Art & Culture

Published on août 11th, 2018 | by Laurence de Valmy

0

Vincent Faudemer lance son Babolex à la conquête de l’art contemporain

Vincent Faudemer est le créateur de Babolex, une série de sculptures chromées, inspirée par Babar, arborant une Rolex au poignet. L’influence de Jeff Koons est revendiquée par l’artiste dont il est fan. A peine sa création lancée sur les réseaux sociaux, Vincent Faudemer rencontre un succès aussi rapide qu’inattendu pour son créateur, qui s’était lancé dans l’aventure pour s’amuser et faire une sorte de pied de nez à certaines personnes regardant de haut l’art contemporain. En quelques mois, il a été repéré par des stars, a vendu une centaine de Babolex et sera exposé en septembre au Monte Carlo Gala ainsi qu’au Plaza Athénée à Paris.

Babolex Vincent Faudemer

Mais qui est l’artiste derrière ces sympathiques pachydermes s’habillant en Gucci ou Dior ? Un jeune normand de 32 ans qui a réussi dans les affaires et dont le premier contact avec l’art fut en tant que collectionneur. Cet artiste autodidacte s’étonne encore de son nouveau statut et garde les pieds sur terre tout en savourant l’expérience.

Son œuvre et son succès pose des questions intéressantes, qui sont à l’origine de la création de son œuvre : qu’est ce qu’un artiste ? Qu’est ce que l’art ? Qu’est ce qui explique le succès d’une œuvre ou sa valeur ? Des questions dont les réponses varient suivant les personnes et les époques et qui font toujours couler beaucoup d’encre.

Quel est votre parcours et comment vous est venue l’inspiration pour votre série Babolex ?

J’ai un parcours d’entrepreneur. J’ai crée des startup d’import export de jouets et cela m’a amené à rencontrer des marchants d’arts parisiens avec qui j’ai sympathisé. Cela m’a amené à m’intéresser à l’art et je suis collectionneur depuis 10 ans, à la fois d’art et de montres. J’entendais parfois que l’art contemporain était « l’art content pour rien » et comme j’avais en moi ce besoin de créer et de m’exprimer, je me suis dit que cela serait amusant de créer un objet avec le plus de valeur possible.

Au même moment, mon fils regardait un dessin animé de Babar or je suis passionné par les éléphants, c’est mon animal fétiche. Il est porteur de nombreux symboles, comme la lutte pour la sauvegarde des espèces. D’ailleurs, je reverse systématiquement un pourcentage de chaque vente à des associations pour lutter pour la préservation de la faune et de la flore. D’autre part, je suis fan de Jeff Koons, j’ai donc eu l’idée de créer cette sculpture chromée en argent avec une Rolex, le Babolex et comme cela on ne pourrait pas dire que cela ne valait rien !

 babolex diorComment avez vous commencé à communiquer sur vos œuvres ?

Au tout début en mars, j’ai mis mes œuvres sur le site Art Majeur. La rédaction a mis mon Babolex Rose au top de sa sélection pendant 3 semaines et j’ai eu énormément de vues. Ils m’ont même contacté pour savoir où on pouvait le voir. J’ai également posté des photos sur Instagram et j’ai été surpris d’être contacté par le manager de la famille Kardashian puis par d’autres célébrités et des galeries. Tout est allé très vite. C’est amusant d’avoir des gens qui se demandent d’où je viens, si j’ai fait les beaux arts ou quelles sont mes influences artistiques. Moi je suis collectionneur, j’ai eu une idée et je l’ai réalisée. 

Comment expliquez vous le succès de vos sculptures ?

Il y a plusieurs facteurs je crois. Tout d’abord la sculpture est en forte demande d’après des galeries avec qui j’échange. Ensuite, il s’avère que le personnage de l’éléphant parle à différentes cultures : les indiens y retrouvent Ganesh, les chinois pensent que la couleur verte apporte la prospérité, la couronne évoque Basquiat à d’autres… Je me suis retrouvé avec quelque chose plein de symboles, que les gens s’approprient. Par ailleurs, j’ai apporté une nouveauté en introduisant les crypto monnaies dans l’achat de l’œuvre. Quand les gens achètent une de mes sculptures, je place 10% du prix de l’œuvre en crypto monnaies. Quand ce placement atteint le prix initial de l’œuvre, je rappelle la galerie qui peut rembourser son client : c’est du art-back. Cela permet de récompenser les clients qui auront fait confiance à mon travail. Cela a attiré certains fans de crypto monnaies mais d’autres de mes collectionneurs n’y sont pas du tout sensibles. C’est donc un ensemble de plusieurs choses…

Qu’est ce que vous aimez le plus dans cette nouvelle aventure ?

La création me passionne et je suis fier que mon Babolex plaise au public. Le marché de l’art contemporain est souvent réservé à une élite très pointue qui méprise parfois les œuvres perçues comme grand public. Andy Warhol était publicitaire avant de faire carrière dans l’art et malgré la controverse, le Pop Art est l’un des concepts artistiques les plus forts. La reconnaissance de mon travail est importante pour moi car je ne fais pas cela pour l’argent. J’ai réussi professionnellement en tant qu’entrepreneur et j’avais envie d’autre chose. Je ne cache pas que je suis sensible aux retours du public et d’être reconnu pour ce que je fais maintenant. Savoir que des personnes achètent des œuvres signées de mon nom c’est flatteur. Cela me permet aussi de découvrir un nouveau milieu avec des gens intéressants, de voyager… Je suis passé du statut de collectionneur à celui d’artiste. C’est encore un peu irréel car c’est très soudain. On verra où tout cela va me mener. En attendant je vis l’expérience à fond.

babolex mold

Dans le studio de Vincent Faudemer

Quels sont vos projets pour les mois à venir ?

Il y en a beaucoup en préparation mais pour les prochains ce sera le Monte Carlo Gala for the Ocean de la Fondation Prince Albert de Monaco avec Leonardo Di Caprio (26 septembre), et l’exposition Fashion Spirit au Plaza Athénée (du 21 septembre au 14 novembre) avec différents modèles aux effigies des marques à l’intérieur de l’hôtel et un Babolex géant en extérieur avenue Montaigne. Je suis également ravi de partager que les Galeries Bartoux vont représenter mon travail.  J’ai un peu du mal à croire à tout ce qui m’arrive mais heureusement j’ai un fils de 18 mois donc cela me permet de garder les pieds sur terre !

BabolexFB page

Instagram

 

 

Tags: ,


About the Author

is a French born artist, who lives and works in New York Great area. She is a painter creator of the POST series, painted Instagram of the past revisiting art history. She was awarded an Artist Residency by the Eileen Kaminsky Foundation (ESKFF) at Mana Contemporary,NJ in 2017. She created the blog "The Curious Frenchy" and is a now contributor to French Quarter Magazine. https://www.instagram.com/laurencedevalmy/



Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *


CAPTCHA Image
Reload Image
Back to Top ↑

Art & Culture

Published on August 11th, 2018 | by Laurence de Valmy

0

Vincent Faudemer, creator of Babolex on its way to conquer contemporary art

Vincent Faudemer is the creator of Babolex, a series of chrome sculptures, inspired by Babar, wearing a Rolex on the wrist. The artist, who’s a fan of Jeff Koons, acknowledges his influence. Vincent Faudemer started to communicate on his creation through Art Majeur.com and on social networks and got an almost immediate success, quite unexpected by the artist who embarked on the adventure to have fun and send a message to some people looking at contemporary art with contempt. In a few months, the Babolex has been spotted by stars, got sold to a hundred of early collectors and will be exhibited in September at Monte Carlo Gala and at the Plaza Athénée in Paris.

Babolex Vincent Faudemer

Babolex

But who is the artist behind these friendly pachyderms dressed in Gucci or Dior? A 32 years old French from Normandy, who made a career in business and who got into art at first through the role of collector. This self-taught artist is still amazed by his new status and keeps his feet on the ground while savoring the experience.

His work and his success raise interesting questions, which are at the origin of the creation of his series: what is an artist? What is art? What explains the success of a work or its value? Questions, whose answers vary according to the people and the times and which no doubt, will continue to be widely discussed. 

What is your background and how did you get inspired for your Babolex series?

I have an entrepreneurial background. I created startups in import export of toys and that led me to meet some Parisian art merchants with whom I sympathized. This brought me to become more interested in art and I have now been collecting for 10 years, both art and watches. I sometimes heard that contemporary art was “art content pour rien” a wordplay with “Art Contemporain” which can be translated as “art happy for nothing”. Since I had the need to create and express myself, I thought it would be fun to create an object with the most possible value. At the same time, my son was watching a Babar cartoon and as it happens I’m passionate about elephants, it’s my favorite animal. This animal is the bearer of many symbols, such as the struggle for the preservation of species. By the way, I systematically return a percentage of each sale to associations to fight for the preservation of fauna and flora. On the other hand, I’m a fan of Jeff Koons, so I got the idea to create the Babolex a silver chrome sculpture with a Rolex, so no one could say it was worthless!

babolex dior

How did you start communicating about your works?

Early in March, I put my works on Art Majeur. The editorial team put my Pink Babolex at the top of their selection for 3 weeks and I got a lot of views. They even contacted me to find out where the Babolex could be seen. I also posted photos on Instagram and was surprised to be contacted by the Kardashian family manager and then by other celebrities and galleries. Everything happened really fast. It’s fun to have people wondering where I come from, whether I did an MFA or what my artistic influences are. I am a collector, I had an idea and I created it.

How do you explain the success of your sculptures?

There are several factors I believe. First of all, sculpture is in high demand from galleries I am in contact with. Then, it turns out that the character of the elephant speaks to different cultures: the Indians see Ganesh in it, the Chinese think that the green color brings prosperity, the crown evokes Basquiat to others… I ended up with something full of symbols, that people relate to. In addition, I brought a novelty by introducing crypto currencies in the purchase of the work (ed. the logo of Babolex start with the same B than the Bitcoin symbol). When people buy one of my sculptures, I place 10% of the price of the work in crypto currencies. When this placement reaches the original price of the work, I reimburse the gallery that can repay his client: it’s art-back. This helps reward customers who have supported my work. It has attracted some fans of crypto currencies but others of my collectors are not at all sensitive to this aspect. So it’s a set of several things…

What do you like most about this new adventure?

The creation fascinates me and I am proud that the public appreciates my Babolex. The contemporary art market is often reserved to happy few who sometimes despise works perceived as too mainstream. Andy Warhol was a commercial designer before making a career in art and despite the controversy, Pop Art is one of the strongest artistic concepts. Recognition of my work is important to me because I don’t do it for the money. I succeeded professionally as an entrepreneur and wanted something else in my life. I do not hide that I appreciate the feedbacks of the public. Knowing that people buy my works is flattering. This new career also allows me to discover a new environment with interesting people and brings me to travel for my events … I went from being a collector to an artist. It’s still a little unreal because it’s very sudden. We’ll see where all this will lead me. In the meantime I embrace the experience thoroughly.

babolex mold

In the Studio of Vincent Faudemer

What are your projects for the coming months?

There are many events in preparation: the upcoming ones will be the Monte Carlo Gala for the Ocean of The Prince Albert of Monaco Foundation with Leonardo Di Caprio (September 26), and the Fashion Spirit Exhibition at the Plaza Athénée (September 21 to November 14) with different sculptures dressed with various luxury brands inside the hotel and a giant Babolex outside, on Avenue Montaigne. I am also thrilled to announce that the Galeries Bartoux will represent my work. I’m having a hard time believing everything that is happening to me but fortunately I have an 18 months old son so it allows me to keep my feet on the ground!

Screen Shot 2018-08-05 at 7.14.34 PMFB page

Instagram

 

Tags: ,


About the Author

is a French born artist, who lives and works in New York Great area. She is a painter creator of the POST series, painted Instagram of the past revisiting art history. She was awarded an Artist Residency by the Eileen Kaminsky Foundation (ESKFF) at Mana Contemporary,NJ in 2017. She created the blog "The Curious Frenchy" and is a now contributor to French Quarter Magazine. https://www.instagram.com/laurencedevalmy/



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


CAPTCHA Image
Reload Image
Back to Top ↑