Interviews

Published on août 14th, 2015 | by Isabelle Karamooz, Founder of FQM

0

Interview de Sami Saula, un acrobate au Cirque du Soleil et musicien à Las Vegas

Crédits de l’interview
Editeur de l’interview: Isabelle Karamooz
Intervieweur: Isabelle Karamooz
Rédacteurs: Isabelle Karamooz
Transcription & vidéo: Pascale Nard

I.K. : Bonjour Sami

S.S.: Bonjour

I.K. : Quel est votre métier ?

S.S. : Je suis acrobate, musicien sur un spectacle du Cirque du Soleil depuis plus de dix ans. Je fais des acrobaties, je suis aussi guitariste, je joue d’autres instruments sur le spectacle.

I.K. : Etes-vous issu d’une famille d’artistes ?

S.S. : Mes parents jouent beaucoup de musique, mon père est guitariste, ma mère pianiste. Ils m’ont élevé avec beaucoup de musique. Mon père fait aussi de la peinture, c’est ce côté artiste très inspirant. J’ai grandi comme ça, je me suis mis à la musique très tôt ; à six sept ans j’ai commencé les percussions à l’école de musique. Ca m’a permis de découvrir le monde musical de l’intérieur. J’ai grandi là-dedans très jeune.

I.K. : Vous avez étudié la musique en France pendant une dizaine d’années, comment êtes-vous passé des percussions à la guitare manouche tout en jouent de la Earth Harp ?

S.S. : Mon père jouait de la guitare, donc il m’a appris les bases de la guitare, avec les accords, j’ai chanté et joué de la guitare. En 2008, je suis allé à un festival de Jazz en Californie et j’ai découvert le Jazz manouche là-bas, ce qui est « fou » en tant que Français c’est de découvrir aux Etats-Unis le jazz manouche. J’ai découvert le hot club de San Francisco à l’époque qui jouait. J’ai été bluffé, je les ai vu jouer, c’était comme magique pour moi j’ai fait : « Whooo ». Après, je suis rentré, j’ai fait mes recherches, j’ai découvert Django Reinhadt et tous les gens qui jouent aujourd’hui encore.
Ça a été un déclic pour moi, je me suis mis à fond dedans. J’ai beaucoup aimé ; Ce côté challenge, on ne peut pas le jouer directement, il y a un apprentissage pour apprécier de le jouer. Le challenge est important pour moi.

I.K. : Et vous jouez également de la Earth Harp ?

S.S. : Oui, la Earth harp c’est une harpe sur le spectacle KA au MGM, spectacle qui a été fait exprès pour le show j’y joue là-bas tous les soirs en pré-show donc juste avant que le spectacle commence,
Les gens achètent leurs boissons, des choses à boire et ils nous voient en train de jouer.
C’est vrai que j’ai joué pendant des années tous les jours, j’ai trouvé mes petites astuces pour jouer un peu tout, donc on joue vraiment de tout sorte d’instruments, c’est un instrument assez fabuleux.

I.K. : De combien d’instrument jouez-vous ? Parlez-moi du Hand Drum que vous avez sur les genoux, de quelle origine est cet Instrument ?

S.S. : Celui-là vient d’Allemagne. Je l’ai acheté en 2008, il y a déjà bien longtemps, le modèle est le Caisa les modèles originaux sont des Hand Drums, ici ils appellent ça des Hand pads c’est un Steal Drum qui est à l’envers. On joue avec les mains. Pour moi qui ai grandi avec les percutions, le touché est très important, les congas etc… J’ai « tilté » tout de suite en voyant cet instrument à l’époque, je suis tombé amoureux de l’instrument. J’ai réussi à m’en procurer un à l’époque, j’étais très content, puis il est resté un peu sur le côté. J’ai travaillé beaucoup ma guitare, j’ai travaillé d’autres instruments pour moi évolué musicalement, m’épanouir. Il y a quelques années je l’ai ressorti pour créer des choses que j’avais en tête. Je touche à pas mal d’instruments mais mon instrument principal c’est la guitare, je joue un peu de piano, je fais un peu de clarinette, quelques instruments comme ça, principalement les percussions et la guitare, je me sens vraiment à l’aise dans le langage musical.

I.K. : Est-ce que vous faites des concerts de Hand Drum ?

S.S. : Pas encore des concerts, j’ai joué quelques fois oui, le travail au cirque prend beaucoup de temps et la vie familiale aussi, on a une vie à côté. C’est pour ça que j’avais besoin de sortir quelque chose de musical donc mon album qui est sorti « AWAKEN. » J’avais besoin de sortir quelque chose de cet instrument et de mes influences musicales. J’ai joué quelques fois à certains endroits, mais ce n’est pas quelque chose de régulier encore, on verra dans le temps.

I.K. : En 2001, vous avez voulu rendre hommage à tous les gens morts à la suite de la tragédie du onze septembre en composant « Le chant des oiseaux ».

S.S. : Ce n’est pas moi qui l’ai composé. Laurent Pimentesi qui est l’un des Yamakasis, l’un des frondeurs de la pratique avait écrit ce texte magnifique à l’époque. C’était à la suite du onze septembre ; il a vécu des semaines ici. Moi, j’étais entraîné par lui avec d’autres amis de mon âge, on a découvert ce texte, on a mis de la musique dessus, on en a fait une chanson, « Le chant des oiseaux. » Un texte qui touchait beaucoup de monde et qui est encore actuel même s’il y a quinze ans qu’il a été écrit, le texte peut traverser le temps, c’est un message de paix et d’amour.

I.K. : Quel a été votre parcours avant d’intégrer le cirque du soleil ?

S.S. : Avant le cirque du soleil comme je l’ai dit, j’ai joué de la percussion, l’école de musique, pas mal de sport aussi en club, j’ai fait un peu de basket, du Hockey sur glace, ce qui n’a rien à voir avec l’acrobatie. J’ai découvert l’art du déplacement à Evry. J’ai grandi à Evry. Les Yamakasi étaient basés à Evry, j’ai découvert ça là-bas par Yann Hnautra qui est aussi un des fondateurs de la discipline qui nous a pris sous son aile. Il nous a entraîné pour nous pousser à grandir là-dedans et à grandir en tant qu’humain. Il y a beaucoup de valeurs, qu’il introduit en plus de la pratique elle-même qui sont très importantes ; on a fait ça, (je dis on parce que moi et mes amis d’Evry qui étions ensemble à l’époque) avons passé un casting pour le Cirque du Soleil qui cherchait des gens pour un spectacle, on a été pris pour un nouveau spectacle à l’époque c’était en 2003 et l’aventure à commencer comme ça.

I.K. : Comment avez-vous été recruté par le Cirque du Soleil ?

S.S. : Ils cherchaient du monde pour le spectacle, à l’époque les Yamakasis étaient sur un tournage sur un film, Yann nous a appelé il nous a dit « écoutez, il y a un casting. Le cirque cherche des gens donc on va vous proposer est-ce que ça vous tente ? » On était très jeune, a dit on va essayer on verra ce que ça donne. Une des personnes du casting est venue à Evry, on avait nos dossards, nos numéros et on a traversé tout Evry à faire nos sauts, nos acrobaties qu’on faisait à l’entraînement.

Le lendemain on a fait une autre journée qui était beaucoup plus… Comment dire ? C’est dans un « gym » (gymnase), on a grimpé à une corde, on a chanté, on a fait des exercices plus poussés c’était un casting plus traditionnel en terme de jour de casting, quelques mois après ils nous ont recontacté en nous disant : « Ecoutez, on a besoin de vous pour ça, etc… » C’est parti ! Ça c’est fait ! (Sourire).

I.K. : Vous sentez vous plus chanteur ou acrobate ?

S.S. : Je ne suis pas chanteur, musicien oui. Ecoutez ! Un peu des deux, parce que le côté acrobate il ouvre le visage, la pensée (pardon) à réfléchir à d’autres façons de réfléchir à ce qui se passe, spécialement dans l’art du déplacement on voit plus les choses de la même façon, on regarde un endroit, on veut sauter d’un endroit à l’autre etc… On essaie de ne plus passer par les mêmes que tout le monde. Musicien aussi beaucoup parce que j’ai grandi là-dedans.

I.K. : Vous ne chantez pas un petit peu ?

S.S. : Non, sous ma douche comme tout le monde (rires) un petit peu mais pas assez pour moi me sentir à l’aise et écrire quelque chose ou je chanterais dessus. Qui sait, peut-être que ça arrivera un jour mais pour l’instant, je me suis tourné sur (vers) la musique et comment l’écouter ; j’adore beaucoup écouter de la musique comme si c’était des paroles, y mettre ses propres mots, ces émotions à travers ce qu’on écoute c’est pas forcément qu’on nous dise : « I met her, I fell in love… » de raconter ce qui se passe, les gens le ressente, au final chacun ressent des choses différentes suivant ce qu’il entendent et ce qu’ils ont vécu dans leur vie, c’est ce côté-là que j’aime rechercher dans l’écriture de la musique.

I.K. : Aviez-vous déjà une formation d’acrobate ?

S.S. : Je suis rentré dans le Cirque avec l’art du déplacement, c’est ça qu’ils recherchaient, c’était le profile dont ils avaient besoin pour le spectacle, après quand je suis arrivé dans le Cirque j’ai appris évidement les bases du Cirque les choses comme ça sur place, on a eu des classes ou on nous a inculqué tout ça, après dix ans c’est vrai que l’on est imprégné de tout ça mais, à l’origine c’est l’art du déplacement qui était mon moteur dans ma façon de m’exprimer. Y a beaucoup de gymnastes qui entrent là-dedans (au Cirque) moi je n’avais pas fait de gym. J’apprenais à l’extérieur, à travers l’art du déplacement.

I.K. : Sur scène, on vous demande d’être à la fois, acrobate, musicien, comédien, c’est un métier très physique, parfois il y a des accidents, avez-vous peur parfois ?

S.S. : Oui, mais la peur est un moteur, ce n’est pas nouveau mais c’est un moteur de ce qu’on fait. Il faut avoir peur pour se surpasser et aller de l’avant, si on n’a pas peur c’est là où s’est dangereux. La peur reste là, mais c’est le contrôle de la situation qui fait qu’on est à l’aise ou pas, se faire confiance c’est très important et se remettre en question peu importe ce qui se passe c’est ça, après…
Je me suis blessé au genou dès la première année quand je suis arrivé au Cirque. Ca a été un grand tournant pour moi dans ma vie à me remettre en question. Est-ce que c’est vraiment ça que je veux faire etc….
Ça m’a ouvert les yeux sur beaucoup de choses, comment voir la vie, la vie à travers mon corps et voir les choses de la vie. C’est quelque chose auquel on fait toujours attention. On est jamais à l’abri d’un accident dans ce métier. On le fait tous les soirs, deux fois par soir, une fois par semaine, c’est une grosse demande physique et mentale, il ne faut surtout pas tomber dans la routine, c’est là où ça devient dangereux. On ne fait plus attention. C’est un métier ! On apprend des choses tous les jours, il faut être sur ses gardes. Après on ne retient que le plaisir de ce qui s’est passé.

I.K. : Décrivez-nous une journée de travail au Cirque du Soleil, combien d’heures d’entraînement ?

S.S. : Ça dépend, il y a des jours où ça peut être assez tôt, on a des journée où on doit arriver à deux ou trois heures de l’après-midi, c’est pas tôt mais considérant qu’on finit à minuit le soir, on a des entraînement là-bas selon les actes, après il y a des entraînement physiques pour maintenir le physique pour pouvoir faire le spectacle, après il y a les entraînements personnels, moi je travaille des choses là-bas avant que le spectacle commence. Il y a le maquillage, il y a le show qui commence. C’est un tout. On peut commencer à deux heures de l’après-midi, je rentre à la maison il est minuit, minuit et quart. Ça ne fait pas forcément des longues journées parce qu’on fait beaucoup de choses et ça reste un plaisir d’être sur scène, les gens qui sont là pour vous voir, vous applaudissent, c’est un environnement très très particulier, c’est ça le métier, les journées que je peux avoir.

I.K. : Pouvez-vous nous parlé d’Ilan votre petit garçon de quatre ans qui souffre d’une maladie très rare ? Vous sortez actuellement un CD « AWAKEN » qui servira à financer les soins hospitaliers…

S.S. : Ilan est né en 2011 et puis il est tombé malade après ses six mois, on ne savait pas pourquoi. En raccourcissant un petit l’histoire, il a une maladie du système immunitaire qu’on ne connait pas, il a la maladie de cœliaque une intolérance au gluten qui lui détruit l’estomac, il ne peut donc plus avoir de nourriture à base de gluten, il a plusieurs autres intolérances comme le lactose etc…
Le pourquoi il est malade, pour le moment on ne sait toujours pas, il est traité tous les mois dans une clinique qui l’aide à paraître normal, se sentir normal et grandir. Un jour il faudra éventuellement qu’on décide d’arrêter pour voir ce qui se passe pour remettre en question son état de santé, pour l’instant il est stable, ils veulent le faire grandir.
Pourquoi il est relié à l’album ? J’ai écrit l’album quand il était malade, c’était quelque chose que j’avais besoin d’exprimer à ce moment-là, je suis introverti donc je ne m’exprime pas forcément avec les mots, pas toujours en tout cas. Du coup j’avais besoin de l’exprimer à travers la musique, l’album est sorti ; à chaque étape de l’album, il se passait quelque chose avec Ilan aussi, il était à l’hôpital, il y avait des choses qui se passaient en même temps, la vie de famille était dure à gérer. Toute la vie était dure, en même temps ça s’est produit, c’est pour ça qu’on l’associe autant l’un à l’autre.
Les ventes de cet album nous aideront pour tout ce qui concerne les soins.

I.K. : Où peut-on acheter ce CD ?

S.S. : Le CD, on peut l’acheter sur www.samisaula.com, pour les résidents de Las Vegas au Sambalatte, au Boca Park ou bien à Tivoli village les gens peuvent acheter directement dans le magasin.

I.K. : Alors, on s’intéresse un peu à cet instrument maintenant qui est le du Hand Drum, est-ce que vous pourriez nous en jouer un morceau avant la fin de l’interview ?

S.S. : Bien sûr.

I.K. : Merci Sami Saula pour nous avoir fait écouter ce magnifique morceau, merci pour avoir répondu à nos questions.

S.S. : Merci à vous.


About the Author

was born in the royal city of Versailles, France and have lived in the United States since 1996. After earning a Bachelor's degree in History from the University of California Berkeley and studying for a Master program in education at the University of Southern California, she went on to teach French to aspiring UNLV and CSN students in Nevada. When she is not teaching, she is writing, interviewing people in a wide range of circumstances, pitching story ideas to writers and editors, taking pictures, traveling, painting or trying delicious foods.



Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *


CAPTCHA Image
Reload Image
Back to Top ↑

Interviews

Published on August 14th, 2015 | by Isabelle Karamooz, Founder of FQM

0

Interview with Sami Saula, an acrobat at the Cirque du Soleil and musician in Las Vegas

Credits of  the interview
Editor of the interview: Isabelle Karamooz
Interviewer: Isabelle Karamooz
Editor: Isabelle Karamooz
Transcription & video: Pascale Nard

I.K. : Hello Sami.

S.S. : Hello.

I.K. : What is your job?

S.S. : I am an acrobat, a musician with a Cirque du Soleil for over ten years now. I do acrobatics. I’m also a guitarist. I play other instruments on the show.

I.K. : Are you from a family of artists?

S.S. : My parents play a lot of music. My father is a guitarist, my mother is a pianist. They raised me surrounded by lots of music. My father also painted, he has a very inspiring artistic side. Growing up like that, I began playing music very early; at six or seven years I started drumming at the music school. There, I discovered the world of music from the inside. I grew up in it very young.

I.K. : You studied music in France for ten years, how did you go from percussion to the gypsy guitar while playing the Earth Harp?

S.S. : My father played guitar so he taught me the basics of the guitar, with chords, and I sang and played guitar. In 2008, I went to a jazz festival in California and there I discovered jazz manouche. What’s “crazy” as a French person is to discover the gypsy jazz of the United States. I discovered The Hot Club of San Francisco and there it was playing at the time. I was amazed. I saw them playing, and it was like magic for me. I exclaimed, “Wooo!” After I returned, I did some research and I discovered Django Reinhadt and all the people who play today. It was a trigger for me. I fully put myself into it. I loved it, though the gypsy guitar was challenging; the challenge is important to me.

I.K. : And, you also play the earth harp?

S.S. : Yes, the earth harp is a harp in the Ka show at MGM. It was made expressly for the show. I play the pre-show each night just before the show begins.
People buy their drinks, and they listen to us playing.

I.K. : How many instruments do you play? Tell me about the hand drum you have on your knees. Where does this instrument come from?

S.S. : This one, I just bought it in Germany in 2008. It’s a Caisa model. The original model is the Hand Drum, here they call it the Hand Pad. It is a steel drum, which is held upside down and played with the hands. For me, having grown up with percussion, right after seeing this instrument I fell in love with it. I managed to get one at the time. I was happy, then played a little on the side. I worked a lot on my guitar. I worked with other instruments, evolving musically and developing myself. Some years ago I began to create the things that I had in my mind. I play a lot of instruments but my main instrument is the guitar. I play a little piano, I do a little clarinet, some instruments like that, mainly percussion and guitar. I feel really comfortable speaking the musical language.

I.K. : Did you perform Hand Drum concerts ?

S.S. : No concerts, though I played a few times. Yes, circus work is time consuming and family life also, we have a life outside. That’s why I needed to make something, so my album that came out is called “AWAKEN.” I’ve played a few times in some venues, but it’s not something regular yet. We’ll see in time.

I.K. : In 2001, you wanted to pay tribute to all the dead people in the wake of the tragedy of September 11 by calling “Birdsong.”

S.S. : I’m not the one who composed it. Laurent Pimentesi, who is one of Yamakasis, one of founders of the practice, had written this beautiful text at the time. Following September 11 he lived here for a few weeks. We discovered that text, we put music on, and we made “Birdsong.” It’s a text that has touched many people and that is still present although it’s been fifteen years since it was written. The words can travel through time; it is a message of peace and love.

I.K. : What was your background before joining Cirque du Soleil?

S.S. : Before the Cirque du Soleil as I said, I played percussion at the music school, played club sports, played a little basketball and ice hockey, though this has nothing to do with acrobatics. I discovered the art of movement in Evry. I grew up in Evry. The Yamakasi was based in Evry. Yann Hnautra, who is also a founder of the discipline, took us under his wing. He led us, pushed us to grow as humans. There were many important values he introduced us to, in addition to the practice itself. We (I say we because I was with friends at the time) had a casting for the Cirque du Soleil. They were looking for people for a show. We were taken for a new show. This was in 2003 and the adventure began like that.

I.K. : How were you recruited by Cirque du Soleil?

S.S. : They were searching all over the world for members for the show. At the time, the Yamakasis were on a film shoot. Yann called us and he told us, “Look, there is a casting call for Cirque. Are you interested?” We were very young, but said we would try and see what happened. One of the casting people came to Evry. We had our outfits and all our numbers. We did our jumps and stunts, just as we did in training.

The next day we had another day which was much… How to say it? It was in a gym. We climbed a rope, we sang, it was more advanced exercises. It was a more traditional try-out in terms of a day of casting. A few months after, they contacted us by saying, “Listen we need you for this, etc…” Here we go! That’s it! (Smile).

I.K. : Do you think you are more of a singer or acrobat?

S.S. : I am not a singer, but a musician, yes. Listen! A bit of both, because the acrobat side opens the mind, thought (pardon) to think about other ways of thinking about what is happening, especially in the art of movement. It sees things the same, yet you are looking at a place to jump from one place to another, etc… It challenges you to go through the motions differently than others. But also, a musician because I grew up in music.

I.K. : Don’t you sing a little bit?

S.S. : No, in my shower like everybody (laughs) a little bit but not enough for me to feel comfortable and write something. Or I will sing it, who knows, maybe it will happen one day. I turn to music because I love listening to music. The lyrics, put in one’s own words, the emotions that come through that listening do not necessarily need to be explicitly said, “I met her, I fell in love…” to convey what happened. People will feel, in the end everyone feels different things according to what they hear and what they have experienced in their life. It’s that side that I like and search for when writing music.

I.K. : Have you had acrobat training?

S.S. : I got into Cirque with the art of movement, that’s what they were looking for was the profile they needed for the show. After I arrived, I learned other things. We had classes or were instilled with lessons. After ten years, it is true that one is impregnated with all that, but originally it was the art of movement that was my engine in my way of expressing myself. There have been a lot of gymnasts who come in there (Cirque), but I had not done gymnastics. I learned on the outside, through the art of movement.

I.K. : On stage, you are asked to be acrobat, musician, actor. This is a very physical job and sometimes there are accidents. Are you sometimes afraid?

S.S. : Yes, but fear is a motivator. It is not new but it is an engine for what we do. We should be afraid to excel and move forward. If we are not afraid, then this is where it gets dangerous. The fear remains there, but to take control of the situation whether we are comfortable or not… To trust is very important and challenging no matter what happens.
I hurt my knee the 1st year when I started at Cirque. That was a big turning point for me in my life to question myself. I asked myself if this is what this is really what I want to do… etc.
It opened my eyes to many things: how to see life, life through my body and view aspects of life. This is something to which we must always pay attention because we are never safe from an accident in this business. We perform every night, twice a night. It is a big physical and mental demand. It is important not to fall into a routine because that’s where it gets dangerous, when you no longer pay attention. It’s a job! You learn things every day, you have to be on guard.

I.K. : Describe for us a typical work day at Cirque du Soleil. How many hours of training do you have?

S.S. : It depends. There are days where it can be quite early. During the daytime, one must arrive at two or three o’clock in the afternoon. It’s not early, but considering that we end at midnight… We must remain in top physical shape to do the show. And then there’s makeup. And the show begins. This is a brand. I can start two o’clock in the afternoon, and I go home at midnight. It doesn’t necessarily make the days unbearably long because we do so many things and it’s a pleasure to be on stage. People are there to see you, applaud you. It is a very very special environment. It is a craft, these days that I have.

I.K. : Can you talk about Ilan, your little four year old boy who suffers from a rare disease? You recently released your CD “AWAKEN” which will finance hospital care…

S.S. : Ilan was born in 2011 and then he became ill at six months. We did not know why, but long story short, he has a diseased immune system. He has celiac gluten intolerance that destroys the stomach. He can no longer have gluten food, and he has several other intolerances as well, like lactose, etc…
On why he’s sick, we still do not know. He goes each month to a clinic that helps him seem normal, feel normal, and grow. One day it may be mandatory, but we decided to stop to see if it affected his health. For now he is stable, but they want to see him grow.
How is he connected to the album? I wrote the album when he was sick, it was something I needed to express that time. I am an introvert, so I do not necessarily express myself with words. I needed to express myself through music, and so, the album was released. At each stage of the album, there was something going on with Ilan, who was in the hospital. There were things that were happening at the same time, and family life was hard to manage. Life was hard for a period, and it coincided with the album.
Sales of this album will help us to take care of everything.

I.K. : Where can we buy the CD?

S.S. : The CD is on www.samisaula.com and for residents of Las Vegas, people can buy it directly in the store at Sambalatte at Boca Park or at Tivoli Village.

I.K. : So let’s see this little instrument the Hand Drum. Could you play a piece to end the interview?

S.S. : Of course.

I.K. : Sami SAULA thank you for allowing us to listen to this beautiful song, and thank you for answering our questions.

S.S. : Thank you.


About the Author

was born in the royal city of Versailles, France and have lived in the United States since 1996. After earning a Bachelor’s degree in History from the University of California Berkeley and studying for a Master program in education at the University of Southern California, she went on to teach French to aspiring UNLV and CSN students in Nevada. When she is not teaching, she is writing, interviewing people in a wide range of circumstances, pitching story ideas to writers and editors, taking pictures, traveling, painting or trying delicious foods.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to Top ↑