Art & Culture

Published on janvier 24th, 2015 | by Maureen Youngblood

0

Père de la Chaise, L’Homme et le Cimetière

Lors de mon séjour à Paris au printemps dernier, le cimetière du père Lachaise faisait partie de ma liste de lieux à visiter. Je savais que ce cimetière était célèbre mais je ne savais pas pourquoi. Tout ce que je savais c’est qu’Édith Piaf et Jim Morrison y étaient enterrés et que le cimetière était devenu un lieu touristique où se côtoyaient de nombreux visiteurs. J’ai toujours pensé que c’était une destination touristique populaire, sans jamais comprendre pourquoi. J’ai passé quelques heures à arpenter cet immense cimetière fleuri et à méditer sur le nom des personnes qui étaient enterrées dans ce lieu, chacune avec sa propre histoire de vie, et qui en étaient venues à reposer dans ce cimetière-jardin au sud est de Paris.

Le cimetière du Père Lachaise tient son nom du père François de la chaise. En admettant que c’est un cimetière catholique, vu qu’il se trouve dans un grand pays catholique, je fus fascinée d’apprendre que François de la chaise était un prêtre jésuite. Pas totalement catholique et romain, mais venant d’un ordre distinct de l’Église catholique et romaine, qui, à l’époque avait l’intention d’apporter des innovations religieuses à l’Église traditionnelle. Il était le confesseur (l’homme qui écoutait les confessions) de Louis XIV de France. Sa proximité avec la couronne conférait au prêtre une stature et un rang certain au sein du peuple et de l’église.

En tant que confesseur de Louis XIV, le père Lachaise s’allia avec Madame de Maintenon (la deuxième femme de Louis XIV) afin de mettre un terme à la liaison du roi avec sa maîtresse, Madame de Montespan, avec qui il avait eu 7 enfants. Madame de Montespan était reconnue comme la véritable reine de France, de part sa capacité à influencer le roi dans les affaires politiques ou royales. Ayant séparé le couple avec succès, Madame de Maintenon retrouva sa place de régente aux cotés du roi. Pour cela, elle récompensa le père de la chaise en lui apportant son soutien.

Père François de la chaise fut en grande partie responsable de la révocation de l’édit de Nantes, qui favorisait l’unité civile et qui donnait également aux protestants calvinistes (les huguenots) davantage de droits dans un pays majoritairement catholique. Il permit également de mettre fin aux guerres de religions qui se déroulaient alors. La révocation de cet édit déclarait illégal le protestantisme avec l’édit de Fontainebleau. Il est clair, au regard de cet acte, que le père François de la chaise restait un fervent adepte du catholicisme.

Le père François de la chaise décéda en 1709 ; il vivait alors dans une maison de jésuites se trouvant hors des « murs » de Paris. Presque 100 ans plus tard, en 1804, Napoléon fit construire un cimetière non loin de cette même maison et engagea Alexandre Théodore Brongniart afin qu’il crée et aménage le cimetière de manière méthodique, et de façon unique. Le cimetière du père Lachaise est reconnu pour être le premier cimetière-jardin ; la plupart des cimetières d’alors se trouvaient être des carrés de terre à côté d’une église, dont les tombes étaient surmontées de petites pierres tombales ou des croix, voire même rien du tout. Le cimetière du Père Lachaise s’étend sur 110 acres avec des pierres tombales, des structures, et des mausolées élaborés. Remarquez le changement de nom de père de la chaise à Père Lachaise ; ceci dit, le nom actuel fait toujours référence au père François de la chaise.

Le cimetière ouvrit en Mai 1804, et la première personne à reposer dans le tout nouvel emplacement du cimetière était un jeune enfant du nom d’Adélaïde Paillard de Villeneuve. Elle était fille de chasseur, respectant ainsi le décret de Napoléon qui stipule que « chaque citoyen a le droit d’être enterré, quelque soit sa race ou sa religion », et je suppose, son statut social ou sa richesse. Après son ouverture pour « affaires, » peu d’enterrements ont eu lieu dans ce cimetière, car trop éloigné de la ville. Le cimetière n’avait pas été béni par l’Église catholique et aucun fervent catholique n’y fut enterré. Fin 1804, il n’y avait que 13 tombes.

Afin d’inciter les gens a enterré leurs morts au nouveau cimetière, les dépouilles mortelles de Jean de la Fontaine et de Molière furent transférées au cimetière du Père Lachaise. Maintenant que l’on pouvait reposer pour l’éternité aux cotés des plus grands écrivains et poètes, le statut du cimetière du Père Lachaise pris de l’ampleur. L’idée fonctionna bien et, fin 1812, 833 enterrements y furent recensés. En 1817, une autre stratégie marketing amena les dépouilles de Pierre Abelard et sa chère Héloïse d’Argenteuil à reposer au cimetière. Il y a une tradition chez les amants, ou les personnes célibataires en mal d’amour, de laisser des lettres à la crypte en hommage à l’amour, ou dans l’espoir de trouver le véritable amour. Cette autre idée augmenta radicalement la popularité du cimetière du Père Lachaise et, en 1830 le registre comptait pas moins de 33000 tombes.

IMG_0607sigFQM

Photo par Laure Baraton.

Une pierre tombale toute simple n’est pas chose commune au cimetière du Père Lachaise ; avec l’augmentation croissante de sa popularité, il y eut une compétition qui consistait à surpasser son voisin dans le grandiose, le fleuri et l’élaboration d’une structure post mortem « ultime ». Cela va du simple cercueil carré en marbre ou en pierre à de bien plus grandes, plus fleuries et plus complexes structures, emplacements ou statues.

Le cimetière fut agrandit 5 fois en l’espace de 25 ans. Aujourd’hui, il y a plus d’un million de personnes qui y sont enterrées, sans compter les nombreux enterrements additionnels, dont les incinérations, hébergés au columbarium.

Parmi les résidents célèbres du cimetière du Père Lachaise, on compte Édith Piaf, Modigliani, Paul-Jaques-Aime Baudry, pour n’en citer que quelques uns ; la liste s’étend à l’infini.

Bien plus qu’un cimetière, nous avons ici réunis les plus illustres contributeurs de l’humanité. Si le registre du cimetière était une liste d’invités à une fête, ce serait l’événement du siècle.

Photo d’en-tête: Laure Baraton


About the Author

was born and raised in the United States and is currently living in California. She discovered her love of the French language and culture in high school and continued her education of all things French in college where she earned a Bachelor’s degree in International Business from the University of Nevada Las Vegas. She enjoys living near the ocean, traveling and French pastries.



Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *


CAPTCHA Image
Reload Image
Back to Top ↑

Art & Culture

Published on January 24th, 2015 | by Maureen Youngblood

0

Père de la Chaise, the Man and the Cemetery

While visiting Paris last spring, on my list of places to visit was Père Lachaise Cemetery. I knew this cemetery was famous, but I didn’t know why. All I knew was that Edith Piaf and Jim Morrison were buried there, and that the cemetery draws many visitors as a tourist attraction. I have always understood it to be a popular tourist destination, but never understood why. I spent a few hours walking this large, ornate cemetery, pondering the names of people buried there, each with their own history of life that had come to rest in this garden cemetery in the southeast of Paris.

Père Lachaise Cemetery is named after Père François de la Chaise. Assuming this was a Catholic cemetery, as it is in a large Catholic country, I was fascinated to find that François de la Chaise was a Jesuit priest. Not purely Roman Catholic, but a separate order of the Roman Catholic Church, that at the time was intent on religious innovations to the traditional church. He was the confessor (the man who heard the confessions) of King Louis XIV of France. Being close to the crown brought the priest his own level of stature and rank among the people and the church.

As the confessor of King Louis XIV, Père la Chaise joined alliances with Madame de Maintenon, (the second wife of King Louis XIV), to encourage the end of the king’s affair with his mistress, Madame de Montespan, with whom he had seven children. Madame de Montespan was referred to as the true Queen of France due to her ability to influence the king in royal and political matters. Having successfully separated the pair, Madame de Maintenon was restored to her proper ruling place beside the king. For this, she rewarded Pere de la Chaise with her support.

Père François de la Chaise was largely responsible for the revocation of the Edict of Nantes which promoted civil unity and also gave Calvinist Protestants (Huguenots) increasing rights in a mostly Catholic country. It also helped end the religious wars that were occurring at the time. The revocation of this Edict declared Protestantism illegal with the Edict of Fontainebleau. It is clear, through this action, that Père François de la Chaise remained a strong proponent of Catholicism.

Père François de la Chaise died in 1709; he had lived in a Jesuit house that was outside the boundaries of Paris at the time. Almost a hundred years later, in 1804, Napoleon established a cemetery near that same house and enlisted Alexandre Theodore Brongniart to methodically create and arrange the cemetery as no other. Pere Lachaise Cemetery is noted as being the first garden cemetery. Most cemeteries at the time were plots of land next to a church with the grave marked with small headstones or crosses, if anything at all. Pere Lachaise Cemetery has grown to 110 acres with elaborate headstones, structures and mausoleums. You will notice the name change from Pere de la Chaise to Pere Lachaise, however, the current name is still a reference to Pere Francois de la Chaise.

The cemetery opened in May of 1804 and the first person to be laid to rest at the new location was a small child named Adelaide Paillard de Villeneuve. She was the daughter of a bell-boy, fulfilling Napoleon’s decree that “Every citizen has the right to be buried regardless of race or religion” and I assume, social status or wealth. After it was opened for business, the cemetery did not receive many funerals, as it was considered too far from the city. The cemetery had not been blessed by the Catholic Church and no devout Catholic would be buried there and by the end of 1804, only 13 graves existed.

In an effort to entice more people to bury their dead at the new cemetery, the remains of Jean de La Fontaine and Molière were moved to the Pere Lachaise cemetery. Now that one could rest for eternity very near to the world’s greatest playwright and poet, the status increased being buried at Père Lachaise Cemetery. The scheme worked and by the end of 1812 there were over 833 burials listed. Another marketing strategy in 1817 brought the remains of Pierre Abelard and his beloved Heloise d’Argenteuil to rest at the cemetery. It is tradition for lovers, or single people aching for love, to leave letters at the crypt as a tribute to love, or in hope of finding true love. This second scheme dramatically increased the popularity of being buried at Père Lachaise Cemetery and by 1830 there were over 33,000 gravesites on record.

A simple headstone at Pere Lachaise Cemetery is uncommon; as the popularity of the location increased, the competition to outdo one’s neighbor in grandiose, ornate and elaborate final resting structures also increased. Grave markers range from simple box, stone or marble coffin-style tombs to large, ornate and complex statues, structures and housings.

IMG_0607sigFQM

Photo by Laure Baraton.

The cemetery expanded five times over the course of 25 years. Today there are over 1 million people buried there. This does not include the many additional burials for cremation housed in the columbarium.

A few of the famous residents of the Père Lachaise Cemetery consist of Edith Piaf, Modigliani, and Paul-Jacques-Aime Baudry to name a few. The list is endless.

More than just a cemetery, it is a gathering of some of the world’s greatest contributing individuals. If the burial registry were a party guest list, it would be the social event of the centuries.

Header Photo: Laure Baraton

 


About the Author

was born and raised in the United States and is currently living in California. She discovered her love of the French language and culture in high school and continued her education of all things French in college where she earned a Bachelor’s degree in International Business from the University of Nevada Las Vegas. She enjoys living near the ocean, traveling and French pastries.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


CAPTCHA Image
Reload Image
Back to Top ↑