Gastronomie

Published on octobre 19th, 2016 | by Julie Chaizemartin

0

Dans le Languedoc, les vins Paul Mas habillés par Daum

Un lieu exceptionnel pour une cuvée d’exception. Le lancement de la cuvée Astélia AAA Cristal 2015 des Domaines Paul Mas s’est tenu le 23 septembre, en hauteur, au premier étage de la plus célèbre des grandes dames, dans le salon qui porte le nom de son génial constructeur, Gustave Eiffel. Et cette fois, les regards ne se sont pas tournés vers les toits de Paris mais vers les trente bouteilles exposées sur de hauts piédestaux noirs. Quel plus bel écrin de fer ? Autant dire que la soirée fut aérienne, propice à l’ivresse des sens et au plaisir des yeux. Le but assumé : faire rayonner les vins Paul Mas à travers le monde.

fullsizerender-212

Le peintre Christophe Heymannn aka CHAP et Jean-Claude Mas durant la soirée de lancement vintage Cristal Astelia AAA 2015. Photo credit: Evening Eiffel Tower, J.C. Mas – CHAP.

Jean-Claude Mas, fondateur des Domaines Paul Mas et héritier de terres viticoles entrées dans sa famille depuis plus d’un siècle, l’avoue avec émotion, c’est la première fois qu’il monte au balcon de la Dame de Fer. Il fallait bien pour cela que la raison en fût le vin. Le vigneron de Pézenas, passionné par son métier et viscéralement attaché à son terroir languedocien depuis sa plus tendre enfance, vient de réaliser le rêve de créer un assemblage unique : celui de l’art et du vin.

« Je suis passionné par tout ce qui est métier d’art, tout ce qui donne une vraie émotion. C’est pourquoi j’ai voulu développer une bouteille unique sur la base d’un dessin » explique-t-il. Tout a commencé il y a deux ans lorsque la prestigieuse cristallerie d’art Daum lui dit oui au projet de création d’un flacon de cristal pour sa meilleure cuvée. Le millésime choisi sera Astélia AAA 2015 (du nom de ses trois filles Astrid, Elisa, Apolline) issu des meilleures vignes parmi les onze propriétés viticoles des Domaines Mas (Château Arrogant Frog, Clos du Moulinas, Clos de Savignac, Domaine du Silène, Mas des Tannes, Château Crès Ricards, Château Teramas Astruc, Château de Martinolles, Domaine de la Ferrandière, Château Jérémie ou encore Château Terre Denim).

fullsizerender-214

CHAP dans son studio, travaillant sur “table of life” de Jean-Claude Mas. Photo credit: peintre Christophe Heymann – CHAP.

Naissent alors trente bouteilles uniques fondues par Daum et ornées par l’artiste Christophe Heymann, alias CHAP, dont le style s’inscrit dans le courant de la figuration narrative ponctué de nombreux empreints aux comics et au Pop Art. « Chaque bouteille est différente. J’ai voulu à chaque fois mettre une référence liée à l’univers du vin et aux Domaines Paul Mas », précise l’artiste. Ce qui plaît à Christophe Heymann c’est de représenter un univers ou un portrait, ce qu’il fait avec succès depuis quelques années dans ce qu’il a nommé ses « Tableaux de vie », de grandes compositions peintes qui mettent en scène une personne, une histoire familiale, une ville ou même une entreprise. Symboles et allégories prennent alors la forme séduisante d’un bestiaire fantastique, de super-héros ou de références multiples à l’histoire des arts.

Ainsi, l’on rencontre par exemple un portrait de Jean-Claude Mas aux côtés d’un visage de Bacchus, plus loin le Petit Prince fait face à un charmant carrousel pour enfants, pendant que des silhouettes de femmes nues regardent un cep de vigne. Les couleurs vives et les lignes sûres du peintre font chanter le luxueux contenant du vin. Ce dernier ne sera mis en bouteille qu’en 2017 à l’occasion de la vente aux enchères (au profit d’œuvres caritatives) des trente bouteilles signées Daum et CHAP dans dix pays différents. Le tout couronné par un bracelet qui sera passé au cou des bouteilles, réalisé par Xavier Pruniaux, bijoutier à Pézenas. Là encore, il s’agit de mettre en valeur le Languedoc à travers ses artisans, cette terre rurale sur laquelle Jean-Claude Mas aime à raconter qu’ « il y avait tout à refaire lorsqu’il a hérité des 35ha du vignoble familial. »

fullsizerender-211

3 bouteilles, édition limitée, signées Jean-Claude Mas, créées par Daum et peintes par CHAP. Photo Credit: Evening Eiffel Tower, J.C. Mas – CHAP.

Loin d’être uniquement une opération marketing, le vigneron insiste sur la raison d’être de ce projet d’exception qui s’apparente, comme le vin, à « une expérience de vie » tout en précisant que la cuvée Astélia AAA Cristal incarne aussi le savoir-faire de la vinification signée Jean-Claude Mas sur une sélection de parcelles, conduite selon des principes durables et biodynamiques. Jean-Claude Mas, souvent décrit comme le vigneron de la « Nouvelle Vague » des vins français, a atteint son objectif : celui de faire du « luxe rural », une notion d’excellence qu’il exporte aujourd’hui dans le monde entier et dont il a fait une marque de fabrique jusque dans l’œnotourisme à travers Côté Mas, un lieu raffiné constitué d’un restaurant et deux suites pour accueillir les passionnés du vin. Petit plus, un étonnant food truck comblera les amoureux du rêve américain et de la gastronomie française.

Découvrir :
Les Domaines Paul Mas : http://www.paulmas.com/
Côté Mas : www.cote-mas.fr / Informations : info@cote-mas.fr ou 0467243610.
Christophe Heymann alias CHAP : http://www.christophe-heymann.com/

Cet article a été traduit en anglais par Sandrine Sweeney.


About the Author

Historienne de l'art et journaliste. Diplômée en droit et en histoire de l'art à la Sorbonne et à l’École du Louvre, Julie collabore à plusieurs magazines sur des sujets historiques et culturels. Elle a également créé en 2011 un fonds de dotation qui soutient des projets de sauvegarde du patrimoine à l'étranger (en collaboration avec l'UNESCO) et est l'auteur du livre "Ferrare, joyau de la Renaissance italienne" publié en 2012 (éditions Berg International).



Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *


CAPTCHA Image
Reload Image
Back to Top ↑

Gastronomy

Published on October 19th, 2016 | by Julie Chaizemartin

0

In Languedoc, Paul Mas wines dress in Daum

An exceptional place for an exceptional wine. The launch of the Astelia AAA Crystal 2015 cuvee from Les Domaines Paul Mas (Paul Mas Estates) was held on September 23, on the first floor of the most famous of great ladies, in the lounge that bears the name of its brilliant builder, Gustave Eiffel. And this time, eyes did not turn toward the views of the Paris roofs but toward thirty bottles displayed on tall black pedestals. What more beautiful than this setting of iron? Suffice to say that the evening was aerial, conducive to the intoxication of the senses and the pleasure of the eyes. The assumed goal: to promote Paul Mas wines worldwide.

fullsizerender-212

The painter Christophe Heymannn aka CHAP and Jean-Claude Mas in the launch party of the vintage Cristal Astelia AAA 2015. Photo credit: evening Eiffel Tower, J.C. Mas – CHAP.

Jean-Claude Mas, founder of Les Domaines Paul Mas, who inherited wine land that has belonged to his family for more than a century, admits with emotion that it is the first time he went up to the iron lady’s balcony. It took wine as a reason for this. The winemaker from Pézenas, passionate about his craftsmanship and viscerally attached to his Languedoc soil since his childhood, just realized the dream of creating a unique pairing: art and wine.

“I am passionate about everything that is the craft of art, everything which gives a true emotion. That is why I wanted to develop a unique bottle on the basis of a drawing” he explains. It all started two years ago when prestigious crystal art manufacturer Daum said yes to the project of creating a crystal bottle for his best cuvee. The chosen vintage will be Astelia AAA 2015 (from his three daughters’ names Astrid, Elisa, Apolline) coming from the best vineyards among the eleven Mas Estates (Château Arrogant Frog, Clos du Moulinas, Clos de Savignac, Domaine du Silène, Mas des Tannes, Château Crès Ricards, Château Teramas Astruc, Château de Martinolles, Domaine de la Ferrandière, Château Jérémie or Château Terre Denim).

fullsizerender-214

CHAP at his studio, working at the “table of life” of Jean-Claude Mas. Photo credit: Christophe Heymann painter – CHAP.

So thirty unique bottles were born, melted by Daum and decorated by artist Christophe Heymann, alias CHAP, whose style fits in the current of narrative figuration punctuated by many references to comics and Pop art. “Each bottle is different. I tried every time to include a reference linked to the world of wine and the Paul Mas Estates”, says the artist. What Christophe Heymann likes is to represent a universe or a portrait, which he has been doing successfully for a few years in what he named his “Life pictures”, large painted compositions that depict a person, a family history, a city, or even a company. Symbols and allegories take the attractive form of a fantastic bestiary, superheroes or multiple references to the history of the arts.

Thus, one finds for example a portrait of Jean-Claude Mas alongside the face of Bacchus, further the little Prince faces a charming carousel for children, while silhouettes of naked women are admiring a vine. The bright colors and the painter’s precise lines make the luxurious wine container sing. The wine won’t be bottled until 2017 for the auction (to benefit charitable works) of the thirty signed Daum and CHAP bottles in ten different countries. All topped off by a bracelet which will be passed around the neck of the bottles, crafted by Xavier Pruniaux, jeweler in Pézenas. Here again, the goal is to highlight Languedoc through its craftsmen, this rural land about which Jean-Claude Mas likes to say that “everything needed to be redone when he inherited the 35 hectares of family vineyard.”

fullsizerender-211

3 bottles, limited edition, signed Jean-Claude Mas, melted by Daum and painted by CHAP. Photo Credit: Evening Eiffel Tower, J.C. Mas – CHAP.

Far from being just a marketing operation, the winemaker emphasizes the purpose of this exceptional project that is similar, like wine, to a “life experience” while stating that the Astelia AAA Crystal cuvee also embodies Jean-Claude Mas’ winemaking know-how on a selection of plots, conducted according to sustainable and biodynamic principles. Jean-Claude Mas, often described as the winemaker of the ‘New Wave’ of French wines, has achieved his goal: that of making ‘rural luxury’, a notion of excellence that he now exports around the world and from which he made a trademark all the way into wine tourism through Côté Mas, a refined venue consisting of a restaurant and two suites to accommodate wine enthusiasts. Small plus, an unexpected food truck will delight lovers of the American dream and French gastronomy.

Discover:
Les Domaines Paul Mas : http://www.paulmas.com/
Côté Mas : www.cote-mas.fr / Information : info@cote-mas.fr or 0467243610.
Christophe Heymann alias CHAP : http://www.christophe-heymann.com/

This article was translated in English by Sandrine Sweeney.


About the Author

Historienne de l'art et journaliste. Diplômée en droit et en histoire de l'art à la Sorbonne et à l’École du Louvre, Julie collabore à plusieurs magazines sur des sujets historiques et culturels. Elle a également créé en 2011 un fonds de dotation qui soutient des projets de sauvegarde du patrimoine à l'étranger (en collaboration avec l'UNESCO) et est l'auteur du livre "Ferrare, joyau de la Renaissance italienne" publié en 2012 (éditions Berg International).



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to Top ↑
  • Welcome

    Welcome to French Quarter Magazine ! This magazine provides a cultural journey filled with beautiful images and fascinating stories written by many dedicated writers.

    Art, History, Culture, Music, Fashion, Gastronomy, Travel and Style all reflect the very essence of our culture, its attitudes and philosophies, its fashions and passions. Our site has many posts for you to choose from in many different categories of interest in English and French. There are entertainment and informative news and reviews as well as interviews.

    French Quarter Magazine is seeking to grow an appreciation for, and to celebrate, the rich and colourful history and heritage of France combined with a vibrant mix of modernity and technology. We want to help expand knowledge of history, culture and all the arts. Our Franco-American initiative to preserve cultural treasures in both countries is crucial. It is clear that if future generations are to know the beauties of landmarks and historic monuments, it is our goal to act now to help. We are looking for transmitting and safeguarding the skills, knowledge and love of Arts, culture and technology through conferences, transatlantic educational programs and tours for our members and readers.

    France’s past is of huge interest to many exiled French, to all Francophiles and those of French descent who are keen to keep abreast with what is happening in France today.

    Become a Subscriber to French Quarter Magazine by clicking on the sign up button and receive twice monthly newsletter, as well as other special offers from time to time.

    You can like and follow us on Facebook and watch our interviews on our You Tube Channel.

  • Follow us!

  • (Français) Articles récents

  • (Français) Commentaires récents