Art & Culture

Published on juin 11th, 2018 | by Christopher Cipollini

2

Roger Vadim : A la poursuite de la beauté

Roger Vadim. Photo de Wikipedia.

S’il existe une carrière dans le cinéma international marquée par l’obsession de la femme, c’est bien celle de Roger Vadim. Critiqué par certains qui voient en lui un Pygmalion opportuniste, loué par d’autres comme un trésor du cinéma qui a exploré les possibilités poétiques du genre féminin, son travail est né de la passion et de la décadence affichée du cinéma d’avant-garde français. Avec une carrière longue de 40 ans et plus de 25 films à son actif, Vadim s’est taillé une place parmi les metteurs en scène qui ont marqué leur époque.

Roger Vadim est né Roger Vladimir Plemiannikov le 26 janvier 1928 à Paris, de parents d’origine russe et française. Son père était un officier militaire russe émigré d’Ukraine. Devenu français, il fut nommé consul de France en Egypte.

Sa mère, Marie-Antoinette, était un écrivain et essayiste française. Vadim vécut à Alexandrie, en Afrique jusqu’à l’âge de neuf ans, âge ou il fut témoin de la crise cardiaque qui tua son père.

La tragédie plongea la famille dans la pauvreté et les força à retourner en France. Sa mère, consciente du monde qui l’entourait, trouva du travail à la direction d’un hôtel dans les Alpes françaises qui, pendant la deuxième guerre mondiale, accueillit des familles juives en fuite devant les Nazis. La famille retourna à Paris une fois la paix revenue.

Après une courte expérience infructueuse dans le journalisme, Vadim aspira à devenir acteur. Il s’inscrivit au Théâtre Sarah Bernhardt et étudia aux côtés du célèbre mime Marcel Marceau. Il devint aussi l’ami de Marc Allégret qui le présenta à des metteurs en scène, des scénaristes et à une parisienne de 16 ans : Brigitte Bardot. Deux ans plus tard, ils étaient mariés, de 1952 a 1957.

Vadim trouva bientôt sa vocation derrière la caméra. Le jeune Vadim de 19 ans était attiré par la production de film. Il fut l’assistant metteur en scène pour “Blanche Fury” de Marc Allégret (1948), un mélodrame qui fut un échec au box-office. Cela le conduisit à une carrière moyennement réussie de scénariste pour le documentaire “le Gouffre de la Pierre Saint Martin” (1953). Il fut l’assistant metteur en scène du film “Julietta” (1953) avec Jeanne Moreau dans le rôle-titre.

Brigitte Bardot. Photo de Wikipedia.

Il continua à être l’assistant de Marc Allégret dans le film “Futures Vedettes” (1955) mal accueilli par la critique, mais qui fut suivi par le succès commercial de “En effeuillant la marguerite” (1956). Brigitte Bardot était la star de ces deux films. Elle joue une jeune héroïne au visage jeune et frais, apparemment naïve, qui réclame la liberté sexuelle à l’encontre des conventions de la haute société coincée.

Et Dieu… créa la femme. Photo de Wikipédia.

Après le succès de “Cette sacrée gamine” avec Bardot (1956), il reçut le soutien financier dont il avait besoin pour diriger “Et Dieu créa la femme” (1956) qui allait devenir un succès international au box-office. Les acteurs en étaient Brigitte Bardot, Jean-Loup Trintignant, Curd Jurgens and Isabelle Corey. Beaucoup ont clamé que Bardot était sa grande première découverte. Vadim dit un jour d’elle “c’est sa sensualité même que les gens trouvent si provocante.” Le film établit Vadim en tant que metteur en scène à prendre au sérieux et Bardot devint un sex symbol. Un film sur une jeune femme libérée, sans beaucoup d’inhibitions, allait parfaitement avec les thèmes d’une révolution sexuelle sur le point d’éclore. Au cours des années, les actrices principales et les conquêtes de Vadim allaient ressembler à un harem d’actrices iconiques.

Vadim s’est marié cinq fois. Il a eu des enfants avec Annette Stroyberg, avec laquelle il fut marié de 1958 à 1961 ; Jane Fonda, de 1965 à 1973 ; et Catherine Schneider, de 1975 à 1977. Il eut aussi une liaison avec Catherine Deneuve et avec Marie-Christine Barrault qu’il epousa (mariés de 1990 à 2000).

Vadim a épousé l’actrice et gourou fitness Jane Fonda à l’hotel Casino Dunes de Las Vegas. Fonda, avec ses boucles blondes et son charme sensuel, correspondait tout à fait à l’idéal féminin de Vadim au cinéma. La France a considéré que le mariage n’était pas valable car non validé par le consulat Français de Los Angeles.  Une seconde cérémonie eut lieu à St Ouen-Marchefroy.

Dans “Histoires Extraordinaires” (1968), Fonda jouait une baronne cruelle et lascive qui se délectait de sa vie dépravée dans son palais hongrois du 15eme siècle. Le casting était pour le moins atypique puisque son frère, Peter Fonda, jouait le rôle d’un jeune seigneur qui résiste obstinément à ses avances lascives. Le film inclut aussi le jeune premier Alain Delon. Parmi les films tournés par Vadim et Fonda, on trouve “la Curée” (1966) et le remake de “La Ronde.” (1964)

En 1968, Fonda embarqua dans son rôle le plus emblématique avec la comédie de science-fiction Barbarella, dans laquelle on trouve aussi Marcel Marceau et Anita Pallenberg, un film inspiré par la bande dessinée sur une sirène de l’espace intergalactique à la recherche de la relation sexuelle parfaite.

Jane Fonda. Photo de Wikipédia.

Bien qu’il soit sans prétention, ce film assura à Fonda une place de sex symbol international et familiarisa les américains au nom de Vadim. Dans les années qui suivirent, Fonda développa une conscience politique, s’opposa à la guerre du Viet Nam, ce qui créa un conflit avec son profil de sex symbol et interféra dans sa relation avec Vadim.

Vadim quitta alors la France pour s’installer à Hollywood où il dirigea “Pretty Maid All in a Row” (1971) avec Rock Hudson. Il retourna en France pour tourner “Don Juan, ou si Don Juan était une femme” avec son ex-femme Bardot (1973) Le sex symbol interprétait l’équivalent féminin du célèbre séducteur Don Juan. Fonda et Vadim divorcèrent en 1973.

Vadim écrivit une autobiographie “Bardot, Deneuve, Fonda, ma vie avec les trois plus belles femmes du monde” sur sa vie et ses relations avec les trois sex symbols. La fin de carrière de Vadim fut nettement plus terne, notamment un remake américain effrayant de “Et Dieu créa la femme” (1988) qu’il renia ensuite. En 1990, il épousa l’actrice Marie-Christine Barrault. Vadim mourut d’un cancer à l’âge de 72 ans le 11 février 2000.

En dépit de ce que certains qualifieraient aujourd’hui d’exploiteur et immoral, Roger Vadim a cimenté sa place parmi les grands du cinéma français. Il avait un œil qui appréciait les femmes à la façon d’un sculpteur ou un artiste, à la recherche d’une beauté immatérielle, de boucles claires et d’une élégance dissolue.

Pour l’œil contemporain, des films tels que “Et Dieu créa la femme” et “Barbarella” peuvent paraitre un peu datés dans leur description de la féminité antérieure au mouvement de libération de la femme.

Cependant, on ne peut nier que Vadim, avec son œil d’artiste et son désir pour une esthétique idéalisée, a vécu avec l’obsession de scruter la beauté telle qu’il la voyait, sans se soucier des conventions de la société. Vadim était un révolutionnaire du cinéma et cherchait la beauté dans ses films, ses femmes et ses amantes. Tout comme Barbarella, sa création cosmique, Roger Vadim vivra pour toujours dans un espace bien à lui au cœur du firmament céleste.

Cet article a été traduit en français par Anne-Cécile Baer Porter.

 


About the Author

was born in the United States but his heart belongs in the culture of Paris. His passion was born through self taught study of artists from Degas to Lautrec and writers as Genet and Rimbaud. His great love of French culture are symbolism poetry and, French cinema and history. He is a two time author and has written for several American publication as "The Desert Observer," Downtown Zen" and published two prose books: "The Musings" and "A Secret Kingdom". He lives in Las Vegas.



2 Responses to Roger Vadim : A la poursuite de la beauté

  1. Dot Hill says:

    Excellent work – such vivid words to help us envision the man and his artistry.

    Thank you Christopher

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *


CAPTCHA Image
Reload Image
Back to Top ↑

Art & Culture

Published on June 11th, 2018 | by Christopher Cipollini

2

Roger Vadim: Chasing Beauty

Roger Vadim. Photo by Wikipedia.

If any career in international film comes marked with an obsession with la femme, it is that of Roger Vadim. Decried by some as an opportunistic Svengali and praised by others as a cinematic treasure who emphasized the poetic possibilities of the feminine gender, his work was born of the passion and unapologizing decadence of French Avant-garde cinema. With a career spanning 40 years and some 25 pictures to his credit, Vadim carved his niche among directors that have shaped the decades.

Roger Vadim was born Roger Vladimir Plemiannikov on January 26, 1928, in Paris to parents who were of French and Russian decent. His father was a Russian military officer who emigrated from the Ukraine to France. He received French citizenship and became consul of France to Egypt. His mother, Marie-Antoinette was a French writer and essayist. Vadim lived in Alexandria, Africa until the age of nine when he witnessed his father’s death from a heart attack. This misfortune plunged the family into poverty and forced them to return to France. His mother, a socially conscious woman, found work managing a hostel in the French Alps for wayward Jewish families fleeing the Nazis during World War II.  The family returned to Paris once the war was over.

After a failed fling with journalism, Vadim aspired to become an actor. He enrolled in Theatre Sarah Bernhardt and studied alongside famed mime Marcel Marceau. There, he befriended Marc Allégret who introduced him to directors, screenwriters, and 16 year old Parisienne Brigitte Bardot. They married two years later, from 1952-1957.

Vadim soon found his true calling behind the camera. At the age of 19, film production enticed young Vadim. He was assistant director for Allégret’s commercially unsuccessful melodrama Blanche Fury (1948). This led to a mildly successful career as a screenwriter for the documentary Le Gouffre de la Pierre Saint-Marti (1953). He worked as assistant director for the romance filmJulietta (1953), starring Jeanne Moreau.

Brigitte Bardot. Photo by Wikipedia.

He continued as assistant director to Allégret on the poorly reviewed flick School for Love (1955), but followed with the box office hit Plucking the Daisyaka Mam’selle Striptease (1956), both starring Bardot. Bardot plays a young, fresh faced and seemingly naive bold young heroine who demands sexual freedom against the mores of high buckled society.

Et Dieu… créa la femme. Photo by Wikipedia.

After the success of Naughty Girl (1956) with Bardot, he secured financial backing for his directorial debut And God Created Woman (1956), which would become an international box office hit. The film starred Brigitte Bardot, Jean-Louis Trintignant, Curd Jürgens and Isabelle Corey. Many people touted Bardot as his first great discovery. Vadim once said, “It is her [Bardot] very sensuality that people find so provocative.” This established Vadim as a serious director and Bardot as a sex icon. A film about a liberated young woman with little restraint fit perfectly into the themes of a burgeoning sexual revolution. In time, Vadim’s female leads and conquests would be akin to a harem of iconic female actresses.

Vadim married five times.  He fathered children with Annette Stroyberg, married 1958-1961; Jane Fonda, married 1965-1973; and Catherine Schneider, married 1975- 1977. He also had relationships with lover Catherine Deneuve and Marie-Christine Barrault (married 1990-2000).

Vadim wedded fitness guru and actress Jane Fonda at the Las Vegas Dunes Hotel and Casino. Fonda, with her blonde locks and sensuous appeal, fit perfectly into Vadim’s ideal of la femme in cinema. France judged the marriage not authentic because of faulty validation at the Los Angeles French consulate. They had a second nuptial in Saint-Ouen-Marchefroy.

InSpirits of the Dead (1968), Fonda plays a cruel and lustful baroness who delights in depravity in her 15th century Hungarian palace. The casting is atypical since her brother, Peter Fonda, plays a young lord who willfully resists her lustful advances. The film also includes French heartthrob Alain Delon. The run of Vadim/Fonda films also include The Game is Over (1966) and the remake of La Ronde (The Circle of Love) (1964).

In 1968, Fonda embarked on her most iconic role in the sci-fi romp Barbarella, also starring Marcel Marceau and Anita Pallenberg, a film based on the comic series about an inter-galactic space siren on a quest for perfect sex.

Jane Fonda. Photo by Wikipedia.

Despite its obvious camp value, the film secured Fonda’s place as an international sex symbol and brought notoriety to Vadim’s name to the American audience. In the years to come, Fonda newly developed political awareness would become more opposed to the American involvement in the Vietnam War, and her status as a sex symbol conflicted with her burgeoning social consciousness and drove a wedge between herself and Vadim.

Vadim then moved from France to Hollywood to direct All the Pretty Maidsin a Row(1971) with Rock Hudson. He returned to France and reunited with his ex-wife Bardot to make Don Juan (OrIf Don Juan Were a Woman) (1973). The iconic sex symbol appears as a female counterpart to the famed seducer Don Juan. Fonda and Vadim divorced in 1973.

Vadim penned a biography Bardot, Deneuve, Fonda: My Life with the Three Most Beautiful Women in the World, which chronicles his life and affairs with the three sex symbols. The tail end of Vadim’s career was significantly lackluster and included an abysmal American remake of And God Created Woman(1988),which Vadim would later decry. In 1990, he married actress Marie-Christine Barrault. Vadim died of cancer at the age of 72, February 11, 2000.

In spite of what some people would view today as exploitative and immoral in taste, Roger Vadim cemented his place in the hierarchy of French cinema. His had an eye that surveyed females, as would a sculptor or artist, as a veneer of intangible beauty, flaxen curls, and bawdy elegance. To the contemporary eye, films such as And God Created Woman and Barbarellamay seem a bit dated in their pre-women liberation movement approach to femininity. However, it’s without denial that Vadim, with his eye for artistry and desire for an idealized aesthetic, obsessively lived to peruse beauty as he saw it, regardless of society’s high heeled mores. Vadim was a cinematic revolutionist and sought it in his films, his women, and his lovers. Much like his cosmic creation Barbarella, Roger Vadim will forever dwell on from his own place in the celestial heavens.

 

This article was translated in French by Anne-Cécile Baer Porter.

 


About the Author

was born in the United States but his heart belongs in the culture of Paris. His passion was born through self taught study of artists from Degas to Lautrec and writers as Genet and Rimbaud. His great love of French culture are symbolism poetry and, French cinema and history. He is a two time author and has written for several American publication as "The Desert Observer," Downtown Zen" and published two prose books: "The Musings" and "A Secret Kingdom". He lives in Las Vegas.



2 Responses to Roger Vadim: Chasing Beauty

  1. Dot Hill says:

    Excellent work – such vivid words to help us envision the man and his artistry.

    Thank you Christopher

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


CAPTCHA Image
Reload Image
Back to Top ↑