Art & Culture

Published on juillet 17th, 2022 | by Isabelle Karamooz, Founder of FQM

0

Urban POP : une exposition présente Niki de St Phalle parmi 25 artistes internationaux

Le public aime l’art urbain et pop et ces œuvres ne cessent d’établir des records d’enchères avec des artistes comme Andy Warhol, Jean Michel Basquiat, Banksy et Plastic Jesus pour n’en nommer que quelques-uns. Ces artistes qui captent les tendances de notre société sont collectionnés et recherchés dans les galeries et les musées. 

Du 29 juillet au 10 septembre 2022, l’exposition Urban POP, présentée au Bountiful Davis Art Center à Bountiful, aux portes de Salt Lake City (UT), est une excellente occasion de voir et de découvrir les œuvres de plusieurs artistes reconnus à l’échelle internationale.

Nous avons rencontré le conservateur d’art Todd Marshall, qui a réuni 25 artistes du monde entier qui se concentrent sur le Pop et street art. L’exposition comprend des stars telles que Niki De Saint Phalle, Jasper Johns, Kehinde Wiley ou KAWS ainsi que des artistes établis et émergents.

Exposition d’art urbain POP organisée par Todd Marshall au Bountiful Davis Art Center Bountiful, Utah, du 29 juillet au 10 septembre 2022.
Crédit photo : R. Avery Marshall @averyinfocus

Bonjour Todd, pouvez-vous nous parler de votre parcours en tant que conservateur ?

Quand j’étais à l’école d’art, j’avais l’habitude de vendre de l’art à des designers. Cela m’a amené à ouvrir la Marshall Arts Gallery à Scottsdale, AZ avec un ancien client, DeeAn Gillespie Strubb, après avoir sélectionné la collection de son cabinet d’avocats. J’ai commencé à organiser des expositions pour la galerie ; J’ai organisé de nombreuses expositions collectives avec des artistes de la galerie et j’ai également inclus des expositions nationales. Pendant mon séjour à Scottsdale, j’ai rencontré et travaillé avec l’artiste/sculpteur et galeriste Bijan Bahar. Bijan vendait des artistes majeurs dits « blue chips » et du pop art quelques rues plus loin dans sa galerie située dans le quartier des restaurants. Il était ouvert tard le soir quand les gens profitaient des zones piétonnes et des bars. Bijan connaissait ses clients. Sa galerie était une invitation à entrer et à regarder. Il me racontait des histoires du temps où il traînait avec Roy Lichtenstein, puis il me montrait la chemise qui était signée dans une vitrine par Roy. “Vous ne croiriez jamais comment c’était dans les années 80 de vendre de l’art sur Rodeo Drive. Les parties ! L’art !” Il donnait l’impression que c’était tellement cool.

Au bout d’un an, je suis devenu le directeur de la galerie d’Asietique, une galerie d’antiquités asiatiques qui s’intéressait à l’art. J’ai joué un rôle déterminant dans la transition d’Asietique vers Calvin Charles, devenant le plus grand marchand d’art contemporain et d’antiquités asiatiques de Scottsdale. À cette époque, j’ai eu l’opportunité de travailler directement à la vente de la collection Horowitch et en 2001, je suis allé à Art Chicago où j’ai rencontré de grandes galeries à travers le pays, sélectionnant des artistes et nouant des liens durables. J’ai organisé une exposition incroyable : 20th Century Masters works on paper qui comprenait des œuvres de Picasso, DeKooning, Motherwell, Indiana, Rivers, Rosenquist et bien d’autres. C’était tellement excitant de travailler avec de si grands noms et d’exposer ces grands artistes dans ma galerie. J’ai beaucoup voyagé au cours des 10 dernières années et j’ai pu construire un large réseau d’artistes, ainsi que des galeries et des centres d’art avec lesquels j’aime travailler.

Qu’est-ce qui vous a inspiré pour organiser l’exposition Urban Pop ?

En 2018, j’ai imprimé une édition pour le street artiste espagnol Okuda San Miguel. J’ai voyagé à SCOPE Miami où il était l’artiste star en tête d’affiche de l’événement. Nous nous sommes rencontrés à la toute première URBAN ARTS FAIR à quelques pâtés de maisons et avons signé les tirages lors de l’événement. J’ai pu voir les meilleurs artistes Urban Pop du monde entier, dont Ron English, Ruben Rojas, Callen Schaub, The Most Famous Artist, Sergio Garcia, Denial, Greg Mike, Aholsniffsglue, Spok Brillor et bien d’autres. Au cours des deux dernières années, bon nombre de ces artistes sont devenus très collectionnables et vendus de manière respectable par des galeries et des marchands à des prix incroyables. L’art urbain et pop est énorme ! Les musées exposent désormais les œuvres de nombre de ces artistes et les maisons de vente aux enchères établissent des records.  

Mais comment savoir dans quel artiste investir ? L’art pop et urbain peut être complexe. Avec cette exposition, je voulais aussi éduquer, pour que les gens puissent comprendre et expérimenter ce genre artistique et collectionner en toute confiance.

Pouvez-vous nous parler des artistes exposés et des œuvres exposées ?

De nombreuses œuvres de l’exposition sont des pièces que j’ai sélectionnées dans des collections privées. J’ai également sélectionné un groupe d’artistes qui définissent Urban POP. Chacun à différentes étapes de sa carrière, avec une grande variété de médiums représentés. 

L’un des points forts de l’exposition est la toile de plus de six pieds “Liberation” de Mike Dargas. Mettant en scène un homme d’affaires avec un tatouage, ce n’est pas un Dargas typique, et pouvoir voir cette toile de près est tellement cool.  

Ruben Rojas a deux peintures originales en aérosol sur toile de sa série “Rainbow” LOVE qui n’ont jamais été exposées dans l’Utah.  

Un lien unique fait à travers l’exposition est l’une des peintures de Laurence De Valmy, « Niki’s inflatable nanas » et les deux œuvres de Niki de Saint Phalle. L’autre toile de De Valmy est “Keith’s wave from Heaven” faisant référence au regretté Keith Haring et à son impact sur le pop art. 

Niki de St Phalle — Urban Pop

J’ai sélectionné une peinture originale “Cryptotweens” de Lori Nelson “Stay Positive” qui brille sous son vernis de résine. Brian Dean Christensen montre une céramique géante présentant une bombe de peinture. Denial est un artiste de rue de Windsor, au Canada, qui a une pièce provocante intitulée “Billions served.” C’est une arme à feu dans un étui à frites McDonald’s.  

BILLIONS SERVED ART
Aérosol sur Laser Cut Custom Frame & Assemblage Exposition d’art urbain POP organisée par Todd Marshall
au Bountiful Davis Art Center Bountiful, Utah

Voir ci-dessous une liste complète des 25 artistes inclus dans l’exposition.

Pour ceux qui ne peuvent pas visiter l’espace, que conseillez-vous pour voir l’exposition ?

Bountiful Davis Art Center aura un lien sur son site Web pour l’exposition, 

https://www.bdac.org/urban-pop

mais si vous souhaitez voir l’intégralité de l’exposition en ligne après son ouverture, rendez-vous sur mes médias sociaux.
https://www.instagram.com/toddmarshallcontemporary/

https://www.facebook.com/ToddMarshallContemporary

www.creekroadstudios.com

Quels sont vos prochains projets ?

Je suis très heureux de travailler sur un film documentaire sur cette exposition et les artistes, définissant ce mouvement, Urban POP. Je travaille également sur un projet web sur ce mouvement artistique que j’annoncerai l’année prochaine.

Liste complète des 25 artistes inclus dans l’exposition Urban POP.

François Bel (France), John Bell (USA), Kym Bloom (USA), Brandon Boulton (USA), Brian Dean Christensen (USA), Jared Lindsay Clark (USA), Mike Dargas (Allemagne), Denial (Canada), Michael Dr. MUND (Belgique), Jacob Haupt (USA), Camomile Hixon (USA), Sam Hon (USA), Nicolás Maximillion Jimenez (USA), Jasper Johns (USA), KAWS (USA), Jonas Leriche (Belgique), Lori Nelson (USA), Ruben Rojas (USA), Niki de Saint Phalle (Fr/USA), Okuda San Miguel (Espagne), Matthew Sketch (USA), Roland Thompson (USA), Laurence de Valmy (Fr/USA), Kehinde Wiley (États-Unis), Mönsr Yusef (États-Unis).

“Record Tape Disk” de Roland Thompson acrylique sur aluminium, 26″x 27″, 2022. Todd Marshall Contemporary Urban POP Exposition d’art Urban POP organisée par Todd Marshall au Bountiful Davis Art Center Bountiful, Utah

 


About the Author

est originaire de Versailles. Elle a toujours voulu découvrir le monde, ce qu'elle a fait à partir de 17 ans lorsqu'elle a eu la chance d'étudier à l'étranger à Rhonda, en Espagne. Elle a parcouru le monde de Hong Kong à Taiwan, de l'Irlande à l'Autriche, en passant par le Luxembourg, le Liechtenstein et Monaco, et a découvert l'ensemble des pays de l'Italie et du Maroc. Elle se sent réellement citoyenne du monde. Elle s'est enfin installée plusieurs années à Los Angeles où elle a travaillé au Consulat de France à Los Angeles. Passionnée par les arts et l'histoire, elle a obtenu une Licence en histoire de l'Université de Californie à Berkeley et a étudié un programme de maîtrise en éducation à l'Université de Californie du Sud. Elle a enseigné le français à UNLV et CSN au Nevada. Elle est la fondatrice et la rédactrice en chef du French Quarter Magazine, dans lequel elle écrit, interviewe des personnes dans des domaines très variés, propose des idées d'écriture aux écrivains et aux journalistes, prend des photos et écrit actuellement son premier livre traduit sur la vie de Coco Chanel qui est remplie d'aventures, d'intrigues, d'histoire et d'amour.



Leave a Comment

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée.

Back to Top ↑

Art & Culture

Published on July 17th, 2022 | by Isabelle Karamooz, Founder of FQM

0

Urban POP art exhibition features Niki de St Phalle among 25 international artists

The public loves urban and pop art and these artworks are continually setting auction records with artists like Andy Warhol, Jean Michel Basquiat, Banksy and Plastic Jesus to name a few. These artists who capture the trends of our society are being collected and sought after in galleries and museums. 

From July 29th through September 10th, 2022, the exhibition Urban POP, presented at Bountiful Davis Art Center in Bountiful, in the Salt Lake City area (UT), is an excellent opportunity to view and experience artworks by multiple international award winning street, graffiti and pop artists. 

We met with art curator Todd Marshall, who has brought together 25 artists from around the world that focus on street art and popular culture in their works. The show includes art stars such as Niki De Saint Phalle, Jasper Johns, Kehinde Wiley or KAWS as well as established and emerging artists.

Urban POP art exhibition curated by Todd Marshall at Bountiful Davis Art Center Bountiful, Utah—July 29 – September 10th, 2022.
Photo Credit: R. Avery Marshall @averyinfocus

Hello Todd, can you tell us about your path as a curator?

When I was in art school I used to “hustle” art out of the back of my van to designers.  This led to me opening Marshall Arts Gallery in Scottsdale, AZ with a former client, DeeAn Gillespie Strubb, after curating her corporate law firm collection. I began curating exhibitions for the gallery; I put together many group shows with gallery artists and I also included national juried exhibitions. I would hand select artists that I liked. While in Scottsdale, I met and worked with artist/sculptor and gallery owner Bijan Bahar. Bijan sold “blue chip” and pop art a couple of streets over in his gallery located in the restaurant district. He was open late at night when the people were enjoying the walking areas and bars. Bijan knew his customer. His gallery was an invitation to come in and look around. He would tell me stories of the times he was hanging out with Roy Lichtenstein, and then he would show me the shirt that was signed in a glass case by Roy from that night. “You would never believe how it used to be in the 80’s selling art on Rodeo Drive. The parties! The art!” He made it sound so cool.

After a year, I moved to be the Gallery Director of Asietique, an asian antiques gallery that dabbled in art. I was instrumental in the transitioning of Asietique to Calvin Charles, becoming the largest contemporary art and asian antiques dealer in Scottsdale. At this time, I had the opportunity to work directly selling the Horowitch collection and in 2001, I went to Art Chicago where I met with major galleries around the country, selecting artists and making lasting connections. I curated an incredible exhibition, 20th Century Masters works on paper that included works by Picasso, DeKooning, Motherwell, Indiana, Rivers, Rosenquist and many others. It was so exciting to work with such big names and to exhibit these great artists in my gallery. I traveled extensively over the last 10 years and I have been able to build a large network of artists to choose from as well as galleries and art centers to work with.

What inspired you to curate the exhibition Urban Pop?

In 2018, I printed an edition for Spanish street artist Okuda San Miguel. I traveled to SCOPE Miami where he was the “star” artist, headlining the event. We met at the first ever URBAN ARTS FAIR a few blocks away and signed the prints at the event. I was able to see the top Urban Pop artists from around the world, including Ron English, Ruben Rojas, Callen Schaub, The Most Famous Artist, Sergio Garcia, Denial, Greg Mike, Aholsniffsglue, Spok Brillor and many more. Over the past couple of years, many of these artists have become highly collectable and respectably sold by galleries and dealers at amazing prices. Urban and pop art is huge! Museums are now exhibiting works by many of these artists and auction houses are  setting records.  

But how do you know which artist to invest in?  Pop and urban art can be tricky. With this exhibition, I also wanted to educate, so people can understand and experience this genre of art and collect with confidence.

Can you tell us about the artists exhibited and the works on display?

Many of the works in the exhibit are pieces that I have curated into private collections. I have also hand picked a group of artists that define Urban POP.  Each at different stages of their careers, with a wide variety of mediums represented. 

One highlight of the show is the over six foot original Mike Dargas “Liberation,” oil on linen. Featuring a businessman with a tattoo, not your typical Dargas, but to be able to see that painting up close is so cool.  

Ruben Rojas has two original spray paint on canvas paintings from his “Rainbow” LOVE series that have never been exhibited in Utah.  

One unique connection made through the exhibit is one of the pieces by Laurence De Valmy, “Niki’s inflatable nanas” acrylic on canvas and the two works by Niki de Saint Phalle. De Valmy’s other work in the show is “Keith’s wave from heaven” referencing the late Keith Haring and his impact on pop art. 

Niki de St Phalle — Urban Pop

I have a “Cryptotweens” original painting by Lori Nelson “Stay Positive” that just glows under its resin varnish.  Brian Dean Christensen shows a giant ceramic spray paint can. Denial is a street artist from Windsor, Canada who has a provocative piece titled “Billions served.” It is a gun in a McDonald’s French fry container holster.  

BILLIONS SERVED ART
Aerosol on Laser Cut Custom Frame & Assemblage Urban POP art exhibition curated by Todd Marshall
at Bountiful Davis Art Center Bountiful, Utah

See below a full list of the 25 artists included in the exhibition.

For those who are not able to visit the space, what do you recommend to view the exhibition?

Bountiful Davis Art Center will have a link on their website for the exhibition, 

https://www.bdac.org/urban-pop

but if you would like to see the entire exhibition online after it opens go to my social media links. https://www.instagram.com/toddmarshallcontemporary/

https://www.facebook.com/ToddMarshallContemporary

www.creekroadstudios.com

What are your next projects?

I am very excited to be working on a documentary film about this exhibition and the artists, defining this movement, Urban POP. I am also working on a web project on this art movement  that I will announce next year.

Full list of the 25 artists included in the Urban POP exhibition.

François Bel (France), John Bell (USA), Kym Bloom (USA), Brandon Boulton (USA), Brian Dean Christensen (USA), Jared Lindsay Clark (USA), Mike Dargas (Germany), Denial (Canada), Michael Dr. MUND (Belgium), Jacob Haupt (USA), Camomile Hixon (USA), Sam Hon (USA), Nicolás Maximillion Jimenez (USA), Jasper Johns (USA), KAWS (USA), Jonas Leriche (Belgium), Lori Nelson (USA), Ruben Rojas (USA), Niki de Saint Phalle (Fr/USA), Okuda San Miguel (Spain), Matthew Sketch (USA), Roland Thompson (USA), Laurence de Valmy (Fr/USA), Kehinde Wiley (USA), Mönsr Yusef (USA). 

“Record Tape Disk” by Roland Thompson acrylic on aluminum, 26″x 27″, 2022. Todd Marshall Contemporary Urban POP Urban POP art exhibition curated by Todd Marshall at Bountiful Davis Art Center Bountiful, Utah

 


About the Author

is originally from Versailles, France. She always wanted to see the world, which she did starting at 17 when she had the fortunate opportunity to study abroad in Rhonda, Spain. She traveled the world from Hong Kong to Taiwan, from Ireland to Austria, to Luxembourg, Liechtenstein and Monaco, and discovered the entire countries of Italy and Morocco. She really feels like a citizen of the world. She finally settled several years in Los Angeles where she worked at the French Consulate of Los Angeles. Passionate about the Arts and History, she earned a Bachelor's degree in History from the University of California Berkeley and studied for a Master program in education at the University of Southern California, then she went on to teach French to aspiring UNLV and CSN students in Nevada. She is the founder and Editor in chief of French Quarter Magazine, in which she writes, interviews people in a wide range of circumstances, pitches story ideas to writers and journalists, takes photos, and is currently writing her first translated work, which spans the life of Coco Chanel and is filled with adventure, intrigue, history and love.



Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Back to Top ↑