Interviews

Published on décembre 10th, 2017 | by Laurence de Valmy

0

Peter Fetterman met en vente 120 œuvres du légendaire photographe français Henri Cartier-Bresson

Peter Fetterman © Mark Edward Harris / Courtoisie Mark Edward Harris.

Le 12 décembre, Phillips met aux enchères à New York 120 œuvres d’Henri Cartier-Bresson, le légendaire photographe français. Les œuvres proviennent de la collection personnelle de Peter Fetterman, dernier marchand de Cartier-Bresson, qui a travaillé avec l’artiste de 1990 jusqu’à sa mort en 2004. Peter Fetterman, collectionneur passionné et propriétaire de la Peter Fetterman Gallery à Santa Monica, a joué un rôle essentiel dans la diffusion du travail d’Henri Cartier-Bresson aux États-Unis. Selon lui, c’est suite à l’achat d’une photo de Cartier-Bresson que Peter a décidé de changer de carrière passant de l’industrie cinématographique au monde de l’art.

La première photo d’Henri Cartier-Bresson achetée par Peter Fetterman: Srinagar, Kashmir 1948.

La collection offerte la semaine prochaine a fait le tour du monde à travers Londres, Los Angeles et Paris. Elle comprend des paysages ou des photographies de rue de ses nombreux voyages et des portraits de certaines des figures les plus influentes du XXe siècle, dont Matisse et Marilyn Monroe. 

Marilyn Monroe pendant le tournage de ‘The Misfits’, Nevada 1960.

Rue Mouffetard, Paris 1952.

Cartier-Bresson a commencé à travailler avec un appareil Leica portable, alors qu’il voyageait à travers l’Europe en 1932, et il n’a pas planifié ou mis en scène ses photos. Sa pratique consistait à capturer un moment de beauté éphémère en captant un moment où son instinct lui disait que la scène devant lui était en équilibre parfait, “le moment décisif” – un concept qui influencera les photographes tout au long du 20ème siècle. Ses œuvres racontent des histoires et sont profondément humaines ce qui donne à cet artiste une place particulière dans l’histoire de la photographie. 

École de ballet du Bolchoï, Moscou, URSS 1954.

Peter a eu la gentillesse de partager sa passion pour la photographie et sa relation avec l’artiste.

Bonjour Peter, dans une interview précédente, vous avez dit “Henri Cartier-Bresson était mon héros, l’homme qui a involontairement changé ma vie en achetant une copie de son image Srinagar il y a plus de 40 ans.” Pouvez-vous nous dire pourquoi c’était un moment décisif pour vous ?

Saint-Sylvestre, Times Square, Manhattan 1959.

J’étais cinéaste et j’avais travaillé dans trois films donc j’étais dans l’univers des histoires et des images, mais je me sentais frustré parce que je ne contrôlais pas tout le projet. La photographie m’a donné un sentiment de liberté et d’émancipation. Je me suis rendu compte qu’il y avait une autre façon d’être créatif en étant curateur. J’ai donc changé ma vie et c’est devenu une obsession et une addiction. Parfois, vous réalisez que vous devez changer de chemin pour vous sentir plus complet et plus heureux.

Comment avez-vous rencontré Henri Cartier Bresson ?

J’ai commencé à travailler avec lui et je l’ai rencontré plus tard à Paris chez lui. J’étais nerveux parce qu’il était mon héros. J’ai été surpris parce que son appartement était très simple: il n’y avait pas une photo de lui. Il était bien dans sa peau et n’avait pas besoin d’exposer son travail chez lui pour se rassurer. Il y avait juste quelques dessins de Matisse, offerts par l’artiste et de Giacometti. Je l’ai senti humble et en paix.

Que ressentez-vous avec la séparation de cette collection représentant 40 ans de collection ?

C’est une expérience étrange et je pense que dans 10 jours je serai triste mais je réalise aussi que ces œuvres feront toujours partie de moi. J’ai appris des choses grâce à elles et maintenant je les laisse s’envoler pour qu’une nouvelle génération puisse les apprécier. Je soutiens également une jeune génération de photographes et j’utiliserai ces ressources pour le faire. Je pense que cela correspond à ce que Henri et sa femme Martine (Franck) auraient souhaité. C’est pourquoi ils ont créé la Fondation Henri Cartier Bresson, pour exposer et soutenir les jeunes artistes.

A propos de jeunes artistes, que pensez vous de l’évolution de la photographie a l’ère du digital ?

Eh bien, la photographie numérique ne me parle pas, mais je me sens proche d’une jeune génération de photographes qui travaille toujours avec les techniques traditionnelles. Il y en a encore qui vont travailler dans une chambre noire jusqu’à ce qu’ils puissent produire l’impression parfaite. Toute collection est une expression de votre goût et le mien est cette approche plus humaine et traditionnelle.

Avez-vous une photo préférée de lui et si oui pourquoi ?

Vendeurs de journaux, Mexico, Mexique.

C’est une question que je l’on me pose beaucoup et bien sûr je les aime toutes c’est pourquoi je les ai collectionnées. Mais si vous me poussez dans mes retranchements, il y en a probablement une que j’affectionne particulièrement : c’est la photo d’une mère et d’un enfant au Mexique qui vendent des journaux dans la rue. J’aime la composition, la lumière, la tendresse qui en émane. C’est beau et déchirant et cela ressemble à un tableau de grand maître.

Une anecdote à son sujet?

Avant que je le rencontre j’étais nerveux parce qu’il avait la réputation de ne pas être amical et qu’il pouvait parfois faire semblant de ne pas savoir parler anglais quand il ne voulait pas parler avec quelqu’un. Mais j’ai remarqué que son accent anglais était absolument parfait. Donc je lui ai mentionné. Il m’a fait un clin d’œil et m’a dit “j’avais une nounou anglaise!”.

Pour plus information sur

la vente www.phillips.com

Henri Cartier Bresson: Fondation Henri Cartier Bresson à Paris

La Galerie Peter Fetterman Gallery à Santa Monica

 


About the Author

is a French born artist, who lives and works in New York area. She is a painter working with acrylics for the wide possibility of this medium. She has followed art classes both in France and the USA and was awarded an Artist Residency by the Eileen Kaminsky Foundation (ESKFF) at Mana Contemporary,NJ in 2017. She created the blog "The Curious Frenchy" and is a now contributor to French Quarter Magazine. https://www.instagram.com/laurencedevalmy/



Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *


CAPTCHA Image
Reload Image
Back to Top ↑

Interviews

Published on December 10th, 2017 | by Laurence de Valmy

0

Peter Fetterman puts to auction 120 works of Iconic French Photographer Henri Cartier-Bresson

Peter Fetterman ©Mark Edward Harris/Courtesy Mark Edward Harris.

On 12 December, Phillips auctions in New York, 120 works of Henri Cartier-Bresson, the legendary French photographer. The works come from the personal collection of Peter Fetterman, Cartier-Bresson’s last dealer, who worked with the artist from 1990 until his death in 2004. Peter Fetterman, collector and owner of the Peter Fetterman Gallery in Santa Monica, played a vital role in expanding Henri Cartier-Bresson’s audience in the United States. According to him, it’s with the purchase of one photo of Cartier-Bresson that Peter decided to change of career path from the movie industry to the art world.

The first photo of Henri Cartier-Bresson that Peter Fetterman bought : Srinagar, Kashmir 1948.

Marilyn Monroe during the filming of ‘The Misfits,’ Nevada 1960.

The collection offered next week has been touring the world through London, LA and Paris. It includes landscapes or street photography from the artist’s many travels and portraits of some of the most influential figures of the 20th century, including Matisse and Marilyn Monroe. 

Cartier-Bresson began shooting on his hand-held Leica camera while traveling through Europe in 1932 and he did not plan or arrange his photographs. His practice was to capture a fleeting moment of beauty by releasing the shutter at the moment his instincts told him the scene before him was in perfect balance, “the decisive moment” — a concept that would influence photographers throughout the 20th century. There is profound storytelling and humanity in his artwork which give him that special place in photography history.

Rue Mouffetard, Paris 1952.

Bolshoi Ballet School, Moscow, USSR 1954.

Peter was kind enough to share about his passion for photography and his relation with the artist. 

In a previous interview you said “Henri Cartier-Bresson was my hero, the man who inadvertently changed my life when I purchased a print of his image Srinagar over 40 years ago.” Can you tell us why it was a decisive moment for you?

New Year’s Eve, Times Square, Manhattan 1959.

I used to be a filmmaker and I had worked in three films so I was involved in storytelling and images, but I felt frustrated because I was not in control of the whole project. Getting into photography gave me a sense of freedom and emancipation. I realized there was another way to be creative by curating. So I changed my life and it became an obsession and addiction. Sometimes you realize you need to change path to be more full field and happier.

How did you meet with Henri Cartier Bresson?

So I started to work with him and I met him later on in Paris at his place. I was nervous because he was my hero. I was surprised because he’s apartment was very simple: there was not one photo of him. He was very secure and did not have to lay out his work in his home. He had just a few drawings by Matisse and Giacometti. I felt he was so humble and at peace.

How do you feel with the parting of this collection representing 40 years of collecting?

It is a strange experience and I think that in 10 days I will be sad but I also realize that these works will still be a part of me. I’ve learned from them and now I let them go out so a new generation can experience them. I’m also supporting a younger generation of photographers and I will use these resources to do so. I feel this is in line with what Henry and his wife Martine would have wished. That’s why they have created the Henri Cartier Bresson Foundation, to show and support younger artists.

Talking about younger artists, what do you think about the evolution of this medium in the digital era?

Well I cannot relate to the digital photography but I relate to a younger generation of photographers who still works with the traditional techniques. There are still enough of them who still go in a dark room working until they can make the perfect print. All collecting is an expression of your taste and mine is towards this more human and traditional approach.

Do you have a favorite photo of him and if yes why?

Newspaper vendors, Mexico City, Mexico.

It’s a question I get a lot and of course I love them all that’s why I collected them. But if you twist my arm, there is probably one that I like fondly: it’s the photo of a mother and child in Mexico who sell newspapers on the street. I love the composition, the light, the tenderness. It is beautiful and heartbreaking and looks like a great old master painting.

An anecdote about him?

Well, before I met him I was nervous because he had a reputation of sometimes not being friendly and that he could pretend not to speak English when he didn’t want to talk with someone. But then I noticed that his English accent was absolutely perfect. So I mentioned it to him. He winked at me and told me “I had an English nanny!”

For further information about the auction www.phillips.com

To learn more about Cartier Bresson: Fondation Henri Cartier Bresson in Paris

To visit the Peter Fetterman Gallery in Santa Monica

 


About the Author

is a French born artist, who lives and works in New York Great area. She is a painter creator of the POST series, painted Instagram of the past revisiting art history. She was awarded an Artist Residency by the Eileen Kaminsky Foundation (ESKFF) at Mana Contemporary,NJ in 2017. She created the blog "The Curious Frenchy" and is a now contributor to French Quarter Magazine. https://www.instagram.com/laurencedevalmy/



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


CAPTCHA Image
Reload Image
Back to Top ↑