Art & Culture

Published on septembre 22nd, 2018 | by Isabelle Karamooz, Founder of FQM

0

Interview avec Pierre Leloup, le directeur du Théâtre Raymond Kabbaz à Los Angeles

 

French Quarter Magazine : Comment est né le Théâtre Raymond Kabbaz dédié entièrement à la culture francophone ?

Pierre Leloup : C’est une histoire qui remonte à l’époque de Raymond Kabbaz qui est le fondateur du Lycée français fondé en 1964. C’était un passionné de théatre et moi, qui était professeur de musique et de théâtre, j’ai partagé cette passion avec lui. Nous avons commencé à monter une pièce de théâtre en français, “La Cantatrice chauve” d’Eugénie Ionesco en 1992. A cette époque, le théâtre Kabbaz n’existait pas. Nous louions des théâtres en ville. Cette première pièce de Ionesco a été jouée à Hollywood. Le public francophone et américain francophile était interessé par ce genre de spectacle donc nous avons fait une première édition de cette pièce de Ionesco en quatre représentations complètes. C’est ainsi que nous avons monté des pieces de théâtre chaque année.

En 1992, après une dizaine d’années de location dans les différents théâtres de la ville, Raymond Kabbaz a décidé d’ouvrir son propre théâre. Il a donc investi son argent personnel et nous avons alors monté un théâtre sur un campus du lycée français qui se trouve à Century City. Les travaux ont débuté en 1997-98 et le théâtre a ouvert ses portes en 2000 avec une représentation de  “La Belle Hélène” d’Offenbach.

La même année, Raymond Kabbaz a quitté le théâtre juste après l’ouverture et m’a nommé Directeur du théâtre. J’en ai pris les rennes et j’ai décidé de continuer dans sur sa lancée, c’est-à-dire de présenter un théâtre francophone mais pas seulement. Nous voulions attirer aussi un public américain francophone sans être limité par la langue française. Nous voulions également présenter des spectacles de flamenco, de danses italiennes, de théâtre contemporain, de jazz, etc. Nous avons, en majorité, des representations à connotation francophone mais pas toujours, c’est-à-dire que ce n’est pas forcément  “français.” Mais par contre, tous les soirs, nous diffusons soit un film québécois / canadien, un film suisse, un film belge, un film français et également un film d’Afrique de l’ouest en général.

Nous présentons également de la danse, de la musique, du cinéma, des conférences. C’est une programmation multidisciplinaire, très éclectique et de qualité. Nous ne faisons pas nécessairement dans le scolaire. Nous avons déjà reçu une longue liste d’artistes connus comme Michel Onfray, Charlotte de Turckeim, Françis Cabrel, Patrick Timsit, Olivia Ruiz, Michel Jonasz, Robert Charlebois, Marie-christine Barrault, Yaël Naïm, Françis Perrin, etc et aussi des artistes émergents de Montréal avec qui nous travaillons.

French Quarter Magazine : Sur quels critères choisissez-vous les artistes que vous produisez ?

Pierre Leloup : La qualité évidemment et s’il existe une passerelle éducative, c’est toujours mieux. Le choix des artistes se fait par rapport à un critère de qualité et une certaine cohérence avec notre programme. Nous essayons d’être éclectiques et d’avoir un bon équilibre entre toutes les disciplines : théâtre, danse, musique, conferences et cinéma. Nous ne pouvons pas présenter un spectacle d’avant-garde trop pointu car il faut qu’il soit accessible à un public américain francophile.

French Quarter Magazine : Qu’est-il important de défendre à travers le théâtre ?

Pierre Leloup : Il est surtout important de créer une habitude culturelle, celle de voir les gens retourner au théâtre. Quand le choix est trop grand, surtout ici à Los Angeles, il est difficile de jouer à guichet fermé, il faut donc créer un intérêt pour l’art de la scène.


French Quarter Magazine :
De quels moyens disposez-vous ? Recevez-vous des subventions ?

Pierre Leloup : Oui, il serait difficile de faire venir des artistes de haut calibre pour un théâtre de 213 places. Je suis obligé de prendre ma canne et d’aller taper aux portes pour trouver de l’argent. Nous avons, bien sûr, des fondations qui aident le théâtre. Il faut pouvoir leur présenter des projets qui correspondent à leur vision. Nous travaillons pour la France avec l’Institut Français, des bourses sont délivrées, il faut en faire la demande. Il faut que les artistes soient identifiés par la France comme étant des artistes qui méritent d’être exposés. Ensuite nous avons des mécènes privés, des partenaires, des institutions comme le Consulat du Canada, TV5 monde, etc.

French Quarter Magazine : Parlez-nous de vos partenaires francophones du Théâtre Raymond Kabbaz ?

Pierre Leloup : Oui, en l’occurence comme partenaires francophones, nous collaborons avec l’European Languages and Movies in America (ELMA)qui est un partenaire européen pour la promotion du cinéma européen, pas forcément français mais européen. Nous avons aussi des aides locales comme le Los Angeles Department of Cultural Affrairs qui aident sur certains projets. Nous avons quelques aides, ce n’est pas énorme mais cela nous permet de rester dans des prix relativement décents et accessibles au théâtre, de pouvoir rénumérer les artistes et de continuer à produire de beaux spectacles.

French Quarter Magazine : La langue française est-elle majoritaire dans votre programmation ?

Pierre Leloup : Je dirais que oui, mais c’est relatif. Cela dépend. Cette année, nous avons reçu l’artiste Charlotte de Turckeim dans “Chez Ma Mère,”  “Le Petit Chaperon Rouge” de Joël Pommerat, un grand metteur en scène en France qui tourne énormément. C’est un projet que nous présentons avec New York à la Fiaf (French Institute Alliance Française) et l’université de Princeton. Il est important de noter que j’ai créé une sorte de réseaux de  “niches francophones aux Etats-Unis ce qui permet de réduire le coût des visas, des transports internationaux. C’est le seul moyen pour un petit théâtre de faire venir des artistes de notoriété ce que nous appelons en anglais du “block booking.”

Je sais que les gens qui viennent nous voir, même si nous sommes à 10.000 kms de la France, c’est un peu par nostalgie. Nous organisons des soirées  “courts-métrages” en collaboration avec l’Alliance Française, nous remplissons la salle à chaque fois. Les gens aiment se replonger dans la culture française et connaître les dernières sorties en salle. Le choix se fait avec toute l’équipe, nous faisons tout une présélection. Ensuite, je fais une sélection finale et je la propose à l’Alliance Française qui entérine ou non ce choix. C’est une soirée qui s’adresse à des adultes.

French Quarter Magazine : En quelques mots, quel est votre rôle au Théâtre Raymond Kabbaz ?

Le Directeur artistique du Théâtre Raymond Kabbaz, Pierre Leloup.

Pierre Leloup : Je suis “Artistic Director” ça veut dire faire des choix de programmation, ce que je fais en priorité. Je suis le seul à pouvoir prendre ces décisions. Je travaille sur tous les terrains : la direction technique et le marketing. J’ai un peu toutes les casquettes.

Avec mon assistante, Christelle, qui est mon bras droit, nous avons également des stagiaires, des techniciens, des régisseurs, ce qui ne m’empêche pas d’être polyvalent.

French Quarter Magazine : Quel est votre public le plus fidèle ?

Pierre Leloup : Le public change et c’est là le challenge justement. Le public varie selon le spectacle : danse, théâtre, cirque, etc…. Avec un spectacle franco-français comme celui de Charlotte de Turckeim, le public est essentiellement français car il n’y a pas de sous-titrages.

Avec, par exemple, Eric-Emmanuel Schmitt, grand écrivain et réalisateur franco-belge, que nous avons reçu le 6 mai dernier, ce spectacle était proposé à des Américains francophones et francophiles car sous-titré en anglais. Nous essayons d’élargir un peu notre public en proposant ce genre de spectacle. Nous nous sommes rencontrés avec Eric-Emmanuel Schmitt à Avignon il y a 2 ans pour faire aboutir ce projet, celui de produire sur les planches du Théâtre Raymond Kabbaz, la pièce  “Monsieur Ibrahim et les fleurs du Coran” qui a été jouée par l’auteur Schmitt lui-même.

 

Cet article a été traduit en anglais par John Wilmot.

 

 


About the Author

was born in the royal city of Versailles, France and have lived in the United States since 1996. After earning a Bachelor's degree in History from the University of California Berkeley and studying for a Master program in education at the University of Southern California, she went on to teach French to aspiring UNLV and CSN students in Nevada. When she is not teaching, she is writing, interviewing people in a wide range of circumstances, pitching story ideas to writers and editors, taking pictures, traveling, painting or trying delicious foods.



Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *


CAPTCHA Image
Reload Image
Back to Top ↑

Art & Culture

Published on September 22nd, 2018 | by Isabelle Karamooz, Founder of FQM

0

Interview with Pierre Leloup, Théâtre Raymond Kabbaz Director in Los Angeles

French Quarter Magazine: How did the Théâtre Raymond Kabbaz, which is entirely dedicated to francophone culture, come about?

Pierre Leloup: This is a story that dates back to the Raymond Kabbaz era; he was the founder of “Le Lycée Français” created in 1964. He was a theater enthusiast and back then I  was a music and theater professor. I shared this passion with him. We started doing a French play, Eugène lonesco’s La Cantatrice Chauve (The Bald Soprano) in 1992. At that time, the Kabbaz Theater did not exist. We rented theaters around town. This first play by Ionesco was put on in Hollywood. The francophone and American Francophile audiences were interested in this kind of show so we did a first edition of Ionesco’s play in four complete performances. That’s how we put plays together every year.

After renting various theaters throughout the city for nearly a decade, since 1992, Raymond Kabbaz decided to open up his own theater. So, he invested his own money and then we assembled a theater on the campus of Le Lycée Français in Century City. Work began in 1997 and the theater opened in 2000 with a performance of (Jacques) Offenbach’s La Belle Hélène.

The same year, Raymond Kabbaz left the theater just after the opening and appointed me theater director. I took the reins, and I decided to continue with its momentum to present a French theater, but not only that, we also wanted to attract an American francophone audience without being bounded by the French language. We also wanted to present flamenco shows, Italian dances, contemporary theater, jazz, and so on. We predominantly have performances with French connotations, but not always, meaning that it’s not strictly French. On the other hand, every night we do show either a Quebec / Canadian film, a Swiss film, a Belgian film, a French film or also a film from West Africa in general.

We also present dances, music, films, and lectures. It’s a versatile program, it’s quite eclectic and of qualitative substance. It’s not all educationally based.  We’ve already had a long list of well-known artists perform, such as, Michel Onfray, Charlotte de Turckheim, Francis Cabrel, Patrick Timsit, Olivia Ruiz, Michel Jonasz, Robert Charlebois, Marie-Christine Barrault, Yael Naim, and Francis Perrin. We also work with plenty of emerging artists from Montreal.

French Quarter Magazine: What kind of criteria do you choose for your performers to have?

Pierre Leloup: Quality obviously, and if there is an educational gateway, it’s always better. The choice of artists is based on a quality criterion and a certain coherence with our program. We try to be eclectic and have a good balance between all disciplines: theater, dance, music, lectures and film. We can’t present an avant-garde show that’s too over-the-top, because it has to be accessible to a Francophile American public.

French Quarter Magazine: What is important to promote through theater?

Pierre Leloup: Above all, it’s important to create a cultural tradition. We like seeing people return to the theater. When there’s too many choices, especially here in Los Angeles, it’s difficult to sell out a show, so you have to create an interest in the art of the stage.


 

French Quarter Magazine: What kind of means do you have? Do you receive grants?

Pierre Leloup: Yes, it would be difficult to bring high-caliber artists to a 213-seat theater. I have to take my cane and go knock on doors to find money. We have, of course, foundations that help the theater. You have to be able to present projects that fit their vision. We work with France and the French Institute, scholarships are issued, and we have to make requests. France must identify artists  who deserve to be exposed. Then we have private sponsors, partners, and institutions like the Consulate of Canada and TV5 world.

French Quarter Magazine:  Talk to us about your francophone partners at the Théâtre Raymond Kabbaz?

Pierre Leloup: Yes, in the case of francophone partners, we collaborate with the European Languages and Movies in America (ELMA) which is a European partner for the promotion of European cinema, not necessarily French but European. We also have local help coming from the Los Angeles Department of Cultural Affairs who help on some projects. We have some help, it’s not a lot, but it allows us to maintain relatively decent ticket prices and keeps the theater approachable. We’re able to pay the artists and continue to produce beautiful shows.

French Quarter Magazine: Is the French language the majority of your programming?

Pierre Leloup: I would say yes, but it’s relative. It depends. This year, we received the artist Charlotte de Turckheim in Chez Ma Mère, and The Little Red Riding Hoodby Joël Pommerat, a great director in France who produces many plays. This is a project that we are presenting with New York at the FIAF (French Institute Alliance Française) and Princeton University. It’s important to note that I have created a kind of network of French-speaking niches in the United States which makes it possible to reduce the cost of visas, and international travel. This is the only way for a small theater to get artists of notoriety. It’s what we call “block booking.”

I know that when people come to see us, even if we are 10,000 km (6,213 mi) from France, there’s an element of nostalgia. We organize short film nights in collaboration with the Alliance Française and we pack the house every time. People like to immerse themselves in French culture and know the latest releases in theaters. The entire team makes the choice; we do everything for the preselection. Then, I make a final selection and propose it to the Alliance Française, who either approve or deny this selection. It’s an evening for adults.

The Raymond Kabbaz Theater Artistic Director, Pierre Leloup.

French Quarter Magazine: What’s your role at the Théâtre Raymond Kabbaz?

Pierre Leloup: I’m the artistic director, which means making programming choices, which I do first. I’m the only one who can make those decisions. I work on all fronts: technical direction and marketing. I wear a lot of different hats.

With my assistant, Christelle, who is my right-hand person, we also have trainees, technicians, stage managers, which keeps me versatile.

French Quarter Magazine: Who is your most loyal audience?

Pierre Leloup: The audience is changing and that’s the biggest challenge. The audience varies according to the show: dance, theater, circus, and so on. With a Franco-French show like that of Charlotte de Turckheim, the audience is virtually all French because there’s no subtitling.

With, for example, Eric-Emmanuel Schmitt, the great Franco-Belgian writer and director, whom we had, perform on May 6, this show was offered to francophone and Francophile Americans because it was subtitled in English. We are trying to broaden our audience a bit by offering this kind of show. We met with Éric-Emmanuel Schmitt in Avignon two years ago to complete this project, that of producing on the boards of the Raymond Kabbaz Theater, the play Monsieur Ibrahim and the Flowers of the Koran, which was acted out by the author Schmitt himself.

This article was translated in English by John Wilmot.


About the Author

was born in the royal city of Versailles, France and have lived in the United States since 1996. After earning a Bachelor's degree in History from the University of California Berkeley and studying for a Master program in education at the University of Southern California, she went on to teach French to aspiring UNLV and CSN students in Nevada. When she is not teaching, she is writing, interviewing people in a wide range of circumstances, pitching story ideas to writers and editors, taking pictures, traveling, painting or trying delicious foods.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


CAPTCHA Image
Reload Image
Back to Top ↑