Gastronomie

Published on mars 16th, 2015 | by Maureen Youngblood

0

La bataille pour le Foie Gras

Pour une grande majorité d’Américains, manger du foie gras n’est pas dans les habitudes. Nombreuses sont les personnes aux Etats-Unis qui passent leur vie entière sans jamais en manger, vu qu’il n’apparaît que rarement sur les menus. Aux Etats-Unis, cette délicatesse historique à la française est réservée surtout pour les restaurants raffinés des grandes villes.

Le foie gras est devenu sujet à polémique aux Etats-Unis, surtout en Californie, du fait des groupes d’activistes pour les droits des animaux qui pensent que le processus d’alimentation forcée, appelé gavage, est cruel et inhumain.

La pratique du gavage remonte à des milliers d’années en arrière, du temps des Egyptiens. ; on retrouve même des pictogrammes d’égyptiens nourrissant des oies afin de les engraisser. Cette pratique se poursuit à travers la Méditerranée et fut même utilisée par les Grecques et les Romains. Plus tard, le peuple juif perpétua cette pratique, qui s’étendit de plus en plus en Europe.

1024px-Foie_gras_IMGP2349 WIKIPEDIA

Foie gras. Photo par Wikipedia.

Ce fut à l’époque de Louis XIV que les dîners raffinés commencèrent à sortir de la sphère royale. Après la révolution française, le foie gras est apparu sur les menus des restaurants parisiens fréquentés par les classes moyennes. J’ai visité Paris récemment et je me souviens de l’avoir vu sur les menus de presque tous les restaurants. Chaque restaurant proposait fièrement du foie gras sous des formes diverses : sans accompagnement, sur de la salade, en pâté ou en mousse, pour n’en citer que quelques uns.

À la fin des années 1800, le foie gras traversa l’océan et atterrit aux Etats-Unis. C’est seulement à la fin des années 1900 que le foie gras fut produit aux Etats-Unis, principalement dans de petites fermes familiales. Les amateurs des mets raffinés ont pu profiter du foie gras sans problème, ou presque, jusqu’aux récentes décennies.

En 2004, les activistes pour les droits des animaux en Californie présentèrent une pétition, à la suite de laquelle la loi SB 1520 (Senate Bill) fut votée, interdisant la production et la vente de foie gras.

1024px-Moulard_Duck_Foie_Gras_with_Pickled_Pear

Canard Moulard Foie Gras avec Poire Marinée Photo par Wikipedia.

« Cette loi établit les dispositions suivantes concernant l’alimentation forcée d’un oiseau, telle que définies ci-après. La loi interdit à toute personne l’alimentation forcée d’un oiseau dans le but d’augmenter la taille de son foie au delà de la normale, ainsi que d’employer une autre personne pour faire le même travail. La loi interdit également la vente d’un produit à l’intérieur de l’État. La loi autorise un officier à notifier une amende pour violation de ces dispositions à hauteur de 1000$ par jour et par effraction. »

La loi fut votée en 2004 et fut promulguée en 2012 ; Elle rencontra une forte opposition de la part des restaurateurs de Californie ainsi que des fermiers producteurs de foie gras. Les restaurants purent contourner cette nouvelle loi, non pas en vendant du foie gras, mais en le proposant en tant que « présent » à un client qui en ferait la requête ; son prix était alors inclus avec d’autres commandes comme, par exemple, un verre de vin.

Dans des régions autres que la Californie, différents groupes présentèrent des pétitions afin d’interdire le foie gras ; cependant, tous échouèrent. En 2008, la ville de Chicago leva une interdiction qui existait depuis 2006, et l’État du Maryland ainsi que la ville de Philadelphie ont chacune rejeté les interdictions qui avaient été proposées. Actuellement, aucun État ne possède de loi interdisant l’achat ou la vente de foie gras, et il n’y a que la Californie qui interdit cette production utilisant la technique du gavage.

Trois groups (PETA, People for Ethical Treatment of Animals, the Humane Society, et the Animal Legal Defense Fund), pour n’en citer que quelques uns, progètent de faire appel du contournement de la loi afin de rendre à nouveau le foie gras illégal, s’assurant ainsi que la lutte au sujet du foie gras continue.

Sources:
History of Foie Gras. Artisan Farmers Alliance, www.artisanfarmers.org.
Retrieved January 14 2015 from http://www.artisanfarmers.org/historyoffoiegras.html
Parsons, Russ (2015, January 7) Foie gras can go back on California menus, judge rules. www.latimes.com
Retrieved January 14, 2015 from
http://www.latimes.com/food/dailydish/la-dd-foie-gras-can-go-back-on-the-menu-judge-rules-20150107-story.html

Foie gras back on the menu at California restaurants. www.cbsnews.com
Retrieved January 14, 2015 from
http://www.cbsnews.com/videos/foie-gras-back-on-the-menu-at-california-restaurants/

California Legislative Information. www.legalinfo.legislature.ca.gov.
Retrieved January 14, 2015 from
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billNavClient.xhtml?bill_id=200320040SB1520

Photo d’Entête: Bienmanger.com


About the Author

was born and raised in the United States and is currently living in California. She discovered her love of the French language and culture in high school and continued her education of all things French in college where she earned a Bachelor’s degree in International Business from the University of Nevada Las Vegas. She enjoys living near the ocean, traveling and French pastries.



Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *


CAPTCHA Image
Reload Image
Back to Top ↑

Gastronomy

Published on March 16th, 2015 | by Maureen Youngblood

0

The Fight for Foie Gras

For the great majority of Americans, eating foie gras is not a common occurrence. Many people in the United States go their entire lives without ever eating it, as it rarely appears on the menus. In the United States, this historically French delicacy is reserved mainly for fine-dining restaurants in big cities.

Foie gras has become controversial in the United States, particularly in California, largely due to animal rights activist groups that believe the forced feeding process, called gavage, is cruel and inhumane.

The practice of gavage goes back thousands of years to Egyptian times ; there are even pictographs of Egyptians feeding geese in order to fatten them up. The practice continued throughout the Mediterranean and was even used by the Greeks and Romans. Later, the Jewish people continued the practice which spread even further across Europe.

1024px-Foie_gras_IMGP2349 WIKIPEDIA

Foie gras. Photo by Wikipedia.

 

It was in the era of Louis XIV that fine dining began to be enjoyed by more than just the royals. Foie gras became a menu item in Parisian restaurants that served the middle class following the French Revolution. Having recently visited Paris myself, I recall seeing it on the menus of almost all the restaurants. Each restaurant proudly offered foie gras in a variety of forms: alone, on a salad, as pâté, or as a mousse, only to name a few.

In the late 1800’s foie gras crossed the ocean and landed in the United States. It was not until the latter part of the 1900’s that foie gras was actually produced in the United States, mainly by small, family-owned farms. Fine dining enthusiasts have enjoyed the opportunity to be served foie gras with little or no issue up until the last few decades.

In 2004 animal rights activists in California presented a bill, following which the law SB (Senate Bill) 1520, was passed- banning the production and sale of foie gras.

1024px-Moulard_Duck_Foie_Gras_with_Pickled_Pear

Moulard Duck Foie Gras with Pickled Pear. Photo by Wikipedia.

“This law establishes the following provisions concerning force-feeding a bird as defined hereafter. The law prohibits any person from force feeding a bird for the purpose of enlarging the size of its liver beyond that which is normal, as well as employing another person for the same purpose. The bill also forbids the sale of such within the state. The law authorizes an officer to issue a citation for a violation of these provisions in the amount of up to $1,000 per violation per day.”

The bill was passed in 2004 and went into effect in 2012; it was heavily opposed by many California-based restaurants and foie gras farmers. The way restaurants were able to get around this new law was to not sell foie gras, but to give it as a “gift” to a guest who would request it; the price of which would be embedded in other menu items, say, a glass of wine.

Not only in California, but in other areas of the country, different groups have presented petitions for bans on foie gras; however, these have been unsuccessful. In 2008 the city of Chicago repealed a previous ban that had existed since 2006, and the state of Maryland and the city of Philadelphia each have rejected proposed bans. Currently not a single state has a law prohibiting the buying and selling of foie gras, and only California currently bans the production of it using gavage.

Three groups such as PETA, (People for Ethical Treatment of Animals), the Humane Society, and the Animal Legal Defense Fund, to name a few, plan to appeal the reversed decision in order to have foie gras made illegal once again, thus ensuring that the battle over foie gras continues.

Sources:
History of Foie Gras. Artisan Farmers Alliance, www.artisanfarmers.org.
Retrieved January 14 2015 from http://www.artisanfarmers.org/historyoffoiegras.html
Parsons, Russ (2015, January 7) Foie gras can go back on California menus, judge rules. www.latimes.com
Retrieved January 14, 2015 from
http://www.latimes.com/food/dailydish/la-dd-foie-gras-can-go-back-on-the-menu-judge-rules-20150107-story.html

Foie gras back on the menu at California restaurants. www.cbsnews.com
Retrieved January 14, 2015 from
http://www.cbsnews.com/videos/foie-gras-back-on-the-menu-at-california-restaurants/

California Legislative Information. www.legalinfo.legislature.ca.gov.
Retrieved January 14, 2015 from
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billNavClient.xhtml?bill_id=200320040SB1520

Headed Photo: Bienmanger.com


About the Author

was born and raised in the United States and is currently living in California. She discovered her love of the French language and culture in high school and continued her education of all things French in college where she earned a Bachelor’s degree in International Business from the University of Nevada Las Vegas. She enjoys living near the ocean, traveling and French pastries.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to Top ↑