Film & Musique

Published on octobre 17th, 2014 | by Quentin Chirol

1

Luc Besson at Hollywood

luc-besson-devrait-plutot-s-occuper-de-ses-image-217183-article-ajust_930

Luc Besson. Photo par Melty.

Luc Besson est sûrement l’un des cinéastes français qui a le mieux réussi de l’autre côté de l’Atlantique. En effet, après quelques films tels “Le Dernier Combat” et “Subway” qui lui ont apporté un succès populaire en France, il décide de viser en priorité le public américain. Il commence par donner des rôles à des actrices comme Rosanna Arquette dans “Le Grand Bleu” en 1988 puis il ne garde qu’un acteur français avec Jean Reno dans “Léon” en 1994. Et ce, jusqu’à son projet en partenariat avec la maison de production de Gaumont : “Le Cinquième Élément”. Ce film de science fiction est réalisé en priorité pour le public américain, résultat sans doute des relations tumultueuses de Luc Besson avec la critique française qui lui reproche son côté publicitaire. Ce long-métrage sorti en 1997 ouvre les portes d’Hollywood au parisien qui s’installe alors à Los Angeles.

taken-poster-big

Le Film “Taken” écrit par Luc Besson. Photo par firstshowing.net.

Dès lors, il multiplie les projets, notamment en tant que producteur grâce à sa boite EuropaCorp. Dans les années 2000, il se consacre à ce nouveau rôle, s’engageant pleinement dans chacune de ses productions, pour lesquelles il signe bien souvent le scénario. Et bien qu’il produise une majorité de films français, son implication dans le cinéma américain ne s’arrête pas pour autant. On le retrouve par exemple derrière le film “Revolver” de Guy Ritchie ou encore à la production de “I Love You Phillip Morris” de Glenn Ficarra et John Requa. De plus, il écrit encore ses scénarios avec le public américain en tête. C’est pourquoi une de ses plus grandes fierté : “Taken” est un des films français qui a fait le plus d’entrées sur le sol américain !

lucy_3003495b

Scarlett Johansson dans le film “Lucy.” Photo par telegraph.co.uk.

Et après son retour à la réalisation en 2005, il n’a cessé de jongler entre sa carrière française et américaine en ayant successivement devant sa caméra Louise Bourgoin, Robert De Niro, Jamel Debbouze et plus récemment Scarlett Johansson. Au final, il aura su marquer chacun de ces mondes, que ce soit avec la création en 2012 de La Cité du Cinéma (des studios immenses voulant concurrencer les plus grands d’Europe). Ou encore par sa société de production qui est de plus en plus reconnue au niveau international ou bien encore par ses films. Son dernier en date, “Lucy” est d’ailleurs sorti d’abord sur le sol américain avant sa sortie française deux semaines plus tard…

How to find remedies online? So it’s no wonder that online pharmacies is becoming more popular over the last years. Few remedies are used to treat impotence. Topics such as “buy sildenafil citrate online” and “sildenafil 50 mg price” are so popular now. This article focuses on the evaluation of erectile malfunction and “sildenafil citrate side effects“. Of all the matters in the field of healthcare that pique our care most, it’s sexual health problem, notably “undefined”. Low self-esteem, venous leak, some diseases, and certain medicines can reduce your sex drive. Stress affects all sides of life including sex drive. People must always ask doctor for occupational advice about Viagra. Keep in mind online pharmacy which is prepared to sell such medicaments like Viagra without a valid prescription is fraudulent. When you get from an unknown company, you run the risk of getting counterfeit drugs.


About the Author

Détenteur d'une Licence de Cinéma et étudiant en journalisme à l'école HEJ de Lyon, Quentin écrit pour Abus de Ciné et Les Narrateurs. Passionné de culture en général et de cinéma en particulier, il aime partager cette passion avec le plus grand nombre.



One Response to Luc Besson at Hollywood

  1. Laure says:

    Bon article. Il me semble également que dans le film Léon, Luc Besson a donnée à Natalie Portman le premier rôle de sa carrière.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *


CAPTCHA Image
Reload Image
Back to Top ↑

Film & Music

Published on October 17th, 2014 | by Quentin Chirol

1

Luc Besson at Hollywood

luc-besson-devrait-plutot-s-occuper-de-ses-image-217183-article-ajust_930

Luc Besson. Photo by Melty.

Luc Besson is probably one of the most successful French filmmakers on the other side of the Atlantic. Indeed, after a few films like “Le dernier combat” and “Subway” that made him a success in France, he decided to target the American public. He began to give movie roles to actresses such as Rosanna Arquette in “The Big Blue” in 1988, then he employed a French actor Jean Reno in “The Professional” in 1994. That is, until his project with the production company Gaumont: “The Fifth Element”. This science fiction movie is directed primarily towards the American public, probably resulting from his tumultuous relationship with French critics who criticized his advertising style. This film, released in 1997, opened the doors of Hollywood to this Parisian who then settled in Los Angeles.

taken-poster-big

The Film “Taken” written by Luc Besson. Photo by firstshowing.net.

He has had many projects, including as a producer through his EuropaCorp company. In the 2000s, he devoted himself to this new role, engaging fully in each production, for which he often had his hand in the scenario. And although he produces mostly French movies, his involvement in American cinema has not stopped either. For example, he was behind the movie “Revolver” by Guy Ritchie and the production of “I Love You Phillip Morris” by Glenn Ficarra and John Requa. In addition, he writes his scripts with the American public in mind. That’s why one of his greatest works: “Taken” is a French film that has been very popular on American soil!

lucy_3003495b

Scarlett Johansson playing in the movie “Lucy.” Photo by telegraph.co.uk.

And after returning to directing in 2005, he has continued to juggle his French and American career by having in front of his camera Louise Bourgoin, Robert De Niro, Jamel Debbouze and more recently Scarlett Johansson. In the end, he will have left his mark in each world whether with the creation in 2012 of La Cité du Cinéma near Paris: huge studios placed to compete with the biggest in Europe. Or by his production company that is increasingly recognized internationally or by his films. His latest, “Lucy” was also released first on American soil before its French release two weeks later…

 


About the Author

Détenteur d'une Licence de Cinéma et étudiant en journalisme à l'école HEJ de Lyon, Quentin écrit pour Abus de Ciné et Les Narrateurs. Passionné de culture en général et de cinéma en particulier, il aime partager cette passion avec le plus grand nombre.



One Response to Luc Besson at Hollywood

  1. Laure says:

    Bon article. Il me semble également que dans le film Léon, Luc Besson a donnée à Natalie Portman le premier rôle de sa carrière.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


CAPTCHA Image
Reload Image
Back to Top ↑