Art & Culture

Published on novembre 17th, 2018 | by Isabelle Karamooz, Founder of FQM

0

La Grand’ Maison de Jacques Coeur

Le Palais Jacques Cœur détient autant de mystère que son riche commerçant qui n’y a jamais vécu. C’était un plaisir de rencontrer Isabelle Tostain, agent d’accueil et de surveillance, qui m’a fait visiter le Palais Jacques Cœur tout en donnant un aperçu de ce que l’on sait peu sur la vie de Jacques Cœur et son histoire et de son élégant manoir gothique.

Jacques Cœur. Photo : © Philippe Berthé / Centre des monuments nationaux.


French Quarter Magazine : Qu’est-ce-que le Palais Jacques Cœur, ce chef d’œuvre de l’architecture gothique tardive ? Pouvez-vous nous évoquer brièvement les grandes dates de l’histoire du Palais Jacques Cœur ?

Le Palais Jacques Coeur : La construction du palais Jacques Coeur a commencé vers 1443. Elle a duré entre 8 et 10 ans, c’est à dire que nous estimons que le palais Jacques Coeur a été terminé en 1450
Finalement ce fut relativement rapide. En 1451, Jacques Coeur a été arrêté et Charles VII fit saisir la grande maison.  Il n’aura jamais vécu dans sa demeure civile, de style fin gothique, inspiré de celui du début de la Renaissance italienne, avec  ses ouvertures et ses galeries. A la base, c’était vraiment son foyer. Nous voyons qu’il s’est inspiré de ses nombreuses  découvertes au Moyen-Orient Il a ramené de nombreuses idées afin de faciliter un peu la vie au palais, autant pour les domestiques que pour les occupants. C’était vraiment un précurseur en ce qui concernait l’hygiène et bien-sûr tout le fonctionnement de la maison. Il voulait un palais digne d’un palais princier pour exposer sa fortune mais apparemment il n’a pas vécu longtemps dans ce palais. En 1450,  son fils aîné Jean a été intronisé archevêque de Bourges et il y  eu alors un festin en son honneur, dans la salle des festins. Une grande fête !

French Quarter Magazine : Pouvez-vous nous parler de l’intérieur qui témoigne d’un grand souci de confort et d’hygiène ?

Le Palais Jacques Coeur : Au niveau de l’hygiène, Jacques Cœur, a fait installé chez lui, une étuve qui reprend le fonctionnement du hammam. Les latrines étaient destinées aux propriétaires. Pour les domestiques, il y avait une rangée de latrines dans la basse-cour.

Au niveau des appartements privés, vous avez un couloir à la dérobade qui permettait d’aller rejoindre les latrines et l’étuve sans passer par les autres escaliers en toute discrétion. Vous voyez il avait même pensé à cela aussi. De même, plus loin, vous avez l’office avec un passe-plats qui donne directement dans la salle des festins.  Jacques Coeur avait déjà pensé à faciliter un peu la vie des futurs domestiques,

French Quarter Magazine : Nous avons parlé de l’intérieur, du confort, de l’hygiène, et maintenant parlez-nous des cheminées dont vous avez dit que certaines avaient été détruites…

Le Palais Jacques Coeur : Oui, beaucoup de cheminées ont été détruites par les administrations. Toutes les cheminées sont très simples, surtout celles qui ont été restaurées.  Pour celles vraiment d’origine, nous avons toujours un décor sculpté comme par exemple dans le cabinet des échevins. Celle-ci est  entièrement sculptée, elle a une angelotte qui porte un phylactère avec la devise de Jacques Cœur : « A vaillant cœur rien impossible ».

French Quarter Magazine : Il y a combien de cheminées visibles au public ?

Le Palais Jacques Coeur : Il y en a pratiquement dans toutes les pièces.

French Quarter Magazine : Lorsque nous rentrons dans la première salle, on y découvre  une cheminée monumentale !

Le Palais Jacques Coeur : Cette cheminée a une histoire. Elle avait été détruite par la cour d’appel et elle a été restituée lors d’une campagne de restauration. C’est la plus belle, elle présente les emblèmes de Jacques Coeur :  la coquille Saint-Jacques pour son prénom et le Coeur pour son nom ainsi qu’une décoration riche et variée.

French Quarter Magazine : Lorsque le palais a été saisi, était-il toujours inachevé ? A-t-il été endommagé avec l’incendie de 1487 ?

Le Palais Jacques Coeur : Peut-être une partie de l’hôtel de Limoges qui n’existe plus mais sinon je l’ignore. En 1457 Charles VII va restituer le palais aux petits enfants de Jacques Coeur et ceux-ci vont le vendre à la famille Turpin, puis ce sera le tour de la famille des Laubépine. Jean-Baptiste Colbert va l’acquérir en 1679 et va le revendre rapidement à la ville de Bourges afin qu’il devienne l’hôtel de ville, le palais de justice et la cour d’appel. Les administrations les unes après les autres  vont détruire les trois quarts des manteaux de cheminées. Ce n’est qu’en 1837 que Prospère Mérimée  arrivera à faire  classer l’édifice sur la première liste des monuments historiques. L’état n’achète la totalité du palais qu’en 1923 pour en faire un monument qui soit accessible à la visite. Ensuite, de grandes restaurations auront lieu. La première restauration a eu lieu entre 1840 et 1846. Il va y avoir une deuxième en 1859 et la troisième de 1927 à 1938. L’inauguration du palais se fera en 1938 avec la présence du Président de la
République de l’époque, Albert Lebrun.

L’ouverture au public commence alors. Ce n’est pas tout de suite le grand parcours que nous connaissons. Il y aura d’abord deux salles puis trois et au fur et à mesure de la restauration, nous ouvrons des salles supplémentaires, en sachant que là actuellement aujourd’hui nous avons le palais qui contient un peu plus de trente pièces mais seules une quinzaine peuvent être visitées.

French Quarter Magazine : Quels sont les rois et/ou reines et plus tard les personnalités  qui ont laissé la plus grande empreinte au palais ?

Le Palais Jacques Coeur : Je ne peux pas vraiment vous répondre mais je pense qu’il y a aucune personnalité, aucun roi et aucune reine, qui ait  laissé d’empreinte au palais.

French Quarter Magazine :
Même pas Charles VII ?

Le Palais Jacques Coeur : Non, Charles VII était au château de Meuhun-sur-Yèvre dans le château de son grand-oncle.

French Quarter Magazine : Parlez-moi un petit peu des visites guidées,  y a-t-il d’autre choses proposées au sein du palais ?

Le Palais Jacques Coeur : En effet, ce qui nous intéresse, c’est vraiment la visite guidée. Nous insistons bien sûr sur les décors sculptés de la façade intérieure riches de signification.  Des tympans au-dessus des portes sculptées, c’est une sorte de signalétique qui indique que c’est par cette porte que l’on peut accéder aux cuisines, ensuite sur la tour d’honneur, et là vous avez des tympans qui mettent le Moyen-Orient à l’honneur. Nous y retrouvons des arbres exotiques, des fileuses de laine, des défouloirs de trame, et tout en haut nous avons d’un côté un maître qui reçoit un mendiant qui est le signe de générosité du propriétaire puisque nous savons que Jacques Coeur a prêté énormément d’argent à beaucoup de nobles et même à Charles VII. De l’autre côté, nous avons Jacques Coeur et sa femme Macée en tenue d’apparat. Quant à l’intérieur, il est plus gothique. Nous retrouvons vraiment les deux : la fin du gothique flamboyant et le début de la Renaissance.

Macée de Léodepart. Photo: © Philippe Berthé / Centre des monuments nationaux.

Photo: © Philippe Berthé / Centre des monuments nationaux.

French Quarter Magazine : Nous voyons dans les décors des singes et d’autres animaux du Moyen-Orient…

Le Palais Jacques Coeur : Oui, nous en retrouvons dans beaucoup de décors sculptés. Nous retrouvons le végétal typique du gothique. Les feuilles de choux frisés et d’acanthe, dans ce décor végétal nous allons retrouver aussi toutes sortes d’animaux du Moyen-Orient mais aussi des animaux de chez nous ainsi qu’un bestiaire imaginaire.

French Quarter Magazine : Visiter la capitale du Berry sur les pas de Jacques Cœur, c’est plonger, au Moyen-âge, dans le monde des marchands et c’est découvrir combien les échanges avec le reste du monde étaient déjà intenses. Parlez-nous un peu du grand voyage autour de la Méditerranée qu’il a fait en 1432 et d’où il revient avec l’idée de commercer avec Damas, Alexandrie, la Grèce, la Turquie, l’Italie..

Le Palais Jacques Coeur : Au Moyen-âge, quand Jacques Coeur a lancé son projet de faire du commerce, le monopole était détenu par les génois et pour exercer un commerce en empruntant la méditerranée, il fallait automatiquement une autorisation papale. Jacques Coeur a déjà été en 1430 en italie puisqu’il a été se renseigner sur cette fonction, prendre des contacts et ce n’est qu’après 1432 qu’il équipe ses premières galères depuis les ports de la méditerranée à Montpellier et à Narbonne. Il obtient là cette autorisation. Il part installer ses comptoirs pour aller sauver Damas, Alexandrie, Beyrouth, Rome et Constantinople. Avec la route de la soie en Chine, il ramène également de la soie.

French Quarter Magazine : Donc à partir de là il commence à
développer le commerce, les échanges…

Le Palais Jacques Coeur : Tout à fait. Il s’est enrichi très vite mais il faut savoir que quand Charles VII a hérité du trône il a hérité d’un palais qui était complètement ruiné puisque nous étions dans les dernières années de la guerre de 100 ans et qu’effectivement c’est Jacques Coeur qui va prêter énormément d’argent au roi. Cependant, il y a l’esprit d’alchimie. Cela, nous n’en parlons pas. C’est un sujet trop complexe et si nous commençons à rentrer dans l’alchimie, la visite va durer trois heures. C’est un sujet qu’il faut vraiment bien maîtriser pour l’aborder.

En 1427, Jacques Coeur était maître de la monnaie à Bourges. Il avait  été accusé  d’avoir falsifié un peu la monnaie des caisses royales : il  mettait un peu moins d’or et un peu moins d’argent dans la monnaie afin de s’en approprier une partie, il avait été condamné  et gracié par Charles VII qui l’a nommé par la suite maître de la monnaie à Paris. Il faut savoir que Jacques Coeur c’est le précurseur de Fouquet. Cela veut tout dire. C’est ce que je dis à mes visiteurs. Quand on arrive à un niveau social plus élevé que le roi alors il y a un moment où ça ne va plus.
Jacques Coeur a aussi fait des échanges avec le Moyen-Orient, il échangeait  du métal argent contre de l’or car  là-bas on lui échangeait à poids égal. Au Moyen-Orient, ils étaient très intéressés par l’argent et ce commerce-là  était très rentable.

French Quarter Magazine : Qui était vraiment Jacques Cœur, cet homme qui a vécu dans la France de la Guerre de Cent ans dont le destin était extraordinaire et qui était une sorte de précurseur, de modèle auquel on pourrait complètement s’identifier ?

Le Palais Jacques Coeur : Jacques Coeur est né entre 1395 et 1400. Nous n’avons pas de date précise de sa naissance. Il est né d’un père artisan pelletier qui vendait ses fourrures à la cour du Duc Jean de Berry et d’une mère qui était veuve d’un boucher, en première noce. En 1418, Jacques Coeur va épouser Macée de Léodepart, la fille du prévôt des marchands de Bourges et par ce mariage il va obtenir une dote, une fortune. Dès lors Jacques Coeur va mûrir un projet  et en 1430, il se rend en Italie. Il va lancer son commerce entre 1432 et 1441 et sera rarement en France et encore moins à Bourges. Il installe  ses différents comptoirs et prend des contacts qui lui permettent de créer son commerce. En 1441, il va être anobli par Charles VII, ce qui va lui permettre de rentrer au conseil royal, de devenir commissaire des Etats du Languedoc et d’encaisser toutes les taxes royales et enfin de devenir l’Argentier du roi. En 1443, Jacques Coeur veut montrer son nouveau rang social, sa fortune. Il débute la construction de sa grande maison. Il achète une parcelle de l’ancien fief et sur cette parcelle, il a 100 mètres des anciennes murailles gallo-romaines de la ville. En 1451, Jacques Coeur est arrêté. Charles VII l’accuse du meurtre d’Agnès Sorel et l’accuse de crime de lèse-majesté et de trafic d’armes avec les Ottomans.

French Quarter Magazine : Tout ça a été un peu inventé ?

Le Palais Jacques Coeur : Pour le meurtre d’Agnès Sorel, oui !

Le French Quarter Magazine remercie Isabelle Tostain pour le parcours informatif de la vie et du manoir de Jacques Cœur.

 

Cet article a été traduit en anglais par John Wilmot. 

 


About the Author

was born in the royal city of Versailles, France and have lived in the United States since 1996. After earning a Bachelor's degree in History from the University of California Berkeley and studying for a Master program in education at the University of Southern California, she went on to teach French to aspiring UNLV and CSN students in Nevada. When she is not teaching, she is writing, interviewing people in a wide range of circumstances, pitching story ideas to writers and editors, taking pictures, traveling, painting or trying delicious foods.



Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *


CAPTCHA Image
Reload Image
Back to Top ↑

Art & Culture

Published on November 17th, 2018 | by Isabelle Karamooz, Founder of FQM

0

The Grand House of Jacques Coeur

The Palais Jacques Coeur holds as much mystery as its rich merchant owner who never lived in it. It was a pleasure to meet Isabelle Tostain, reception and surveillance agent, who gave me a tour of the Palais Jacques Coeur while providing insight on what little is known about the life of Jacques Coeur and the history of his elegant Gothic mansion.

Jacques Cœur. Photo credit : © Philippe Berthé / Centre des monuments nationaux.

French Quarter Magazine: What is the Palais Jacques Coeur, this masterpiece of late Gothic architecture? Can you briefly touch upon the major dates in history of the Palais Jacques Cœur for us?

Palais Jacques Coeur: Construction of the Palais Jacques Coeur began around 1443. We believe the Jacques Coeur Palace was completed in 1450. In that day and age that was relatively fast. In 1451, Coeur was arrested and King Charles VII of France had the mansion seized. He never lived in his late Gothic style civil home, inspired by the early Italian Renaissance, with its grand entrances and galleries. At its core, it truly was his home. We see that it was inspired by his many explorations in the Middle East. He brought back lots of ideas in order to facilitate a better life in the palace, not only for the occupants but also the servants. It really was ahead of its time in terms of hygiene and the entire operation of the house. He wanted a palace worthy of a prince to represent his fortune. In 1450, his eldest son, Jean, was enthroned Archbishop of Bourges and there was a feast in his honor in the banquet hall.

French Quarter Magazine: Tell us about the interior, which expresses a great deal of emphasis on comfort and hygiene.

Palais Jacques Coeur: In terms of hygiene, Coeur installed a heat chamber that  functioned much like a sauna. The bathrooms were for the owners. For the servants, there was a row of latrines in the barnyard.
In terms of the private apartments, you’d have a hidden corridor that allowed one to get to the bathroom and the sauna in total discretion without having to pass by the stairways.  You see, he had even thought of that too. In the same way, further on, you have the bureau with a serving pass, which leads directly into the banquet hall. Coeur had already thought of making life easier for future servants.

French Quarter Magazine: We’ve talked about the interior, comfort, and hygiene. Please tell us about the fireplaces, some had been destroyed?

Palais Jacques Coeur: Yes, many fireplaces had been destroyed by the administrations. All fireplaces are very simple, especially those that have been restored. For those that are truly original, we have a carved decoration, such as in the cabinet of aldermen. It is entirely carved; it has an angel who carries an amulet with the motto of Coeur’s Heart: “Valiant heart, nothing is impossible.”

They’re practically in every room.

French Quarter Magazine: I see as we enter the first room there’s a monumental fireplace.

Palais Jacques Coeur: This fireplace has history. The Court of Appeals destroyed it, and it was rebuilt during a restoration campaign. It’s beautiful. It presents the regalia of Jacques Coeur: the Saint-Jacques scallop shell for his first name and the Heart for his last name, with rich and varied decoration.

French Quarter Magazine: When the palace was seized, was it still under construction?

Palais Jacques Coeur: In 1457, King Charles VII gave the palace back to Coeur’s children, and they sold it to the Turpin family and they sold it to the Laubépine family. Jean-Baptiste Colbert acquired it in 1679 and sold it to the City of Bourges.  It was transformed into the city hall, courthouse, and court of appeals. One after another, the administrations destroyed three-quarters of the fireplace mantels. It wasn’t until 1837 that Prosper Mérimée managed to have the building classified a listed historic monument. The state bought the entire palace in 1923 to make it accessible to visitors. Then, massive restorations took place. The first phase of the restoration took place between 1840 and 1846, the second in 1859, and the third from 1927 to 1938. The inauguration of the palace was held in 1938 with the presence of the President of the Republic Albert Lebrun.

When we opened our doors to the public, we started with two rooms at first, then three, and as we restore, we open additional rooms. Nowadays, we have the palace fitted with a little more than thirty rooms, but only fifteen are viewed at a time.

French Quarter Magazine: What kings, queens, or public figures left the biggest impresson on the palace?

Palais Jacques Coeur: I don’t think any public figure, neither king, nor queen left an impression on the palace.

French Quarter Magazine: Not even King Charles VII?

Palais Jacques Coeur:King Charles VII was at Mehun-sur-Yèvre, the castle of his great-uncle.

French Quarter Magazine: Tell me a little bit about the guided tours; are there other things to offer within the palace?

Palais Jacques Coeur: Indeed, what really interests us is providing guided tour. We point out, of course, the carved decorations of the interior façade, which are rich in meaning. The tympanums above the carved doors is kind of signage that indicates what is through the door, you can access the kitchen, the tower of honor. Then there are the tympanums that highlight Middle Eastern features.  Visitors will find exotic trees, wool spinners, and frame weirs. Above all, we have on the one hand, a master who gives to a beggar, which is the sign of the generosity of the owner since we know that Jacques Coeur lent a lot of money to many nobles and even to King Charles VII. On the other hand, we have Jacques Coeur and his wife Macée in a ceremonial dress. As for the exterior, it’s more Gothic. We really find both: the end of late Gothic and the beginning of the Renaissance.

Macée de Léodepart. Photo credit: © Philippe Berthé / Centre des monuments nationaux.

Photo credit: © Philippe Berthé / Centre des monuments nationaux.

French Quarter Magazine: Visitors get a glimpse of the Middle East with the décor of monkeys and some other animals?

Palais Jacques Coeur: Yes, they’ll find it in many carved decorations. They’ll find the typical Gothic foliage, the leaves of curly cabbage and acanthus, in many decorations. Visitors see all kinds of animals from the Middle East, but also animals native to us and an imaginary tale.

French Quarter Magazine: Visiting the capital of Berry, in the footsteps of Jacques Coeur, we’re plunged deep into the Middle Ages. In a world of merchants and trading, we discover how intense the exchanges were with the rest of the world. Tell us a about the great voyage he made to  the Mediterranean in 1432, and about how he came back with the idea of trading with Damascus, Alexandria, Greece, Turkey and Italy.

Palais Jacques Coeur: In the Middle Ages, when Jacques Coeur launched his plans to trade, the monopoly was held by the Genoese and to trade by using the Mediterranean route automatically required a Papal authorization. He secured permission. Coeur was in Italy by 1430. Since he was in the process of learning about this functionality and making the right contacts, it wasn’t until after 1432 that he finally launched his first galleys from the ports of the Mediterranean in Montpellier and Narbonne. He left to establish trades with Damascus, Alexandria, Beirut, Rome and Constantinople. With the silk route in China, he also brought back silk.

French Quarter Magazine: So from there he started to develop trade and exchange?

Palais Jacques Coeur: Absolutely. He enriched himself very quickly, but it’s important to know that when King Charles VII inherited the throne, he inherited a palace, which was completely in ruins since we were in the final years of the Hundred Years’ Warand Coeur owed a lot of money to the king. However, there is the spirit of alchemy that we do not speak about it. This is a complex subject and if we start to enter into alchemy, the visit will last three hours. This subject must  be mastered to address it.

In 1427, Coeur was master at the mint in Bourges. He had been accused of laundering a small amount of the money from the royal bank: he put in a little less gold and a little less silver into the treasury in order to appropriate some of it. He had been condemned and pardoned by King Charles VII who later appointed him master of the mint in Paris. You must know that Coeur was the precursor to Fouquet. This means everything. That’s what I tell my visitors. When we reach a social level higher than that of the king, then there’s a moment when it can’t go any further.
Coeur also traded with the Middle East. He traded silver for gold because over there it was exchanged at equal weight. In the Middle East, they were very interested in money and that trade was very profitable.

French Quarter Magazine: Who was Jacques Coeur, this man who lived in France during the Hundred Years’ War, whose fate was extraordinary, and who was kind of a precursor, a model to which we could completely identify with?

Palais Jacques Coeur: Jacques Coeur was born between 1395 and 1400. We do not have a precise date of his birth. He was born to a petty artisan father who sold his furs to the court of Jean, Duke de Berry, and a mother who was the widow of a butcher from her first marriage. In 1418, Jacques Coeur married Macée de Léodepart, the daughter of the Bourges’ provost. Through this marriage, he received a dowry worth a fortune. In 1430, he went to Italy developed a project. He started his business between 1432 and 1441 and rarely visited France and even less in Bourges. He installed various trading posts and made contacts that allowed him to build his business. In 1441, ennobled by King Charles VII of France, allowed Coeur to return to the royal council. This also allowed him to become commissioner of the states of Languedoc, collect all royal taxes, and become the paymaster of the king. In 1443, Coeur wanted to show his new social rank and fortune by constructing a mansion. He bought a parcel of the old stronghold and on this parcel he had 100 meters of the old Gallo-Roman walls. In 1451, Coeur was arrested. King Charles VII accused him of Agnes Sorel’s murder, treason, and arms trafficking with the Ottomans.

French Quarter Magazine: All of this was fabricated?

Palais Jacques Coeur: For the murder of Agnes Sorel? Yes!

 

French Quarter Magazine thanks Isabelle Tostain for the informative tour of Jacques Cœur’s life and mansion. 

 

This article was translated in English by John Wilmot.


About the Author

was born in the royal city of Versailles, France and have lived in the United States since 1996. After earning a Bachelor's degree in History from the University of California Berkeley and studying for a Master program in education at the University of Southern California, she went on to teach French to aspiring UNLV and CSN students in Nevada. When she is not teaching, she is writing, interviewing people in a wide range of circumstances, pitching story ideas to writers and editors, taking pictures, traveling, painting or trying delicious foods.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


CAPTCHA Image
Reload Image
Back to Top ↑