Art & Culture

Published on mars 16th, 2015 | by Amy Lynne Hayes

0

Sonia Delaunay: Une rétrospective

Sonia_Terk_Delaunay,_1901

Portrait de Sonia Terk Delaunay. Photo par Wikipedia.

C’est une femme qui touchait à tout ce qui était du ressort de la créativité d’aussi loin qu’on puisse l’imaginer. La peinture, la mode, la reliure, la décoration d’intérieur, les gravures et textiles, la rétrospective de Sonia Delaunay nous dévoile tout. Tenue au Musée d’Art Moderne de la ville de Paris, l’exposition, la première rétrospective de son œuvre depuis les années 60, met en vitrine plus de 400 œuvres de l’artiste depuis le début du 20e siècle jusqu’à la fin des années 70.

Née en 1885 dans la ville qu’on appelle désormais Poltava Oblast en Ukraine, Sonia est fille de parents ouvriers russes. Elle déménage à St Saint-Pétersbourg alors qu’elle est encore jeune, pour y vivre avec le frère de sa mère, Henri Terk. Henri est un riche avocat juif, et avec sa femme Anna, ils ont les moyens d’offrir à Sonia une meilleure éducation. Ils l’adoptèrent en 1890.

Grâce aux Terks, Sonia découvrit les galeries et musées d’art de St Saint-Pétersbourg. Elle fréquenta l’école « The Academy of Fine Arts » de Karlsruhe en Allemagne. Puis de l’Allemagne, la jeune artiste se rendit à Paris, ou elle insinuation ses études à l’Académie de La Palette de Montparnasse. Nous sommes alors en 1905, et le tout Paris est en ébullition devant les œuvres Post-impressionnistes et Fauvistes. Sonia fut influencée par des noms tels que Henri Matisse, Gauguin ou Van Gogh.

Elle fit cependant son entrée sur la scène artistique parisienne par le biais du mariage. Wilhelm Uhde était un propriétaire de galerie d’art qui se trouvait être homosexuel. Ils divorcèrent lorsque Sonia rencontra Robert Delaunay, qu’elle épousa en 1910 et avec qui elle resta jusqu’à sa mort en 1941. Le couple donna naissance à un fils, Charles.

Sonia_Delaunay,_Rythme,_1938

Rythme 1938. Photo par Wikipedia.

Son union avec Robert fut le point de départ d’une période de production créative. S’inspirant de l’abstractionnisme, et plus particulièrement du Pointillisme, les Delaunay fondèrent une nouvelle version du cubisme : l’Orphisme. Un fort intérêt dans l’interaction des couleurs se trouvait être à la base des œuvres de Sonia à cette époque et plus tard encore.

Lorsque la 1ere guerre mondiale éclata en 1914, le couple était en Espagne, et décida de déménager au Portugal au lieu de retourner à Paris. Sonia continua de peindre et trouva le succès par le biais de collaborations et d’expositions personnelles. ce fut également à cette époque qu’elle s’impliqua davantage dans le théâtre et la décoration d’intérieur, usant de son talent afin d’augmenter et de sécuriser davantage de revenus en ces temps incertains.

Le couple finit par revenir à Paris an 1921. Sonia continua de travailler dans différents domaines créatifs, y compris la fabrication de vêtements, de costumes, de meubles, de textiles et de peintures. Elle resta engagée dans les arts, et engrangea au passage quelques affaires fructueuses, jusqu’à sa mort en 1979.

The last section of La prose du Transsibérien et de la Petite Jehanne de France, 1913

La dernière section de La prose du Transsibérien et de la Petite Jehanne de France, 1913. Photo par Wikipedia.

La signature stylistique de Sonia Delaunay comprend une utilisation audacieuse des couleurs, ainsi que ce que l’on appelle le « simultané », qui devint sa marque de fabrique. ce terme renvoie aux expériences qu’elle et son mari menèrent avec les couleurs et les motifs, constatant ainsi à quel point les deux s’influençaient l’un et l’autre dans leur composition créatrice.

L’exposition au Musée d’Art Moderne comprend des « échantillons » de l’œuvre de l’artiste à travers ses différentes étapes. Celle-ci s’articule de manière chronologique, et emmène les clients à travers une frise visuelle du processus créatif de Sonia. La rétrospective se tiendra jusqu’au 22 février, pour ensuite déménager à la « Tate Modern » à Londres au printemps et durant les mois d’été.

Musée d’Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris
11 Avenue du Président Wilson 75116 Paris
+33 1 53 67 40 00

www.mam.paris.fr
Opening Hours
Tues – Sun 10h to 18h
Late opening Thurs 22h (exhibitions only)
Admission
Full rate 11 euros
Concessions 8 euros


About the Author

is a writer and designer by trade and an avid traveler by heart. She first discovered her love for all things French while studying interiors in Paris, and has never quite gotten over the initial infatuation. When not planning her next escape to *La Belle France*, she can be found globe-trotting around other parts of the world and writing for her travel-inspired blog, Créatrice Mondial. Links to Published Works: The Parisian - Creatrice Mondial Paris, You're Always on My Mind



Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *


CAPTCHA Image
Reload Image
Back to Top ↑

Art & Culture

Published on March 16th, 2015 | by Amy Lynne Hayes

0

Sonia Delaunay: A Retrospective

She’s a lady who had her fingers in almost every creative endeavor imaginable. Painting, fashion, bookbinding, home decorations, prints and textiles, the retrospective of artist Sonia Delaunay shows it all. Held by the Musée d’Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris, the exhibition – the first retrospective of Delaunay’s work since the 1960s – showcases more than 400 of her works from the early 20th century to the late 1970s.

Sonia_Terk_Delaunay,_1901

Portrait of Sonia Terk Delaunay. Photo by Wikipedia.

Born in 1885 in what is today Poltava Oblast in Ukraine, Delaunay was born to working class Russian parents. At a young age she moved to St. Petersburg to live with her mother’s brother, Henri Terk. Terk, a wealthy Jewish lawyer, and his wife Anna were able to afford Sonia a better upbringing. The pair adopted her in 1890.

Through the Terks, Delaunay was exposed to the art museums and galleries of St. Petersburg, and was able to attend school at the Academy of Fine Arts in Karlsruhe, Germany. From Germany the young artist went to Paris, where she continued her studies at the Académie de La Palette in Montparnasse. It was 1905, and Paris was abuzz with the works of the Post-Impressionists and Fauvists. Names such as Henri Matisse, Gauguin and Van Gogh influenced the young artist.

Delaunay’s true entrance into the Parisian art scene came, however, with her marriage to Wilhelm Uhde. Uhde, a German art gallery owner, happened to be homosexual. The pair divorced when Sonia met Robert Delaunay, whom she married in 1910 and stayed with until his death in 1941. The couple had one son, Charles.

Sonia_Delaunay,_Rythme,_1938

Rythme 1938. Photo by Wikipedia.

The union with Robert marked the launch of new, creative output. Drawing from the style of the abstractionists and specifically Pointillism, the Delaunays founded a new version of cubism called Orphism. A strong interest in the interaction of colors provided the foundation for much of Sonia’s works from this period and onwards.

At the outbreak of World War I in 1914, the couple had been in Spain, and chose to move to Portugal instead of returning to Paris. Delaunay continued to paint and found success through both collaborations and solo exhibitions. During this time, she also became involved in theater and interior design, using her talent to branch out and secure more income during unstable times.

The couple eventually returned to Paris in 1921. Delaunay continued to work in all forms of creative pursuits, including making clothing, costumes, furniture, textiles and paintings. She remained involved in the arts, having several successful businesses along the way, until her death in 1979.

Sonia Delaunay’s signature style includes bold use of color. A term called simultané became her registered trademark, referring to experiments she and her husband would conduct with color and design. The two influenced each other to create resulting compositions.

The last section of La prose du Transsibérien et de la Petite Jehanne de France, 1913

The last section of La prose du Transsibérien et de la Petite Jehanne de France, 1913. Photo by Wikipedia.

The exhibition at the Musée d’Art Moderne includes samples of the artist’s work from across all of her various stages. It is organized chronologically, taking patrons through a visual timeline of Delaunay’s creative process. The retrospective will run until February 22, and will move to the Tate Modern in London for the late spring and summer months.

Musée d’Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris
11 Avenue du Président Wilson 75116 Paris
+33 1 53 67 40 00

www.mam.paris.fr
Opening Hours
Tues – Sun 10 am to 6 pm
Late opening Thurs 10 pm (exhibitions only)
Admission
Full rate 11 euros
Concessions 8 euros


About the Author

is a writer and designer by trade and an avid traveler by heart. She first discovered her love for all things French while studying interiors in Paris, and has never quite gotten over the initial infatuation. When not planning her next escape to *La Belle France*, she can be found globe-trotting around other parts of the world and writing for her travel-inspired blog, Créatrice Mondial. Links to Published Works: The Parisian - Creatrice Mondial Paris, You're Always on My Mind



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


CAPTCHA Image
Reload Image
Back to Top ↑