Histoire

Published on août 19th, 2016 | by Joshua Chanin

0

Dépression, Stress, Révolution: Les Frustrations Sexuelles de Louis XVI

Il y a longtemps en Europe, la tradition voulait que lorsqu’un roi se marie, il consomme son mariage immédiatement (de préférence le soir même) afin de produire un héritier pour la couronne et d’assurer la continuation de la lignée royale. Le Roi Louis XVI eut la malchance de ne pouvoir consumer son mariage que sept ans après cette importante date. The roi français, qui régna sur l’empire de sa nation bienaimée de 1774 jusqu’à sa décapitation en 1793, se révéla être un très mauvais chef d’état. Il était incapable de donner des ordres appropriés, de gérer ses finances et autres dettes royales, et complètement inconscient des difficultés de son peuple lors des dernières années de son régime. En plus de ses nombreux soucis de monarque, ses problèmes corporels, des épisodes de dépression profonde, et des moments de doute lors de prises de décision pendant la Révolution Américaine plongèrent le roi dans une période de frustration sexuelle de près de dix ans.

9682534e99442f3e6c9bf086222e4ce4

Prince Louis-Auguste fut marié à la belle Maria Antonia (mieux connue sous le nom de Marie Antoinette). Photo par Wikipedia.

Au tendre âge de 15 ans en 1770, le prince Louis-Auguste fut marie à la belle Maria Antonia (autrement connue sous le nom de Marie Antoinette). Le prince français avait été un enfant très actif, notamment avec des activités de plein air telles que le tir à l’arc, la chasse et la lutte avec ses jeunes frères. Tout souriait à ce jeune homme, qui était destiné à suivre les pas royaux de son grand-père et régner sur l’un des empires les plus importants de la planète. Son corps était parfait et il était très beau d’après les canons de son époque. Mais lorsqu’il épousa sa cousine au deuxième degré, quelque chose changea. Le roi, autrefois admiré pour sa beauté et son agilité, n’arrivait pas à conclure avec sa nouvelle femme, causant des difficultés dans le mariage et nourrissant les spéculations du public français que le diable était présent dans le berceau royal.

Alors que le Prince Louis vieillit et devint le roi de France en 1774, il apparut évident que l’adolescent avait des problèmes au niveau de ses organes génitaux. Des médecins royaux furent consultés et découvrirent que Louis souffrait de phimosis, une condition d’adhérence du pénis rendant les relations sexuelles extrêmement difficiles et douloureuses. Un courtisan autrichien déclara, « la nature semble avoir privé le dauphin de tout ». Le couple royal tenta de planifier différentes opérations chirurgicales pour le jeune roi, malgré ses réticences, mais aucune ne fut concrétisée pendant les deux premières années parce qu’apparemment Louis avait trop peur de se faire opérer. Les docteurs avaient recommandé une circoncision, qui a cette époque pré anesthésique impliquait de réaliser la petite incision dans le prépuce a l’aide d’un couteau, très peu d’hygiène et sans médicaments. Louis refusa tout net d’être opéré. La reine, désirant que son mariage produise une nombreuse progéniture, s’allongeait chaque soir près de son mari et attendait que quelque chose se produise. Et rien ne se passait. Elle s’impatienta, le roi déménagea pour ses propres appartements, et le mariage commença à se désintégrer. Le public s’inquiéta et il semblait que la lignée royale atteignait sa fin. Les années s’égrenaient lentement et le jeune couple n’avait toujours pas d’enfant. Ce fut finalement le frère aîné de la reine, l’Empereur Romain Sacré, Joseph II qui le persuada en écrivant des lettres au monarque lui expliquant que l’opération aiderait le pays, ainsi que la continuité des familles royales européennes. D’après l’auteur britannique Antonia Fraser, l’empereur dit du roi que « cela est incompréhensible, parce qu’avec tout cela, il a parfois des émissions, mais dit que ce qu’il fait, il le fait par devoir et non par plaisir ». Nous savons à présent que le roi pouvait avoir des érections après son opération, étant donné qu’il eut enfin de réels rapports sexuels en 1777, mais avait encore du mal à y trouver du plaisir.

Le Roi Louis XVI souffrit aussi de moments de dépression profonde pendant sa courte vie. Pendant les premières années de son règne la France connut une période de réformes, car nombreux étaient ceux qui avaient accepté la notion de tolérance envers les non-catholiques. Emeutes et violence éclatèrent dans tout le pays. Quand les maigres récoltes estivales de 1773 et 1774 entrainèrent une augmentation du prix des céréales, le public descendit dans la rue dans une série d’éruptions violentes contre le gouvernement national et le roi. Louis se retira dans les appartements sombres de ses nombreux châteaux, craignant la destruction de la couronne et de sa famille. Il était sombre et instable. Il ne ressentait pas la joie ni l’excitation nécessaires pour effectuer des relations sexuelles avec sa femme. Ses serviteurs et invités racontaient qu’il ne quittait pas ses appartements pendant des jours. Tout au long de son règne, le roi fut intimidé par le monde extérieur, s’entourant souvent de ceux en qui il avait une confiance absolue, ignorant ceux qui avaient vraiment besoin de lui. Cette attitude lui porterait préjudice plus tard, et participera à la chute du roi, lorsque les paysans affamés se rebelleraient contre la famille royale pendant la révolution française.

La violence en Amérique du Nord, qui devint la Révolution Américaine, commença à s’aggraver à partir du début de 1770 à la suite du Massacre de Boston et continua pendant la plupart du règne du Roi Louis. Souffrant d’un manque d’argent, de matériels, d’infrastructure et d’un gouvernement faible, les anciennes colonies britanniques harcelaient constamment leurs alliés les plus fidèles, les Français pour les aider dans la lutte pour leur indépendance. Elles envoyèrent même leurs propres ambassadeurs, Benjamin Franklin et John Adams. La majorité du public voulait une revanche sur l’Angleterre et récupérer les terres nord-américaines que leur nation avait laissées à l’ennemi à cause de la défaite française de la Guerre de Sept Ans (1763). Louis favorisa tout d’abord ce point de vue, mais retint toute décision jusqu’à la fin des années 1770. Il fut dit que Louis hésita si longtemps parce qu’il ne voulait pas engager son pays dans une autre guerre avec la Grande Bretagne, étant donné que la France était endettée et n’avait plus la puissance navale et humaine d’autrefois. Le roi pensait que ses forces ne pourraient combattre l’ile assoiffée de puissance, qui à l’époque bénéficiait de la plus importante marine de guerre du monde. Cette décision difficile ajoutait au stress déjà existant du roi concernant ses problèmes sexuels et sa dépression, le laissant seul et apeuré dans ses appartements presque chaque nuit. Finalement après beaucoup de réflexion et de discussions, les Américains furent sauvés par les Français, qui en 1778 décidèrent de participer à la Révolution Américaine, et aidèrent à vaincre les Anglais. Alors que la chanson « Le monde à l’envers » était jouée, les Anglais capitulèrent enfin et se livrèrent aux forces nord-américaines après la bataille de Yorktown en octobre 1781. Le futur avait changé pour les Américains grâce à une décision audacieuse du Roi Louis XVI, qui manqua les festivités parce qu’il était pris dans un cycle de tourments incessants.

94d15978b35dc988bf409018c4483792

Marie-Therese Charlotte, fille, et unique enfant survivant, de Marie Antoinette et Louis XVI de France, Duchesse de Angouleme. Photo par Tea at Trianon.

Le Roi Louis XVI et la Reine Maria Antonia consommèrent éventuellement leur mariage sept ans après leur mariage, au grand soulagement du public français, tout d’abord persuadé que leur famille royale souffrait d’une malédiction diabolique ; et à celui de la famille du roi, qui était à présent assurée que la succession se ferait. Marie-Thérèse Charlotte naquit en décembre 1778, suivie par trois autres enfants. La Princesse Charlotte sera la seule de la famille à survivre la Révolution Française (1789-1799).

Au moment de son horrible mort en 1793, lorsque ses concitoyens trahirent sa famille et les condamnèrent à mort, le Roi Louis XVI avait perdu le charme et l’allure de sa jeunesse et s’était transformé en un homme laid et obèse, incapable de gérer sa vie ou les problèmes affligeant sa nation. Le monarque avait tout le potentiel pour assurer la continuité familiale, mais le destin l’accabla quand son mariage s’asphyxia à cause de ses frustrations sexuelles. En plus de ses douleurs et problèmes avec ses organes génitaux, le roi souffrait d’une dépression profonde et réalisa que les difficultés de son pays étaient un fardeau trop lourd pour ses épaules incompétentes. La décision lourde et difficile de joindre les colons dans leur lutte pour l’indépendance juste après la défaite française en Amérique du Nord lui nuit mentalement et physiquement ; il tourna indirectement et involontairement son pays vers le son des cloches de la liberté individuelle. Louis XVI fut un homme malchanceux, qui, au travers de douleurs intenses et d’un repli égocentrique, fut déstabilisé par son époque et affligé d’un corps malade. Alors que les évènements joyeux des naissances et célébrations avaient commencé à illuminer sa vie, elle lui fut brutalement ôtée, et finalement son héritage sera celui d’un architecte de l’indépendance américaine, mais aussi d’un spoliateur des libertés et de la prospérité françaises.

Bibliography:
Fraser, Antonia. Marie Antoinette: The Journey. New York City, New York: Anchor Publishing, 2002.
Harrison, Dennis (translator). “History of Circumcision: The Truth about Louis XVI’s Marital Difficulties.” Progres en Urologie 12 (2002): 132-137.
McGasko, Joe. “Wedded, Unbedded, and Beheaded: The Human Side of Louis XVI and Marie Antoinette.” Biography.com, January 21, 2014. http://www.biography.com/news/king-louis-xvi-and-marie-antoinette-execution-anniversary.

Cet article a été traduit en français par Sandrine Sweeney et corrigé en anglais par Aubrey Wadman Goetsch.


About the Author

Joshua Chanin is a recent graduate from Austin College, Texas, obtaining his undergraduate degree in history and political science. He will be attending the University of Texas in Arlington in the fall of 2016, where he hopes to obtain an MA and a Ph.D. in history. Chanin plans to become a professor of American history in later life (focusing on the American Revolution), and has published pieces for the Texas Lifestyle Magazine, Midwest Book Review, and the Armstrong Undergraduate Journal of History. He loves sharing his new research and findings with everyone, especially the readers of the French Quarter Magazine.



Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *


CAPTCHA Image
Reload Image
Back to Top ↑

History

Published on August 19th, 2016 | by Joshua Chanin

0

Depression, Stress, Revolution: The Sexual Frustrations of Louis XVI

It was the custom back in the early ages of Europe that when a king would marry, he would consummate his marriage immediately (preferably the night of the special occasion) in order to produce an heir to the throne and continue the royal blood line. King Louis XVI was an unfortunate king who would not consummate his marriage until seven years after his important date. The French king, who ruled the empire of his beloved nation from 1774 all the way to his beheading in 1793, would prove to be a terrible leader. He was weak in giving directions, incapable of handling his money and other royal debts, and totally oblivious to the state of his people in the last years of his rule. On top of his many monarch problems, the personal issues of stress with his body parts, major bouts of depression, and episodes of uncertainty in decision-making during the American Revolution plunged the king into a period of sexual frustration for nearly a decade.

9682534e99442f3e6c9bf086222e4ce4

Prince Louis-Auguste was wed to the beautiful Maria Antonia (better known in the English-speaking world as Marie Antoinette). Photo by Wikipedia.

At the young age of fifteen in 1770, Prince Louis-Auguste was wed to the beautiful Maria Antonia (better known in the English-speaking world as Marie Antoinette). The French Prince was very active as a child and was notably involved in many outdoor activities such as archery, hunting and wrestling with younger brothers. Nothing could go wrong with this young strong specimen, who was destined to follow his grandfather’s royal footsteps and rule one of the biggest empires on the planet. His body was perfect and his looks were the most handsome of his time. But by the time of his marriage to his second cousin, something fell flat. The king, who was once regarded as the young boy with good looks and an attractive body, could not seal the deal with his new wife, causing a strain in the precious marriage and raising speculations from the French public that the devils were at work in the baby crib.

As Prince Louis grew older and soon became the king of France in 1774, it became apparent that the young teenager had a few problems with his genitals. Royal doctors were called in and they found that Louis had phimosis, a condition in which the penis is adherent which makes sexual intercourse excruciatingly painful. An Austrian courtier once stated, “nature seems to have refused everything to the dauphin.” The royal couple tried to schedule many surgeries for the young king, despite his reluctance to do so, but none came to be in the first couple of years because apparently Louis was too nervous about the operation. The doctors had recommended that his penis had to be circumcised, which at that pre-anaesthetic time involved a small incision in the foreskin using a knife and delicate hands with little hygiene or medications. Louis bluntly refused to be operated on. The queen, wanting many kids to be produced from her marriage would lay beside her husband every night and waited for something to happen. And nothing would happen. She grew restless, the king moved out and into his own apartment, and the marriage slowly began to strain. The public grew impatient and the royal line looked to be at a sharp end. The years slowly rolled past and no child was in sight for the young couple. It was finally the persuasion of the queen’s older brother, the Holy Roman Emperor, Joseph II who wrote letters to the monarch and explained how the surgery would help the country, as well as the continuity of the European royal families. According to the British author, Antonia Fraser, the Emperor said of the king that “this is incomprehensible, because with all that, he sometimes has nightly emissions, but says plainly that what he does, he does from a sense of duty but never from pleasure.” We now know that the king had well-conditioned erections after his surgery, as he was finally able to have proper sexual intercourse in 1777, but still had difficulty finding happiness during the ordeal.

King Louis XVI also suffered from bouts of severe depression during his short life. In the early years of his reign, France was going through a period of reform, as many considered that increasing tolerance towards non-Catholics was a good idea. Riots and violence in the streets were to follow nationwide. When poor harvests in the summers of 1773 and 1774 led to an increase of grain prices, the public took to the streets in a series of violent outbursts against the national government and the king. Louis retreated back into the dark chambers of his many palaces, fearing destruction of his crown and family. He was sad and unstable. He did not have the happiness or excitable energy to perform any sexual acts with his wife. It was reported by servants and guests that he would not exit his chambers for days at a time. The king was always timid about the outside world during his reign, and often stayed around those whom he trusted on his life, ignoring those who really needed his help. This ignorance would later bite the monarch, and become one of the factors to the king’s downfall, when the starving peasants would take action against the royal family during the French Revolution.

The violence in North America, which turned into the American Revolution, started to escalate from the beginning of 1770 in the aftermath of the Boston Massacre and continued through most of King Louis’ reign. As the former British colonies had no money, supplies, and a weak infrastructure and government to support them, they were constantly badgering their oldest allies, the French, to help them out in their struggle for independence. They even sent over their own foreign ambassadors, such as Benjamin Franklin and John Adams. Much of the general public wanted to get revenge on Britain and take back the North American lands their nation had lost due to the French defeat in the Seven Years’ War (1763). Louis was in favor of this at first, but held back on his decision until the late 1770s. It was reported that Louis held back for so long because he did not want to get his country into another war with Britain, considering that France itself was in debt and lacked the man and naval power it once had. The king felt that his forces would be no match for the power-hungry island, who at that time boasted the world’s biggest navy. This difficult decision added to the king’s crippling stress over the sexual problems and depression he already had, leaving the monarch scared and alone in his chambers on many nights. In the end, after much decision and debate, the American souls were saved by the French, who in 1778 decided to take part in the American Revolution, and overpower the British. As the song, “the world turned upside down” was played, the British finally gave in and surrendered to the North American forces after the Battle of Yorktown in October 1781. The future had changed for the Americans because of one bold decision made by King Louis XVI, who missed out on the celebrations because he was stuck in an endless, ferocious cycle of stress.

94d15978b35dc988bf409018c4483792

Marie-Therese Charlotte, daughter, and only surviving child, of Marie Antoinette and Louis XVI of France, Duchess of Angouleme. Photo by Tea at Trianon.

King Louis XVI and Queen Maria Antonia would eventually consummate their marriage seven years after their wedding date, breathing a sigh of relief for the French public who had originally thought that their royal family was cursed with a devil of some sorts, and for the king’s family who now knew that the line of succession was alive and well. Marie-Thérèse Charlotte was born in December of 1778, followed by three other children who all lived through infancy. Princess Charlotte would be the only one of the immediate family to survive the French Revolution (1789-1799).

By the time of his horrific death in 1793, in which his fellow countrymen betrayed his family and placed them on death row, King Louis XVI had grown out of his fit, boyish charms into an obese, ugly man, incapable of handling life or the problems his nation faced. The monarch had the potential to carry on his family line smoothly, but fate plagued the poor soul as his marriage was stalled to a near-stoppage due to sexual frustration. In addition to pains and problems in his frontal parts, the king suffered from deep depression and realized that the burden of his country was too much for his incapable shoulders to handle. The tiresome and difficult decision he made on joining the colonists in their fight for independence soon after the sudden defeat of the French in North America brought harm to his mind and body; he indirectly steered his country and his own impending death towards the bells of individual liberties. Through harrowing pains and selfish service, Louis XVI was a very unlucky man, troubled by the times he was living in and bestowed with a sickly body. When events started to lighten up with births and celebrations, his life would suddenly be brutally taken away from him, and his legacy in time would recall that as a chief architect for American independence, he also was a thief of French liberties and wealth.

Bibliography:
Fraser, Antonia. Marie Antoinette: The Journey. New York City, New York: Anchor Publishing, 2002.
Harrison, Dennis (translator). “History of Circumcision: The Truth about Louis XVI’s Marital Difficulties.” Progres en Urologie 12 (2002): 132-137.
McGasko, Joe. “Wedded, Unbedded, and Beheaded: The Human Side of Louis XVI and Marie Antoinette.” Biography.com, January 21, 2014. http://www.biography.com/news/king-louis-xvi-and-marie-antoinette-execution-anniversary.

This article was translated in French by Sandrine Sweeney and proofread in English by Aubrey Wadman Goetsch.


About the Author

Joshua Chanin is a recent graduate from Austin College, Texas, obtaining his undergraduate degree in history and political science. He will be attending the University of Texas in Arlington in the fall of 2016, where he hopes to obtain an MA and a Ph.D. in history. Chanin plans to become a professor of American history in later life (focusing on the American Revolution), and has published pieces for the Texas Lifestyle Magazine, Midwest Book Review, and the Armstrong Undergraduate Journal of History. He loves sharing his new research and findings with everyone, especially the readers of the French Quarter Magazine.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to Top ↑