Art & Culture

Published on août 19th, 2016 | by Pascal Ordonneau

0

Rue de Paris: Place de la Concorde

place de la concorde1

Photo par Pascal Ordonneau.

Située au bas des Champs Elysées et au sortir de la rue Royale et de la rue de Rivoli, la place de la Concorde longe la Seine entre le Cours de la Reine et le quai des Tuileries. Elle forme un rectangle (360 mètres sur 210) elle est « donnée » dans les classements internationaux pour une surface de 86 000 m2. Evidemment, tout le monde connait la place de la Concorde.

On y trouve une vue sublime sur l’avenue des Champs Elysées jusqu’à l’Etoile et même jusqu’aux tours de la Défense. En leur tournant le dos, ce sont le jardin des Tuileries et le Louvre. En considérant la Seine, on est face au Palais Bourbon, sorte de temple grec ou romain, en lui tournant le dos, on se retrouve, rue Royale et l’église de la Madeleine, elle-même temple grec ou romain. De la place, on perçoit les verrières du Grand Palais et les toitures du Petit Palais. Accoudé aux quais du Cours de la Reine, on admire la Tour Eiffel. Depuis le pont de la Concorde, c’est un enchantement de ponts et de monuments.

Dans Paris, la place de la concorde est un univers à part, elle parle d’architecture, de politique, d’art, d’urbanisme, de combats, de morts célèbres et de destins ravagés. Et pourtant, elle est bien jeune rapportée à l’ensemble des monuments et places de Paris. Elle n’apparait que dans le cours du règne de Louis XV, lorsque l’architecte Gabriel en lance les travaux. Jusque-là, elle n’était que le bout du jardin des Tuileries qui donnait sur un glacis défensif, via une passerelle dite « du pont tournant »au-dessus des fossés qui l’entouraient.

place de la concorde3

Photo par Pascal Ordonneau.

Cette place est un véritable symbole de l’urbanisation moderne telle qu’elle fut lancée sous l’égide du roi Louis XV et en son honneur. Les grandes villes de France furent ainsi dotées de grandes places servant à mettre en valeur les statues monumentales du roi, surnommé le Bien-Aimé (au début de son règne). Les représentants de la ville de Paris voulant fêter la guérison du Roi à la suite d’une sérieuse maladie, décidèrent d’ériger une statue équestre qui ornerait le centre d’une place nouvelle sur laquelle aboutirait de nouvelles rues dont la rue Royale qui joint aujourd’hui l’église de la Madeleine à la place de la Concorde et la rue de Rivoli. La statue fut l’œuvre de Bouchardon. Elle ne résista pas à la Révolution Française. La place fut dessinée et bâtie sous la direction de l’architecte Gabriel. Les travaux seront achevés en 1763. Les projets initiaux de Gabriel ne furent que très partiellement exécutés, mais la Place de la Concorde ne cessât de faire l’objet d’aménagements jusque dans le milieu du XIXème siècle. En 1844, la place de la Concorde fut le lieu de l’expérimentation de l’éclairage électrique urbain. Les derniers grands aménagements datent de 1930-32 lorsque le pont de la Concorde fut élargi.

Aujourd’hui, la place de la Concorde est un croisement particulièrement chargé des avenues de Paris et le pont de la Concorde un des ponts les plus utilisés par les Parisiens. D’une taille exceptionnelle, elle compte parmi les plus grandes places urbaines du monde. Elle crée une sorte de rupture entre l’axe des Champs-Elysées et l’axe des Tuileries jusqu’au Louvre comme la place de l’Etoile crée une rupture sur l’axe, Paris-la Défense. A l’inverse des places construites antérieurement à Paris, place des Vosges ou place des Victoires, conçues comme des opérations immobilières autant qu’urbanistiques, elle n’est pas encadrée d’immeubles, mais seulement bordée au nord par deux grands Hôtels de style néo-classiques de Gabriel. Aujourd’hui, ils font l’objet de rénovation très lourdes, l’un est essentiellement occupé par l’Hôtel Crillon, l’autre l’était par le Ministère de la Marine. En bordure de la place de la Concorde, séparé de l’Hôtel Crillon par la rue Boissy D’Anglas, se trouve l’Ambassade des Etats-Unis. Que peut-on lui reprocher ? Hélas, elle est surchargée de voitures qui la traversent du nord au sud et d’est en ouest : se tenir sous l’obélisque en plein milieu de la place est un défi au courage et à l’intrépidité : il faut prendre le risque de traverser un flot permanent d’automobiles (même si des feux de circulation le canalisent) ; il faut s’apprêter à vivre un moment la vie des tranchées de 1915 bombardées aux gaz asphyxiants ; il faut enfin protéger ses oreilles, l’équivalent de 10 long-courriers semblent en permanence y atterrir et décoller.

L’organisation de la place de la concorde, sa destination, les bâtiments et ses nomenclatures diverses sont autant de marqueurs de la France Moderne. S’il ne serait pas juste de résumer l’histoire de la France aux évènements parisiens, il faut reconnaître que la place de la Concorde en a eu sa part et a eu à tenir son rôle dans des circonstances difficiles !

place de la concorde2

Photo par Pascal Ordonneau.

Place Louis XV tout d’abord, elle affronte la Révolution, en perdant la statue du Monarque en 1792. Elle devient alors la place de la Révolution. A la fin de la période de la « Terreur révolutionnaire », en 1795, la place de la Révolution est renommée « place de la Concorde ». Le terme, on le voit, est plus neutre et prudent : la place de la Révolution a été un haut lieu de la symbolique révolutionnaire, comme on le verra dans les lignes qui suivent. Restons sur le nom dont elle est gratifiée. En 1826, le roi Louis XVIII, frère de Louis XVI décidait qu’en son souvenir, la place de la Concorde serait intitulée « place Louis XVI » et qu’une statue du roi décapité sera érigée. Le projet traînât, puis la révolution de 1830 qui chassât du trône Charles X, frère de Louis XVI et de Louis XVIII, le fit définitivement tomber dans les oubliettes. La question « politique » qui transformait l’aménagement de la place en un véritable casse-tête disparaitra en 1836 avec un aménagement majeur et complètement apolitique (selon les standards de l’époque) : l’installation en plein milieu de la place, de l’obélisque de Louxor donné à la France par le Vice-Roi d’Egypte.

Politique cette place ? C’est un fait qu’elle a été, à partir de la Révolution, un haut lieu de la politique dans ses fastes et dans toute son horreur ! En matière de faste, on sera bref, la place de la Concorde est depuis le Président Mitterrand le lieu où est installée la Tribune d’honneur du défilé de la fête nationale française, le 14 juillet. En matière d’horreur, la place de la Concorde fut un lieu où on guillotina activement durant la Révolution. La première décapitation qui s’y donnât au moyen de la guillotine concerne une bande de voleurs qui avait réussi à dérober les bijoux de la couronne dont le célèbre diamant bleu. La guillotine repartira ensuite place du Carrousel mais reviendra place de la Concorde pour décapiter Louis XVI, le 21 janvier 1793. Elle y restera de mai 1793 à juin 1794. Y seront « traitées » à peu près 50% des victimes de la Terreur, dont Marie-Antoinette, reine de France, Philippe d’Orléans (cousin de Louis XVI, qui, député révolutionnaire sous le nom de Philippe-Egalité, n’avait pas hésité à voter la mort de son cousin !) et Danton, un des chefs révolutionnaires ennemi de Robespierre. La dernière apparition de la guillotine sur la place de la Concorde (qui se dénommait alors encore Place de la Révolution), fut destinée à l’exécution de Robespierre, le 28 juillet 1794. La place de la Concorde n’a pas été de la partie pour les révolutions de 1830, puis de 1848. En revanche, elle sera, en 1934, le lieu d’un drame politique qui continue à marquer les esprits politiques en France : une manifestation de la droite et de l’extrême-droite s’étant rassemblée sur la place dans l’idée de « marcher sur le Palais-Bourbon », siège de l’Assemblée Nationale, la Garde Républicaine à cheval chargea la foule laissant 7 morts et 40 blessés.

Sur le plan architectural, la place est organisée autour de l’obélisque, surmonté récemment d’un pyramidion « doré à la feuille », et de deux gigantesques fontaines représentant l’une les océans, l’autre les fleuves. Des statues de «matrones » représentent quelques-unes des principales villes de France. Celle de Strasbourg fut endeuillée jusqu’au moment où, en 1918, l’Alsace, annexée par l’Allemagne en 1871, redevint Française. Se déploient aussi 20 colonnes rostrales et candélabres. Les sculptures dites des « chevaux de Marly » encadrent l’accès aux Champs Elysées et font pendant aux chevaux dominant l’entrée du jardin des Tuileries. Le dernier grand aménagement de la place consista en la suppression des fossés qui l’encadraient.

Sur sa partie sud, la place donne sur la Seine et ouvre le pont de la Concorde. Sa construction lancée en 1788 fut achevée en 1791. Il a changé de noms aussi souvent que la place ! Sa particularité, outre sa taille encore plus impressionnante depuis l’élargissement de 1930, fut d’être, pour sa partie supérieure, entièrement construite avec des pierres du Château de la Bastille. Lorsque celui-ci, symbole de l’oppression monarchique, fut emporté par la furie révolutionnaire, sa démolition fut très vite décidée et exécutée. Les pierres tirées de la destruction du château se retrouvèrent dans la construction du pont « de la Révolution ». Un vrai symbole (que tout le monde a oublié !!!)

Cet article a été corrigé en anglais par Aubrey Wadman Goetsch.


About the Author

40 ans de banque chez plusieurs établissements français et anglo-saxons ; il est l’auteur de plusieurs livres sur l’économie et la banque, d’un livre de voyage, d’un roman et d’un livre sur l’Allemagne. Il écrit pour les journaux et la radio, dont les Echos, le Figaro, Huffington Post, Radio France International.



Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *


CAPTCHA Image
Reload Image
Back to Top ↑

Art & Culture

Published on August 19th, 2016 | by Pascal Ordonneau

0

Street in Paris: Place de la Concorde (Concorde Square)

place de la concorde1

Photo by Pascal Ordonneau.

Situated at the foot of the Champs-Elysées, at the end of Royale Street on the north (rue Royale) and at the end of the Rivoli Street on the east, Place de la Concorde goes along the Seine between the Court of the Queen (le Cours de la Reine) and the quay of the Tuileries. It forms a rectangle (360 meters by 210) and it is mentioned in the international rankings for a surface area of 86,000 m2. Of course, everybody knows Place de la Concorde!

From this square, there is a sublime view on the avenue of the Champs-Elysées up to the Place de l’Etoile and even up to the towers of La Defense there. By turning your back on them, you can see the Tuileries Garden and the Louvre Palace. By considering the Seine, we are in front of the French National Assembly Palace, a kind of Greek or Roman temple. By turning your back on it, you will find Royal Street and Madeleine Church, designed in a Greek or Roman temple style. From the square we perceive the canopy of the Grand Palais and the roofs of the Petit Palais. Leaning against the quays of the Courts of the Queen, we admire the Eiffel Tower. From La Concorde bridge, there is a delight of bridges and monuments.

In Paris, the Place de la Concorde is a universe apart; it speaks about architecture, politics, art, town planning, fights, famous deaths and ravaged fates. And yet, it is very young compared to the set of monuments and squares of Paris. It did not appear until the reign of Louis XV, when the architect Gabriel launched the works. Up to this time, it was but the end of the Tuileries Garden, a defensive glacis, accessible via a footbridge named “the swing bridge” (le Pont tournant) over the ditch which surrounded it.

place de la concorde3

Photo by Pascal Ordonneau.

The square is a real symbol of the modern urbanization such as it was launched  under the auspices of King Louis XV and to honour him. The big cities of France were so endowed with big squares serving to emphasize the monumental statues of the king, nicknamed the Beloved (at the beginning of his reign!). The representatives of the city of Paris wanting to celebrate the cure of King Louis after a serious disease, decided to set up an equestrian statue which would decorate the centre of a new square on which new streets leading to the square would end up, namely the “rue Royale” (Royal Street) which today joins Madeleine Church to the Place de la Concorde and Rivoli Street. The statue was the work of Bouchardon. It did not withstand the French Revolution. The square was drawn, built and supervised by the architect Gabriel. The works were finished in 1763. Gabriel’s initial projects were only very partially executed, but the Place de la Concorde went through ceaseless public works up to the mid- 19th century. In 1844, Place de la Concorde was the location of an experiment of urban electric lighting. The last big arrangements date 1930-32 when Concorde Bridge was widened.

Today, the Place de la Concorde is one of the most crowded crossings amongst the avenues of Paris and the Concorde Bridge is one of the bridges the most used by Parisians. Due to its exceptional size, the square counts among the biggest urban squares of the world. It creates a kind of break between the axis of the Champs-Elysées and the axis of the Tuileries up to the Louvre as Place de l’Étoile creates a break on the axis Paris-La-Défense. Unlike squares that were built in previous years such as Vosges Square (la place des Vosges) or Victory Square (la place des Victoires), conceived as property deals as much as urbanistic, it is not lined by building except for the North of the Square which is bordered by two neo-classic large Mansions of Gabriel’s style. Today, they are under very important renovation works, one of them is occupied by the Hotel Crillon, the other one by the Navy ministry. Bordering the Place de la Concorde, separated from the Hotel Crillon by Boissy D’Anglas Street, is the Embassy of the United States. What blame could it be possible to put on this beautiful square? Regrettably it is overloaded with cars which cross it from north to south and from east to west: should you decide to stand up under the obelisk in the middle of the square, you have to challenge your courage and fearlessness; you are forced to take the risk of crossing a permanent stream of automobiles (even if traffic lights channel it; you are forced to get ready to live for a moment the same life as in the trenches during year 1915 when they were bombarded with poison gases; eventually, you would have to protect your ears because it seems that the equivalent of 10 long-haul aircraft are permanently landing and/or taking off there.

The organization of the Place de la Concorde, its destination, the buildings and its diverse names correspond to many markers of Modern France. If it would not be just to summarize the history of France in Parisian events, it is necessary to recognize that the Place de la Concorde had its part and had to hold its role in difficult circumstances!

place de la concorde2

Photo by Pascal Ordonneau.

As the “Place Louis XV” first of all, it confronted the French Revolution and was rid of the statue of the Monarch in 1792. The square then became the “square of the Revolution”. At the end of the period of the “revolutionary Terror” in 1795, the “square of the Revolution” was renamed “Place de la Concorde”. The term, we can notice, is more neutral and prudent: the “square of the Revolution” was the Mecca of the revolutionary symbolism, as we shall see it in the lines which follow. Let us stay on the name under which the square is presented. In 1826, King Louis XVIII, brother of Louis XVI decided that in his memory, the Place de la Concorde would be entitled “the square of Louis XVI” and that a statue of the beheaded king would be erected in its midst. The project was lagging behind. Then came the revolution of 1830 which removed Charles X from the throne, brother of Louis XVI and Louis XVIII, definitively brought down the project in the dungeon. The “political” question which transformed the arrangements of the square into a real headache faded away in 1836 with a major and completely apolitical development (according to the standards of this period): the obelisk of Luxor given to France by the Viceroy of Egypt was installed in the very centre of the Place de la Concorde! It was the real chance of a lifetime for the new king, Louis-Philippe who, however, waited that the people of Paris applaud the technical performance of the installation before showing himself onto a balcony dominating the square!

What is it about Politics with this square? It is a fact that it was during the French Revolution times, the Mecca of politics in all its splendor and in all its horror! Regarding splendor, we shall be brief, the Place de la Concorde is since President Mitterrand the square where is installed the Grandstand of the parade of the French national holiday on the 14th of July. Regarding horror, the Place de la Concorde was a square where the guillotine was took place here by means of the guillotine concerned a band of thieves who had managed to steal the jewels of the crown including the famous blue diamond. Then, the guillotine had been taken back to square of the Carousel but was returned to Place de la Concorde for the beheading of Louis XVI, on January 21st, 1793. It would remain there from May, 1793 till June, 1794. More or less 50% of the victims of the Terror would be “treated” there, including Marie-Antoinette, Queen of France, Philippe d’Orléans (cousin of Louis XVI, who, as revolutionary deputy under the name of Philippe-Egalité, had not hesitated to vote for the death of his cousin!) and Danton, one of the revolutionary leaders, an enemy of Robespierre. The last appearance of the guillotine on the Place de la Concorde (which was still called Square of the Revolution), was intended for the execution of Robespierre, on July 28th, 1794. The Place de la Concorde was out of this line of the political business during the revolutions in 1830, then in 1848. On the other hand, in 1934, it was the square where surged a political drama which still marks the political minds in France: a demonstration of the right and the extreme-right having gathered on the square with the idea of “walking on the French National Assembly Palace”, the Republican Guard (Garde Républicaine) on horseback charged the crowd causing 7 deaths and 40 wounded persons.

From an architectural point of view, the square is designed around the obelisk, recently surmounted by a “gilded pyramidion” and two gigantic fountains one representing the oceans, and the other, the rivers. “Matron’s” statues represent some of the main cities of France. That of Strasbourg was saddened until, in 1918, Alsace, annexed by Germany in 1871, returned to France. 20 “rostral columns” and candelabras are also deployed. The sculptures called “horses of Marly” are dominating the access to the Champs-Elysées and match horses above the entrance of the Tuileries Garden. The last big development of the square consisted of the removal of the ditches which framed it.

On its southern part, the square overlooks the Seine and opens the bridge of Concorde. Its construction started in 1788 and was finished in 1791. It changed names as often as the square! Its peculiarity, other than it shows an even more impressive size since the extension of 1930, was to be completely built with stones of the Bastille Castle. When the latter, symbol of the monarchic oppression, was taken by revolutionary fury, its demolition was very fast decided and executed. Stones pulled from the destruction of the castle found themselves in the construction of the bridge “of the Revolution”. A real symbol (that everybody forgot!!!)

This article was proofread in English by Aubrey Wadman Goetsch.


About the Author

40 ans de banque chez plusieurs établissements français et anglo-saxons ; il est l’auteur de plusieurs livres sur l’économie et la banque, d’un livre de voyage, d’un roman et d’un livre sur l’Allemagne. Il écrit pour les journaux et la radio, dont les Echos, le Figaro, Huffington Post, Radio France International.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to Top ↑
  • Welcome

    Welcome to French Quarter Magazine ! This magazine provides a cultural journey filled with beautiful images and fascinating stories written by many dedicated writers.

    Art, History, Culture, Music, Fashion, Gastronomy, Travel and Style all reflect the very essence of our culture, its attitudes and philosophies, its fashions and passions. Our site has many posts for you to choose from in many different categories of interest in English and French. There are entertainment and informative news and reviews as well as interviews.

    French Quarter Magazine is seeking to grow an appreciation for, and to celebrate, the rich and colourful history and heritage of France combined with a vibrant mix of modernity and technology. We want to help expand knowledge of history, culture and all the arts. Our Franco-American initiative to preserve cultural treasures in both countries is crucial. It is clear that if future generations are to know the beauties of landmarks and historic monuments, it is our goal to act now to help. We are looking for transmitting and safeguarding the skills, knowledge and love of Arts, culture and technology through conferences, transatlantic educational programs and tours for our members and readers.

    France’s past is of huge interest to many exiled French, to all Francophiles and those of French descent who are keen to keep abreast with what is happening in France today.

    Become a Subscriber to French Quarter Magazine by clicking on the sign up button and receive twice monthly newsletter, as well as other special offers from time to time.

    You can like and follow us on Facebook and watch our interviews on our You Tube Channel.

  • Follow us!

  • (Français) Articles récents

  • (Français) Commentaires récents