Gastronomie

Published on septembre 26th, 2018 | by Isabelle Karamooz, Founder of FQM

0

Que nous dit le chef pâtissier et cuisinier John Wilmot à propos de Las Vegas et de son expérience culinaire?

John Wilmot. Photo de Zoe Owen.

John Wilmot, vous avez travaillé pendant plusieurs années en tant que cuisinier / chef pâtissier professionnel. Qu’est-ce qui vous a décidé à vous inscrire à une école culinaire? Pourquoi cette envie d’apprendre le français?

Mon amour pour les arts culinaires est né depuis mon plus jeune âge. Je me souviens avec émotion d’avoir passer du temps avec ma grand-mère et de la regarder faire de la potica, un pain sucré rempli de noix de Slovénie qui contient de grandes quantités de miel, de cannelle et de sucre. Ma mère fabriquait et vendait aussi des gâteaux d’anniversaire et des gâteaux pour des occasions spéciales pour les amis et la famille. Je me souviens qu’elle nous disait de ne pas traverser la maison parce que nous avions de vieux sols branlants et que les gâteaux dans le four risquaient d’être trop secoués. À l’âge de quatorze ans, j’ai commencé à travailler dans la cuisine d’une station de ski du Colorado et je suis immédiatement tombé amoureux de cet environnement dynamique . Après mes études secondaires, j’ai commencé à étudier les arts culinaires à l’Art Institute of Colorado et c’est grâce à ma formation que j’ai développé un amour pour la langue française. Comme vous pouvez l’imaginer, une grande partie de la terminologie culinaire est en français et j’ai toujours pensé  apprendre le français, même si ce n’est  que plusieurs années après que j’ai décidé de franchir le pas. . En 2011, j’ai suivi un cours de français pour débutants à l’alliance française de Denver et je l’étudie à l’UNLV depuis 2015.

Qu’est-ce qui fait de Las Vegas un endroit idéal pour aller à l’école hôtelière et de gestion de l’accueil?

Je ne suis pas allé à l’école hôtelière de Las Vegas, mais je sais que UNLV est l’un des meilleurs programmes d’hospitalité du pays et cela ne me surprend pas car nous avons beaucoup de chefs de renommée mondiale  sur le Strip de Las Vegas, ainsi que de nombreux talents locaux en dehors et sur le Strip.

Joël Robuchon possède le seul restaurant 3 étoiles Michelin sur le Strip, situé au MGM Hotel and Casino, mais il y a actuellement deux autres restaurants classés 2 étoiles Michelin : celui de Guy Savoy au Caesars Palace et celui de Julian Serrano, Picasso, au Bellagio. Ce dernier présente dans la salle, des œuvres d’art originales du célèbre artiste . C’est une atmosphère alléchante avec une cuisine sophistiquée . Nous avons également neuf restaurants Michelin 1 étoile ici,  c’est enthousiasmant ! Mais en plus de tout cela, il y a une quantité impressionnante de restaurants à des prix raisonnables qui proposent des produits frais et de haute qualité avec un service exceptionnel, offert dans une atmosphère plus décontractée. Las Vegas est devenue la Mecque des gourmets du monde entier et le Harrah College of Hospitality de l’UNLV propose un programme intensif à quelques encablures de l’un des plus grands foyers culinaires du monde: le Las Vegas Strip.

Celebrity chef Bobby Flay et chef John Wilmot. Photo de Carlos Valverde.

Qu’avez-vous apprécié le plus  dans votre travail à The Stove LV à Henderson? Vous êtes-vous déjà retrouvé à goûter des plats ou à faire de nouvelles  expériences culinaires?

Oh, absolument, en tant que cuisiniers et chefs, nous goûtons constamment notre nourriture et jouons avec des recettes pour qu’elles soient en constante évolution.   Jusqu’à ce que je démissionne de mon poste chez The Stove,j’ai continué à créer de nouveaux plats . Avant mon départ, le chef Scott Commings et moi-même avons réfléchi à des idées afin d’améliorer le menu de l’automne. Je voulais faire des gaufres belges garnies de glace à la noisette croustillante et à la banane, accompagnée d’une sauce au porto et aux figues. Nous avons décidé de faire quelque chose d’un peu différent et finalement nous avons réalisé un pudding au pain à l’amaretto avec une glace pralinée aux amandes et à la banane. En tant que chef cuisinier, nous devons être capable de réfléchir et d’avoir la tête sur les épaules, de nous adapter aux situations et d’improviser constamment en cas de besoin. Je pense que ce qui me plaisait le plus dans ce travail  était tout simplement ce que j’ai toujours aimé faire dans les cuisines…des mousses au chocolat, de la crême au beurre italienne, des gâteaux, des muffins, des scones ainsi que  des glaces et des sorbets, des biscuits au babeurre et des croissants au chocolat, et tout cela en se créant de nouveaux amis dans le milieu culinaire.

Photo d’Erika Ryann Sedmak.

Photo de John Wilmot.

Quels sont les produits émergents que vous utilisez beaucoup actuellement au restaurant The Stove LV?

En ce moment, nous entrons dans la période préférée des chefs de l’année! L’automne est là avec tous les légumes et fruits du jardin : les fruits à noyau comme les abricots et les pêches qui arrivent à maturité.Nous arrivons à la fin de la saison des tomates,  et maintenant nous avons les courges. Beaucoup de grandes saveurs d’automne se dessinent… Les pommes trouveront leur place sur la carte, dans nos crêpes et dans nos tartes.  Bien sûr on ne peut pas parler de l’automne sans mentionner la citrouille , donc les muffins et les tartes à la citrouille que nous allons préparer. Ces mets captent vraiment le sentiment de l’automne qui est un peu plus qu’une nourriture réconfortante et que nous aimons tous. Nous voulons également montrer cela avec nos tartes, nos pâtisseries et nos crêpes. Nous aurons également des piments verts dans nos aliments parce que nous sommes en pleine  saison chilienne. Notre menu change en fonction des saisons et des récoltes.

Comment décririez-vous la cuisine de The Stove LV en quelques mots?

En utilisant juste quelques mots, je dirais que c’est l’endroit du brunch ultime!

Pouvez-vous nous donner des exemples de produits importés à Las Vegas?

Beaucoup de nos fromages sont importés, mais pas seulement de l’étranger,  nous importons également  des fromages régionaux comme le fromage cheddar de Beehive de l’Utah, un produit exceptionnel. Certaines de nos viandes sont également importées de Bently Ranch à Reno.     Et bien sûr, nous avons la chance de vivre si près de la Californie que nous pouvons profiter de tous ces merveilleux produits qui arrivent à pleine maturité  en saison. Nous essayons vraiment d’incorporer autant que possible des produits de la Californie, de l’Utah, du Nevada et du Nouveau-Mexique.

J’ai remarqué que vous aviez du pâté de campagne dans le menu. Y a-t-il d’autres aliments ou techniques qui proviennent de France ?

Bien sûr, nous servons des croissants et des croques- madame. Beaucoup de gens viennent ici pour commander nos “croques”.  Nous utilisons des techniques d’influence latine, française, indienne , moyenne-orientale et d’Afrique du Nord, sans oublier la cuisine américaine que nous proposons avant tout .Beaucoup de techniques ingénieuses  viennent directement de France. Nos béchamels, nos bouillons et nos sauces, notre mousse au chocolat, les crèmes pâtissières et la crème anglaise que nous fabriquons ici tous les jours sont des techniques françaises

En grandissant, quels genres de passe-temps vous ont intéressé? Quels sont vos chanteurs et groupes préférés?

Eh bien, j’ai grandi dans une petite ville de montagne du Colorado, alors j’ai toujours aimé les activités de plein air telles que la randonnée, le vélo de montagne, le ski, le kayak, la planche à roulettes et autres choses de ce genre. En ce qui concerne la musique, j’ai un goût assez éclectique, mais comme vous le savez, ma «tasse de thé» a toujours été le punk rock! Trois de mes favoris de tous les temps sont The Queers, Screeching Weasel et The Ramones !!! Le punk rock a un rythme rapide, il est donc génial de l’écouter tout en travaillant dans une cuisine animée.

 


About the Author

was born in the royal city of Versailles, France and have lived in the United States since 1996. After earning a Bachelor's degree in History from the University of California Berkeley and studying for a Master program in education at the University of Southern California, she went on to teach French to aspiring UNLV and CSN students in Nevada. When she is not teaching, she is writing, interviewing people in a wide range of circumstances, pitching story ideas to writers and editors, taking pictures, traveling, painting or trying delicious foods.



Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *


CAPTCHA Image
Reload Image
Back to Top ↑

Gastronomy

Published on September 26th, 2018 | by Isabelle Karamooz, Founder of FQM

0

What does Pastry and Cooking Chef John Wilmot tell us about Las Vegas and his cooking experience?

John Wilmot. Photo by Zoe Owen.

John Wilmot, you’ve worked for several years as a professional pastry cook/ chef. What made you decide to enroll in culinary school? What made you want to learn French?  

My love for the culinary arts was spawned at a very young age. I fondly remember spending time with my grandmother and watching her make potica, a Slovenian walnut filled sweet roll that contains copious amounts of honey, cinnamon, and sugar. My mother also used to make and sell birthday cakes and special occasion cakes for friends and family out of our house. I can remember her telling us not to run through the house because we had old wobbly floors and if the cakes in the oven got shaken to much they would fall. At the age of fourteen I began working in a kitchen at a ski resort in Colorado and I immediately fell in love with the fast paced environment of the kitchen. After graduating from high school I began culinary arts school at the Art Institute of Colorado and it was through my training there that I developed a love for the French language. As you can only imagine, a lot of the terminology in culinary school is in French and it was always something I thought about learning, although it wouldn’t be for several more years that I actually decided to take the leap to learn the language. In 2011, I took a beginners French class at the French alliance of Denver and have been studying it at UNLV since 2015.

What makes Las Vegas a great place to go to culinary and hospitality school?

I didn’t actually go to hospitality school in Las Vegas but I do know that UNLV is second only to Cornell University as far as having one of the best hospitality programs in the country. That comes as no surprise to me considering were we are. I mean, we have so many world renowned chefs with restaurants on the Vegas Strip, as well as plenty of local talent both on and of the Strip.

Joël Robuchon has the only 3-Star Michelin Restaurant on the Strip, which is located at the MGM Hotel and Casino but there are also currently two 2 Michelin Star rated restaurants. One of which is Guy Savoy’s restaurant at Caesars Palace and the other is Julian Serrano’s restaurant, Picasso, at the Bellagio. The latter showcases original works of art from the famous artist throughout the dining room. It’s an enticing atmosphere with sophisticated food parallel to the decor. We also have nine 1-Star Michelin Restaurants here, so that’s exciting! But besides all those, there’s also just an overwhelming amount of reasonably priced restaurants that create fresh, high-quality food with exceptional service offered in a more casual atmosphere. Las Vegas has become a Mecca for foodies from all over the world and the Harrah College of Hospitality at UNLV offers an intensive program just blocks away from one of the world’s greatest culinary hotbeds – the Las Vegas Strip.

Celebrity chef Bobby Flay and chef John Wilmot. Photo by Carlos Valverde.

What did you enjoy most about your job at The Stove LV in Henderson? Did you ever find yourself sampling dishes or finding other ways to get involved in the cooking experience?

Oh absolutely, as cooks and chefs we’re constantly tasting our food and playing around with recipes so that they’re ever evolving. Without doing so, our worlds would become stagnant and boring. I was continuing to create new dishes right up until I resigned from my position at The Stove. My last week there, Chef Scott Commings and I were bouncing ideas off of eachother in order to move the menu forward into the fall season. I wanted to do Belgian waffles topped with banana hazelnut crunch ice cream accompanied with a warm port wine and fig reduction sauce. We decided to do something a little bit different together and ultimately we ended up making an amaretto bread pudding with a banana almond praline ice cream and we served that with a red wine cherry caramel sauce.  As a chef you need to be able to think on your feet, to adapt to situations, and to constantly improvise if need be. I think what I enjoyed most about working there was quite simply all the things that I’ve always loved doing in kitchens… Making chocolate mousses and Italian buttercreams, baking cakes, muffins, cookies, and scones… All the little tea pastries and petits fours. Making ice creams and sorbets… The buttermilk biscuits and the chocolate croissants, and also just making new friends in the process.

Photo by Erika Ryann Sedmak.

Photo by John Wilmot.

What are emerging products that you are using a lot of these days at The Stove LV’s restaurant?

Right now we’re coming into a chef’s favorite time of year! Fall is here so all of those really great foods are coming into play with everything coming out of the garden. All of the stone fruits are coming up, the apricots and peaches are coming into ripe form, we’re coming to the end of the tomato season, so we’re trying to figure out what to do with those and now we have all of our squashes. Lots of great Fall flavors are coming up… Apples will find their way onto the menu, in our pancakes and in our tarts. Also pumpkin… Of course we can not talk about Fall without mentioning pumpkin. So the pumpkin muffins and pumpkin tarts which we’ll be making. Those things kind of really capture the feeling of Fall which is a little bit more of that comfort food that we all love so much. We want to showcase that with our tarts and our pastries. All the way to our pancakes. We’ll have hatch green chilies working their way into our food as well because we’re in chile season right now. So all those things are dependent on how our menu changes and the reason for that is that these things are in harvest and we like to utilize those ingredients.

How would you describe The Stove LV’s cuisine in just a few words?

By using just a few words, I would say it’s the ultimate brunch spot!

Can you give us examples of products that are imported into Las Vegas?

A lot of our cheeses are imported but not only from out of the country but we’re also importing from other local areas, like some of our meats are imported from Bently Ranch in Reno. So we’re importing them into Las Vegas from outside but it’s still locally sourced, but also from neighboring states. We use Beehive’s coffee-rubbed cheddar cheese from Utah and it’s an outstanding product! And of course we’re lucky enough to live so close to California so we can get all that wonderful produce that’s coming out when it’s fully ripe and in season. We really try to incorporate as much as we can from California, Utah, Nevada, and New Mexico.

I noticed that you have pâte de compagne on the menu. Are there any other French style foods or techniques that you use that come from France?

Of course, I mean, we serve croissants all day long. We have croque madame sandwiches. A lot of people come here to order our croque monsieur. A lot of the cooking styles that we use here are not just strictly indigenous to american style cooking because that’s what we primarily do, but there’s always touches of Latin, French, Indian, and Middle Eastern as well as from Northern Africa. So everything’s kind of a culmination, but we all know that so many great techniques come directly from France. Our bechamels, our stocks and sauces, our chocolate mousse, the pastry creams and the crème anglaise that we make here everyday that all came from France and we all know that.

Growing up, what kinds of hobbies interested you? Who are your some of your favorite singers and favorite bands?

Well, I grew up in a small mountain town in Colorado, so I always enjoyed outdoor activities, such as hiking, mountain biking, skiing, kayaking, skateboarding and things like that. As far as music goes I have a pretty eclectic taste but as you know, my “bread and butter” has always been punk rock! Three of my all time favorites are The Queers, Screeching Weasel, and The Ramones!!! Punk rock has a fast pace so it’s great to listen to while working in a bustling kitchen.

 


About the Author

was born in the royal city of Versailles, France and have lived in the United States since 1996. After earning a Bachelor's degree in History from the University of California Berkeley and studying for a Master program in education at the University of Southern California, she went on to teach French to aspiring UNLV and CSN students in Nevada. When she is not teaching, she is writing, interviewing people in a wide range of circumstances, pitching story ideas to writers and editors, taking pictures, traveling, painting or trying delicious foods.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


CAPTCHA Image
Reload Image
Back to Top ↑