Art & Culture

Published on octobre 17th, 2014 | by Lucie Pierron

0

Exhibition « Émile Bernard, » at the Musée de l’Orangerie. Émile Bernard, a sweet stylistic journey.

« Un artiste qui veut s’élever dans son art a le devoir de connaître ce qui a été produit en tous temps », Émile Bernard, La Rénovation Esthétique, 1905.

Le Musée de l’Orangerie consacre une rétrospective à l’artiste français Émile Bernard, première dans un musée national français. Le peintre mis à l’honneur à un profil assez particulier et hors du commun. Artiste protéiforme arpentant la peinture dans tous ses domaines et par toutes ses époques, ses mutations successives sont le fruit à chaque fois d’une redéfinition de sa personnalité et remettent continuellement son style en question. L’exposition constitue donc un réel parcours à part entière pour découvrir ou re-découvrir les diverses techniques de l’époque.
Malgré ses multiples tentatives picturales, Émile Bernard n’a jamais figuré sa juste place dans l’élaboration de l’Art moderne et son influence, a posteriori déterminée primordiale, n’a pas toujours été reconnue.

bernardemile02

Peinture “Pont Aven” par Emile Bernard. Photo par Dandylan3.free.fr

Le premier chemin qu’emprunte Émile Bernard est l’impressionnisme. Homme de son temps, il reprend en partie les techniques de ses contemporains (pointillisme, couleurs pastels, ombre et lumière…). Les thèmes représentés sont également apparentés à l’impressionnisme : la Baigneuse aux nénuphars rappelle fortement les Nymphéas de Monet, quand les paysages bretons font référence aux paysages de Pont Aven de Paul Gauguin.

Cependant, malgré une influence non négligeable et des traits communs probants, Émile Bernard ne peut être considéré comme un peintre impressionniste. S’inspirant des grandes œuvres de son temps, il reste toujours une exception dans le milieu auquel il se rattache.

Abandonnant en partie les techniques impressionnistes à la suite de cette première expérience, Bernard se tourne vers une nouvelle période dite le « cloisonisme ». Héritier de l’impressionnisme, il le cloisonne par des formes. Les plages de couleurs dans ses toiles sont cernées d’un trait net qui les « cloisonne ». Ainsi, restant fidèle à sa définition initiale du symbolisme pictural, mouvement dont il se revendique, les formes et les couleurs s’imposent au premier chef, et l’œuvre est « élevée à un idéalisme transcendant ».

Ce travail est également le résultat de l’influence des estampes japonaises qui eurent une importance majeure dans le travail de l’artiste. Le tableau Chiffonières – Clichy est un bon exemple de l’influence nippone.
Cette période de transition, synthèse d’un héritage et d’un premier « envol » demeure incomprise pour de nombreux critiques. On peut peut-être faire une analogie entre le travail de Bernard et celui d’Henri Rivière, artiste peintre français, connu pour sa proximité avec l’art japonais.
[L’association « japonisme/impressionnisme » fut d’ailleurs l’objet d’une exposition à la Bibliothèque Nationale de France en 2009].

img-6-small580

Femmes sur le Nil ou les “Mourners” sont des scènes de sa vie de tous les jours. Photo par inha.revues.org

La soif de l’Orient à la mode à cette époque (Delacroix à Tanger, ou Kandinsky avec Le Cimetière arabe) frappe Émile Bernard. C’est vers le Caire qu’il va s’échapper et s’installer pendant quelques années. La découverte de nouvelles mœurs, d’une nouvelle civilisation change profondément son rapport à la peinture. Il prend alors le contre-pied des naturalistes et des impressionnistes.
Sa formule : « Voir le style et non l’objet ». En effet, pour lui l’homme a tellement peint l’objet qu’il en a oublié le style. Inconsciemment, il ouvre la porte à un nouveau mouvement, une nouvelle manière de penser qui se revendiquera comme « l’École de Pont Aven » à posteriori. Les tableaux, de grands formats pour la plupart, présentent des scènes de la vie quotidienne égyptienne : Les femmes au bord du Nil ou encore les Pleureuses sont des scènes issues de sa vie de tous les jours.

Cette période est aussi marquée par la proximité qu’entretient Émile Bernard avec les Nabis. Ce mouvement artistique post-impressioniste avant gardiste du XIX° siècle, est en réaction avec la culture classique. En phase d’une grande ambition spirituelle et intellectuelle, les Nabis font de la créativité l’élément premier de leur art en s’attachant à retrouver son caractère « sacré ». L’influence est d’ailleurs réciproque : alors que Bernard s’inspire de l’utilisation de la couleur « en tube », sans mélange, on retrouve dans le travail des Nabis des influences de l’école de Pont Aven.

Son travail est d’ailleurs une synthèse de différents styles à ce moment là. Les traits cloisonistes et impressionnistes sont présents de manière allusives, de la même manière que le titre « les trois races » rappelle « les trois grâces » de Raphaël, faisant directement référence à l’héritage classique.

img-5

La rénovation esthétique en images. Photo par inha.revues.org.

Le parcours pictural continue sa course avec le retour de Bernard en France en 1904. Son voyage à Aix en Provence et sa rencontre avec Cézanne donne un nouveau visage à son travail. Le « cézannisme » nourrit désormais son travail mêlé à l’influence des « Grands » : Michel Ange, Raphaël et Titien. C’est à la même époque qu’il lance sa revue sur l’esthétique picturale La Rénovation Esthétique, amorçant donc un travail de théoricien de l’art et commence ainsi son ascension dans les hautes sphère sociales, fréquentant alors les mêmes salons que Paul Claudel et Elemir Bourges.

Ce rapprochement Bernard et Cézanne annonce « le retour à l’ordre » du peintre au début des années 1920. Laissant de côté définitivement l’impressionnisme, le cloisonisme et l’orientalisme de sa jeunesse, il se rattache finalement au classicisme. Cette nouvelle et dernière position lui vaudra de nombreuses critiques défavorables.

Pour les curieux de l’Art de toutes époques, influences et style confondus, prêt à opérer un réel voyage pictural, cette exposition est pour vous !

Émile Bernard (1868-1941)
17 septembre 2014 – 5 janvier 2015
Musée de l’Orangerie – Jardin des Tuileries, 75001 Paris.

How to find remedies online? So it’s no wonder that online pharmacies is becoming more popular over the last years. Few remedies are used to treat impotency. Topics such as “buy sildenafil citrate online” and “sildenafil 50 mg price” are highly popular now. This article focuses on the evaluation of erectile disfunction and “sildenafil citrate side effects“. Of all the matters in the field of healthcare that pique our note most, it’s sexual soundness problem, notably “undefined”. Low self-esteem, venous leak, some diseases, and definite medicines can reduce your sex drive. Stress affects all sides of life including sex drive. People must always ask physician for professional advice about Viagra. Keep in mind online pharmacy which is prepared to sell such medicaments like Viagra without a valid formula is fraudulent. When you get from an unknown company, you run the risk of getting counterfeit drugs.


About the Author

Etudiante en sociologie et en sciences politiques à l'Université Paris Dauphine, Lucie baigne dans le monde culturel et particulièrement dans la musique. Pianiste, ouvreuse à la Philharmonie de Paris, elle désire s'orienter vers la production dans la musique classique, à terme. Voyageuse dans l'âme, Lucie a mené dernièrement une enquête de terrain de trois mois sur l'implantation des nouvelles Philharmonies polonaises (dans 15 villes différentes). Démocratiser la culture et la faire venir dans les milieux les plus défavorisés est une des missions qui lui tiennent le plus à cœur, justifiant son engagement au GENEPI, association favorisant l'intervention en prison.



Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *


CAPTCHA Image
Reload Image
Back to Top ↑

Art & Culture

Published on October 17th, 2014 | by Lucie Pierron

0

Exhibition « Émile Bernard, » at the Musée de l’Orangerie. Émile Bernard, a sweet stylistic journey.

“An artist who wants to raise his art has a duty to know what was produced at all times,” Émile Bernard, The Aesthetics Renovation, 1905.

The Orangerie Museum is dedicating a retrospective to the French artist Émile Bernard, a first in a French national museum. The honored painter has a fairly specific and unusual profile. He was a Protean artist that paced his painting for all areas and all ages. His successive mutations of his creations are the result of a redefinition of his personality and his style which were continually call into question. This exhibition is a real path to full discovery or rediscovery of the various techniques of the time.
Despite his repeated attempts at pictorials, Emile Bernard never acquired his rightful place in the development of modern art, in retrospect, his influence has not always been recognized.

The first path that Émile Bernard took was Impressionism. Man of his time, he featured some of the techniques of his contemporaries (pointillism, pastel colors, light and shadow…). The themes represented are related to Impressionism: « Bather Lily » is strongly reminiscent of Monet’s Water Lilies, and the Breton landscapes refer to landscapes Pont Aven by Paul Gauguin.

bernardemile02

Pont Aven Painting by Emile Bernard. Photo by Dandylan3.free.fr

However, despite significant influence and common traits influence, Émile Bernard can not be considered as an Impressionist painter. Inspired by the great works of his time, there is always an exception to the medium to which he is related.

Abandoning some of the impressionist techniques after this first experience, Bernard turned to a new period called the “Cloisonnism.” Heir of Impressionism, he divided his work into forms. The range of colors in his paintings are surrounded by a clear line that “divides”. So, staying true to his original definition of pictorial symbolism, the movement of which he claims to a part he shaped the colors that were needed in the first place, and the work is “elevated to a transcendent idealism.”

This work is also the result of the influence of Japanese prints that were of major importance in the work of the artist. « Chiffonières » painting – Clichy is a good example of the Japanese influence.
This transition period, synthesis of a legacy and a first “flight,” remains unclear to many critics. One can perhaps draw an analogy between the work of Bernard and that of Henri Rivière, a French painter known for his artistic proximity to Japanese art.
[The “Japanism / Impressionism association was also the subject of an exhibition at the National Library of France in 2009].

img-6-small580

Women on the Nile or the Mourners are scenes from his everyday life. Photo by inha.revues.org

The hunger of the fashionable Orient at that time (in Tangier Delacroix, Kandinsky or with Arab Cemetery) hit Émile Bernard. It was in Cairo that he escaped and settled for a few years. The discovery of new customs, and a new civilization profoundly changed his relationship to painting. He took the opposite direction against naturalists and impressionists.
His words: “See the style, not the object.” Indeed, for him the man had painted the object so much that he forgot the style. Unconsciously, he opens the door to a new movement, a new way of thinking that he called “the School of Pont Aven” afterwards. The paintings, mostly large format artistic that depicts scenes of Egyptian life: Women on the Nile or the Mourners are scenes from his everyday life.

This period was also marked by the proximity that Émile Bernard enjoyed with the Nabis. This post-Impressionist artistic movement, avant-garde of the nineteenth century, is in response to classical culture. In sync with great spiritual and intellectual ambition, the Nabis make creativity the first element of their art endeavoring to find his “sacred” character. The influence is also reciprocal: while Bernard was inspired by the use of color “paint tube,” without mixture, it is also found in the work of the Nabis -influences from the school of Pont Aven.

His work is also a synthesis of different styles of the time. The Cloisonist traits are present and the impressionist traits are allusive, in the same way that the title “The Three races” recalls “the Three Graces” by Raphael, making direct reference to a classical heritage.

img-5

The pictorial aesthetic renovation. Photo by inha.revues.org.

The pictorial journey continues its run with the return of Bernard in France in 1904. His trip to Aix en Provence and his encounter with Cézanne give a new face to his work. The “Cezannism” fed his work mixed with the influence of the “Greats”: Michelangelo, Raphael and Titian. This is at the same time that he launched his magazine on the pictorial aesthetic renovation, so he initiated a work of theorist art and began his ascent into the highest social sphere, all while attending the same showroom as Paul Claudel and Elemir Bourges.

This merger between Bernard and Cézanne says “a return to order” for the painter in the early 1920s. Putting aside permanently the Impressionism, Cloisonnism and Orientalism of his youth, he finally connected to classicism. This new and final position earned him numerous adverse criticisms.

For those of you who are curious about the art of various periods, with various influences and styles get ready to make a real pictorial journey because this exhibition is for you !

Émile Bernard (1868-1941)
September 17, 2014 – January 5, 2015
Orangerie Museum – Tuileries Gardens, Paris 75001.

How to find remedies online? So it’s no wonder that online pharmacies is becoming more popular over the last years. Few remedies are used to treat impotency. Topics such as “buy sildenafil citrate online” and “sildenafil 50 mg price” are highly popular now. This article focuses on the evaluation of erectile disfunction and “sildenafil citrate side effects“. Of all the matters in the field of healthcare that pique our note most, it’s sexual soundness problem, notably “undefined”. Low self-esteem, venous leak, some diseases, and definite medicines can reduce your sex drive. Stress affects all sides of life including sex drive. People must always ask physician for professional advice about Viagra. Keep in mind online pharmacy which is prepared to sell such medicaments like Viagra without a valid formula is fraudulent. When you get from an unknown company, you run the risk of getting counterfeit drugs.


About the Author

Etudiante en sociologie et en sciences politiques à l'Université Paris Dauphine, Lucie baigne dans le monde culturel et particulièrement dans la musique. Pianiste, ouvreuse à la Philharmonie de Paris, elle désire s'orienter vers la production dans la musique classique, à terme. Voyageuse dans l'âme, Lucie a mené dernièrement une enquête de terrain de trois mois sur l'implantation des nouvelles Philharmonies polonaises (dans 15 villes différentes). Démocratiser la culture et la faire venir dans les milieux les plus défavorisés est une des missions qui lui tiennent le plus à cœur, justifiant son engagement au GENEPI, association favorisant l'intervention en prison.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


CAPTCHA Image
Reload Image
Back to Top ↑