Art & Culture

Published on août 27th, 2017 | by Christopher Alain

2

La Palette d’une Poète : Les Œuvres de Florine Stettheimer

La peintre, poète et icône de l’âge du jazz Florine Stettheimer partage son univers coloré dans plus de 50 peintures et dessins au Jewish Museum de la ville de New York du 5 mai au 24 septembre 2017.

Florine Stettheimer. Photo de Wikipédia.

Pour les non-initiés, Florine Stettheimer pourrait juste passer pour une autre « jazz baby » aux yeux de khôl sachant manier un pinceau et un chevalet. Ce fut ma première impression lorsque j’ai approché ses œuvres. Je suis heureux de dire que j’avais tort. Au premier aperçu il s’agit d’un monde de danses luminescentes, de bouquets multicolores, et de teintes éclatantes. Les garçonnes flânent avec de longs boas et des dandys du XXème siècle embellis de costumes de tweed et chapeaux de feutre et avec des dames à la mode dans des robes opalescentes de Poiret. Des personnes défilent dans les rues. Des licornes et oiseaux mythiques s’ébattent dans les prairies et les arbres de Noël éclatent en flammes magiques. Dans son travail, on peut voir les ombres d’autres visionnaires tels que Chagall, Mondrian ou même Monet.

C’est un monde attrayant, mais toujours significatif et qui en dit long sur l’artiste elle-même et l’univers de son chevalet. Une féministe avec un penchant récalcitrant et un pinceau de visionnaire, saisissant le monde autour d’elle, tout en invoquant une signification, une narration, et même un peu de satire.

Florine Stettheimer est née fille de Rosetta Walter et Joseph Stettheimer le 29 août 1871 à Rochester New York. Sa famille était d’origine juive allemande. Florine était l’une de cinq enfants. Son père quitta la famille à un jeune âge, et elle forgea une relation proche avec sa mère qui lui donna une éducation artistique à l’étranger, visitant des villes comme Berlin, Stuttgart et Munich.

Une fille timide et calme, elle s’exprimait au travers de sa vision unique. Florine commença à former sa propre voix artistique à New York après la Première Guerre Mondiale. Naturellement progressives, elle et ses sœurs organisèrent un salon pour les artistes et esprits visionnaires qui accueillaient ouvertement gays et expatriés. Elle cultivait une collection Avant Garde et en exposant son pinceau à de multiples influences, elle commença à développer son propre langage pictural. En présentant son travail au sein de plusieurs expositions, y compris les Expositions Annuelles de la Société des Artistes Indépendants, elle conçut et cultiva son style distinct. Comme Rembrandt, elle forma son art par le biais de son visage dans plusieurs autoportraits.

La chaleur, vers 1919. Photo de Wikipédia.

Les corps et les portraits de Florine proviennent de tous les milieux de la vie des années folles. Critiques d’art et financiers, gentilshommes élégants, femmes mûres en vogue, joueurs de tennis et égéries de la mode et même un peu de biographie remplissent son œuvre. Scènes mystiques, fêtes endiablées, moments intimes et un peu d’auto-caricature sont également présents. Grâce à tout cela, l’artiste présente une fluidité, si bien que tous les détails de son sujet, d’une paire de gants à des pompons ou des marguerites forment un rythme parfait les uns avec les autres. On se demande combien ses études de l’Art Nouveau ont influencé les toiles de l’artiste.

L’œuvre la plus notable de Stettheimer est peut-être « Pique-nique à Bedford Hills, » qui représente le peintre Marcel Duchamp et plusieurs dames profitant tranquillement d’une journée à la campagne avec ses champs jaunes sereins. La peinture que j’ai trouvé la plus captivante était « Portrait de moi-même, » mettant en scène l’artiste dans un manteau de pourpre ardent qui semble lui servir d’ailes presque angéliques, souriant sereinement et enveloppée d’un opaque bouquet de fleurs sous un soleil brillant.

Les cathédrales de Broadway. Photo de Wikipédia.

Une artiste aux nombreux visages, l’œuvre de Stettheimer s’étendit jusqu’à la poésie. Un écrivain modeste, qui écrivit ses œuvres sur des morceaux de papier destinés à des proches et à être lus au sein de son cercle d’amis plutôt que publiés, les siens sont des portraits satiriques et souvent amusants de ses contemporains tels que Gertrude Stein qu’elle appelait « Gertie » ou Marcel Duchamp, qui est surnommé « Duche.» Avec sa poésie, Stettheimer réalise une merveilleuse démonstration d’esprit, associée à des critiques observatrices sur la culture moderne et le mariage. Ses poèmes furent publiés à titre posthume sous forme d’une collection appelée « Fleurs de Cristal,» assemblée par sa sœur Ettie en 1949 et rééditée en 2010.

Le travail de Stettheimer en tant scénographe est prolifique. En 1934, elle fut la décoratrice-styliste pour « Quatre Saints et Trois Actes », un opéra qui inclut un livret par Gertrude Stein. Le flair particulier de Stettheimer pour la performance fut démontré lorsqu’elle composa le livret pour « Orphée des Quat-z-arts ou le bal des Fêtards des 4 Arts, » une soirée annuelle organisée par les associations d’étudiants d’Art de Paris.

Portrait de notre infirmière, Margaret Burgess, 1929. Photo de Wikipédia.

Beaucoup de critiques saluèrent les travaux de Stettheimer de son vivant, l’appelant une visionnaire et une véritable pionnière féministe. Son travail fût abondamment représenté dans de nombreux salons tels que la Biennale Whitney et le Salon d’Automne. Excessivement modeste, elle refusa les propositions d’expositions consacrées uniquement à son œuvre, malgré de nombreuses offres.

Le 11 mai 1944, Stettheimer fut emportée par un cancer à l’âge de 72 ans.

Dans sa vie comme son héritage, et que ce soit par intention ou à dessein, Stettheimer fut une véritable provocatrice. Une femme modeste et silencieuse qui a laissé son pinceau exprimer les mots qu’elle prononce rarement elle-même. Parlant couramment le langage des races, des sexes, et de la sexualité de son époque, son oeuvre se solidifia en une composante essentielle de la riche tapisserie de l’art féministe et moderniste, s’élevant au niveau de celles de Georgia O Keefe ou de Marc Chagall. Il n’y a rien d’archaïque dans le travail de Florine Stettheimer. Son éventail de couleurs voluptueuses et de personnages provocateurs et merveilleux, est aussi pertinent aujourd’hui qu’il l’était il y a plus de 80 ans.

 

Cet article a été traduit en français par Sandrine Sweeney.


About the Author

was born in the United States but his heart belongs in the culture of Paris. His passion was born through self taught study of artists from Degas to Lautrec and writers as Genet and Rimbaud. His great love of French culture are symbolism poetry and, French cinema and history. He is a two time author and has written for several American publication as "The Desert Observer," Downtown Zen" and published two prose books: "The Musings" and "A Secret Kingdom". He lives in Las Vegas.



2 Responses to La Palette d’une Poète : Les Œuvres de Florine Stettheimer

  1. Martin Weston says:

    Thank you for my first read of the day! Until now, I was unfamiliar with Florine’s work and found her to be quite a surprise. Her work has the beautiful rich build up of color reminiscent of Gauguin, while running the gamut from Dali’s dreamlike visions, to Chagall, and Sargent’s delicate realism. Your article introduced me to Florine, and brought her gilded, Great Gatsby-like world to life. Wonderful and insightful piece. Well done!

  2. Adrian says:

    She was attracted to both the gaudiest forms of popular culture and the most explicit and controversial cultural arts.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Back to Top ↑

Art & Culture

Published on August 27th, 2017 | by Christopher Alain

2

Poet’s Palatte : The Works of Florine Stettheimer

A modernist painter, poet and jazz age icon Florine Stettheimer shares her colorful world in over 50 paintings and drawings at New York City’s Jewish Museum, May 5 – September 24, 2017.

Florine Stettheimer. Photo by Wikipedia.

To the uninitiated, Florine Stettheimer would seem like another kohl eyed jazz baby who is savvy with a brush and an easel. That was my initial impression when I looked into her work. I am pleased to say I was wrong. A glimpse into this world is one of luminescent dances, colorful bouquets, and brilliant hues. Flappers sashay with lengthy boas and twentieth-century dandies preen in tweed suits and felt hats along with fashionable ladies in opalescent Poiret gowns. People parade in the streets. Unicorns and mythical birds cavort in meadows and Christmas trees burst into magical flames. In her work, one can see shades of other visionaries such as Chagall, Mondrian, and even Monet.

It’s an attractive, yet still meaningful world, and speaks volumes about the artist herself and the world of her easel. A feminist with a reluctant bent and a visonary brush, capturing the world about her, while invoking meaning, storytelling and even a bit of satire.

Florine Stettheimer was born to Rosetta Walter and Joseph Stettheimer on August 29th, 1871 in Rochester, New York. Her family was of German Jewish ancestry. Florian was one of five children. Her father left the family at a young age, and she forged a close relationship with her mother who educated her abroad in the arts, traveling to such cities as Berlin, Stuttgart, and Munich.

A shy and quiet girl, she spoke through her own unique eye, Florine began to form her own artistic voice in New York City after World War I. Naturally progressive, she and her sisters hosted a salon for artists and visionary minds that openly welcomed gays and expatriates. She cultivated an Avante Garde collective and in opening her brush to many influences, she began to develop her own painterly language. She entered her work in several exhibitions including the Annual Exhibitions of the Society of Independent Artists. She crafted and cultivated her distinct style. Like Rembrandt, she formed her artistry through her face in several self-portraits.

Heat, c.1919. Photo by Wikipedia.

Florine’s bodies and portraits are drawn from all aspects of 1920’s life. Art critics and financiers, dapper gentleman, fashionable matrons, tennis players and ladies of fashion and even a bit of biography fill her body of work. Mystical scenes, wild revelries, intimate moments and some self-caricature are present. Through all of this, the artist exhibits a smooth flow, as every aspect of her subject, from gloves to tassels to daisies are in perfect rhythm with one another. One wonders how much the artist’s studies of Art Nouveau influenced her canvas.

Perhaps Stettheimer’s most notable work is “Picnic at Bedford Hills,” which features the painter Marcel Duchamp and several ladies leisurely enjoying a day in the country with its serene yellow fields. The painting I found most captivating was “Portrait of Myself,” featuring the artist smiling serenely in a fiery crimson cloak which seems to serve as almost angelic wings. She is wrapped in an opaque bouquet of flowers under a brilliant sun.

The Cathedrals of Broadway. Photo by Wikipedia.

An artist of many faces, Stettheimer’s body of work extended also into poetry. A modest writer, who wrote works on scraps of paper to be sent to friends and read among her circles rather then have them published, hers are satirical and often amusing portraits of her contemporaries such as Gertrude Stein who she referred to as “Gertie,” and Marcel Duchamp, who’s referred to as “Duche.” Within her poetry, Stettheimer exhibits a marvelous display of wit, coupled with observant critiques on modern culture and marriage. Her poems were published posthumously in a collection called “Crystal Flowers,” assembled her his sister Ettie in 1949 and republished in 2010.

Stettheimer’s work as a stage designer is prolific. In 1934 she was the set designer for “Four Saints and Three Acts,” an opera which included a libretto by Gertrude Stein.  Stettheimer’s destinctive flair for performance was exhibited when she composed the libretto for “Orphée of the Quat-z-arts » or the « Revellers of the 4 Arts Ball,” a yearly soiree composed by the art guilds of Paris.

Many critics hailed Stettheimer’s work during her lifetime, calling her a visionary and a true feminist pioneer. Her work is included in several salons such as the Whitney Biennal and the Salon d’Automne. Modest to a fault, she turned down many requests to exhibit shows of her own, despite numerous offers.

Portrait of Our Nurse, Margaret Burgess, 1929. Photo by Wikipedia.

On May 11, 1944, Stettheimer passed away from cancer at the age of 72.

In her life and legacy, and whether by intention or design, Stettheimer was a true provocateur. A silent and modest woman who let her brush speak the words she herself seldom uttered. Speaking fluently on race, gender, sexuality and the times she lived in, her work has solidified itself an essential component to the rich tapestry of feminist and modernist art, holding itself up with the likes of Georgia O’Keefe, or Marc Chagall. There is nothing antiquated about the work of Florine Stettheimer. Her luscious realm of colors and characters, provocative and marvelous, is as relevant now as it was over 80 years ago.

 

This article was translated in French by Sandrine Sweeney.

 

 


About the Author

was born in the United States but his heart belongs in the culture of Paris. His passion was born through self taught study of artists from Degas to Lautrec and writers as Genet and Rimbaud. His great love of French culture are symbolism poetry and, French cinema and history. He is a two time author and has written for several American publication as "The Desert Observer," Downtown Zen" and published two prose books: "The Musings" and "A Secret Kingdom". He lives in Las Vegas.



2 Responses to Poet’s Palatte : The Works of Florine Stettheimer

  1. Martin Weston says:

    Thank you for my first read of the day! Until now, I was unfamiliar with Florine’s work and found her to be quite a surprise. Her work has the beautiful rich build up of color reminiscent of Gauguin, while running the gamut from Dali’s dreamlike visions, to Chagall, and Sargent’s delicate realism. Your article introduced me to Florine, and brought her gilded, Great Gatsby-like world to life. Wonderful and insightful piece. Well done!

  2. Adrian says:

    She was attracted to both the gaudiest forms of popular culture and the most explicit and controversial cultural arts.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to Top ↑