Interviews

Published on juillet 7th, 2018 | by Isabelle Karamooz, Founder of FQM

0

“December in Le Havre” : Entretien avec l’auteur américain John Vinuela

Ça signifie quoi être écrivain?

Être un écrivain c’est capturer les émotions et l’honnêteté de ces émotions. Les personnes vivent les événements, l’histoire, tous ensemble, donc il y a de nombreuses perspectives-c ‘est impossible d’être fidèle a toutes ces perspectives à la fois. Le mieux qu’un écrivain puisse faire est d’être émotionnellement honnête envers lui-même. Nos émotions privées sont la seule chose qui soit directement sujette à notre observation. C’est le travail de l’écrivain de répondre à ces émotions.

L’auteur John Vinuela.

Certains de nos lecteurs découvriront bientôt votre nouveau livre et ne connaissent pas “December In Le Havre: A Story Based On True Events From The Life of Gaetano Benza.” Pouvez-vous nous en parler un peu ?

L’histoire est une fiction biographique, en grande partie authentique, au sujet d’un adolescent américano-italien enrôlé dans l’armée pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Il est traumatisé par l’expérience du combat, mais il s’installe au Havre, où il passe le reste de la guerre. Son commandant se considère comme une sorte d’enseignant, tentant de former Gaetano en en lui présentant des opportunités, comme de conduire un prêtre à la ligne de front. Il ordonne également à Gaetano de superviser des prisonniers allemands qui finissent par devenir des cuisiniers dans les cuisines américaines. En fait, il se lie d’amitié avec un soldat allemand qui est fascine par lui; par ailleurs, sa vie se complique lorsqu’il tombe amoureux d’une fille française. Son amoureuse provoque un conflit interne qui ne se résout jamais. Bien que Gaetano soit la priorité évidente, j’ai dû respecter l’histoire. Je devais respecter la France. L’histoire du Havre avait déjà été enregistrée par les écrivains Français. Je ne voulais pas écrire quoique ce soit qui contredise leurs efforts. Le mémoire est un ensemble d’esquisses, des souvenirs flous dans l’ordre chronologique, amenés par les émotions. Ce n’est pas un livre « parfait ». Mais ce n’est pas le but. Il est important de noter que « December in Le Havre » est raconté à la première personne par le prisonnier allemand que Gaetano a pris en amitié. J’ai parfois utilisé des morceaux de fiction, parce que toutes simplement certaines vérités n’appartenaient qu’à la guerre et à Gaetano.

Gaetano Benza.

…Mais qui est Gaetano Benza en quelques mots?

Gaetano était un passionné italo-américain vigoureux de Brooklyn qui était amoureux de la vie! Il était comme un membre de votre famille. Si vous le connaissiez, vous l’aimiez, et il vous aimait. Il aimait cuisiner, chanter…aider les gens. Il donnait toujours de lui-même.

Parlez-nous un peu de votre routine pour écrire. Écrivez-vous tôt le matin, ou toute la nuit ? Stylo ou ordinateur?

Comme beaucoup d’auteurs, j’en suis sûr, il y a toujours un récit en cours, une histoire dans ma tête. Je travaille toute la semaine, alors le processus se déroule pendant le week-end. Je vais écrire ou corriger toute la journée samedi et dimanche, avec des pauses ici et là. Si une idée me frappe au cours de la semaine, je prends mon téléphone et l’utilise comme un bloc-notes. Si je ne peux pas accéder à mon téléphone, alors c’est papier et stylo.

Qu-est-ce vous pousse à écrire ?

Les gens m’inspirent. Au premier rang se trouvent ma femme et mes enfants. Après les gens, je suis inspiré par le processus d’écriture lui-même – ou il m’emporte, m’amène parfois.

Quels romanciers admirez-vous ?

J’en admire quelques-uns : John Steinbeck, Robinson Jeffers et Tim O’Brien sont les écrivains pour qui j’ai le plus grand respect.

Quels personnages historiques admirez-vous ?

Il y en a deux : je suis toujours attiré par Winston Churchill et Malcolm X

Etes-vous un auteur qui interagit beaucoup avec ses lecteurs ?  

J’aime interagir avec les lecteurs. J’aime une bonne discussion littéraire.

Que faites-vous d’autre en connexion avec vos livres ?

Je joue la guitare et le piano. J’écris de la musique et je suis constamment à la recherche d’expression honnête dans la construction musicale; de même que dans l’écriture.

 


About the Author

was born in the royal city of Versailles, France and have lived in the United States since 1996. After earning a Bachelor's degree in History from the University of California Berkeley and studying for a Master program in education at the University of Southern California, she went on to teach French to aspiring UNLV and CSN students in Nevada. When she is not teaching, she is writing, interviewing people in a wide range of circumstances, pitching story ideas to writers and editors, taking pictures, traveling, painting or trying delicious foods.



Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *


CAPTCHA Image
Reload Image
Back to Top ↑

Published on February 26th, 2018 | by Isabelle Karamooz, Founder of FQM


December in Le Havre: Interview with American Author John Vinuela

What does it mean to be a writer?

Being a writer is about capturing emotions and the honesty of those emotions. People experience events, history, together, so there are many perspectives- it’s impossible to true to all perspectives. The best a writer can do is to be emotionally honest to himself. The only thing that is under  our direct observation is our private emotions. It’s a writer’s job to answer to those emotions.

Author John Vinuela.

Some of our readers will soon discover your book and do not know much about “December In Le Havre: A Story Based On True Events From The Life of Gaetano Benza.” Are you able to tell us a bit about it?

The story is biographical fiction, largely true, about an Italian American teen drafted into the army during the Second World War. He is traumatized by the experience of combat, but settles in Le Havre where he spends the remainder of the war. His commanding officer sees himself as a teacher of sorts, attempting to shape Gaetano by arranging opportunities, such as driving a priest to the frontline. He, also orders Gaetano to supervise German prisoners who end up cooks in the American kitchen. In fact, he befriends one of the German soldier who is taken by him; moreover, life gets complicated when he falls in love with a French girl. His love interest causes an internal conflict which never resolves. Though Gaetano was the obvious priority I had to respect history. I had to respect France. The history of Le Havre had already been recorded by French writers.  I didn’t want to write anything which crossed into their efforts. The memoir is a group of sketches, fuzzy memories in chronological order, led by emotions. It’s not a “perfect” book. But it’s not meant to be. It’s important to note that December In Le Havre is told in the first person by the German prisoner whom Gaetano befriended. I used pieces of fiction at times, because some truths simply belong to the war and Gaetano alone.

Gaetano Benza.

…But, who is Gaetano Benza in a few words?

Gaetano was a passionate red blooded Italian American from Brooklyn who was in love with life! He was family. If you knew him, you loved him, and he loved you. He loved to cook, sing… serve people. He always gave of himself.

Talk to us a bit about your writing habits. Do you write early in the morning, or through the night? Pen or laptop?

Like many writers, I’m certain, there is always a running narrative a story in my head. I work all week, so the actual process takes place during the weekend. I’ll write or edit all day Saturday and Sunday, with breaks here and there. If an idea strikes me during the work week, I grab my phone and use it as a notepad. If I can’t get to my phone, then pen and paper it is.

What inspires you to write?

People inspire me. At the front of that line is my wife and my children. After people I am inspired by the process of writing itself- where it takes me, leads me at times.

Which novelists do you admire?

I admire a few: John Steinbeck, Robinson Jeffers, and Tim O’Brien are writers who I hold in the highest regard.

What historical figure do you admire?

There are two: I’m always caught by Winston Churchill and Malcolm X

Are you an author that interacts a great deal with your readers?

I do like to interact with  readers. I enjoy a good literary discussion.

What else do you do connected with your books?

I play guitar and piano. I write music and I’m constantly looking for honest expression in musical construction;  the same as in writing.





About the Author

was born in the royal city of Versailles, France and have lived in the United States since 1996. After earning a Bachelor's degree in History from the University of California Berkeley and studying for a Master program in education at the University of Southern California, she went on to teach French to aspiring UNLV and CSN students in Nevada. When she is not teaching, she is writing, interviewing people in a wide range of circumstances, pitching story ideas to writers and editors, taking pictures, traveling, painting or trying delicious foods.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to Top ↑