Art & Culture

Published on novembre 1st, 2015 | by Lucie Pierron

0

Le festival “off” d’Avignon

IMG_0142

Photo par Lucie Pierron.

Le Festival d’Avignon 2015 s’est tenu du 4 au 26 juillet, dans cette ancienne « cité des papes » du centre de la France, qui donne sur le Rhône. Le Festival d’Avignon se décline en deux festivals à part entière. L’officiel, appelé le « in », présente 6 spectacles dans des lieux magiques et emblématiques comme la Cour d’honneur du Palais des Papes, le cloître des Célestins ou la Chapelle des Pénitents Blancs.

L’officieux, dit le « off » prend lui sa place dans toute la ville et dans les villages alentours. Je me suis rendue à Avignon une semaine en juillet et n’ai eu l’occasion d’assister qu’au « off ». Mon article portera donc uniquement sur cette manifestation compte tenu de mon expérience.

Les rues d’Avignon pendant le festival sont en pleine effervescence. On ne peut faire deux pas dans la ville sans être sensibilisé à un spectacle, dans un des nombreux lieux d’Avignon à un horaire précis, tous les jours de la semaine, sans relâche. Le Festival d’Avignon a ainsi bien défini son slogan de « Plus grand théâtre du Monde ». En effet, tous les jours des quantités incroyables de spectacles qui ont lieu dans le cadre de cette manifestation. Cette folie créative n’aide pas le visiteur à faire son choix entre les multiples opportunités qui lui sont proposées. Deux moyens s’offrent alors à lui : consulter la brochure exhaustive de 400 pages, mais de fait quelque peu indigeste. Cette véritable encyclopédie référence tous les spectacles qui s’y déroulent, en faisant paraître pour chacun la distribution, un court synopsis et une photo de l’affiche que l’on voit placardée sur tous les murs de la ville. Mais le visiteur peut choisir un moyen vieux comme le monde, c’est le bouche à oreille très efficace. Ce procédé fait partie intégrante d’Avignon. C’est en prenant un verre avec des amis, ou uniquement en sortant d’une pièce de théâtre qu’on a écho d’un pièce amusante, émouvante, qui laisse le spectateur sur sa faim ou qu’au contraire, ne fait pas l’unanimité, et par conséquent intrigue.

J’ai fait l’expérience de cette frénésie du bouche à oreille. C’est en sortant de la pièce Léo de Tobias Wegner, au Théâtre des Béliers, que des jeunes gens m’ont flyé pour la pièce Un Poyo Rojo, de Hermes Gaido, Luciano Rosso, Alfonso Baron et Nicolas Poggi qui met en scène deux danseurs brésiliens dans le vestiaire d’une salle de Sport.

IMG_0120

Photo par Lucie Pierron.

Ainsi, en cinq jours passés à Avignon j’ai eu l’occasion de voir 11 spectacles dans 8 lieux différents. Les représentations que j’ai vues appartenaient à des genres différents. Knee Deep était un spectacle de cirque monté par la compagnie australienne Casus Circus, quand Le Parfum des Sons, de Khalid K, était un One Man Show animé par un homme qui faisait des bruitages des plus impressionnants. Inspirés de thèmes historiques, comme la Grande Saga de la Francafrique, de Jérôme Colloud, littéraires, comme Les Cavaliers, adaptation du roman de Joseph Kessel, ou autobiographique comme Les Chatouilles d’Andréa Bescond qui traite de son enfance traumatisée par des agressions pédophiles. Cette grande diversité dans les thèmes permet de satisfaire un public le plus large possible où tout le monde peut y trouver son compte.

Mais la Grande Force d’Avignon, c’est aussi de constituer une véritable plateforme, un tremplin pour les compagnies de théâtre qui se lancent et qui n’auraient pas encore la renommée nécessaire pour jouer dans les grandes salles parisiennes. De nombreux spectacles qui étaient à Avignon seront à l’affiche de théâtres parisiens dés la rentrée de septembre pour les plus chanceux ou pour la plupart, dés janvier 2016. Les Chatouilles par exemple, après avoir gagné le prix de l’interprétation féminine d’Avignon CritiqueOff et d’avoir été sacrée Coup de coeur OFF 2014, se jouera au Théâtre du petit Montparnasse en Janvier 2016.

J’ai eu aussi l’occasion d’assister à deux conférences qui traitaient du « off » suivant deux approches différentes.

IMG_0160

Photo par Lucie Pierron.

La première conférence réunissait les principaux directeurs de théâtre du « off ». Chacun expliquaient les difficultés de la programmation : être visionnaire et croire au potentiel de compagnies naissantes en minimisant au maximum la prise de risque. Les participants évoquaient également la disparité dans les spectacles proposés avec une forte augmentation des one man show au grand désespoir des défenseurs des formes de théâtre traditionnelles.

La seconde conférence faisait se rencontrer Greg Germain, Président d’Avignon Festival & Compagnies et Karine Berger Députée des Hautes Alpes. Le sujet du débat essayait de mettre en regard la création théâtrale et la création numérique. Les deux participants essayaient de comprendre l’écart entre les deux et de penser à des solutions pour rapprocher ces deux arts.

Assister à des conférences comme celles que je viens d’évoquer m’a beaucoup plu. Cette réflexion perpétuelle sur la forme du festival, sur les nouveaux genres qui y sont désormais inclus prouve à quel point Avignon est un festival en reconversion perpétuelle et qui essaie de s’adapter continuellement au nouveau théâtre d’aujourd’hui.

Je ne peux donc que vous encourager à suivre de prês les programmations d’Avignon que vous viviez à Paris ou en Province, venez tenter l’expérience avignonnaise, ça vaut vraiment le détour.

Photo d’entête: Avignon-et-Provence.com


About the Author

Etudiante en sociologie et en sciences politiques à l'Université Paris Dauphine, Lucie baigne dans le monde culturel et particulièrement dans la musique. Pianiste, ouvreuse à la Philharmonie de Paris, elle désire s'orienter vers la production dans la musique classique, à terme. Voyageuse dans l'âme, Lucie a mené dernièrement une enquête de terrain de trois mois sur l'implantation des nouvelles Philharmonies polonaises (dans 15 villes différentes). Démocratiser la culture et la faire venir dans les milieux les plus défavorisés est une des missions qui lui tiennent le plus à cœur, justifiant son engagement au GENEPI, association favorisant l'intervention en prison.



Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *


CAPTCHA Image
Reload Image
Back to Top ↑

Art & Culture

Published on November 1st, 2015 | by Lucie Pierron

0

The “off” Festival of Avignon

IMG_0142

Photo by Lucie Pierron.

The 2015 Avignon Festival was held from July 4 to 26 in this former “City of Popes” in the center of France, overlooking the Rhône river. The Avignon Festival is presented as two festivals in their own right. The official festival, called the “In,” consists of 6 shows in magical and emblematic places such as the courtyard of the Palace of the Popes, the Celestine cloister or the White Penitents Chapel.

The unofficial festival, known as the “Off,” takes place all over the city and in the surrounding villages. I went to Avignon for a week in July and had the opportunity to visit only the “Off” festival. My article will therefore focus only on this event in light of my experience.

The streets of Avignon during the festival are in full swing. One cannot take two steps in any direction in the city without discovering a show in one of the many places of Avignon, as the shows adhere to a precise schedule, every day of the week, non-stop. The Avignon Festival has defined its slogan of “World’s Largest Theater.” Indeed, every day there are in 2,400 shows taking place in the framework of this event. This creative madness does not help the visitors to make a choice between the many opportunities offered to them. Two means are available to help you decide: consult the complete brochure, which is 400 pages, and somewhat dense. This encyclopedia references all the shows held there, by publishing for each show the distribution, a short synopsis and a photograph of the poster that you see plastered all over the walls of the city. But visitors can also go back to an age-old, extremely effective method: word of mouth. This process is part of Avignon. It is when we have a drink with friends, or just walking out of a play, that we hear rumors of a play that makes you laugh, cry, leaves the viewer on the edge of their seat, or to the contrary, is not everyone’s cup of tea.

I experienced this frenzied word of mouth. I was coming out of the Leo Tobias Wegner play, at the Rams Theater, when some young people gave me flyers for the show “A Poyo Rojo,” by Hermes Gaido, Luciano Rosso, Alfonso Baron and Nicolas Poggi, which features two Brazilian dancers in the locker room of a sports hall.

IMG_0120

Photo by Lucie Pierron.

Thus, in five days in Avignon I had the opportunity to see 11 performances in 8 different locations. The performances I saw belonged to different genres. “Knee Deep” was a circus show put on by the Australian company Casus Circus when “The Scent of Sounds,” by Khalid K, was a bustling One Man Show by a man who made the most impressive sound effects. Inspired by historical themes, like “The Great Saga of French Africa,” by Jerome Colloud, literary themes, like “The Cavaliers,” an adaptation of the novel by Joseph Kessel, or as autobiographical themes like “The Tickling” by Andrea Bescond, which deals with a childhood traumatized by a pedophile’s assault. This great diversity in the themes can satisfy the widest possible audience where everyone can find his niche.

But the Great Force of Avignon is also to provide a real platform, a springboard for embarking theater companies and do not yet have the necessary reputation to play in the major Parisian theaters. Many shows that were in Avignon will be on display in Parisian theaters beginning in September for the luckiest, or for most, beginning in January 2016. “The Tickling” for example, after winning the Best Actress award from Avignon Critique Off and having been crowned OFF Favorite 2014 will be performed at the Théâtre Montparnasse in January 2016.

I also had the opportunity to attend two conferences that dealt with the “Off” following two different approaches.

IMG_0160

Photo by Lucie Pierron.

The first conference gathered major theater directors of “Off.” Each explained the programming difficulties: to be a visionary and believe in the potential of emerging companies, while trying to minimize risk as much as possible. Participants also brought up the disparity in performances offered with a sharp increase in one-man shows, to the chagrin of the defenders of traditional theater forms.

The second conference was to meet Greg Germain, President of Avignon Festival & Co., and Karine Berger Deputy of the Hautes Alpes. The topic of the debate was looking at theatrical creation and digital creation. Both participants were trying to understand the difference between the two and think of ways to bring these two arts together.

Attending conferences like the ones I just mentioned was very enjoyable. This perpetual reflection on the form of the festival, on new genres that are now included it proves how Avignon is a a constantly evolving festival that tries to continually adapt to the new theater of today.

So I can only encourage you to keep an eye out for signs of Avignon in the Parisian programming if you are in the French capital this year or if you are just a little further away, to try the Avignon experience, which I assure you is worth the trip.

Heading Page Photo : Avignon-et-Provence.com


About the Author

Etudiante en sociologie et en sciences politiques à l'Université Paris Dauphine, Lucie baigne dans le monde culturel et particulièrement dans la musique. Pianiste, ouvreuse à la Philharmonie de Paris, elle désire s'orienter vers la production dans la musique classique, à terme. Voyageuse dans l'âme, Lucie a mené dernièrement une enquête de terrain de trois mois sur l'implantation des nouvelles Philharmonies polonaises (dans 15 villes différentes). Démocratiser la culture et la faire venir dans les milieux les plus défavorisés est une des missions qui lui tiennent le plus à cœur, justifiant son engagement au GENEPI, association favorisant l'intervention en prison.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to Top ↑
  • Welcome

    Welcome to French Quarter Magazine ! This magazine provides a cultural journey filled with beautiful images and fascinating stories written by many dedicated writers.

    Art, History, Culture, Music, Fashion, Gastronomy, Travel and Style all reflect the very essence of our culture, its attitudes and philosophies, its fashions and passions. Our site has many posts for you to choose from in many different categories of interest in English and French. There are entertainment and informative news and reviews as well as interviews.

    French Quarter Magazine is seeking to grow an appreciation for, and to celebrate, the rich and colourful history and heritage of France combined with a vibrant mix of modernity and technology. We want to help expand knowledge of history, culture and all the arts. Our Franco-American initiative to preserve cultural treasures in both countries is crucial. It is clear that if future generations are to know the beauties of landmarks and historic monuments, it is our goal to act now to help. We are looking for transmitting and safeguarding the skills, knowledge and love of Arts, culture and technology through conferences, transatlantic educational programs and tours for our members and readers.

    France’s past is of huge interest to many exiled French, to all Francophiles and those of French descent who are keen to keep abreast with what is happening in France today.

    Become a Subscriber to French Quarter Magazine by clicking on the sign up button and receive twice monthly newsletter, as well as other special offers from time to time.

    You can like and follow us on Facebook and watch our interviews on our You Tube Channel.

  • Follow us!

  • (Français) Articles récents

  • (Français) Commentaires récents