Art & Culture Yves Leveque et Pauline Leveque Levy

Published on septembre 11th, 2022 | by Laurence de Valmy

0

Exposition « Yves Lévêque et… Pauline, père et fille »

Une exposition « père-fille » puisque la Galerie Guillaume (Paris 8ème)  présente les dernières œuvres (peintures et œuvres sur papier) d’Yves Lévêque et des dessins de Pauline Lévêque-Levy, sa fille, du 1er septembre au 15 octobre 2022.

Le vernissage est le mercredi 14 septembre 17h-22h, en présence des artistes et dans le cadre de la Nocturne Rive Droite.

Yves Leveque se nourrit de la nature. En 1967, très jeune, il quitte Paris et s’installe à la campagne, d’abord dans les Yvelines, puis en Beauce et enfin dans le Thimerais. C’est dans ce cadre, au cœur de la nature, qu’Yves Lévêque vit depuis plus de trente ans, travailleur acharné en dehors des modes.

Artwork by Yves Lévêque – Courtesy of the galerie

Le catalogue de l’exposition est préfacé par Dominique Bona de l’Académie française qui écrit “les visions d’Yves Lévêque semblent avoir leur source dans le big-bang. Au fond, il renoue avec un art premier qui n’est pas loin d’évoquer Lascaux, un art qui raconte les aventures humaines face à un monde à la fois hostile et merveilleux, un monde où il y a des forts et des faibles, des rochers et des sources, des oiseaux et des volcans. Comment ne pas admirer cette œuvre si originale et sincère, si puissante, suspendue entre ciel et terre ?“

Pauline Lévêque-Levy, présente des dessins inspirés de vues de Paris et New York où elle habite depuis plusieurs années avec son mari, le romancier Marc Lévy, dont elle a illustré les quatre derniers romans.

“Mon père peint des arbres, des champs et des oiseaux. J’ai grandi dans son atelier, griffonnant sur sa toile vide et jouant avec ses tubes de peintures à l’huile. Je me souviens de l’odeur de son art. Je me souviens de l’odeur de l’herbe le matin, du ciel magnifique et de la force des tilleuls.

Mais je suis obsédé par les villes. Je souffre de vertige mais j’aime les hauteurs. Je ne sais pas d’où cela vient, mais les lignes et la perspective m’ont toujours inspiré. Cela peut être une rue, une tour, un grand bâtiment, une petite maison ou un toit, j’aime la structure et la composition d’une ville.

J’aime imaginer qu’il n’y a pas de fin. Son horizon est structuré, chargé, accidenté, accidenté. Pourtant, vous pouvez toujours rêver.”

Galerie Guillaume

32 rue de Penthièvre, 75008 Paris


About the Author

est une artiste française qui vit et travaille à San Diego. Elle est artiste peintre créatrice de la série POST, revisitant l'histoire de l'art a travers des Instagram peints. Son travail est exposé en galeries et foires d'art. Elle rédige le blog "The Curious Frenchy". https://www.instagram.com/laurencedevalmy/



Leave a Comment

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée.

Back to Top ↑

Art & Culture Yves Leveque et Pauline Leveque Levy

Published on September 11th, 2022 | by Laurence de Valmy

0

Exhibition “Yves Lévêque and… Pauline, father and daughter”

 A “father-daughter” exhibition at the Guillaume Gallery (Paris 8th arrondissement) which presents the latest works (paintings and works on paper) by Yves Lévêque and drawings by Pauline Lévêque-Levy, his daughter, from September 1st to October 15th, 2022.

The opening will take place on Wednesday September 14th from 5 p.m. to 10 p.m., in the presence of the artists and as part of the Nocturne Rive Droite.

Yves Lévêque is inspired by Nature. In 1967, he left Paris and moved to the countryside, first in the district of the Yvelines, then in Beauce and finally in Thimerais. It is in this setting, in the heart of nature, that Yves Lévêque has lived for more than thirty years, a relentless worker outside fashions.

Artwork by Yves Lévêque – Courtesy of the galerie

The exhibition catalog is prefaced by Dominique Bona of the French Academy who writes “the visions of Yves Lévêque seem to have their source in the big bang. Basically, he reconnects with a primitive art which is not far from evoking Lascaux, an art which recounts human adventures faced with a world that is both hostile and marvelous, a world where there are strong and weak, rocks and springs, birds and volcanoes. How could we not admire this work, so original and sincere, so powerful, suspended between heaven and earth?“

Pauline Lévêque-Levy, presents drawings inspired by views of Paris and New York where she has lived for several years with her husband, the novelist Marc Lévy, whose last four novels she illustrated.

“My father paints trees, fields and birds. I grew up in his studio, doodling on his empty canvas and playing with his tubes of oil paints. I remember the smell of his art. I remember the smell of grass in the morning, the beautiful sky and the strength of the linden trees.

But I’m obsessed with cities. I suffer from vertigo but I love heights. I don’t know where that comes from, but the lines and the perspective have always inspired me. It can be a street, a tower, a large building, a small house or a roof. I like the structure and the composition of a city.I like to imagine there is no end. Its horizon is structured, loaded, rugged, rugged. Yet you can still dream.”

Guillaume Gallery

32 rue de Penthièvre, 75008 Paris


About the Author

is a French born artist, who lives and works in San Diego. She is a painter creator of the POST series, painted Instagram of the past revisiting art history. Her work is regularly exhibited in galleries and art fairs. She founded the blog "The Curious Frenchy" https://www.instagram.com/laurencedevalmy/



Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Back to Top ↑