Art & Culture

Published on décembre 16th, 2017 | by Laurence de Valmy

1

L’art français bien représenté durant la Miami Art Week

Miami Art Week.

Depuis bientôt 20 ans, début décembre se déroule la Miami Art Week et durant ces quelques jours, plus de 80 000 amateurs et collectionneurs viennent voir des milliers d’œuvres exposées par des galeries du monde entier.

La Miami Art Week c’est un ensemble d’événements organisés à l’occasion de la vingtaine de foires dont la vedette incontestée est Art Basel Miami, ou l’on peut admirer sous un même toit, des stars de l’histoire de l’art et des stars montantes tout en croisant des VIP tels Leonardo Di Caprio ou Cindy Crawford. D’autres foires dites « satellites » offrent un mix d’artistes établis et émergents dont les principales sont Art Miami/ Context, Scope, Pulse, NADA, Untitled et Design Miami. Autour de ces pôles d’attraction viennent s’ajouter près de 80 expositions et de nombreux happenings et soirées.

Jean Philippe Kadzinski.

Francois Bel.

Cette semaine devient la plus importante pour le marché de l’art contemporain aux USA, pays lui même leader mondial. La France qui détenait cette place en 1950 a en effet lentement perdu ce leadership pour être en 4eme place derrière la Chine et le Royaume Uni.

Monique Frydman.

Pourtant, la France est bien représentée à Miami : « il y a beaucoup de galeries et d’artistes français durant la Miami Art Week mais ce qui manque, c’est plus de faire savoir » remarque Sophie Blachet, fondatrice avec Hélène Filipecka de l’association French Arts Associates. Leur association basée à Miami a pour objectif d’être un accélérateur et un pont entre la France et les USA. Une mission également épousée par la fondation France Florida créée en 2005 par le consulat de France de Miami.

Gregory Watin.

Durant cette semaine, ou j’avais le plaisir de moi même montrer mon travail, j’ai pu admirer le travail de mes confrères et rencontrer des galeristes et artistes français. Voici une sélection (loin d’être exhaustive) de ces personnes qui contribuent à diffuser l’art français en dehors de l’hexagone.

Parmi les artistes émergents, la galerie Virginie Barrou Planquart (Paris), exposait à Scope de superbes sculptures de Francois Bel intitulées « Big Bang » dont les objets brisés figés dans du cristal de synthèse nous interrogent sur le temps qui passe. Emmanuel Fremin, galeriste français basé à New York soutient le travail du photographe Jean Philippe Kadzinski passionné de New York. La galerie Nil fondée il y a tout juste deux ans par de jeunes français, a un pool d’artiste international talentueux et était simultanément sur deux foires « nous sommes sans doute la galerie française qui a pris le plus de risques » confie son directeur Paul William en étant simultanément à Pulse et Context Art Miami. Sur la foire Untitled, la galerie DIX9 Helene Lacharmoise a également soutenu des artistes internationaux. Azart Gallery fondée à New York par Latifa Metheny exposait à Scope plusieurs artistes françaises dont la peintre abstraite Carole Jury qui travaille la matière et la lumière. Toujours pour la peinture abstraite, on pouvait admirer les toiles minimalistes de Tourage (galerie Boulderton) et de Monique Frydman (Bogena Galerie – St Paul de Vence).

Le Closier.

L’art urbain était bien représenté avec Gregory Watin, dont les toiles mix media pouvaient être vues dans trois galeries sur trois foires différentes (Pulse, Scope et Context) et Le Closier, qui avait un solo show « Pop Icons » ou il a exposé ses toiles colorées. La galerie Lelia Mordoch (Paris, Miami) offrait des toiles de Jules Dedet Granel, dit L’Atlas, street artiste inventeur du Poptic’art dont Agnès b est l’une des supporter et collectionneuse.

Dans le domaine de la sculpture, Capucine Safir, basée à Miami, présentait ses œuvres délicates à Superfine « l’objet de mon travail est de transformer la réalité et de donner de la douceur et de la sensualité à mes sculptures ».

Carole Jury.

Sur la foire Art Miami, la galerie 55 Bellechasse a rencontre un beau succès avec des artistes internationaux tandis que Markowicz Fine Art (Miami) qui soutient le travail du sculpteur star français Richard Orlinski, a placé plusieurs pièces des artistes Idan Zareski, Cédric Bouteiller et Sébastien Preschoux. 

Sur Art Basel Miami, 24 galeries portaient le pavillon français parmi 200 dont la célèbre Galerie Perrotin. Il était possible d’admirer des chefs d’œuvres signés par Pierre Bonnard, Louise Bourgeois, Pierre Soulages, César, Cézanne ou Nikki de St Phalle ainsi que par des étoiles montantes aux univers variés comme l’artiste textile Caroline Achaintre, le peintre Jules de Balincourt, le sculpteur Fabrice Ainaut ou la photographe Valérie Belin.

Capucine Safir.

Bien sur la qualité prime avant le label « France » et d’ailleurs nombreux sont les artistes ou galeristes français, qui se sentent multiculturels, vivant sur plusieurs continents, s’alimentant d’influences du monde entier et travaillant dans des mediums divers. Finalement au delà des considérations économiques, car l’art est un atout à ne pas négliger pour la France, n’est ce pas le but ultime de l’art que d’être universel ?


About the Author

is a French born artist, who lives and works in New York Great area. She is a painter creator of the POST series, painted Instagram of the past revisiting art history. She was awarded an Artist Residency by the Eileen Kaminsky Foundation (ESKFF) at Mana Contemporary,NJ in 2017. She created the blog "The Curious Frenchy" and is a now contributor to French Quarter Magazine. https://www.instagram.com/laurencedevalmy/



One Response to L’art français bien représenté durant la Miami Art Week

  1. Pingback: French Art well represented during Miami Art Week – The Curious Frenchy

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *


CAPTCHA Image
Reload Image
Back to Top ↑

Art & Culture

Published on December 16th, 2017 | by Laurence de Valmy

1

French Art well represented during Miami Art Week

Miami Art Week.

For nearly 20 years, the Miami Art Week happens early December and during these few days, more than 80,000 art lovers and collectors come to see thousands of works shown by galleries from around the world.

The Miami Art Week is a set of events organized on the occasion of the twenty fairs of which the undisputed leader is Art Basel Miami. At Art Basel, one can admire under one roof, stars of the art history and rising stars while crossing VIPs such as Leonardo Di Caprio or Cindy Crawford. Other fairs called “satellites” offer a mix of established and emerging artists whose main fairs are Art Miami / Context, Scope, Pulse, NADA, Untitled and Design Miami. Around these poles of attraction nearly 80 exhibitions and many happenings and parties take place to celebrate art in Miami.

Jean Philippe Kadzinski.

This week is becoming the most important for the contemporary art market in the USA, itself the world leader. France, which held this place in 1950, slowly lost this leadership to be in 4th place behind China and the United Kingdom.

Francois Bel.

However, France is well represented in Miami: “there are a lot of galleries and French artists during the Miami Art Week but what is missing is more communication about it” notes Sophie Blachet, founder with Hélène Filipecka of the association French Arts Associates. Their association based in Miami aims to be an accelerator and a bridge between France and the USA. A mission also embraced by the France Florida Foundation created in 2005 by the French Consulate in Miami.

Gregory Watin.

Monique Frydman.

During this week, where I had the pleasure of introducing my new series of paintings, I was able to admire the work of my fellow artists and meet French gallery owners and artists. Here is a selection (far from exhaustive) of these people who contribute to spread French art.

Among the emerging artists, Virginie Barrou Planquart Gallery (Paris), exhibited at Scope beautiful sculptures by Francois Bel titled « Big Bang » whose broken objects frozen in synthetic crystal question us about the passage of time. Emmanuel Fremin, French art dealer based in New York supports the work of photographer Jean Philippe Kadzinski passionate about New York. Nil Gallery founded only two years ago by young French dealers, holds a pool of talented international artists and was present on two fairs « we are probably the French gallery that took the most risks ” confides its director Paul William by being simultaneously at Pulse and Context Art Miami. On Untitled Fair, DIX9 Helene Lacharmoise gallery was also supporting international artists. Azart Gallery founded in New York by Latifa Metheny, showed at Scope the French Abstract painter Carole Jury whose focus is on the work of texture and light. Other abstract paintings could be seen by minimalist painter Tourage (Boulderton gallery) and Monique Frydman (Bogena Galerie – St Paul de Vence).

Le Closier.

Urban art was well represented with Gregory Watin, whose mix media works could be seen in no less than three galleries among three fairs (Pulse, Scope et Context) and Le Closier, in a solo show « Pop Icons » with his recent colorful artworks. Lelia Mordoch gallery (Paris, Miami) displayed paintings by Jules Dedet Granel, called L’Atlas, street artist inventor of “Poptic’art” whose Agnes b is a fan and collector.

Carole Jury.

As for sculpture, Capucine Safir, based in Miami, exhibited her delicate works at Superfine Fair “the object of my work is to transform reality and to give softness and sensuality to my sculptures”. On Art Miami, 55 Bellechasse Gallery successfully offered international artists and Markowicz Fine Art (Miami) who supports the French star sculptor Richard Orlinski, has placed several pieces of the artists Idan Zareski, Cédric Bouteiller and Sébastien Preschoux. 

At Art Basel Miami, among the 200 galleries, 24 were French with of course the famous Perrotin Gallery. It was possible to admire masterpieces signed by Pierre Bonnard, Louise Bourgeois, Pierre Soulages, César, Cézanne or Nikki de St Phalle and the works of rising stars with diverse universe such as the textile artist Caroline Achaintre, the painter Jules de Balincourt, the sculptor Fabrice Ainaut or the photographer Valérie Belin.

Capucine Safir.

Of course the quality matters before the “French” label and many French artists or gallery owners, feel multicultural, living on several continents, getting influences from around the world and working in various mediums. In the end, beyond economic considerations, because indeed art is an asset not to neglect for France, is it not the ultimate goal of art to be universal?


About the Author

is a French born artist, who lives and works in New York area. She is a painter working with acrylics for the wide possibility of this medium. She has followed art classes both in France and the USA and was awarded an Artist Residency by the Eileen Kaminsky Foundation (ESKFF) at Mana Contemporary,NJ in 2017. She created the blog "The Curious Frenchy" and is a now contributor to French Quarter Magazine. https://www.instagram.com/laurencedevalmy/



One Response to French Art well represented during Miami Art Week

  1. Pingback: French Art well represented during Miami Art Week – The Curious Frenchy

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


CAPTCHA Image
Reload Image
Back to Top ↑