Histoire

Published on novembre 7th, 2017 | by Molly Montgomery

0

Quelles sont les différences entre les claviers QWERTY et AZERTY ?

La première fois que j’ai utilisé un clavier d’ordinateur français où je travaillais l’année dernière, je n’ai pas remarqué que le clavier était différent jusqu’au moment ou j’ai commencé à faire des fautes de frappe. Au lieu d’un “A”, je tapais “Q”, et au lieu de “W”, je tapais “Z”. C’est ainsi que je me suis familiarisée au clavier “AZERTY”, une légère variante du clavier “QWERTY” qu’utilisent les Américains. Le clavier “AZERTY”, c’est comme beaucoup d’autres différences entre les Etats-Unis et la France. C’est une différence assez subtile pour qu’on ne la remarque pas au premier coup d’œil, mais cela peut engendrer de la frustration, accompagnée de petits chocs culturels.

Sholes

Christopher Lattam Sholes. Photo par Wikipedia.

La France a adopté le clavier “AZERTY” il y a 100 ans de cela lorsque les machines à écrire commençaient à proliférer un peu partout. Personne ne sait qui a inventé le clavier “AZERTY”, ni même l’exacte raison de son organisation. C’est une version modifiée du clavier “QWERTY”, commun dans les pays anglophones. L’inventeur du clavier “QWERTY”, Christopher Lattam Sholes, a placé les lettres sur le clavier de manière stratégique afin d’éviter de confondre les lettres sur la machine à écrire. Il a placé des lettres que l’on associe souvent ensembles en anglais, comme “s” et “t”, à des endroits différents pour éviter que les touches n’interfèrent l’une avec l’autre. Sans nul doute, le clavier “AZERTY” fut inventé avec la même idée en tête.

Le clavier français comporte également des touches spéciales pour taper certaines lettres avec accents telles que “é” et “à” minuscules, rendant ainsi la tache plus facile.
Cependant, malgré l’ajout de ces caractères et leur utilisation largement répandue en France, le clavier “AZERTY” n’est pas très bien adapté à la langue française. En fait, il est tellement inadapté que le ministère de la culture française a chargé l’organisation AFNOR (Association française de Normalisation) de créer un nouveau clavier. Certains des caractères spécifiques au français, qui sont absents du clavier “AZERTY”, et qui doivent être créés par une séquence de plusieurs frappes incluent les lettres capitales avec accent et les ligatures “ æ” et “ œ”.

220px-QWERTY_1878

Agencement du clavier QWERTY de 1878 de Latham Sholes. Photo par Wikipedia.

Bientôt, les Français et les Américains auront une manière plus simple de taper ces lettres de la langue françaises. En attendant la création de ce nouveau clavier, voici quelques astuces pour les bilingues qui rencontrent des difficultés :

Pour les Américains ou les Français qui vivent aux Etats-Unis et qui ont besoin de taper en français, téléchargez “French as a language” sur votre ordinateur. Cela vous permettra d’alterner entre les claviers “QWERTY” et “AZERTY” si vous le souhaitez, et vous pourrez même utiliser le correcteur d’orthographe en français. Celui-ci vous permettra d’ajouter les accents manquants. Ceci dit, soyez prudents, puisqu’un accent sur une lettre peut changer entièrement la signification d’un mot en français. Il peut également s’avérer pratique d’apprendre les raccourcis clavier pour certains accents sur votre ordinateur, ce qui peut varier selon que l’on possède un MAC ou un PC.

Sur les smartphones, taper les accents est encore plus simple. Vous pouvez régler votre clavier sur “QWERTY” ou “AZERTY” selon votre préférence. Pour trouver les accents qui n’ont pas de touches correspondantes, restez simplement appuyé sur la touche de la lettre accentuée. Sur la plupart des clavier des téléphones, la version avec accent de la lettre, tels que “à”, apparaitra pour que vous puissiez la sélectionner.


About the Author

is an English teaching assistant at a high school in France and a recent graduate of UCLA, where she studied English and French. Her writing has been published in *TravelAge West Magazine* and in various literary journals including *Westwind* and the *Blue Lake Review*.



Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Back to Top ↑

History

Published on November 7th, 2017 | by Molly Montgomery

0

What are the differences between the QWERTY and AZERTY keyboards?

The first time I used a keyboard on a computer at the French high school where I worked last year, I didn’t notice the keyboard was different until I began to make typos. Instead of an “A,” I typed “Q” and instead of a “W,” I typed “Z.” Thus I was introduced to the “AZERTY” keyboard, a slight variation on the “QWERTY” keyboard that Americans use. The “AZERTY” keyboard is like many differences between the U.S. and France. It’s small enough of a difference that you don’t notice it at first, but it can nonetheless cause some frustration and minor culture shock.

Sholes

Christopher Lattam Sholes. Photo by Wikipedia.

France adopted the “AZERTY” keyboard over 100 years ago when typewriters began to proliferate widely. No one knows who invented the “AZERTY” version of the keyboard or the exact reason for its layout. It is a modified version of the “QWERTY” keyboard common in Anglophone countries. The inventor of the “QWERTY” keyboard, Christopher Lattam Sholes, placed letters on the board strategically in order to avoid typewriter jams. He put letters that often go together in English such as “s” and “t” in different areas to keep the keys from jamming together. No doubt the “AZERTY” keyboard was designed with a similar principle in mind.

The French keyboard also has special keys for certain accented letters such as the lowercase “é” and “à,” making it easier to type words in French.
However, despite the addition of these characters and its widespread use in France, the “AZERTY” keyboard is not well suited to the French language. In fact, it is so inadequate that the French Ministry of Culture has commissioned the standardization organization AFNOR (Association Française
de Normalisation) to design a new keyboard. Some of the common characters in French that are missing from AZERTY and must be created from a sequence of keystrokes include all capital accented letters and the French ligatures “æ” and “œ.”

220px-QWERTY_1878

Latham Sholes’s 1878 QWERTY keyboard layout. Photo by Wikipedia.

Soon, French and Americans alike may have a simpler way of typing these common characters in the French language. Until the new keyboard’s release, here are some strategies for bilingual speakers who are combatting typing difficulties:

For Americans or French who live in the United States and who need to type in French, download French as a language on your computer. This will allow you to switch between “QWERTY” and “AZERTY” keyboards if you wish, and it will also make it possible to use spell check in French. Spell check will catch most of your missing accents. Still, you must be careful since an accent on a letter can sometimes change the entire meaning of a word in French. It is also handy to learn the keyboard shortcuts for different accents on your computer, which differ depending on whether you use a Mac or a PC.

On smartphones, typing accents is even easier. You can set your phone to “QWERTY” or “AZERTY,” whichever keyboard you prefer. To find the accented letters that don’t have keys, simply hold down on the letter that is accented. On most phone keyboards, the accented versions of the letter such as “à” or “á” will pop up for you to select.


About the Author

is an English teaching assistant at a high school in France and a recent graduate of UCLA, where she studied English and French. Her writing has been published in *TravelAge West Magazine* and in various literary journals including *Westwind* and the *Blue Lake Review*.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to Top ↑