousse à écrire ?

En fait, bien souvent, l’inspiration vient d’une résilience. On souffre dans sa vie donc on a besoin d’en parler par écrit pour prendre le monde à témoin. Par exemple quelqu’un vous a fait du mal ; vous ne vous vengez pas par des actes, vous vous vengez par écrit en fabriquant une poupée à son effigie et en y plantant des aiguilles d’intrigue. A la fin le héros casse la figure à la poupée à l’effigie de votre adversaire. On dit que les gens heureux n’ont pas d’histoire. Je le crois. Si on est complètement heureux satisfait de tout ce qu’on a déjà pourquoi se lancer dans l’aventure hasardeuse de l’écriture ?
A la limite je conçois qu’une fois qu’on est écrivain professionnel l’écriture devienne en soi une sorte de quête du graal, du livre parfait, mais là encore c’est une frustration à régler. Donc une souffrance. Oui dans l’écriture il y a forcément une vengeance contre quelque chose ou quelqu’un. Ou en tout cas un défi à relever.

Mais clairement, la seule motivation honorable me semble être : parce que l’acte d’écrire, de fabriquer un monde, de faire vivre des personnages est déjà une nécessité et un plaisir en soi.

Quels romanciers admirez-vous ?

Je suis une lectrice éclectique… J’ai énormément d’auteurs que j’admire… Maintenant pour être la plus précise possible dans ma réponse je vais me baser sur le nombres de livres du dit auteur que j’ai lu, et sans hésitation je suis une fan inconditionnelle de Stephen King… j’ai lu l’intégralité de ses œuvres.
J’aime beaucoup Dan Brown , Kootnz, Bernard Werber, Poe, ou encore Maxime Chattam… Je lis beaucoup de Mary Higgins clark.
Je reste nostalgique de Francis Scott Fitzgerald et Albert Cohen…
Ma liste est très très loin d’être exhaustive, mais je suis incapable de faire un choix.

Etes-vous un auteur qui interagit beaucoup avec ses lecteurs ?  

J’essais autant que je peux …Que soit sur Facebook ou encore Instagram, j’ai construit une communauté qui me suit et me supporte. Je leur en suis extrêmement reconnaissante et n’hésite pas à communiquer chaque jour et à soigneusement répondre à tout leur courriel.
Cela a commencer avec mon premier livre H-15 dans lequel j’aborde beaucoup de sujet délicat (addiction, alcoolisme, dépression, suicide…) et beaucoup ce sont reconnus au travers de mes écrits et n’ont pas hésité a m’écrire leurs ressentis. A partir de cet instant je n’ai jamais cessé d’interagir avec mes lecteurs.
D’ailleurs n’hésitez pas à me contacter que ce soit sur Facebook : https://www.facebook.com/hmoins15/ ou encore via Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/faustalv/

Que faites-vous d’autre en connexion avec vos livres ?

Je lis. C’est important, on doit lire le genre de livres qu’on a envie d’écrire.
Ne serait-ce que pour savoir ce que les autres auteurs, confrontés aux mêmes problèmes, ont fait. On doit aussi lire les livres des genres qu’on n’aime pas forcément ne serait-ce que pour savoir ce qu’on ne veut pas faire.
Récemment je me suis aussi inscrite sur Wattpad (un site social d’accès libre créé par Allen Lau et Ivan Yuen, où les usagers inscrits peuvent écrire et partager gratuitement récits, poèmes, fanfictions, romans fantastique, amoureux, policier et articles en tout genre, en les rendant accessibles en ligne ou sur une application mobile j’y passe pas mal de temps, c’est une belle source d’inspiration.

 

 


About the Author

was born in the royal city of Versailles, France and have lived in the United States since 1996. After earning a Bachelor's degree in History from the University of California Berkeley and studying for a Master program in education at the University of Southern California, she went on to teach French to aspiring UNLV and CSN students in Nevada. When she is not teaching, she is writing, interviewing people in a wide range of circumstances, pitching story ideas to writers and editors, taking pictures, traveling, painting or trying delicious foods.



Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *


CAPTCHA Image
Reload Image
Back to Top ↑

Interviews

Published on July 8th, 2018 | by Isabelle Karamooz, Founder of FQM

0

“Cousu de fil noir”: Interview with French Author Fausta Philippoussis

What does it mean to be a writer?

That’s a rather broad and difficult question… When we say the word “writer” we automatically have an image of what a writer is. Often, this image is more visual than verbal. Some “see” the writer as a studious and professorial person tapping away on a keyboard in a room filled with books, others “see” him as an author, very well-kept and pontificating on an important televised debate. Whatever we “see” when we think of a “real” writer, the problem is that all too often, we don’t see ourselves.

This is where lies the trap, because if your inner “writer’s portrait” doesn’t match what you see in the mirror, you doubt your ability to “become” what you imagine a writer to be…

What we need to do first and foremost is to actively break down the myths around this profession.

Because in truth nobody can answer this question and yet at the same time everyone can answer it.

A writer writes, even edits, but isn’t always necessarily published. A writer has a style, a form, he marches to the beat of his own drum. A writer has something to recount, to say, to address, to convey …

A writer lives in the moment, either rejecting it or embracing it. This is how he creates his style and builds his repertoire. A work can only be written at the time it was written. The writer’s aware of what’s going on around him.

But to be completely honest, the amount of things to say about this question is endless. This is just the vague beginnings of an answer… There could be so much to say…

Some of our readers will soon be learning about your new book for the first time and don’t know much about “Cousu de fil noir” (“Sewn with black thread”). Can you tell us a little bit about it?

It was through one of my other acquaintances that I met Mr. Charles Glenn. He was 80 years old at the time, had a frank look to him, and expressed himself easily. Charles told me pretty quickly that it’s been his lifelong dream to write his biography and that, he’s been trying in vain to do it for the past 10 years. At first surprised, then mocking and finally somewhat skeptical, I discovered during the course of our conversation that I was actually talking to the Mr. Charles Glenn, the fashion designer of many celebrities and incidentally, Christophe Rocancourt’s best friend.

From the holocaust to the Algerian war, through the yéyé years, and the events of May 1968 to the American dream, and the belle époque, I allowed myself be embark on what would be known as Charles life story.

Between his life experiences lies crisp anecdotes about the stars of yesteryear, meetings with Brigitte Bardot, Johnny Hallyday, Claude Francois, France Galle, Charles Aznavour, Sammy Davis Junior and Christophe Rocancourt (who did me the honor of writing my preface) and so on. Revelations of all kinds, love affairs, exclusive photographs, implementations of all sorts and a chaotic but exemplary life path, this atypical biography gives us a story rich in lessons.

…And so what does the title, “Sewn with black thread” actually mean?

Beyond the obvious nod to his profession as a fashion designer, more emphasis is put on the thread itself. This is far from being a story sewn together with white thread.

In this book, throughout the chapters, it will be made clear that the life of Charles Glenn was a succession of twists, ups and downs, and multiple adventures …

The fact that this story even exists and that it’s so beautiful, so unexpected, so unbelievable and extraordinary, that it seems to have been hatched by a preposterous destiny.

Tell us a little about your writing routine. Do you write early in the morning, or all night long? Pen or computer?

Writing is a craft. You have to have a taste for it, then maintain it regularly. There isn’t a good writer without a regular work rhythm out there. Even if it’s once a week. That way we’re always learning. Each book teaches us something new in how to make better dialogues, how to trim down text, how to quickly introduce a character, or how to create  suspense effects.

Because yes, contrary to the romanticised idea that we have in our heads, writing isn’t the fruit of some quasi-divine inspiration that a bohemian writer gets. Where they’re equipped solely with an ink quill pen and a beautiful sheet of parchment paper and who can ever so quietly transcribe their work. The work of writer is arduous, it requires concentration, and above all, rigor.

Personally, I do not have a routine, but I write every day.

On the other hand, if I get into a writer’s block, I’ll change something in my way of proceeding: I’ll write in a different place, I’ll write by hand rather than with my computer, I’ll read my text into a dictaphone, I’ll change the point of view of my narrator, I may even put the text that I’m writing aside and start on another.

Author Fausta Philippousis. Photo by Pierre-Arnaud Lagache.

What inspires you write?

In fact, often, inspiration comes from resilience. We suffer in this life so we need to talk about it through writing to let the world make witness of it. For example, if someone has hurt you; you don’t act out in revenge, you avenge yourself by writing, by making a figurative voodoo doll with his figure and sticking it with needles of intrigue. At the end the hero breaks the figure of the doll with the image of your opponent. It’s said that happy people have no history. I believe them. If someone’s completely happy and satisfied with everything they already have, then why embark on the precarious adventure of writing?

I understand that once you’re a professional writer, writing becomes in itself a sort of quest for the holy grail. Writing that perfect book, but here again there’s a sort of frustration to overcome. So yes, there’s suffering. When writing, there’s typically a vendetta against something or someone, or at least a challenge.

But clearly, the only reasonable motivation seems to me to be the actual process of writing. Making a world with living characters is a pleasure in and of itself, it’s a necessity for some.

Which novelists do you admire?

I’m an eclectic reader… There’s a lot of authors that I admire… Now to be as precise as possible in this answer it will be based on the number of books that I’ve read from said author, and without any hesitations. I’m an unconditional fan of Stephen King… I read all of his work.

I really like Dan Brown, Koontz, Bernard Werber, Poe, and Maxime Chattam… I read a lot of Mary Higgins Clark.

I remain loyal to Francis Scott Fitzgerald and Albert Cohen for nostalgic reasons alone …

My list is very far from complete, but I’m unable to make a single choice…

Are you an author who frequently interacts with its readers?

I try to as much as I can… Whether it’s on Facebook or Instagram I’ve built a community that follows me and supports me. I am extremely grateful for them and I never hesitate to communicate with them on a daily basis. I’m prudent about responding to all of their emails.

It started with my first book H-15, in which I touched upon a lot of delicate issues, (addiction, alcoholism, depression, suicide…) and many of the subjects are represented in my writings and my readers have never hesitated to write to me about how they felt. From that moment on I’ve never stopped interacting with my readers.

So don’t hesitate to contact me either. On Facebook:        https://www.facebook.com/hmoins15/ or via Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/faustalv/

What else do you do in connection with your books?

I read. It’s important, you have to read the kind of books you want to write.

If only to find out what other writers, faced with the same problems, have done. We also have to read books of genres that we don’t necessarily like, if only to know what we don’t want to do.

Recently, I also registered on Wattpad, a free social site created by Allen Lau and Ivan Yuen, where registered users can write and share their stories, poems, fanfictions, fantasy novels, romance novels, crime stories and articles of all kinds for free. They’re all available online or on a mobile app. I spend a lot of time on there, it’s a beautiful source of inspiration.

 

 


About the Author

was born in the royal city of Versailles, France and have lived in the United States since 1996. After earning a Bachelor's degree in History from the University of California Berkeley and studying for a Master program in education at the University of Southern California, she went on to teach French to aspiring UNLV and CSN students in Nevada. When she is not teaching, she is writing, interviewing people in a wide range of circumstances, pitching story ideas to writers and editors, taking pictures, traveling, painting or trying delicious foods.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


CAPTCHA Image
Reload Image
Back to Top ↑