Art & Culture

Published on octobre 13th, 2015 | by Kirsten King

1

Picasso: Créatures et Créativité

L’un des artistes les plus prolifiques au monde, Pablo Picasso, a laissé derrière lui une oeuvre gigantesque, plus de 20000 pièces comprenant des tableaux, des sculptures, ou des gravures, qui sont actuellement en exposition à la Bellagio gallery of fine art à Las Vegas. L’exposition “Picasso : créatures et créativité”, s’intéresse au processus créatif métaphorique perpétuel de l’artiste, et se concentre sur sa technique sans égal au regard de ses tableaux-portraits et ses gravures. En vedette, des oeuvres empruntées de la collection privée du fils de Picasso, Claude, l’exposition comprend 43 oeuvres, qui s’étendent sur une période allant de 1938 à 1971, et se trouve maintenant disponible pour la première fois aux USA jusqu’au 10 Janvier 2016.

Photo3_Morgen Henry

Photo par Kirsten King.

Cette sélection unique de tableaux et de gravures à des stades différents, examine la préférence de Picasso pour la forme humaine en tant que sujet et, comme le démontre le point central de l’exposition, le contexte biographique est tout aussi important que le contenu, car comme Picasso lui meme le suggérait : “il ne suffit pas de connaitre les oeuvres de l’artiste ; il est également nécessaire de comprendre les circonstances qui leurs sont propres”. Figure majeure de la culture du 20e siècle, Picasso fréquentait les cercles du Paris bohème, tout comme d’autres expatriés de meme nature d’esprit, ceux de la génération perdue, tels qu’ Ernest Hemingway et leur protectrice commune, Gertrude Stein. L’oeuvre de Picasso contribua largement au modernisme, et sa très large influence s’étend depuis son oeuvre la plus “grave” Dove of Peace, choisie comme embleme de la première conférence internationale de la paix en 1949, jusqu’aux choix de styles personnels d’Andy Warhol ou Brigitte Bardot. Tandis que des guides audio et des visites programmées de l’exposition vous fourniront pléthore d’anecdotes similaires, une attention particulière sera portée aux femmes de la vie de Picasso : Dora Maar, Françoise Gilot et Jacqueline Roque. Souvent étudiantes en art elles memes, ces femmes étaient très présentes dans les compositions de Picasso. En fait, El Greco’s Portrait of a Man with a Ruff (1962), est la seule série de travaux de cet assemblage particulier de l’oeuvre de Picasso qui ne soit pas associé à une figure féminine. L’impact considérable des amantes de Picasso dans son entreprise imaginative est évident, notamment à travers les variations qui se sont produites dans son art au fil du temps ; les changements reconnaissables dans l’approche créative de Picasso coincident souvent avec un changement de partenaire.

Photo1_Woman with a Yellow Necklace

Dame avec un collier jaune. Photo du catalogue d’exposition.

Photographe émérite et surréaliste, Dora Maar apparait dans la scène “Two Nude Women” (1945-6) en compagnie de Françoise Gilot, la séquence de gravures la plus longue de l’exposition, mais également celle ou la présence de l’art primitif, ainsi que la capacité de Picasso à passer du réalisme à l’abstrait est la plus évidente (Maar est la femme endormie). On pourrait dire qu’elle fut la maitresse la plus torturée de Picasso, et elle sombra dans une dépression nerveuse lorsque leur relation de presque dix ans prit fin. Maar et Picasso s’engagérent alors dans une guerre à la fois emotionnelle et psychologique qui s’etendit bien après leur séparation ; la relation venimeuse est perceptible dans l’état final de “Two Nude Women”, dans laquelle Maar est aussi depeinte tel un cafard, tout en contraste avec la succession d’oiseaux symbolisant Gilot. On retrouve Françoise Gilot dans plusieurs pièces de l’exposition, y compris Reclining Woman Reading (1952), ainsi que dans le moins anguleux mais tout aussi frappant “Woman with a yellow Necklace” (1946), un portrait qui souligne certaines des touches allégoriques de Picasso, dans ce cas précis : des clés et des serrures. Gilot posa aussi pour “Figure” (1947) ; Picasso fit une réplique de ce tableau monochrome en lithographie, trois jours après avoir terminé cette pièce. Ce fut la seule occasion ou Picasso pu produire un rendu identique sur deux supports différents. Le canva et la lithographie, ainsi que le (plateau ? Plat?) en zinc utilisé dans sa confection, sont tous exposés au BGFA.

Photo4_Jacqueline with a Multicolored Straw Hat

Jacqueline avec un chapeau de paille multi-color. Photo du catalogue d’exposition.

Picasso a produit plus de 400 portraits de Jacqueline Roque, omniprésente au sein de l’exposition. Reconnaissable à son nez rectiligne et ses chapeaux de couleurs vives, on retrouve Roque au fil de la gallerie à travers des oeuvres telles que “Woman with a Chignon and a Yellow hat” (1962). selon l’endroit ou se tient le spectateur, celui-ci peut admirer différents aspects de son visage : de pleine face, au trois quarts, ou de profil, tous compris en un seul portrait, et pour cette raison, “Woman with a Chignon and a Yellow hat” est considérée comme une “image qui bouge”. La série de gravures “Jacqueline with a Multicolored Straw Hat” (1962), nous offre un autre exemple d’images dissimulées chez Picasso, déguisant ainsi un homme (peut etre Picasso lui meme) et une femme dans les traits d’un visage particulier ; la touche de Picasso au sein du pop art se retrouve dans cette série.

Ce type d’oeuvre est représentatif de ce qui est communément associé à Picasso : ses contributions au cubisme – des distortions à facettes qui ont, parait il, été encouragées en partie par des photos prises par Picasso à l’aide d’un appareil dont la lentille était endommagée – sa capacité à peindre comme les maitres qui l’ont précédé, ainsi que son penchant pour la complexité résolue et enfantine.

En plus des canvas, les gravures sur linoleum ou à l’eau forte authentiques sur lesquelles Picasso a travaillé pour ses gravures sont exposées en vitrine, intactes ; ceci est plutot rare, car en principe, des images sur de telles planches ou de tels blocs sont en général “dégradées” afin de prévenir le vol ou les reproductions contrefaites. Bien que les oeuvres elles memes ne soient pas signées (Picasso n’a jamais ajouté son nom dessus car il n’a jamais eu l’intention de les vendre, mais plutot de les garder à titre personnel), ses empreintes sont visibles dans la plupart de ces oeuvres, ce qui ajoute un note personnelle.

Picasso a dit un jour que “l’amour est le plus grand des prélassements de la vie”, notion qui semble s’exprimer à travers la sélection de “Creatures and Creativity”, arrangée exclusivement pour le BGFA. L’exposition fournit une expérience intime pour le spectateur dans le sens ou elle lui permet d’entrevoir une ouverture sur la compréhension de Picasso du beau sexe à travers son propre regard. La représentation de ses modeles, de ses maitresses et de ses muses, qui ont été pour lui une source intarrissable d’inspiration, garantit assurément la visite d’admirateurs de longue date, mais également de ceux qui une curiosité naissante pour le célèbre artiste.


About the Author

mm

Kirsten King is a keen traveler, currently interested in cultural studies. She has been teaching locally and abroad since 2006. Participating in French Quarter Magazine allows her to contribute to the sharing of culture and knowledge between our two countries - a joyful and exciting adventure.



One Response to Picasso: Créatures et Créativité

  1. Ansh Verma says:

    Hi Kristen,
    I got a chance to visit the exhibit in Vegas during my present visit. Since I am an human computer interaction researcher, I wrote a medium blog on how there lies some parallels between his cubism and our field.

    https://medium.com/@anshseven/how-pablo-picasso-was-an-hci-researcher-3a8e361644e8#.8v47hqjav

    I cited this article for people to know what the exhibit was about! Thanks for writing. Please share!

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *


CAPTCHA Image
Reload Image
Back to Top ↑

Art & Culture

Published on October 13th, 2015 | by Kirsten King

1

Picasso: Creatures and Creativity

One of the world’s most prolific artists, Pablo Picasso left behind a vast oeuvre—more than 20,000 pieces including paintings, sculptures, and prints—part of which is currently on display at the Bellagio Gallery of Fine Art in Las Vegas. The exhibition, Picasso: Creatures and Creativity, is centered around the artist’s perpetually metamorphic creative process and concentrates on his unparalleled technique in both painted portraiture and printmaking. Featuring pieces on loan from the private collection of Picasso’s son, Claude, the exhibition is comprised of forty-three works, dated from 1938-1971, now possible to view together for the first time in the United States through January 10, 2016.

Photo3_Morgen Henry

Photo by Kirsten King.

This unique selection of paintings and prints in various stages examines Picasso’s preference for the human form as a subject, and as the focus of the exhibition demonstrates, biographical context is as important as content—for as Picasso himself pointed out, “it is not sufficient to know an artist’s works”; it is equally necessary to understand the circumstances surrounding them. A major figure in twentieth-century culture, Picasso moved in social circles of bohemian Paris along with like-minded expatriates of “une génération perdue” such as Ernest Hemingway and their mutual patroness, Gertrude Stein. Picasso’s work contributed significantly to modernism, and his far-reaching influence has manifested itself from the more serious achievement of his Dove of Peace, chosen as the emblem for the First International Peace Conference of 1949, to shaping choices of personal style for Andy Warhol and Brigitte Bardot. While audio guides and scheduled tours of the exhibition provide a wealth of such anecdotes, even more attention is given to the women in Picasso’s life—namely Dora Maar, Françoise Gilot, and Jacqueline Roque. Often art students themselves, these women figured prominently in Picasso’s compositions. In fact, El Greco’s Portrait of a Man with a Ruff (1962), is the only series in this particular assemblage of Picasso’s artwork not associated with a woman. The considerable impact Picasso’s lovers had on his imaginative undertakings is evident in the variations that occurred in his art over time—recognizable changes in Picasso’s creative approach regularly coincided with his changing of romantic partners.

Photo1_Woman with a Yellow Necklace

Woman with a Yellow Necklace. Photo from the exhibition catalogue.

An accomplished photographer and surrealist, Dora Maar shares the scene with Françoise Gilot in Two Nude Women (1945-6), the longest print sequence of the exhibition and one in which the presence of primitive art as well as Picasso’s ability to move from realistic to abstract is most apparent—Maar is the woman sleeping. Arguably one of the most tortured of Picasso’s paramours, Maar suffered a nervous breakdown once their affair of nearly a decade ended. Maar and Picasso engaged in a number of emotional and psychological attacks on each other long after their split; the venomous relationship is perceptible in the final state of Two Nude Women in whose border Maar is also portrayed as a cockroach—in contrast to the succession of birds symbolizing Gilot. Françoise Gilot appears in several pieces of the exhibition including Reclining Woman Reading (1952) and the less-angular but no less striking, Woman with a Yellow Necklace (1946), a portrait which demonstrates some of Picasso’s allegorical touches—in this case, locks and keys. Gilot also posed for Figure (1947); Picasso replicated this monochromatic painting as a lithograph, three days following his completion of the piece—the only occasion on which Picasso brought to life an identical rendering through two different types of media. The canvas and lithograph, as well as the zinc plate used to make it, are all on show together at the BGFA.

Photo4_Jacqueline with a Multicolored Straw Hat

Jacqueline with a Multicolored Straw Hat. Photo from the exhibition catalogue.

Picasso produced over 400 portraits of Jacqueline Roque, whose countenance dominates the exhibition. Characterized by her straight nose and brightly colored hats, Roque can be identified throughout the gallery in works such as Woman with a Chignon and a Yellow Hat (1962). Depending on their position, onlookers can gaze upon multiple aspects of her face—from straight on, at a three-quarters view, and in profile—all contained within the one presentation, and for this reason, Woman with a Chignon and a Yellow Hat is considered a “moving image.” The print series, Jacqueline with a Multicolored Straw Hat (1962), offers another example of hidden images in Picasso, disguising a man (possibly Picasso) and a woman in its bold facial features; Picasso’s hand in pop art can also be discerned from this group.

This body of work is representative of what is famously associated with Picasso: his contributions to cubism—faceted distortions said to have been encouraged, possibly in part, by photographs Picasso captured using a broken camera lens—his ability to paint like the masters before him and his preference for purposeful, childlike complexity.

In addition to the canvases, the actual linocuts and etchings Picasso labored over for his prints are showcased here—intact; this in itself is rare as, in practice, images on such plates and blocks are typically defaced to prevent theft and counterfeit reproduction. While the works themselves are without signatures (Picasso did not paint his name on these pieces because his intention was never to sell them, but rather to keep them), his fingerprints are visible in much of the art, adding quite a personal touch.

Picasso once remarked that “love is the greatest refreshment in life,”—a notion which seems to express itself through the selection at Creatures and Creativity, arranged exclusively for the BGFA. The exhibition provides an intimate experience for viewers in that it allows them a glimpse into Picasso’s understanding of the fairer sex through his own eyes. His representations of the models, mistresses, and muses who served as an ongoing source of inspiration to him warrant a visit from long-time admirers of Picasso as well as those with a budding curiosity about the celebrated artist.


About the Author

is an English teacher (both language and literature). Kirsten completed her Master's degree in the UK, and is currently working on a PhD thesis. She is usually happiest when traveling; she reads a lot, and enjoys writing when she has a spare moment.



One Response to Picasso: Creatures and Creativity

  1. Ansh Verma says:

    Hi Kristen,
    I got a chance to visit the exhibit in Vegas during my present visit. Since I am an human computer interaction researcher, I wrote a medium blog on how there lies some parallels between his cubism and our field.

    https://medium.com/@anshseven/how-pablo-picasso-was-an-hci-researcher-3a8e361644e8#.8v47hqjav

    I cited this article for people to know what the exhibit was about! Thanks for writing. Please share!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to Top ↑