Art & Culture

Published on décembre 28th, 2017 | by Christopher Cipollini

2

Louise Weber : La Goulue de Paris

Louise Weber, mieux connue sous le nom de « La Goulue. » Photo by Google.

Louise Weber, mieux connue sous le nom de « La Goulue », était une célèbre danseuse de cabaret du fameux Moulin Rouge. Sa vie fut aussi paillarde et éclatante que le fameux cabaret où elle acquit cette notoriété. Immortalisée par l’iconique illustrateur Toulouse-Lautrec, elle était connue pour ses hauts coups de pied, son penchant pour la boisson et ses danses sur table. Weber personnifia la joie de vivre et la splendeur de la vie nocturne de Paris du début de siècle.

Louise Weber vit le jour le 13 juillet 1866. Elle était née dans une famille de classe moyenne inférieure dans le quartier juif de Paris. Son père était un chauffeur de taxi et sa mère était une blanchisseuse. Louise était de toute évidence, une jeune fille espiègle et imaginative. Elle connut une enfance étouffante et stricte, à laquelle elle voulait échapper. Une de ses habitudes était d’« emprunter » les vêtements de certains des clients les plus aisés de sa mère et de se faufiler dans les bals et les cabarets, où elle tentait de côtoyer et de se mêler aux glamoureux échelons supérieurs de la société. Admirant les danseurs sur la scène, elle rêvait d’être un jour tout aussi splendide et de devenir elle-même une célèbre artiste de cabaret.

La vie à la maison était insupportable pour Louise. Sa mère la battait quand elle apprenait les exploits de sa fille. Ne pouvant accepter sa situation personnelle profondément insatisfaisante, sa famille sévère et son rang social inferieur, Weber décida de devenir une danseuse et se forma auprès de vétérans comme Grille d’Egout et Céleste Mogador.

Henri de Toulouse Lautrec – La Goulue, 1891, lithographie. Photo de Si l’art était conté.

Louise passa dans une série de clubs et cabarets. Grace à sa personnalité magnétique et son style impertinent, elle laissa une marque indélébile dans chaque salle. Sa signature de style caractéristique était sa chevelure orangée, montée en chignon juste au-dessus de sa frange. Elle marquait sa clientèle en faisant tomber les hauts-de-forme des messieurs d’un haut coup de pied avant de leur montrer le cœur brodé sur son derrière.

Irrévérencieuse et ostentatoire, Weber sut attirer l’attention et en profiter à chaque instant. Ce qui lui valut son surnom de « La Goulue », puisque c’était son habitude de s’emparer des boissons de ses clients à peine posées sur la table. La forte personnalité et présence dominante de Weber ne la rendirent pas toujours populaire avec les clients de la plus haute société ou avec des collègues artistes, bien qu’elle ne fût pas du genre à renoncer à une bagarre. Louise obtint finalement une place au sein de la destination phare de la vie nocturne à Paris-le Moulin Rouge. Situé près de Pigalle, sur le Boulevard de Clichy, il était le lieu de naissance du cancan, également connu alors sous le nom de grande quadrille et possédait déjà une impressionnante brochette d’artistes et interprètes tels que Jane Avril, la danseuse et chanteuse filiforme, Yvette Guilbert, l’actrice aux longs gants de dentelle, Cadieux, le comédien rondelet et l’espiègle groupe de danseuses de cancan.

Henri de Toulouse Lautrec – Bal au Moulin Rouge, 1890, Philadelphie, Museum of Art. Photo de Si l’art était conté.

Cependant, le plus célèbre client des lieux n’était pas un artiste de scène. L’artiste Toulouse Lautrec était un habitué du Club et se lia rapidement d’amitié avec Weber. Il aimait son style follement irrévérencieux et ses propos osés. La notoriété de Weber au club prit enfin son envol lorsque Lautrec reçut la commande d’une affiche la montrant effectuant son fameux coup de pied au milieu de plusieurs danseurs et spectateurs bien habillés. Au premier plan se trouve Valentin le Désossé-surnomme ainsi en raison de son extrême souplesse. L’image a perduré et est devenue non seulement la plus emblématique de La Goulue, mais aussi de la carrière de Lautrec.

Louise devint la coqueluche de la ville et fut éventuellement baptisée « Reine de Montmartre », gagnant plus que tout autre artiste de son temps. La fille de la lingère devint synonyme de la vie nocturne de Paris et du cancan.

Finalement, Louise se maria et eu un fils qu’elle nomma Simon.

Cependant, la célébrité s’accompagna d’un ego démesure, et Weber, se sentant prête à poursuivre des occupations plus ambitieuses, décida de se lancer seule et de former sa propre troupe de danse, dans le cadre d’une fête foraine itinérante. Malheureusement, l’entreprise fut un échec cuisant, étant donne que Weber n’avait peu ou pas le sens des affaires. En dehors du Moulin Rouge, Weber ne semblait pas trouver de cadre pour son style de performance si particulier. Les fans semblaient penser de même et le spectacle itinérant se tarit.

Henri de Toulouse Lautrec – La Goulue arrivant au Moulin Rouge avec deux femmes, 1892, New York, The Museum of Modern Art. Photo de Si l’art était conté.

Pendant un temps, Weber essaya de se produire en tant que dompteuse de lions mais échoua de nouveau lamentablement. En plus de tout cela, elle perdit son fils suite à une maladie. Weber se tourna vers son vice favori, la bouteille tomba dans l’alcoolisme et une dépression profonde. En seulement quelques années elle était passe de la plus célèbre danseuse de France à une méconnaissable oubliée vivant en périphérie, vendant des cigarettes et des cacahuètes devant les cabarets.

Démunie et perdue dans l’alcoolisme, Louise Weber meurt dans l’anonymat en 1929.

L’histoire de cette Reine du cancan français et icône accidentelle de l’illustration du début de siècle pourrait constituer un récit édifiant sur le vice ou la nature fragile de la célébrité. Cependant, l’histoire de La Goulue n’est pas une tragédie. Louise Weber a vécu sa vie avec zèle et zeste, sans excuses, et maintenant, près d’un siècle après sa mort, elle a réussi quelque chose dont elle aurait pu rêver en farfouillant parmi les parures empruntées dans une blanchisserie. Au travers des yeux et de la palette d’un artiste et du passage du temps, par l’intermédiaire de la danse – La Goulue a obtenu l’immortalité – et cela mérite certainement un coup de pied en l’air!

Cet article a été traduit en français par Sandrine Sweeney.

 


About the Author

was born in the United States but his heart belongs in the culture of Paris. His passion was born through self taught study of artists from Degas to Lautrec and writers as Genet and Rimbaud. His great love of French culture are symbolism poetry and, French cinema and history. He is a two time author and has written for several American publication as "The Desert Observer," Downtown Zen" and published two prose books: "The Musings" and "A Secret Kingdom". He lives in Las Vegas.



2 Responses to Louise Weber : La Goulue de Paris

  1. Kimberly Thatcher says:

    Really enjoyed the article about Louise Weber…beautifully written, it really drew me into her life and that time…I felt as if I was watching a movie playing out in front of me. How amazing it would’ve been to be there!

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *


CAPTCHA Image
Reload Image
Back to Top ↑

Art & Culture

Published on July 2nd, 2018 | by Christopher Cipollini

2

Louise Weber: The Glutton of Paris

Louise Weber, better known as “La Goulou.” Photo by Google.

Louise Weber, better known as “La Goulou”, was a famed cabaret dancer in the infamous Moulin Rouge. Her life was as bawdy and brassy as the infamous nightspot where she gained notoriety. Immortalized by iconic print maker Toulouse Lautrec, she was known for her high kicks, hard drinking and table dances. Weber personified the joie de vivre and splendor of turn of the century Paris nightlife.

Louise Weber was born on July 13 1866. She was born to a lower middle class family in the Jewish District of Paris. Her father was a cabbie and her mother was a laundress. Louise was by all accounts, a mischievous and imaginative girl. She had a stifling and strict childhood she longed to escape. A habit of hers was to “borrow” clothing of some of her mother’s wealthier patrons and sneak of to dancehalls and nightclubs, where she would attempt to mix and mingle with the glamourous upper echelons of society. Watching the dancers perform on the stage, she dreamed of one day being just as splendid, and becoming a famed cabaret performer herself.

Home life was unbearable for Louise. Her mother would beat the girl when she found out about her daughter’s exploits. Unable to deal with her deeply unfulfilling domestic situation, stern family and low rank in society, Weber set out to become a dancer and she trained under such veterans as Grille d’égout and Céleste Mogador.

Henri de Toulouse Lautrec – The Goulue, 1891, lithograph. Photo by Si l’art était conté.

Louise worked through a series of clubs and cabarets. With her magnetic personality and brash performance style, she left an indelible mark on each venue. Her trademark look was her orange coiffed hair, done up just above her headpiece into a bun. She made an impression on her clientele with signature high kicks, kicking off gentleman’s top hats and then flashing the embroidered heart on her backside.

Irreverent and ostentatious, Weber knew how to get attention and relished every bit of it. Earning her nickname “La Goulou” which meant “greedy glutton”, since it was her habit to seize her customer’s drink right off the table. Weber’s over the top personality and large presence did not always make her popular with more high society patrons or with fellow entertainers, though she was never one to back down from a scuffle. Louise finally landed a spot at the premiere destination for nightlife in Paris-the Moulin Rouge. Located near Pigalle on the Boulevard de Clinchy, it was the birth place of the Can-Can, then also known as le Grande Quadrille, and already held an impressive lineup of performers and entertainers such as Jane Avril, the waif like dancer and songstress, Yvette Guilbert, the actress with her long and lacy gloves, Cadieux, the rotund comedian and the frolicsome assembly of Can-Can girls.

Henri de Toulouse Lautrec – Moulin Rouge Ball, 1890, Philadelphia, Museum of Art. Photo by Si l’art était conté.

However, the most famous patron of the venue was not a performer at all. The artist Toulouse Lautrec was a regular at the club and became fast friends with Weber. He enjoyed her freewheeling irreverent style and off-color remarks. Weber’s notoriety at the club eventually caught fire when Lautrec commissioned a print of her performing her famous kick amid several well dressed onlookers and dancers. In the foreground is Valentin le Désossé-also known as “The Boneless”, due to his suppleness in dancing. The image cemented itself, and became not only the most iconic of La Goulue, but of Lautrec’s career.

Louise became the toast of the city and was eventually christened “Queen of Montmartre”, earning more than any other performer of her day. The girl from the laundry eventually became synonymous with Paris nightlife and the Can-Can.

Eventually, Louise married and had a child who she named Simon.

However, with fame came a big ego, and Weber, feeling she was ready for bigger pursuits, decided to strike out on her own and form her own dance troupe, part of a traveling fair. Sadly, the business was a dismal failure, as Weber had little to no business skill. Outside of the Moulin Rouge, Weber didn’t seem to have a home for her special brand of performance. The fans thought so too and the traveling show dried up.

Henri de Toulouse Lautrec – La Goulue arriving at the Moulin Rouge with two women, 1892, New York, The Museum of Modern Art. Photo by Si l’art était conté.

For a time, Weber tried a stint as a lion tamer but that also failed miserably. To make matters worse, she lost her son to illness. Weber turned to her favorite vice, the bottle and fell into alcoholism and deep depression. In only a few years time she had gone from the most celebrated dancer in France to an unrecognizable has been living on the outskirts of the city, selling cigarettes and peanuts at carnivals.

Destitute and lost in alcoholism, Louise Weber died in obscurity in 1929.

The story of this Queen of the French Can-Can and accidental icon of turn of the century poster art could serve as a cautionary tale about vice or the fickle nature of fame. However, the story of La Goulue isn’t a tragedy. Louise Weber lived life with zeal and zest, without apology and now, almost a century after her death, she has achieved something she could have dreamed of rummaging through borrowed finery in a laundry. Through the eyes of an artist’s palette and the passage of time, through the medium of dance-La Goulue, “The Glutton”, has achieved immortality-and that certainly deserves a high kick!

This article was translated in French by Sandrine Sweeney.


About the Author

was born in the United States but his heart belongs in the culture of Paris. His passion was born through self taught study of artists from Degas to Lautrec and writers as Genet and Rimbaud. His great love of French culture are symbolism poetry and, French cinema and history. He is a two time author and has written for several American publication as "The Desert Observer," Downtown Zen" and published two prose books: "The Musings" and "A Secret Kingdom". He lives in Las Vegas.



2 Responses to Louise Weber: The Glutton of Paris

  1. Kimberly Thatcher says:

    Really enjoyed the article about Louise Weber…beautifully written, it really drew me into her life and that time…I felt as if I was watching a movie playing out in front of me. How amazing it would’ve been to be there!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


CAPTCHA Image
Reload Image
Back to Top ↑