Art & Culture

Published on janvier 13th, 2015 | by Julie Chaizemartin

1

Niki de Saint Phalle, une héroïne Franco-Américaine

pagFZ9ehpZDLa3eHwLaYWw-RbBk

Sculptures. Photo par Manucurist.

La grande exposition de cet automne-hiver parisien est celle consacrée à Niki de Saint Phalle au Grand Palais. Il y a ceux qui en ressortent ravis et puis ceux qui ne veulent pas y aller sous prétexte qu’on connaît déjà tout l’art de Niki, désignant ainsi ses grandes Nanas colorées en papier mâché. Ces derniers ont tort évidemment, car s’ils acceptaient de prendre le temps de parcourir l’exposition parisienne, ils découvriraient bien plus qu’une artiste excentrique, au-delà de la fontaine Stravinsky en face du Centre Pompidou ou du grand Cyclope réalisé avec Jean Tinguely au milieu de la forêt de Milly, petite ville de l’Essonne au sud de Paris. L’art de Niki s’est construit au fil de sa vie comme un affranchissement des règles préétablies, un geste de résistance, un besoin viscéral d’exister à travers des créations grandioses et marquantes. Un art qui sort de ses tripes – on le comprend avec ses séries de « Tirs » à la carabine devant un public, qui font dégouliner les couleurs dans un cadre. Elle vise, le plâtre est atteint, les couleurs en dessous jaillissent puis coulent, comme des larmes de peinture. Niki déstructure, semble se venger de quelque chose et crée ici les premiers happenings du XXe siècle. Une femme qui tire à la carabine 22 long rifle c’est aussi subversif qu’une femme artiste, elle était les deux en même temps. Résolument féministe.

A travers le son de sa voix qui accompagne le visiteur dans le parcours de l’exposition, on écoute et on comprend ses émotions, on entend une femme blessée qui ne vit que pour l’art, une femme qui transforme son art en manifeste du règne d’une société matriarcale matérialisée par ses grandes Nanas dodues et sympathiques et ses Mères dévorantes. Mais avant ça il y avait eu aussi ses séries de Mariées, de Déesses et d’Accouchements. Le corps féminin prend alors toute la place et l’on comprend mieux pourquoi, lorsqu’on visionne le film qu’elle a réalisé, qui s’intitule Daddy, et qui la met en scène tuant son père, celui-là même qui avait abusé d’elle étant jeune fille : « En 1961, j’ai tiré : sur papa, tous les hommes, les petits, les grands, les importants, les gros, mon frère, la société… Je tirais parce que j’étais fascinée de voir le tableau saigner et mourir. A vos marques ! Prêt ! Feu ! ». La jeune fille au joli minois et à la silhouette séduisante qui fit la une de Vogue est devenue une jeune femme, une épouse et une mère et elle ose tout. Elle est acceptée en tant que femme dans le groupe d’hommes des Nouveaux Réalistes, charmés par cette drôle d’amazone. Le Suisse Jean Tinguely devient son amant puis l’homme de sa vie. Niki fait désormais partie de l’avant-garde artistique parisienne mais ne cessera de faire des voyages vers les Etats-Unis auxquels elle reste très attachée, ayant passé là-bas son enfance et son adolescence.

jardin-des-tarots

Le jardin des tarots. Photo par Education France TV.

Sculptures, peintures, installations, et même parcs de sculptures, dont le plus connu est le Jardin des Tarots réalisé en Toscane, en Italie, dont elle dira qu’elle s’est inspirée de Gaudi. Niki étonne par sa créativité et son œuvre joyeuse et colorée. On retiendra aussi son immense Hon (qui signifie Elle) à Stockholm en Suède, grande sculpture de femme aux formes généreuses dans laquelle on entre par le sexe, sorte de quintessence de sa mythologie. Son monde à elle et le message qu’elle veut faire passer, celui de la place de la femme dans la société. Niki est parvenue à dompter ses démons par son art, elle a canalisé son énergie dans ses multiples constructions pour les enfants, ses parcs colorés dont on voit les maquettes dans l’exposition. Celles en particulier du Golem à Jérusalem, conçu comme un gigantesque monstre d’où sortent trois langues qui servent de toboggans, du Jardin des Tarots en Toscane et du Queen Califa’s magic Circle à Escondido en Californie, conçu comme un parc d’attraction.

DCIM100MEDIA

Niki de Saint Phalle. Photo par Local Nomad.

Née en France dans une famille aristocrate bientôt désargentée, Niki de Saint Phalle passe son enfance en Amérique et y finira sa carrière et sa vie (à la Jolla en Californie). Cette double culture, franco-américaine, marquera son art qui par bien des aspects se rapproche de celui de ses contemporains, Jasper Johns et Robert Rauschenberg. Elle a aussi cette audace américaine, cette culture du faire, de l’action et intègre dans ses créations le multiculturalisme américain, notamment en faisant des références à l’art mexicain. La grande rétrospective du Grand Palais à Paris est l’occasion unique de découvrir sous des angles différents l’art de Niki de Saint Phalle, qui est toujours restée une femme, juste avant d’être une grande artiste.

How to find remedies online? So it’s no wonder that online pharmacies is becoming more popular over the last years. Few remedies are used to treat impotency. Topics such as “buy sildenafil citrate online” and “sildenafil 50 mg price” are much pops now. This article focuses on the evaluation of erectile malfunction and “sildenafil citrate side effects“. Of all the matters in the field of healthcare that pique our attention most, it’s sexual soundness problem, notably “undefined”. Low self-esteem, venous leak, some diseases, and definite medicines can reduce your sex drive. Stress affects all sides of life including sex drive. People must always ask doctor for occupational advice about Viagra. Keep in mind online apothecary which is prepared to sell such medicaments like Viagra without a valid prescription is fraudulent. When you get from an unknown company, you run the risk of getting counterfeit drugs.


About the Author

Historienne de l'art et journaliste. Diplômée en droit et en histoire de l'art à la Sorbonne et à l’École du Louvre, Julie collabore à plusieurs magazines sur des sujets historiques et culturels. Elle a également créé en 2011 un fonds de dotation qui soutient des projets de sauvegarde du patrimoine à l'étranger (en collaboration avec l'UNESCO) et est l'auteur du livre "Ferrare, joyau de la Renaissance italienne" publié en 2012 (éditions Berg International).



One Response to Niki de Saint Phalle, une héroïne Franco-Américaine

  1. Studiokika@virgilio.it says:

    Vorrei tanto venire a visitare le sue magnifiche strutture,,,,già le ammiro….e sono fiera che siano nella bella tOSCANA…..Vorrei sapere orari e giorni in cui è possibilegrazire
    inutikle dirvi che + un posto incanbtato e voi lo sapete meglio di me,,vi ringrazio e questo è il mio indirizzo completo
    Manrica Kika Ciurli Piazza S: Maria, 39 55100.Lucca/ Toscana/ Italia

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *


CAPTCHA Image
Reload Image
Back to Top ↑

Art & Culture

Published on January 13th, 2015 | by Julie Chaizemartin

1

Niki de Saint Phalle, a French-American Heroine

pagFZ9ehpZDLa3eHwLaYWw-RbBk

Sculptures. Photo by Manucurist.

The great exhibition of the Parisian autumn-winter is the one dedicated to Niki de Saint Phalle at the Grand Palais. There are those that emerge from the experience delighted and then there are those who do not want to go on the pretext that they already know all of Niki’s art, referring to her large colorful Nanas papier-mâché. The latter couldn’t be more mistaken, for if they would take the time to browse the Paris exhibition, they would discover much more than an eccentric artist existing beyond the Stravinsky fountain in front of the Pompidou Center or the great Cyclops created conjointly with Jean Tinguely in the middle of the forest of Milly, a small town in Essonne, south of Paris. Niki’s art has evolved throughout her life, presenting itself as a liberation of pre-established rules, an act of resistance, a visceral need to exist through grand and striking creations. It is an art that comes out from her core, easily seen with her series of “Shots.” With a rifle before the audience, colors drip into the frame. She aims, strikes the plaster and the colors below gush and flow, as if the paint were tears. Niki is deconstructing, dismantling, seeming to avenge something, and creating here the first happenings of the twentieth century. A woman who pulls a .22 rifle is also a subversive female artist; she was both at the same time. Decidedly feminist.  

With the sound of her voice accompanying the visitor throughout the course of the exhibition, we listen as her emotions reveal an injured woman who lives for art, a woman who transformed her art into her manifesto of the reign of a matriarchal society embodied by her large plump and friendly Nanas and The Devouring Mother. But even before these works she had also created a series of Brides, Goddesses and Deliveries. The female body is the focus of Niki’s work and we understand why. When viewing the her film entitled Daddy, and the staged killing of her father, the man who had abused her young daughter, Niki remarked, “In 1961, I shot: on dad, all men, the small, the large, the important, the big, my brother, on society… I shot because I was fascinated to see the canvas bleed and die. On your marks! Ready! Fire!” The girl with the pretty face and seductive allure who had made the cover of Vogue became a young woman, a wife and a mother, and she was challenging everything. As a woman, she was accepted into the men’s group the New Realists. The Swiss Jean Tinguely became her lover and the man of her life. Niki was by this time a part of the Parisian avant-garde but continued to make trips to the United States to which she remained loyal, having spent her childhood and adolescence there.

jardin-des-tarots

Le jardin des tarots. Photo by Education France TV.

Of all of her sculptures, paintings, installations, and even parks, the best known is the Tarot Garden in Tuscany, made in Italy. Niki says she was inspired by Gaudi, surprised by his creativity and colorful, joyful work. We also retain her immense Hon (which means, “it”) in Stockholm, Sweden. This large sculpture of a buxom woman is entered through the sex, true to the quintessence of her mythology, her world and the message she wants project – that of the place of women in society. Niki managed to tame her demons through her art. She channeled her energy into her many creations for children, especially her colorful parks which include the models seen in the exhibition, particularly those of the Golem in Jerusalem, conceived as a gigantic monster from which emerge three tongues that serve as slides, the Tarot Garden in Tuscany and Queen Califa’s Magic Circle in Escondido, California, designed as an amusement park.

DCIM100MEDIA

Niki de Saint Phalle. Photo by Local Nomad.

Born in France into an aristocratic family soon to be impoverished, Niki de Saint Phalle spent her childhood in America. There, her career and her life would reach their ends in La Jolla, California. This double culture, French-American, will mark her art in many ways, similar to that of her contemporaries Jasper Johns and Robert Rauschenberg. She had an American audacity, an embodiment of a culture of doing, of action, and incorporated it into her creations of American multiculturalism, in particular by making references to Mexican art. The major retrospective at the Grand Palais in Paris is the perfect opportunity to discover the many different artistic angles of Niki de Saint Phalle, who remains first a woman, and second a great artist.

How to find remedies online? So it’s no wonder that online pharmacies is becoming more popular over the last years. Few remedies are used to treat impotency. Topics such as “buy sildenafil citrate online” and “sildenafil 50 mg price” are much pops now. This article focuses on the evaluation of erectile malfunction and “sildenafil citrate side effects“. Of all the matters in the field of healthcare that pique our attention most, it’s sexual soundness problem, notably “undefined”. Low self-esteem, venous leak, some diseases, and definite medicines can reduce your sex drive. Stress affects all sides of life including sex drive. People must always ask doctor for occupational advice about Viagra. Keep in mind online apothecary which is prepared to sell such medicaments like Viagra without a valid prescription is fraudulent. When you get from an unknown company, you run the risk of getting counterfeit drugs.


About the Author

Historienne de l'art et journaliste. Diplômée en droit et en histoire de l'art à la Sorbonne et à l’École du Louvre, Julie collabore à plusieurs magazines sur des sujets historiques et culturels. Elle a également créé en 2011 un fonds de dotation qui soutient des projets de sauvegarde du patrimoine à l'étranger (en collaboration avec l'UNESCO) et est l'auteur du livre "Ferrare, joyau de la Renaissance italienne" publié en 2012 (éditions Berg International).



One Response to Niki de Saint Phalle, a French-American Heroine

  1. Studiokika@virgilio.it says:

    Vorrei tanto venire a visitare le sue magnifiche strutture,,,,già le ammiro….e sono fiera che siano nella bella tOSCANA…..Vorrei sapere orari e giorni in cui è possibilegrazire
    inutikle dirvi che + un posto incanbtato e voi lo sapete meglio di me,,vi ringrazio e questo è il mio indirizzo completo
    Manrica Kika Ciurli Piazza S: Maria, 39 55100.Lucca/ Toscana/ Italia

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


CAPTCHA Image
Reload Image
Back to Top ↑