Gastronomie

Published on juillet 1st, 2017 | by Isabelle Karamooz, Founder of FQM

0

Rencontre et interview du Chef 3-étoiles Guy Savoy

Isabelle Karamooz : Bonjour Guy Savoy ! A 15 ans vous débutez un apprentissage, d’abord chez le chocolatier Louis Marchand, ensuite chez les frères Troisgros et pour finir chez Lasserre à Paris, au Lyon d’Or à Genève et à l’Oasis sur la côte d’Azur. Pourquoi avoir choisi la cuisine plutôt que le chocolat ?

Guy Savoy : J’ai choisi la cuisine pour sa diversité. Il faut savoir inventer matin, midi et soir. C’est comme pour le chocolat : la palette est vaste, il y a mille façon de l’accommoder dont une que je cuisine avec du gibier en y intégrant une pâte de cacao 100% qui est traitée comme du poivre. Parfois, le chocolat fait office d’épice. Vous voyez l’intérêt que je porte au chocolat !

I.K. : Dans votre parcours vous avez croisé Bernard Loiseau, que représente-t-il pour vous ?

G.S. : Bernard, c’était un complice, un frère et un alter égo de par ses origines sociales et son parcours, comme le mien, chez les frères Troisgros. Moi, en sortant de chez Troisgros, j’ai travaillé pour d’autres maisons, j’ai vu autre chose mais c’est quand même l’esprit Troisgros qui prédomine chez moi et chez Bernard aussi. Ensuite, j’ai évolué professionnellement. Je lui ai succédé au restaurant La Barrière de Clichy. Il était mon ainé de deux ans mais il a eu ses étoiles dix ou onze ans avant moi. Il m’a encouragé pendant des années en me disant : « Tu les auras un jour. » On se téléphonait presque tous les jours. Nous avions une véritable complicité professionnelle. Notre vie et l’évolution de nos carrières se ressemblaient beaucoup. On pouvait se dire des choses que même nos épouses n’auraient pas pu comprendre parce que nous les avions vécues ensemble.
Vous êtes trop jeune, mais à une époque quand je faisais mon service militaire, on parlait des copains de régiment, cette période durait un an. Pour nous, ce fut trente ans de vie parallèle. Imaginez une complicité de trente ans, cela forge une amitié.

I.K. : A 24 ans vous débutez comme chef du Restaurant Claude Verger et 3 ans plus tard, à 27 ans, vous ouvrez votre propre restaurant. Combien de couverts serviez-vous à l’époque ?

G.S. : Je crois que dans la première version du restaurant que j’ai ouvert, c’était 35 couverts et après entre 40 et 45, j’y suis resté 7 ans.

I.K. : Maintenant vous faites combien de couverts ?

G.S. 65 couverts au dîner, c’est possible. Il y a deux services car les premiers clients arrivent vers 19 heures et les seconds vers 21 h 45. Mais au déjeuner qui est servi entre 12h et 14h, nous limitons volontairement les couverts à 50.

I.K. : Quand vous ouvrez votre restaurant au « Caesar Palace  » à Las Vegas avec votre fils, pensez-vous que vous êtes au sommet de votre art culinaire ou qu’il vous reste encore du chemin à parcourir ?

G.S. : L’idée du sommet ne veut rien dire, les alpinistes en savent quelque chose. Quand ils ont atteint 3000 mètres, ils veulent essayer 4000, etc. Lorsqu’ils ont atteint le Kilimandjaro, ils veulent s’attaquer à l’Himalaya. Donc nous ne sommes jamais au sommet de notre art heureusement d’ailleurs. Pour moi, cela ne veut rien dire parce que la cuisine et en perpétuelle évolution et chaque individu aussi évolue. Moi, est ce que j’ai envie de faire les mêmes plats qu’à 25 ans ? Non.

I.K. : Vos restaurants sont à Paris et aussi à Las Vegas. Parlez-nous de votre restaurant à Las Vegas.

G.S. : Le restaurant Guy Savoy qui se trouve au César Palace est un lieu de travail unique, c’est ce qui m’a plu.

I.K. : C’est magnifique !

G.S. : Magnifique, je ne sais pas, mais on est complètement indépendant du décor et de l’organisation. C’est un lieu sur mesure. L’architecte qui vit à paris avait la même volonté. Nous ne sommes ouverts que cinq soirs par semaine, c’est aussi ma volonté. Ceux qui sont en salle aujourd’hui étaient là dès le premier jour, ils sont d’une grande fiabilité. Quant aux autres projets à l’étranger, j’ai de nombreuses propositions mais je suis très prudent. J’aime Paris, cependant. A Las Vegas, j’ai signé pour cinq ans parce que l’équipe est formidable : le manager, le pâtissier, le sommelier, c’est une véritable équipe qui est passionnée, qui fait un travail remarquable et en qui j’ai toute confiance.

I.K. : Pourquoi la French cuisine a-t-elle autant de succès selon vous ? Quelle est sa spécificité ?

G.S. : La cuisine française est leader, en tout cas elle montre la voie. Je n’ai pas la prétention de dire que c’est la meilleure mais c’est la plus variée, la plus diversifiée. On est sans conteste le pays des bons produits ici aux Etats Unis. Aujourd’hui, de nombreux éleveurs, de nombreux maraîchers adoptent les méthodes françaises. C’est pour ça qu’on trouve les mêmes produits ici qu’en France, parce qu’il y a une évolution des habitudes américaines. La première fois que je suis allé à New York, les endroits où on trouvait des produits particuliers étaient rares. Aujourd’hui, c’est incroyable le nombre de lieux où l’on trouve des produits de qualité. Aussi bien des produits frais, l’huile d’olives, différents vinaigres et aussi des vins naturellement. Ce matin, je suis allée à Total Wine. C’est impressionnant de voir toute la planète vin représentée là-bas et on peut y aller de surcroît le dimanche, c’est extraordinaire.

I.K. : Quel est votre plat favori ? Vous êtes salé ou sucré ?

G.S. : Les deux mon colonel. Les deux parce qu’encore une fois, je ne peux pas vous parler de diversité et me limiter à un ingrédient ou à un plat. J’aime tout. Ce midi au déjeuner avec l’équipe, c’était cuisine mexicaine, je me suis régalé. Vous me mettez devant un saucisson, je me régale, vous me mettez devant un sorbet fraise, je me régale, si l’un et l’autre sont bons, c’est parfait. Ce qui compte dans ce que l’on choisit, dans ce que l’on mange, c’est l’authenticité et les sensations qu’on en retient. Un bon sorbet fraise quand il fait 30 degrés à l’extérieur, c’est le plaisir, le plaisir physique déjà du froid, et après si les fraises sont bonnes, si elles ne sont pas trop sucrées, s’il y a juste le jus d’un demi citron qui fixe un peu son goût. Il n’y a rien de meilleur au monde.

I.K. : Quels sont les ingrédients qui vous inspirent particulièrement ?

G.S. : A partir du moment où ils sont de qualité, je n’ai aucune restriction et je suis toujours ravi de découvrir des ingrédients qui m’inspirent mais je n’ai pas toujours l’envie et le goût d’essayer. Par exemple en ce moment, je découvre un peu plus des coquillages différents, en autre, les couteaux qui étaient pour moi sans intérêt. Un jour j’ai pris le temps de les cuisiner, de les goûter et j’ai trouvé ça formidable. Et dire que pendant des années, je suis passé à côté et qu’aujourd’hui, c’est pour moi synonyme de vacances. Je ne pensais pas que le jour où je l’ai servi, il deviendrait un plat emblématique de mes restaurants comme la soupe d’artichaut à la truffe noire.

I.K. : Quels restaurants aimeriez-vous tester à Las Vegas?

G.S. : Tous, il y en a tellement que je n’ai pas encore testé ; justement Las Vegas est une formidable concentration de toutes les cultures, on retrouve cette diversité dans tous les restaurants. C’est une chance pour les habitants de Las Vegas et pour les touristes. Il y a 48 millions de visiteurs chaque années qui ont la possibilité de goûter à tellement de choses différentes.

I.K. : Nous avons la chance de vous avoir à Las Vegas également.

I.K. : Si vous n’aviez pas été dans le domaine de la restauration, quel secteur vous aurait intéressé ? Le Rugby ?

G.S. : Non, il y a un monde qui me fascinait, c’était le monde de la vigne. Autant la cuisine est très spontanée et instantanée. Quand on met un poulet au four, nous savons qu’il sera près dans 50 minutes. Pour la vigne, jusqu’à la veille des vendanges, il y a des impondérables (gel, orage de grêle, etc). La cuisine, c’est ça aussi, c’est l’art de transformer instantanément, (le mot instantanément est très important) en joie des produits chargées d’histoires. Ces produits ne sont pas là par hasard, c’est le travail et la transformation par la main de l’homme. Toutes les variétés de légumes et de viandes vont évoluer au fil du temps. C’est certainement pour cela que j’ai choisi la cuisine. Le vigneron, une fois ses vendanges terminées, fait son vin et doit attendre des années pour savoir… Pour nous, 45 minutes après la cuisson d’un poulet on sait s’il est bon ou pas.

I.K. : Peut-être bientôt la cave Guy Savoy ?

G.S. : Non, aujourd’hui c’est un peu tard pour faire un domaine parce que je n’aurais pas le temps de voir vieillir mes vignes, ce serait une trop grande frustration.

I.K. : La relève peut-être votre fils !

G.S. : Peut–être.

I.K. : Vous avez publié en 2015 « Tout l’œuf » et « Savourer la vie. » Quels sont vos futurs projets ?

G.S. : Non pas de livre. Ces livres on les a faits avec l’équipe de cuisine à Paris parce que, comme le projet de La Monnaie avait pris du retard, ça nous permettait de rester en ébullition, de dire :
« Allez, La Monnaie a du retard mais on fait autre chose, on ne reste pas à attendre bêtement. »

I.K. : D’autres projets ?

I.K. : Non. Continuer de faire évoluer ma cuisine et être bien dans mes baskets.

I.K. : Merci Guy Savoy de nous avoir consacré un peu de votre temps pour cette interview.

G.S. : Merci à vous !

Site Web des restaurants Guy Savoy :
https://www.guysavoy.com
http://www.lesbouquinistes.com
https://www.caesars.com/caesars-palace/restaurants/guy-savoy#.V7gkwBQmBlI

Transcription: Pascale Nard. Cet article a été traduit en anglais par Anne-Cécile Baer Porter et corrigé en anglais par Aubrey Wadman Goetsch.


About the Author

was born in the royal city of Versailles, France and have lived in the United States since 1996. After earning a Bachelor's degree in History from the University of California Berkeley and studying for a Master program in education at the University of Southern California, she went on to teach French to aspiring UNLV and CSN students in Nevada. When she is not teaching, she is writing, interviewing people in a wide range of circumstances, pitching story ideas to writers and editors, taking pictures, traveling, painting or trying delicious foods.



Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Back to Top ↑

Gastronomy

Published on June 19th, 2017 | by Isabelle Karamooz, Founder of FQM

0

Encounter and Interview with 3-Star Chef Guy Savoy

Isabelle Karamooz : Good morning Guy Savoy! At 15, you started your apprenticeship first with chocolate maker Louis Marchand, then with the brothers Troisgros and eventually at Lasserre’s in Paris, at the Lyon d’Or in Geneva and at l’Oasis in the French Riviera. Why did you choose cooking over chocolate making?

Guy Savoy : I chose cooking for its diversity. We need to invent a meal 3 times a day, breakfast, lunch and dinner. Like chocolate, but the cooking kingdom is so vast. There are so many possibilities of diversity. I use chocolate in some sauces, with game for instance, a pure 100% cocoa paste which will be treated like pepper would be. Sometimes, cocoa is used as a spice. So you see, I am still interested in chocolate.

I.K. : In your journey, you crossed paths with Bernard Loiseau. What does he represent for you?

G.S. : Bernard was an accomplice, a brother and an alter ego, a parallel life with the same social origins, the same cooking school, the brothers Troisgros. Me, after I graduated from Troisgros, I work in others restaurants and I saw others things. I stayed very rooted in the Troisgros spirit as Bernard did. After this professional growth, I was his successor at the restaurant La Barrière de Clichy. He is two years older than me but he had his stars ten or eleven years before me. He encouraged me for years, telling me “you will get yours one day.” We would call each other almost every day. All that allowed us to have a real complicity of life, of profession, of work evolution. We could tell each other things that even our spouses would not have understood because we experienced the same things. You are too young, but there was a time when I was going through the military service, people would talk about their pal from their army days – it lasted one year. Bernard and I had thirty years of parallel lives. Imagine a complicity of thirty years! That forges a friendship.

I.K. : When you were 24, you started as Chef of the Restaurant Claude Verger, and 3 years later, at 27 years old, you opened your own restaurant. How many seats did you serve then?

G.S. : I think that for the first version of the restaurant I opened, there were 35 seats, then between 40 to 45. I stayed there for 7 years.

I.K. How many seats do you do now?

G.S. 65 is the maximum to master for dinner, it is possible. The first guests arrive at 7 PM and the last ones arrive around 9:45. But, lunch is between 12:00 to 2:00 PM. We decide to limit the number of guests to 50.

I.K. When you opened your restaurant at « Caesar’s Palace » in Las Vegas with your son, did you think you were at the height of your culinary art, or that you still had some room to improve?

G.S . The idea of height does not really mean anything; mountain climbers will confirm that! When they climb a 3000 metre mountain, they want to summit a 4000, etc. When they reach highest peak such as the Kilimanjaro, then they focus on the Himalayas. So, fortunately, we never reach the height.
For me, that does not mean anything because cooking is a perpetual evolution and everyone also evolves. Do I want to prepare the same entrees as when I was 25? No.

I.K. : Your restaurants are in Paris and also in Las Vegas. Tell us about your restaurant in Las Vegas.

G.S. : Guy Savoy’s restaurant that has been built at Caesar’s Palace is a unique place to work, that’s what I liked.

I.K. : It is splendid!

G.S. : Splendid, I don’t know, but we are completely independent in the setting, in the organization, this is a custom-tailored place. The architect who lives in Paris had the same purpose. We are only open five evenings of the week, which was also my decision. The staff who is working today has been there since the first day. They are very reliable.
I have a lot of proposals abroad like many chefs, but I am very cautious. I love Paris, however. I signed up in Las Vegas for five years because the team is outstanding. The manager, the pastry chef, the sommelier, they make up a real team who is passionate, does a remarkable job. I totally trust them.

I.K. : Why is French cuisine so successful according to you? What makes it specific?

G.S. : French cuisine is a leader; at least it shows the way. I do not pretend to say that it is the best, but it is the most diverse, the most varied. We are, undoubtedly, the country of goods. Here in the United States today, many farmers, many market-gardeners, adopt French methods. That’s why you find the same goods here and in France because there is an evolution of the American habits. The first time I went to New York, only a few places offered specific goods. Today, the number of places where you can find quality goods is incredible. Fresh goods, olive oil, a variety of vinegars, not to mention wines. This morning, I went to Total Wine. I was impressed to see the world of wine represented there; and you can go on Sunday, it is extraordinary!

I.K. : What is your favorite dish? Do you prefer savory or sweet?

G.S. : Both, actually. Both because, once again, I cannot promote diversity and limit myself to just one ingredient or one entree. I love everything. Today, at lunch, with the team we had a Mexican meal. I enjoyed it! If you present me with a “saucisson” (sausage), I enjoy it. If you present me with a strawberry sorbet, I enjoy it. As long as both of them are good, that’s all. What matters in our choices, in what we eat, is the authenticity and the sensations. A good strawberry sorbet when it is very hot outside provides pleasure, starting with the physical pleasure of the cold. Then if the strawberries are good, and the sorbet is not too sweet, if there is the juice of half a lemon to set the strawberry taste, there is nothing better in the world.

I.K. : What are the ingredients that inspire you the most?

G.S. : When I have good quality ingredients, I have no limitations and I am always delighted when I discover something new. I mean, most of the time, we know it is out there but we never had the idea to use it, or felt like using it. Then at this moment for instance, I am discovering different shellfish, razor clams which I considered uninteresting before. One day, I took the time to cook them, eat them and it was great. They are not dull! I thought for years that they were dull and uninteresting. Now, when I eat razor clams, it reminds me of vacations. There is interest in everything. I am able to bring enjoyment with a plate of razor clams as well as one with lobster. I did not think that the day I will serve them, it will become an emblematic plate in my restaurants like the artichoke soup with black truffle.

I.K. : What particular restaurants that you would like to taste in Las Vegas?

G.S. : All of them! There are so many I have not tried. Vegas is such a concentration of all cultures. You see this diversity in the restaurants. People who live in Vegas and the tourists are very lucky. There are 48 million visitors every year who have the opportunity to taste so many different things.

I.K. : We are lucky to have you too in Las Vegas.

I.K. : If you had not gone into the restaurant business, what do you think you would have liked to do? Rugby?

G.S. : No, I used to be fascinated by the world of wine making. Cooking is very spontaneous and instantaneous. I mean you know when you put a chicken in an oven, it will be ready 50 minutes later. For the wine, until the day before the harvest, there may be a hailstorm. The cooking world is like that too: the art of instantly transforming (the word ‘instantly’ is very important) goods that have a history into joy. Those goods did not arrive all by themselves. People worked and transformed them. All the varieties of vegetables and meats evolved over time. As for the winemaker, once he did his harvest, he made his wine, he will wait for years to know… For us, 45 minutes after cooking a chicken, we know if it is good or not.

I.K. : Maybe a Guy Savoy Wine Cellar soon?

G.S. : No, today is too late because I will not have the time to see my vineyard grow old. That would be too big a frustration.

I.K. : Maybe that will be your son’s future.

G.S. : Maybe.

I.K. : You published in 2015 « Tout l’œuf » and « Savourer la Vie ». What are your future plans?

G.S. : No, no books. We wrote those books with the cooking team in Paris because since the project with La Monnaie was delayed, we could remain active, and say, “Come on, La Monnaie is running late, but we are doing something else. We are not sitting here, waiting and twiddling our thumbs.”

I.K. : Any other plans?

G.S. : No. Keep evolving my cuisine and be at ease with myself.

I.K. : Thank you Guy Savoy for devoting some of your time to this interview.

G.S. : Thank you !

 Guy Savoy restaurants’ website:
https://www.guysavoy.com
http://www.lesbouquinistes.com
https://www.caesars.com/caesars-palace/restaurants/guy-savoy#.V7gkwBQmBlI

Transcription: Pascale Nard. This article was translated in English by Anne-Cécile Baer Porter and proofread in English by Aubrey Wadman Goetsch.


About the Author

was born in the royal city of Versailles, France and have lived in the United States since 1996. After earning a Bachelor's degree in History from the University of California Berkeley and studying for a Master program in education at the University of Southern California, she went on to teach French to aspiring UNLV and CSN students in Nevada. When she is not teaching, she is writing, interviewing people in a wide range of circumstances, pitching story ideas to writers and editors, taking pictures, traveling, painting or trying delicious foods.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to Top ↑