Interviews

Published on juillet 21st, 2017 | by Isabelle Karamooz, Founder of FQM

0

Interview d’Emmanuelle Bihr, directrice de « La Maison au Figuier, » située au Bois-Plage sur l’île de Ré

French Quarter Magazine : Parlez-nous de vous et de votre désir d’ouvrir vos propres chambres d’hôtes ? Votre motivation est-elle exclusivement le goût de l’échange ?

Emmanuelle Bihr : L’échange et le partage ! Je suis originaire de l’Est de la France, de Lorraine. J’ai suivi l’école hôtelière du Touquet, (déjà loin de la Lorraine), puis j’ai travaillé dans la restauration à Metz, avec toujours à l’esprit, l’envie d’ouvrir des chambres d’hôtes.

La Maison au Figuier. Photo de Laure Baraton.

French Quarter Magazine : Quel a été le déclic pour faire le grand saut  et concrétiser votre rêve d’ouvrir des chambres d’hôtes ?

Emmanuelle Bihr : Avec mon mari, nous voulions quitter l’Est de la France mais nous ne savions pas dans quelle région nous installer. Nous savions juste que nous ne voulions pas investir dans l’Est et faire notre vie là-bas. En 1994, nous sommes venus en vacances en famille à l’île de Ré pour la première fois et nous y sommes revenus tous les ans en automne à la Toussaint. Comme nous nous y plaisions de plus en plus, nous avons visité des maisons dans le but d’acheter.

French Quarter Magazine : A quelle date avez-vous ouvert vos chambres d’hôtes ?

Emmanuelle Bihr : Après l’achat de la maison en 2002, celle-ci n’étant pas habitable il a fallut engager des travaux pendant cinq ans donc en mai 2007, nous avons fait notre première ouverture et nous avons exercé cette activité pendant trois ans avant que nous soyons victimes d’un incendie en 2010. La fermeture a duré deux ans et, pendant cette période, j’ai fait des saisons et nous avons réouvert à
Pâques 2012.

French Quarter Magazine : Le résultat est superbe. Pouvez-vous nous décrire votre maison, Combien possédez-vous de chambres d’hôtes ?

Emmanuelle Bihr : La maison d’hôtes possède quatre chambres qui sont toutes équipées d’une douche à l’italienne et de toilettes séparés.
Les chambres ont été conçues à notre image selon notre mode de vie. Nous ne voulions pas d’une décoration typique « bord de mer » bleue et blanche mais plutôt une maison rétaise avec beaucoup de bois, des objets chinés sur l’île et en Belgique ainsi que quelques petits objets personnels.

French Quarter Magazine : Quels sont vos points forts, vos atouts en terme d’accueil, en terme d’activités, de cuisine, de dépaysement, d’environnement, d’écologie ?

Emmanuelle Bihr : En priorité nous souhaitons que les gens qui arrivent chez nous fatigués puissent être au calme et se reposer. Nous faisons en sorte que l’atmosphère de la maison et du jardin soit apaisante. Sur l’île, il y a surtout les balades à vélo. Nous donnons nos itinéraires, nos bonnes adresses et des conseils. Quelques fois c’est l’inverse ! Ce sont les clients habitués qui nous donnent leurs adresses favorites. (C’est un échange de bons procédés). Les deux activités principales sont le vélo et la plage. Il y a aussi les visites de musées sur l’île et en dehors. La Rochelle est une ville au passé très riche historiquement. Bien sûr, il y a les plaisirs de la table et le petit-déjeuner que je prépare tous les matins. Il est composé de choses simples mais tout est fait maison, j’y tiens. Nous offrons un service de qualité. C’est ce qui nous différencie d’un hôtel lambda.

Petit-déjeuner à La Maison au Figuier. Photo de Laure Baraton.

French Quarter Magazine : Avez-vous une « mésaventure » et ou une anecdote à nous raconter sur la maison ou sur les personnes que vous accueillez ?

Emmanuelle Bihr : Les gens sont tellement différents et intéressants… Parfois je suis interloquée par le métier que certains exercent. Une fois, nous avons eu un client garde du corps. Il y a des métiers dont j’ignorais l’existence. Prochainement, je vais recevoir des clients dont le fils vit en Tasmanie. Vous, par exemple, vous vivez à Las Vegas. Je reçois peu d’Américains c’est-à-dire une ou deux fois dans la saison.

French Quarter Magazine : Quels types de client accueillez-vous ? J’imagine que parler anglais est indispensable.

Emmanuelle Bihr : C’est indispensable parce que les anglophones ne font pas l’effort de parler d’autres langues la plupart du temps (rires). En majorité, nos clients étrangers sont des Anglais, des Belges, et maintenant des Suisses. Ils optent pour la formule chambres d’hôtes parce qu’ils aiment le côté « chez l’habitant. » Nous accueillons quelques fois des familles, mais le plus souvent ce sont des couples.

French Quarter Magazine : Avez-vous parfois des personnalités connues qui viennent chez vous ?

Emmanuelle Bihr : Il y a quelques années, nous avons eu quelques auteurs qui venaient pour le salon du livre.
Pas de people, quelques personnes qui par leur profession ont des postes importants mais ne sont pas connues.

French Quarter Magazine : Avez-vous le temps de passer du temps et d’échanger avec vos visiteurs ?

Emmanuelle Bihr : Oui, principalement le matin. C’est là où se passe la plupart des échanges. Cela peut être en fin de journée aussi mais s’ils ont besoin de moi quelque soit le moment de la journée, je suis disponible. Ce n’est pas un souci.

French Quarter Magazine : Selon vos observations, l’attente de vos clients a-t-elle changée depuis quelques années ?

Emmanuelle Bihr : C’est une bonne question. Une certaine catégorie de clients vont être plus exigeant parce que c’est dans l’air du temps, mais la majorité des gens s’adapte très facilement à la façon dont fonctionne la maison et n’ont pas d’exigences particulières ou extravagances.

French Quarter Magazine : Quels sont les activités principales de l’île ?

Emmanuelle Bihr : Il faut au moins faire l’île à vélo et allez voir les ostréiculteurs travailler ainsi que les Sauniers car en ce moment c’est la saison et certains vous recevront sur des sites privés dans leurs marais. C’est intéressant. Nous pouvons entre autre visiter l’écomusée du sel à Saint Martin et il est possible d’effectuer une visite guidée et de faire une sortie en catamaran. Au niveau culturel, l’offre est très diversifiée.

French Quarter Magazine : Donc les touristes repartent heureux ?

Emmanuelle Bihr : Ma plus belle récompense a été une cliente qui m’a dit : « je n’ai pas pensé à mon travail pendant dix jours ». Là, je me dis que « j’ai bien fait mon travail ! » C’est une véritable satisfaction d’entendre cela parce que mon but est de faire plaisir à mes clients pendant leurs vacances. Certaines personnes ne partent qu’une fois dans l’année. Nous devons être au top.

French Quarter Magazine : Quelle est la durée moyenne d’un séjour chez vous ?

Emmanuelle Bihr : Le séjour moyen est de quatre nuitées. En juillet et en août, les séjours sont plutôt d’une semaine. Nous sommes ouverts de fin mars à mi-novembre. Pendant la fermeture, nous nous occupons de l’entretien de la maison et nous prenons des vacances.

French Quarter Magazine : Avez-vous une page Facebook pour faire connaître et promouvoir vos chambres d’hôtes.

Emmanuelle Bihr : Non, pas encore mais cela va venir. Je suis un peu « hermétique.» J’ai une amie qui me pousse à le faire. Elle a ouvert la page mais je n’ai rien mis dessus. Je ne devrais peut-être pas le dire mais je n’aime pas l’informatique en générale. J’ai du mal à m’y mettre. Je reconnais que c’est indispensable aujourd’hui pour travailler. Cependant, nous avons un site web : http://www.lamaisonaufiguier.com. Nous pouvons donc être contactés par e-mail. Il ne faut pas oublier le bouche à oreille qui marche plutôt bien. C’est notre meilleure publicité. Nous avons aussi une clientèle fidèle parce qu’ici l’ambiance est conviviale, et moins impersonnelle qu’à l’hôtel. Les clients de chaque chambre peuvent choisir de manger à une table seule s’il le souhaite car l’indépendance de chacun est respectée. J’ai remarqué que les huit transats de la piscine sont rarement occupés aux mêmes moments. Pourtant, la plupart des gens qui optent pour la formule chambres d’hôtes le font pour échanger.

 

Cet article a été traduit en anglais par John Wilmot.


About the Author

was born in the royal city of Versailles, France and have lived in the United States since 1996. After earning a Bachelor's degree in History from the University of California Berkeley and studying for a Master program in education at the University of Southern California, she went on to teach French to aspiring UNLV and CSN students in Nevada. When she is not teaching, she is writing, interviewing people in a wide range of circumstances, pitching story ideas to writers and editors, taking pictures, traveling, painting or trying delicious foods.



Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Back to Top ↑

Interviews

Published on July 21st, 2017 | by Isabelle Karamooz, Founder of FQM

0

Interview with Emmanuelle Bihr, owner of “La Maison au Figuier”, located in Bois-Plage on the island of Ré

French Quarter Magazine : Tell us a little bit about yourself,, tell us what led you to open your bed and breakfast? Was your motivation strictly for a taste of change?

Emmanuelle Bihr : More for exchanging and sharing! I’m originally from the East of France, from Lorraine. I went to Hotel management college in Le Touquet (already quite far from Lorraine), and then I worked in the restaurant industry in Metz, always keeping in mind a desire to open a bed and breakfast.

French Quarter Magazine : What triggered you to take the big leap, and fulfill your dreams of opening a bed and breakfast?

Emmanuelle Bihr : With my husband, we had the desire to get out of the East of France, but we didn’t know exactly for which region. We just knew that we didn’t want to invest ourselves in the East and make our livelihood there. In 1994 we came on a family vacation to the Island of Ré for the first time and we came back every year in the fall, around All Saint’s Day. As we liked it more and more, we started looing into houses with the intent of buying one.

French Quarter Magazine : When did you open your bed and breakfast?

La Maison au Figuier. Photo by Laure Baraton.

Emmanuelle Bihr : After buying the house in 2002, since it was uninhabitable, we had to initiate work in the house for five years, so in May 2007, we made our first opening and we were in operation for three years before we fell victim to a fire in 2010. I closed for two years and during that periode, I just opened on a seasonal basis and we reopened for good on Easter 2012.

French Quarter Magazine : The results are superb. Can you describe your home, tell us a little bit about your guest rooms. How many do you have?

Emmanuelle Bihr : The guest house has four rooms that each have their own individual bathroom and are equipped with stylish Italian showers. The rooms were designed according to our own personal tastes. We didn’t want a typical blue and white seaside theme, but rather a restored house with a local style known as rétaise (which refers to the islanders of Ré). Lots of wood, and lots of objects found on the island and in Belgium as well, along with a few small personal items.

French Quarter Magazine : What makes your bed and breakfast standout? What are your strong points? Your amenities in terms of hospitality, in terms of activities, cooking, scenery, environment, and ecology? Give us some good tips of things to do in and around your place.

Emmanuelle Bihr : The first thing that we wish for the guests who arrive to our place tired and worn out is that they can get some rest and feel relaxed. We make the atmosphere of the house and the garden soothing. As we know the island very well, we give them advice on the places that we like to frequent when we’re out and about. Sometimes it works the other way around! The clients give  us their favorite places to visit, (It’s a two way street). The two main activities are bike riding and the beach. There are also visits to museums on and off the Island. La Rochelle is a city with a very rich historical past.

Of course, there are the gastronomic pleasures at our table and the breakfast that I prepare every morning. It is composed of simple things, but everything is homemade, this is important to me. For me, it’s a whole. This is part of a quality bed and breakfast service. This is what differentiates us from an average hotel.

French Quarter Magazine : Do you have any “mishaps,” and or tales to tell about the house or the guests that you welcome?

La Maison au Figuier’s breakfast. Photo by Laure Baraton.

Emmanuelle Bihr : People are so different and interesting… Sometimes I’m astonished by what some people do for a living. Once, we had a guest who was a bodyguard. There are jobs that I  never even knew existed. It can also be the place where they’re from. Soon, I’ll have some guests whose son lives in Tasmania. You, for example, live in Las Vegas. I get a few Americans, about once or twice per season.

French Quarter Magazine : What type of guest do you welcome? I’m assuming that speaking English is essential.

Emmanuelle Bihr : It is essential because Anglophones don’t make the effort to speak other languages most of the time. It’s amazing, but some guests don’t speak a word of French. The majority of our foreign clients are British, Belgian, and now, the Swiss. They opt for the bed and breakfast option because they like the idea of staying with the locals. Our British clientele is typically people who are 60 years of age or older, and we also get young doctors frequently. Sometimes we host families, but most often it’s couples who stay here.

French Quarter Magazine : Have you had any famous people stay here?

Emmanuelle Bihr : A few years ago, we had a few authors who came for the book fair. Not celebrities, some people have important positions in their respective fields, but are not famous.

French Quarter Magazine : Do you have enough time to spend with your guests and swap stories with them?

Emmanuelle Bihr : Yes, mainly in the morning is when most of the conversations take place. It can also be later in the day, but I’m available at any time of the day if they need me. So it’s no burden at all.

French Quartert Magazine.: According to your observations, have your clients’ expectations changed in recent years?

Emmanuelle Bihr : This is a good question. There may be a certain type of clientele who will ask for more because it’s fashionable to do so in this day and age, but the majority of people adapt very easily to how the house works and don’t have any special needs or extravagant requests.

French Quarter Magazine : What do you recommend us to do on the island?

Emmanuelle Bihr : You’ve got to go for a bike ride around the island and go see the oyster farmers at work. Go see the salt farmers, as it’s the season for harvesting right now, some will even show you around on their private sites in their marshes. It’s interesting! Among other things, we can visit the Eco-museum of Salt in Saint Martin and it’s also possible to take a guided tour and go on an outing on a catamaran. On a cultural level, this offer is very diverse.

French Quarter Magazine : Tourists leave happy.

Emmanuelle Bihr : My greatest compliment was when a client told me: “I didn’t think of my work for 10 days.” That tells me that I’ve done my job! It’s a real satisfaction to hear this because my end goal is to please my customers while they’re on vacation. Some people only vacation once a year. We must do our very best.

French Quarter Magazine : What’s the average length of stay for your guests?

Emmanuelle Bihr : The average length of stay is four nights. In July and August, stays are closer to a week. We open from the end of March to mid-November. When we are closed, we take care of the maintenance of the house and take a vacation.

French Quarter Magazine : Do you have a Facebook page to publicize and promote your bed and breakfast?

Emmanuelle Bihr : No, not yet, but it’s in the works. I’m a little “impervious” to it. I have a friend who pushes me to do it. She started a page, but I haven’t posted anything on it. Maybe I shouldn’t say it, but I don’t really like technology in general. I just can’t  seem to get started. I do recognize that it’s an essential tool nowadays. However, we do have a website: http://www.lamaisonaufiguier.com. We can be contacted by e-mail, and let’s not forget about the word of mouth either. That works pretty well. It’s our best publicity. We also have a loyal clientele because the ambiance is pleasant here, and less impersonal than at a hotel. Each of our guests can choose to eat alone if they wish to because we respect their privacy. I’ve noticed that the eight poolside lounge chairs are rarely occupied at the same time. Yet, most of the people who opt for the bed and breakfast option do so to exchange.

 

This article was translated in English by John Wilmot.


About the Author

was born in the royal city of Versailles, France and have lived in the United States since 1996. After earning a Bachelor's degree in History from the University of California Berkeley and studying for a Master program in education at the University of Southern California, she went on to teach French to aspiring UNLV and CSN students in Nevada. When she is not teaching, she is writing, interviewing people in a wide range of circumstances, pitching story ideas to writers and editors, taking pictures, traveling, painting or trying delicious foods.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to Top ↑