Quartier Français

Published on août 15th, 2014 | by Anne-Fleur Andrle Stephan

0

Dump everything for the pleasure of our taste buds?

Étant expatriée moi-même, je sais que tout plaquer en France pour venir s’installer à l’étranger n’est pas quelque chose qui s’improvise. On part pour faire ses études, pour suivre un conjoint, pour commencer le boulot de ses rêves ou pour monter sa boîte ?

Ce mois-ci, je vous présente des Français qui ont décidé de se lancer dans l’aventure, pas toujours évidente, de la création d’entreprise. Oui, mais ils ont l’originalité de s’être lancés dans un nouveau concept : le goût !

Au sommaire, nous allons rester sur la Côte Est Américaine : première escale prévue à New York, la ville de tous les possibles, où nous rencontrerons David Foult, qui a fondé une entreprise, “Try the World” permettant de faire un tour du monde des saveurs, un mois sur deux. Nous finirons notre voyage un peu plus au nord, dans la région de Boston où Cécile et François sont venus s’installer pour ouvrir leur épicerie fine française “MA France”.

photo-1_large-2

Kat & David, co-fondateurs de « Try the World. » Photo par Anne-Fleur Andrle

Direction New York pour rencontrer David…
Direction New York pour commencer, où j’ai rencontré David, jeune entrepreneur français de 25 ans. David, parisien d’origine, est arrivé aux États-Unis dans le cadre de son Cursus universitaire, pour suivre des études d’économie et de sciences politiques à la prestigieuse université de Columbia. Pas plus de six mois après le début des cours, David, assoiffé de découvertes culturelles en tous genres, lançait sa start-up « Try the world ». Même si ses études l’ont certainement aidé à relever le défi de l’entreprenariat aux Etats-Unis, David insiste bien sur le fait que le plus important c’est la passion, et non la formation.

Kat & David, co-fondateurs de « Try the World »
« Try the world » n’est cependant pas une aventure solo puisque David a eu l’idée de fonder cette entreprise avec Kat, américaine, et elle aussi passionnée de voyages. Tous deux connaissaient le modèle des « Box » (boîtes livrées chez vous le plus souvent, auxquelles le client peut s’abonner ou non, et offrant diverses gammes de produits : du collant au maquillage, en passant par la musique et la bière) et ont décidé d’appliquer ce modèle à leur passion.

Mais alors, « Try the world ,» c’est qui ? C’est quoi ? C’est la belle histoire de deux étudiants en économie de Columbia, Kat, américaine, et David, français, tous deux passionnés de voyages et de découvertes. Kat et David sont passés par un incubateur Google, situé à NY, et ont vendu tous leurs stocks en seulement deux jours, après avoir passé deux nuits à faire eux-mêmes les boîtes à la main ! Après un tel succès, Kat et David ont décidé de tout reprendre depuis le début : le site Internet, le marketing, la logistique, et de lancer les abonnements quelques mois plus tard.

Qu’est-ce que c’est « Try the world » du coup ? C’est un abonnement offert aux membres de « Try the world » permettant de recevoir une box gourmet d’un pays différent tous les deux mois pour $45 par box. La première box est la Paris Box (la française donc) permettant aux gourmets de retrouver tout un tas de produits français, comme la crème de marrons de Clément Faugier, du thé du très célèbre Palais des Thés, du sel « Le Saunier de Camargue, » de la moutarde de Dijon (la vraie !), des petits sablés, de bons caramels, des nougats, et bien d’autres choses. Ça y est, moi perso, je salive ! Mais alors, outre la France, « Try the world » propose quoi ? Cela dépend des envies et des demandes des abonnés. Ainsi, on pourra retrouver le Japon, le Brésil, et d’autres pays.

La « Brazil box » et la « Japan box »
En parlant d’abonnés, qui peut être intéressé par un tel concept ? On pourrait penser (c’était mon cas) que la majorité des clients de Kat et David sont français, des expats en mal du pays ? En fait, la plupart d’entre eux sont américains ! Qui a dit que les américains n’étaient pas des aventuriers de la cuisine ? Moi ! Je l’avoue. Ceux que j’ai rencontrés m’ont tout de même fait goûter un sandwich au beurre de cacahuète et à la confiture avec un verre de lait, en échange des toasts de foie gras avec un verre de Sauternes que je leur avais rapportés de France. Mais c’est une autre histoire !

Quel avenir pour le petit bijou d’entreprise que Kat et David ont monté d’un bout à l’autre ? Ils souhaitent rester aux US et espèrent, à terme, vendre une box de chaque pays, pas seulement aux Etats-Unis, un peu partout. Nous leur souhaitons plein de succès !

[Le French Quarter Mag n’est pas le seul à s’être intéressé à Try the world, BFM TV a interviewé David il y a quelques jours… http://www.bfmtv.com/video/bfmbusiness/grand-journal-new-york/try-the-world-met-monde-boite-nouvelle-levee-fonds-david-foult-grand-journal-new-york-26-07-3-4-213787/ ]
Plus d’infos, site internet : http://www.trytheworld.com et Facebook : https://www.facebook.com/TryTheWorldBox /Instagram & Pinterest : http://www.pinterest.com/trytheworld/ / Twitter : https://twitter.com/trytheworldbox

Embarquons maintenant pour Boston, au cœur de la Nouvelle-Angleterre, à quelques centaines de kilomètres au nord de la grande pomme.

C’est avec grand plaisir que nous nous rendons maintenant à Lexington, à quelques kilomètres de Boston, pour rencontrer Cécile et François, partenaires au travail comme dans la vie. Cécile et François sont mariés et sont tous deux originaires de notre chère Dordogne.

Avant l’aventure américaine, Cécile était coiffeuse et avait son propre salon, alors que François était fonctionnaire de police. Deux carrières qui ne les prédestinaient pas du tout à venir ouvrir une épicerie fine française à Boston ! Et pourtant, ces deux passionnés de voyages, mais aussi de moto, de football (le français !) et de cinéma, n’ont pas hésité longtemps lorsque l’occasion s’est présentée… Rendant visite à des amis vivant dans la région, Cécile et François en sont tombés amoureux, et se sont vite rendu compte qu’il y avait un véritable manque en termes de produits de nos terroirs. Ils n’ont pas hésité longtemps, et malgré le fait qu’ils n’avaient jamais vécu à l’étranger auparavant, ont lancé le projet « MA France. » Malgré tout, ce genre d’aventure ne s’improvise pas. Il aura fallu environ deux ans pour monter ce beau projet de A à Z en duo et pour établir des relations de confiance avec des fournisseurs proposant des produits de qualité.

Déjà un peu plus d’un an que « MA France » a ouvert ses portes. Retour sur une aventure hors du commun.

P1030567-2

Vitrine de « MA France » de Cécile et François. Photo par Anne-Fleur Andrle

Dès le début de leur aventure, Cécile et François ont compris que leur présence sur Internet et sur les réseaux sociaux serait capitale pour marquer leur empreinte dans le paysage gourmand de Boston. À la recherche permanente de nouveautés, sélectionnées par de très longues recherches mais aussi en fonction des goûts et aspirations des gourmets (nombreux !) que « MA France » compte parmi ses clients. Là encore, on pourrait croire que les expatriés désespérés font le pied de grue chez Cécile et François, mais c’est loin d’être la majorité de la clientèle de « MA France. » En effet, beaucoup de francophiles, souvent au retour d’un voyage en Europe, viennent dévaliser leur magasin dans l’espoir de retrouver les saveurs si particulières de leur périple.

Donc, tout plaquer en France pour venir ouvrir une épicerie fine française, c’est possible. Mais franchement, à chaque fois que je tente de ramener de bons produits « bien de chez nous » sur les terres de l’Oncle Sam, on m’en dissuade. Par quel tour de magie Cécile et François procèdent-ils ? Toujours impossible pour moi de faire ma tartiflette par exemple, mais c’est sans compter sur le côté astucieux des paysans français qui ont trouvé une combine pour détourner un peu la loi. Prenons l’exemple de la fameuse tartiflette et de son reblochon : oui, malheureusement, le reblochon est un produit interdit aux Etats-Unis mais les fermiers français ont plus d’un tour dans leur sac ! Ils ont ainsi créé le fromage « le préféré de nos montages », qui, lui est pasteurisé et a un petit jour de différence avec notre cher reblochon national. Du coup, le « Préferé de nos montages » est autorisé au pays des cow-boys. Il est un peu moins fort, certes, mais plein de goût et la tartiflette que j’ai faite l’hiver dernier était très réussie.

Le fromage, en général, c’est ce que l’on s’attend à trouver dans une épicerie française, mais croyez-moi, aller chercher du fromage chez Cécile et François, c’est une magnifique expérience. On sent qu’ils sont heureux de partager leur connaissance et ce goût! Comme Cécile le dit, c’est un challenge de tous les jours de servir de bons fromages : ils ne travaillent qu’avec de petits producteurs, pour n’avoir aucun fromage industriel et pour conserver leur originalité, ne servir que des fromages « hors du commun », mais les lois changent tous les mois, il faut s’accrocher !

P1030391-2

Le fameux comptoir de fromages de « MA France. » Photo par Anne-Fleur Andrle

Cécile et François ont bien compris qu’il fallait s’entourer des meilleurs pour servir le meilleur. Aussi, il était fondamental pour eux de pouvoir servir du bon pain frais et des viennoiseries tous les matins. Comme le dit Cécile « Quoi de plus français qu’une baguette ? » Vous marquez un point Cécile ! Nos deux jeunes aventuriers des temps modernes sont donc partis à la recherche de « THE Baguette » de Nouvelle-Angleterre et ont trouvé la boulangerie avec qui ils travailleront à Cape Cod. Depuis quelques mois, ils sont en partenariat avec un pâtissier français et ont pu ajouter à leurs produits des gâteaux (éclairs, Paris-Brest, mille-feuilles, etc.), des friands en tous genres, des quiches, mais aussi des macarons dont les saveurs changent à chaque saison.

L’avenir de « MA France » ? Cécile et François l’envisagent sereinement et fourmillent d’idées : un coin crêpes dans le magasin (la Bretonne que je suis, croise les doigts), mais aussi l’ouverture d’une autre boutique ! À tout ceci s’ajouteront l’attente des autorisations ainsi que les démarches côté immigration pour prolonger l’aventure de ce côté de l’Atlantique. Croisons les doigts pour que ce joli projet continue !

Voilà le récit de deux aventures bien différentes mais toutes deux visant à nous faire partager une (ou plusieurs) culture(s) par la gastronomie. Ces deux entreprises ont l’originalité, commune, d’avoir été pensées par deux duos, que rien ne préparait à un tel challenge. Comme quoi, être auto-entrepreneur, c’est dans les tripes, non ?

Je souhaite « bonne chance » à Cécile, François, Kat et David et suis ravie d’avoir pu les rencontrer pour pouvoir partager avec vous un petit peu de leur aventure.

 


About the Author

Coming from the "Far west" of France, Anne-Fleur grew up in Finistere (Brittany). Currently working in the hightech industry, she represents a French company specialized in smartglasses apps in the US. Engineer by training and based in Boston, she loves to get back to her Briton roots a couple of times a year. After graduating from the Université de Technologie de Compiegne, in France , she decided to pursue her studies in biomedical sciences at the graduate school of the State University of New York (SUNY) in Buffalo, NY. Driven by sciences and her desire to learn, Anne-Fleur hosted a radio show, "les échos de l'innovation" (literally innovation echoes) for a couple of years, offering debates and interviews, aiming to dissect misconceptions in science and technologies for the layman. Always thirsty for discovery, she loves traveling, initiating new projects and exploring the ocean, on a sailing boat or with her snorkel.



Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *


CAPTCHA Image
Reload Image
Back to Top ↑

French District

Published on August 15th, 2014 | by Anne-Fleur Andrle Stephan

0

Dump everything for the pleasure of our taste buds?

As an expatriate myself, I know that dumping everything in France to settle down abroad is not something that can be improvised. We go abroad for our studies, to follow a spouse, to begin the job of our dreams or to start up a company?

This month, I would like to introduce you to French people who decided to embark on the adventure, not-so-easy of starting up a new business. Yes but, they have the originality of launching a new concept: the taste!

In brief, todays trip will keep us on the American east coast. The first layover will take place in New York, the city of all possibilities and we will meet David Foult, who founded the “Try the World,” a company allowing subscribers to have a world tour of flavors from every country every other month. We will then continue and end our trip a little further north, in the Boston area where Cécile and François have settled and opened their successful French deli “MA France.”

photo-1_large-2

Kat & David, co-founders of « Try the World. » Photo by Anne-Fleur Andrle

On our way to New York to meet David…
Let’s begin this tour by New York where I met David, a young French entrepreneur who is 25 years old. David, originally from Paris, arrived in the United States in order to study economics and political science. No more than six months after the beginning of classes, David, who was eager to experience cultural discoveries of all kinds, launched his start-up “Try the world” with his friend Kat. Although his studies certainly prepared him to take on the challenge of entrepreneurship in the United States, David insists on the fact that the most important thing to start such project is passion, not training.

Kat & David, co-founders of “Try the World”
“Try the world” is not a solo adventure since David had the idea of starting this business with Kat, an American woman, and also fond of traveling. Both knew and appreciated the concept of Subscription Boxes (boxes delivered to your home in most cases, to which the customer can subscribe for some time or not, and offering various product lines: from pantyhose to make-up through music and beer) and decided to apply this concept to their passion: discovering the world through tasty treats!

Who is behind “Try the world”? This is the beautiful story of two students in economics from Columbia, Kat, an American, and David, a Frenchman who are both passionate about travel and discovery. Kat and David’s project went through a Google incubator, located in NY, and sold all their stock in just two days, after spending two nights making the boxes themselves by hand! After such quick success, Kat and David decided to rework the whole concept from the start: from the website, to marketing, logistics, etc. and launched “Try the World” just a few month later.

What is “Try the world” ? It is a subscription-based concept, allowing members to receive a gourmet box from a different country every two months for $ 45 per box. The first box is the Paris Box (hence the French !) and gourmets can find a wide variety of French products such as chestnut spread from Clément Faugier, tea from the famous Palais des Thés, salt from “Le Saunier de Camargue,” Dijon mustard (the real thing!), biscuits, tasty sea-salt caramels, nougats, and many other things. I don’t know about you, but this made me hungry! Besides products from France, what does “Try the World” offer ? It depends on the desires and demands of customers. Thus, we can find products from Japan, Brazil, Italy and other nations.

The “Brazil box” and “Japan box”
Speaking of subscribers, who would be interested in such a concept? We would think (it was my case) that the majority of customers are French, homesick expats? In fact, most of the subscribers are Americans! Who said Americans were no adventurers when it comes to food? Well… Me! I confess. For the anecdote, my “trauma” comes from the trade I was involved in: my friends would try Foie Gras along with a glass of Sauternes, only if I accepted to have a PB&J sandwich. Which was definitely not the same style, the same scale, nor the same thing at all. But that is another story.

What can we wish to Kat and David in the future? They want to stay in the U.S. and hope to eventually sell a box from each country, not just in the United States, but also in other countries. We wish them to be very successful!

[Frenchquarter Mag is not the only one who was interested in « Try the world, » BFM TV interviewed David a few days ago.
http://www.bfmtv.com/video/bfmbusiness/grand-journal-new-york/try-the-world-met-monde-boite-nouvelle-levee-fonds-david-foult-grand-journal-new-york-26-07-3-4-213787/ ]
For more info website: http://www.trytheworld.com and Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/TryTheWorldBox / Instagram & Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/trytheworld/ / Twitter: https://twitter.com/trytheworldbox

Second layover… Boston, MA.
Now let’s head up to Boston, in the heart of New England, a few hundred miles north of the Big Apple.

It is with great pleasure that we now go to Lexington, a few minutes from Boston and meet with Cécile and François, partners at work and in life. Cécile and François are married and are both from our dear Dordogne region, in the South-West of France.

Before their American adventure, Cécile was a hairdresser and had her own salon while François was a police officer. Two careers that did not predict their next step! Next step being to open a French deli in Boston! Their hobbies include travel, motorcycle, soccer, and film. Cécile and François did not hesitate long when the opportunity presented itself. Visiting friends living in the Boston area, Cécile and François fell in love, and soon realized that there was a real lack in terms of products from our land. Despite the fact that they had never lived abroad before, they launched the project « MA France ». However, this kind of adventure does not just happen. It took about two years – back home, to build this beautiful project from A to Z and to build trusting relationships with suppliers offering great quality products.

« MA France » has already been open for a little more than a year. Let’s take a look into this “out-of-the-ordinary” adventure.

P1030567-2

Front window « MA France » of Cécile and François. Photo by Anne-Fleur Andrle

From the beginning of their adventure, Cécile and François understood that their presence on the Internet and social networks was crucial to make a mark on the gourmet landscape of Boston. In the constant search for new items, they screen and select new products to answer their client’s tastes and aspirations. Again, one might think that desperate expatriates are rushing at Cécile and François’, but this is far from the majority of « MA France ‘s » customers. Indeed, many American Francophiles, often returning from a trip to Europe, come to experience their store in hopes of finding some special flavors from their journey.

So leaving everything behind in France to come to the US to open a French high-quality deli, is possible. But, every time I personally try to bring good “homegrown” products into the land of Uncle Sam, people dissuade me. The question is how do Cécile and François make it possible?! Take the example of the famous tartiflette and its Reblochon cheese: yes, unfortunately, Reblochon is a product banned in the United States, but the French farmers have more than one trick up their sleeve! They created the “préféré de nos montagnes,” which is pasteurized and which is only a little different from our dear national Reblochon cheese. Because of these few changes the “préféré de nos montagnes” is allowed in the land of cowboys. It is a little less strong, yes, but full of flavor and the tartiflette I made last winter was very successful.

Cheese, in general, is what one expects to find in a French grocery store, but believe me, going to look at cheese at Cécile and François’ is a wonderful, not common experience. I could feel how happy they were to share their knowledge and sense of taste! As Cécile says, it is a challenge everyday to serve good cheese: they only work with small producers, in order to have no industrial cheese and to maintain their originality and quality. They serve only cheese that is “out of the ordinary”, but laws change every month, and they have to constantly adapt!

P1030391-2

The famous cheese counter from « MA France. » Photo by Anne-Fleur Andrle

Cécile and François have understood the need to have the best possible product to serve the best clientele. Also, it is essential for them to serve good fresh bread and pastries every morning. As Cécile says “What’s more French than a baguette?”. Good point Cécile! Our two young modern times adventurers have gone in search of “THE Baguette” in New England and found a French bakery with whom they now work, out of Cape Cod. In recent months, they developed a partnership with a French pastry chef and added to their products delicious cakes (Eclairs, Paris-Brest, Mille Feuilles, etc..), as well as puff pastry rolls of all kinds, quiches, macaroons whose flavors change each season.

What is the future of “MA France”? Cécile and François calmly consider a swarm of ideas : a pancake shop (the Bretonne that I am deeply hopes this works out!), but also the opening of another shop! To all this are pending steps for authorizations and immigration to extend their adventure on this side of the Atlantic. Fingers crossed that this beautiful project continues!

Here end our tour. This was the story of two very different adventures, who share the desire to allow the tasty discovery of one (or more) culture(s) through gastronomy. Both companies have originality, communality, and nothing in theory had prepared them for such a challenge. Being an entrepreneur takes guts, right?

I wish “good luck” to Cécile, François, Kat and David, and am delighted to have been able to meet them and to share with you a little bit of their adventures.

 


About the Author

Coming from the "Far west" of France, Anne-Fleur grew up in Finistere (Brittany). Currently working in the hightech industry, she represents a French company specialized in smartglasses apps in the US. Engineer by training and based in Boston, she loves to get back to her Briton roots a couple of times a year. After graduating from the Université de Technologie de Compiegne, in France , she decided to pursue her studies in biomedical sciences at the graduate school of the State University of New York (SUNY) in Buffalo, NY. Driven by sciences and her desire to learn, Anne-Fleur hosted a radio show, "les échos de l'innovation" (literally innovation echoes) for a couple of years, offering debates and interviews, aiming to dissect misconceptions in science and technologies for the layman. Always thirsty for discovery, she loves traveling, initiating new projects and exploring the ocean, on a sailing boat or with her snorkel.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


CAPTCHA Image
Reload Image
Back to Top ↑