Art & Culture

Published on août 19th, 2016 | by Kirsten King

0

UEFA Euro 2016 en revue

UEFA Euro 2016 logo

Logo de l’UEFA Euro 2016. Photo par Google.

Maintenant que le Portugal est le champion de l’Euro 2016, la France peut revenir à ses habitudes estivales de tourisme et se remettre des foules de fans de football qui ont envahi le pays pour la troisième fois depuis le championnat inaugural de 1960. Connue sous le nom de Coupe des Nations Européennes depuis 1968, le championnat d’Europe de l’UEFA a lieu tous les quatre ans, l’année paire entre deux Coupes du Monde. L’Euro 2016 vient donc de terminer sa 15eme édition, qui a eu lieu dans 10 villes à travers la France. Les matchs se sont tenus dans les stades de Bordeaux, Lens, Lille Metropole, Lyon, Marseille, Nice, Paris, Saint Denis, Saint Etienne et Toulouse. 53 équipes se sont affrontées pour décrocher les 23 places convoitées du tournoi, la France étant qualifiée d’office en tant que pays hôte. La compétition de cette année était la seule à inclure 24 équipes. Le nombre des équipes s’est accru de 4 à 8 en 1980 puis à 16 en 1996.

Henri Delaunay

Henri Delaunay. Photo par Google.

Le projet d’une compétition Européenne majeure avait été initialement proposé en 1927 par Henri Delaunay, secrétaire général de la FFF et aussi de l’UEFA – son premier. Cependant, l’idée d’un championnat Européen où s’affronteraient les équipes nationales était toujours embryonnaire à la mort de Delaunay, en 1955, quand son fils Pierre Delaunay, reprit le flambeau. Le tournoi devint réalité 5 ans plus tard. On attribue à Pierre la réalisation du trophée d’origine, appelé la Coupe Henri Delaunay “en reconnaissance de ses services exceptionnels à la cause du football Européen. » La coupe historique est au centre du logo de l’Euro 2016 qui incorpore les couleurs du drapeau français, et s’inspire du thème de cette année : la « célébration de l’Art du Football », un concept dont « le but est d’unir la créativité qui définit la culture française avec la beauté du jeu ». Le slogan du tournoi 2016, « le Rendez-vous » définit le tournoi comme une « succession d’événements à ne pas manquer » – la plupart valait en effet le coup d’être vus.

Le ballon official “Beau Jeu” a été dévoilé par le précédent capitaine français, Zinedine Zidane, à la fin de l’an dernier, via la page instagramm de Zizou. Utilisé exclusivement pour les huitièmes de finales, un deuxième ballon officiel, l’Adidas Fracas, a été introduit pour la compétition de cette année. David Guetta, DJ francais et producteur, a été commissionné pour composer la chanson officielle d’ouverture de l’Euro 2016, « This One’s for You », un enregistrement pour lequel il a recherché les voix d’un million de fans tout autour du monde. Guetta, qui racontait comment il avait été un déçu du football des années plus tôt parce que “c’était raciste et violent, alors que le sport n’a rien à voir avec ça”, espérait que le message de la chanson “rapprocherait les gens” – mais il semble qu’un événement sportif ne puisse jamais être libéré de tout hooliganisme.

Les stades autour du pays se voulaient « des lieux idéaux où l’on peut ressentir les plus belles émotions sportives » mais l’Euro 2016 a eu sa part de drames et de coups de théâtre sur et hors du terrain. Des bagarres ont eu lieu deux fois à Marseille entre fans anglais et russes, des jeunes locaux et la police. Des éruptions semblables se sont produites à plusieurs autres reprises entre groupes variés, occasionnant des arrestations, des hospitalisations, de fortes amendes et des expulsions. A Saint Etienne, pendant le match entre la République Tchèque et la Croatie, des fusées et des pétards ont été lancés des stands sur le terrain de jeu, frappant un officiel et forçant l’arrêt du jeu. L’entraineur Croate Ante Čačić était si furieux de l’incident et de ses conséquences qu’il fit une déclaration publique pour bien marquer la différence. « Ceux là ne sont pas des fans Croates. Ce sont des terroristes. »

Parfois, on s’attendait à ce que les athlètes eux mêmes cèdent sous la pression de la compétition, pas seulement lors de la sortie de cartons jaunes ou rouges ou lors de querelles sur la qualité du terrain, mais aussi quand la tension montait entre les membres d’une même équipe. Au début du tournoi, Xherdan Shaqiri a froissé son entourage quand le joueur Suisse né au Kosovo a déclaré qu’il pourrait jouer pour son pays de naissance si on lui offrait la place de Capitaine. Bien que l’on ait prédit que cette déclaration à contretemps ébranlerait la confiance de ses équipiers suisses avant un match crucial contre la Roumanie, la Suisse atteint les 16emes de finale. Pendant les 8emes de finale, la Suisse tenait encore bon après le coup de pied en ciseau impressionnant de Shaquiri en fin de jeu, mais finalement perdit sa place aux ¼ de finale face à la Pologne, quand le match en vint aux tirs au but.

Ces moments de violence et d’agitation ont été, cependant, inévitablement mêlés à d’autres plus légers et même franchement drôles, parfois aux dépens des joueurs. Apres avoir raté un tir au but contre l’Autriche, le stress envahit le joueur-star Cristiano Ronaldo. Quand on lui demanda s’il était prêt à affronter la Hongrie, une victoire dont le Portugal avait besoin pour avancer – un Ronaldo ulcéré arracha le micro du reporter qui lui posait la question et le jeta dans un lac voisin, au grand amusement des medias. Les choix de mode des uns et des autres et les défaillances des tenues des joueurs ont attiré les commentaires des publicitaires et des supporters du monde entier. Le nombre sans précédent de maillots de l’équipe de Suisse mis en pièces – qui atteint le nombre de quatre pendant le match nul avec la France – devint un sujet de plaisanterie inépuisable. Breel Embolo, Granit Xhaka, Admir Mehmedi, and Blerim Džemaili ont tous eu leur maillot (marque Puma) déchirés pendant le match. La tenue du gardien de but hongrois, Gábor Király’s, a aussi été une source d’amusement pendant le championnat. Son insistance à porter un pantalon de survêtement gris – pour des raisons de confort personnel et de superstition – a eu un retentissement mondial, produisant des remarques comiques aux quatre coins du globe et inspirant même en Hongrie une journée spéciale « portez votre pantalon de jogging gris pour aller au bureau » pour encourager le footballer vétéran. Király, 40 ans, détient le record du joueur le plus âgé participant à un championnat d’Europe ; comme il le dit : « Je ne suis pas un top model, mon boulot est défendre, c’est physique et psychologique à la fois. »

Naturellement, l’enthousiasme véritable pour le sport lui-même reste la jubilation (ou la déception) ressentis lors des victoires – et c’est finalement ce que nous gardons en mémoire. Le très anticipé duel entre l’Italie et l’Allemagne, considéré « digne d’une finale », a créé beaucoup d’excitation des supporters des deux pays ainsi que des observateurs neutres. A la suite d’un intense match nul 1-1 et de deux prolongations de 15 minutes, le monde a vu 9 tours de tirs au but jusqu’à ce que l’Allemand Jonas Hector marque le but nécessaire, donnant à l’Allemagne la victoire avec un score finale de 6-5 sur l’Italie. Le gardien de but allemand, Manuel Neuer, a décrit par la suite cette fin de match comme “une guerre pour mes nerfs”. Pour la première fois, les deux nations étaient ex-æquo jusqu’à la limite absolue de la montre et lors de leurs neuf précédentes rencontres majeures, l’Italie avait toujours gagné. L’Allemagne a été éliminée en demi-finale 2-0 par la France – une terne performance en comparaison.

Portugal celebrates taking home Henri Delaunay trophy

Portugal fête le fait de ramener à la maison le trophée Henri Delaunay. Photo par Google.

L’Euro 2016 a été le témoin de beaucoup de premières et a offert un espoir au-delà du croyable pour des équipes données perdantes d’avance, notamment l’Islande et le pays de Galles. Avec une population de 330 000 personnes, l’Islande est actuellement le plus petit pays à s’être jamais qualifié pour un tournoi majeur. Son courage exemplaire a surpassé la dimension modeste de sa population. Plus de 8% de la population a accompagné leur équipe en France et 99,8% du pays regardaient leur TV chez eux quand l’Islande a vaincu l’Angleterre 2-1. Leur parcours a été comparé de plus en plus à une histoire à la Cendrillon. L’avance solide et inattendue de l’Islande dans le tournoi a duré jusqu’aux ¼ de finales. Seule la France s’est montrée à la mesure de l’évènement en marquant un ahurissant 5-2 contre l’Islande et mettant ainsi fin au parcours extraordinaire du petit pays. La France est la première équipe à avoir jamais marqué quatre buts dans la première mi-temps d’un match de l’Euro, deux d’entre eux pendant les premières vingt minutes. A leur retour à Reykjavik, les footballers Islandais ont été reçus en héros, accueillis avec le célèbre applaudissement Viking, devenu si populaire pendant la compétition.

France's joy at moving on to the final

La joie de la France de passer en finale. Photo par Google.

Le Pays de Galles a aussi vécu son propre conte de fées cette année. La participation du pays dans l’Euro 2016 mettait fin à leur absence pendant 58 ans au sein d’un tournoi majeur. Après une performance remarquable, leur gloire a pris fin en demi-finale avec un 2-0 face au Portugal. Le pays de Galles a connu lui aussi l’expérience d’un chaleureux retour au pays pour son équipe et cela leur a valu plus d’attention internationale qu’aucune publicité commanditée par son gouvernement n’aurait pu accomplir.

Le Portugal a pris le reste du monde par surprise lors de la finale de l’Euro 2016, son équipe improbable marquant 1-0 face à la France pendant la prolongation. Encore plus incroyable, ils l’ont fait sans Cristiano Ronaldo, sur la touche après la 25eme minute du jeu à cause d’une blessure au genou. Le match était déjà serré quand le gardien de but français, Hugo Lloris, a empêché le Portugal de marquer un but sur un coup franc après une faute de main – le ballon avait en fait heurté le bras de l’attaquant portugais, Eder Lopes. Mais ensuite, dans la 109eme minute, le même joueur, apparemment sorti de nul part, a marqué le but décisif. En ramenant chez eux la Coupe Henri Delaunay cette année, le Portugal a non seulement remporté sa première compétition majeure, il va à présent jouer dans la Coup FIFA des Confédérations. Le tournoi de cette année s’est révélé être celui des vainqueurs inattendus, le pays hôte abasourdi d’un résultat si improbable. Mais tandis que l’entraineur de la France, Didier Deschamps, reconnaissait que le triomphe du Portugal est une déception « immense », qui « prendra du temps a été surmontée », les Bleus maintiennent leur place indéniable au sein de l’élite du football international. D’une façon ou d’une autre, l’Euro 2016 aura généré suffisamment de fièvre du jeu pour nous rassasier jusqu’à la prochaine Coupe du monde.

Cet article a été traduit en français par Anne-Cécile Baer Porter.


About the Author

mm

Kirsten King is a keen traveler, currently interested in cultural studies. She has been teaching locally and abroad since 2006. Participating in French Quarter Magazine allows her to contribute to the sharing of culture and knowledge between our two countries - a joyful and exciting adventure.



Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *


CAPTCHA Image
Reload Image
Back to Top ↑

Art & Culture

Published on August 19th, 2016 | by Kirsten King

0

UEFA Euro 2016 in review

UEFA Euro 2016 logo

UEFA Euro 2016 logo. Photo by Google.

Now that Portugal are the continental champions of Euro 2016, France can get back to its customary summer tourism and recover from the throngs of football fans who flocked to the country after hosting the UEFA European Championship for the third time since the competition’s inaugural tournament in 1960. Known as the European Nations Cup until 1968, the UEFA European Championship takes place every four years, in the even year between the World Cup. Having just completed its 15th run, Euro 2016 took place in ten cities across France with matches held in the stadiums of Bordeaux, Lens, Lille Métropole, Lyon, Marseille, Nice, Paris, Saint-Denis, Saint-Étienne, and Toulouse. 53 teams vied for 23 coveted places in the tournament, with France automatically qualifying as hosts. To date, this year’s competition was the first to include 24 teams—it was previously expanded from 4 to 8 teams in 1980 and to 16 in 1996.

Henri Delaunay

Henri Delaunay. Photo by Google.

Designs for a major European competition were initially proposed in 1927 by Henri Delaunay, general secretary for the FFF as well as UEFA—its first. However, the idea for a European championship contested by senior men’s national teams was still in a nascent state by the time of Delaunay’s death in 1955 when his son, Pierre Delaunay, took up the pursuit; the tournament was fully realized five years later. Pierre is credited for developing its original trophy, named the Henri Delaunay Cup “in recognition of his outstanding services in the cause of European football.” The iconic prize is central to Euro 2016’s logo which incorporates the colors of the French flag and is taken from this year’s theme, “Celebrating the Art of Football,” a concept that “aims to bring together the creativity that defines French culture with the beauty of the game.” The 2016 tournament slogan, “Le Rendez-Vous,” emphasizes the event as “a succession of activities not to be missed”— most were well worth seeing.

The official match ball for the group stage — “Beau Jeu”—was unveiled by former French captain, Zinedine Zidane, late last year via Zizou’s Instagram page. Used exclusively for knockout rounds, a second official ball—the Adidas Fracas—was also introduced in this year’s competition. French DJ and producer, David Guetta, was commissioned for the official Euro 2016 opening song, “This One’s for You”—a recording for which he sought the voices of one million fans from around the globe. Guetta, who said he had become disenchanted with football as a younger man because “it was racist and violent, when the sport has nothing to do with this,” hoped the song’s message would “bring people together”—but it seems that such a sporting event may never be free from hooliganism.

Stadiums across the country had been envisioned as “ideal stages on which to experience the most beautiful sporting emotions,” but Euro 2016 saw a fair share of drama and theatrics both on and off the field. Fighting broke out twice in Marseille when English and Russian fans clashed with one another, local youths, and police. Similar eruptions occurred on a number of other occasions between various groups leading to arrests, hospitalizations, hefty fines, and deportations. In Saint-Étienne, during the game between the Czech Republic and Croatia, instigators in the stands threw flares onto the pitch as well as a firecracker, striking a steward and bringing the match to a halt. Croatian coach, Ante Čačić, was so incensed by the episode and subsequent draw that he issued a public statement making the distinction, “These are not Croatian fans; they are terrorists.”

At times, the athletes themselves were expected to crack under the pressure of the competition, not only as yellow and red cards were handed out when meeting their opponents or in squabbles over pitch quality, but as tensions mounted between members of their own squads. Early on in the tournament, Xherdan Shaqiri ruffled feathers when the Kosovo-born Swiss player stated that he might change allegiance and declare for his nation of birth if given the opportunity to play as its team captain. Although it was predicted Shaqiri’s untimely announcement might shake the confidence of his Swiss teammates prior to a crucial match against Romania, Switzerland went on to reach the Round of 16. Once the tournament’s knockout phase had got underway, Switzerland was still holding on after Shaqiri’s impressive scissor-kick equalizer late in the game, but ultimately lost a place in the quarterfinals to Poland when it came down to penalties.

These bouts of violence and agitation were, however, inevitably interspersed with lighthearted aspects of the competition and humorous moments, sometimes at the expense of players. After missing a late penalty kick against Austria, stress got the better of star-player, Cristiano Ronaldo. When asked whether he was ready to face Hungary—a win Portgual needed to advance—a frustrated Ronaldo snatched the microphone from an inquiring reporter and hurled it into a nearby lake, much to the amusement of the media. Individual fashion choices and kit malfunctions drew comments from sports announcers and supporters worldwide. An unprecedented number of torn jerseys became a joke for Switzerland when the tally reached as many as four during a 0-0 draw with France. Breel Embolo, Granit Xhaka, Admir Mehmedi, and Blerim Džemaili all had their Puma-manufactured shirts ripped during the game. Hungarian goalkeeper Gábor Király’s uniform was another source of levity during the tournament. His insistence on wearing baggy, gray sweatpants—for reasons of personal comfort and superstition—provoked a world craze, eliciting comical remarks from all four corners of the earth and even inspiring a “wear grey jogging bottoms to work day” across Hungary in support of the veteran footballer. Király, 40, who set a record as the oldest player to appear at a European Championship, explained, “I’m not a top model, my job is defending, it’s both a physical and psychological thing.”

Of course, true enthusiasm for the sport itself remains most memorable, elation (or disappointment) over victories being what stays with us all in the end. A match “worthy of a final,” the much-anticipated game between Italy and Germany produced a lot of excitement from supporters of both countries as well as neutral observers. Following an intense 1-1 draw and two 15-minute periods of extra time, the world watched an agonizing nine rounds of penalty kicks until Germany’s Jonas Hector nailed the necessary goal, leaving the Germans with a final score of 6-5 over Italy. German goalkeeper, Manuel Neuer, afterwards described the penalty shootout as “a war for my nerves.” It was the first game in which the two nations played a tie to the absolute limit of the clock and the first time Germany has ever defeated Italy over the course of nine major finals meetings; Germany was eliminated 2-0 in the semifinal against France—a lackluster performance in comparison.

Portugal celebrates taking home Henri Delaunay trophy

Portugal celebrates taking home Henri Delaunay trophy. Photo by Google.

Euro 2016 witnessed many other firsts and offered a hope beyond belief for the underdogs this time around—notably for Iceland and Wales. With a population of 330,000, Iceland is currently the smallest country ever to qualify for a major tournament, but what its modest body of inhabitants may lack in numbers was surpassed by its show of heart. More than 8% of Icelanders followed their team to France, and 99.8% were watching from their TVs back home when Iceland won 2-1 over England. Noted again and again as a Cinderella story, Iceland’s steady, unexpected advancement took them all the way to the quarterfinals. Only France proved a force to be reckoned with, scoring an astonishing 5-2 over Iceland and concluding the little nation’s extraordinary journey; France are the first team ever to score four goals within the first half of a Euro finals match, two of which were made inside the first twenty minutes. On their return, the Icelandic team received a hero’s welcome in Reykjavík, greeted with the Viking clap that had become so popular during the competition.

Wales enjoyed their own fairytale this year, the country’s participation in Euro 2016 breaking their 58-year absence from a major tournament. After an outstanding performance, their glory came to an end when defeated 2-0 by Portugal in their semifinal match. Wales, too, experienced a warm homecoming and gained more international attention than any publicity its government says it could fund.

France's joy at moving on to the final

France’s joy at moving on to the final. Photo by Google.

Portugal took the rest of the world by surprise in the Euro 2016 final, when the unlikely team scored 1-0 over France during extra time—and even more inconceivable, they did it without Cristiano Ronaldo, who left the game in its 25th minute due to a knee injury. Things were close enough when French goalkeeper, Hugo Lloris, prevented Portugal from scoring on a free-kick awarded for a handball that had actually hit the arm of Portuguese forward, Éder Lopes. But then, in the 109th minute, the same player made the definitive goal, seemingly from out of nowhere. In taking home the Henri Delaunay Cup this year, Portugal has won its first major championship and moves on to the FIFA Confederations Cup. This year’s tournament turned out to be one for dark horses, the host nation stunned at such an improbable outcome. But while France’s manager, Didier Deschamps, has conceded Portugal’s triumph as a “huge” disappointment, one that “will take time to digest,” Les Bleus maintain an undeniable place among international football’s elite. All in all, Euro 2016 stirred up enough football fever to tide us over until the next World Cup.

This article was translated in French by Anne-Cécile Baer Porter.


About the Author

is an English teacher (both language and literature). Kirsten completed her Master's degree in the UK, and is currently working on a PhD thesis. She is usually happiest when traveling; she reads a lot, and enjoys writing when she has a spare moment.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to Top ↑